VFL Grand Final crowd

I dont believe that figure, if thats true then only 5000 were there last year!because the crowd was close to double that of last seasons GF at Optus today.
If it is true (and the TV quoted a figure of 18,000 by the way) then the VFL has no future under the present club arrangements and do nothing seat warming administration!
The old VFA got better crowds when it was stand alone and without the supposed support that AFL alignments would bring supporter wise from AFL fans.

It was 10,456 as reported on afl.com.au and it was also said on radio this afternoon.

The last blast at Waverley in 2000 between Sandringham and North Ballarat got 8,500 and last year had 11,000 from memory and that involved Geelong which are a stand alone club.

Considering the VFL head honcho keeps plugging his competition and the crowds, it was a poor turnout today. I don't think $20 is too expensive for a Grand Final, but maybe people most object the venue and it is something they should review. Not many other options though - other than Telstra Dome????

Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
8,000 for a Semi Final in the SANFL, going against the Slowdown at Adelaide Oval (which got 22,000 people).

SANFL > VFL ;)

Yes but the SANFL dosent have 10 AFL clubs to compete with.

And a media saturated with the AFL and the most read newspaper flogging its own RL team the Storm with massive coverage to the detriment of the VFL thatgets avery minimal amount of space

Originally posted by JUBJUB
One reason the crowd may've been low is because a lot of Pie's supporters were lining up for AFL grand final tickets.

It's still pathetic if the crowd was lower than last year.

I agree - poor turnout. Definitely more Box Hill supporters there than Willi as well, it was around 2 to 1. But as my Collingwood supporting mate said "Why would you turn up if you are a Pies fan, we have the real deal on next week."

$20 is pushing it I reckon - around $15 would be more realistic.

Originally posted by billy big ears

Were those 10 AFL clubs playing on sunday? No? The Sanfl always pulls decent crowds. $20 isnt nothing for a grand final!I think its about $20-$25 here. There are many people who only follow the SANFL and have no interest in any AFL teams.
Incidently..what are the prices to get into a VFL match? Here Adults are $8, Students/Concession $2 and U/18's are free. I think its great pricing.

Originally posted by vacekadelaide

Incidently..what are the prices to get into a VFL match? Here Adults are $8, Students/Concession $2 and U/18's are free. I think its great pricing.

These were the finals prices

ADMISSION PRICES

Week 1 & 2 Week 3 Week 4

Adults $12.00 $16.00 $20.00
Concession $7.00 $10.00 $12.00
Pensioners $7.00 $10.00 $12.00
Children Under 15 years $5.00 $3.00 $4.00

Finals series admittance

VFL club or AFL club, or AFL membership, will not entitle the bearer to either free or discounted admittance to any TXU VFL Finals game. VFL players and officials passes will only admit the bearer to matches played in the first three weeks of the finals series. VFL player and officials passes will not gain admittance to the Grand Final.

To add insult to injury

The Ovens & Murray League had an official attendance yesterday of 14,356 to its Grandfinal. The admission fee was adults $14 which includes the record, which costs about $3. I don't think there is a charge for Pensioners and Children under 16. As the Gate takings were a record $57,423. So a large portion of the crowd got in free. Apparentely over 30,000 people attended the 6 finals. most were played in dismal weather except the GF.

Maybe the VFL should look towards where the power bases of football in Victoria and include a team from Albury Region. You can see what the success of the Tassie venture has done. The Semi Final against Port at Bellrieve out drew the VFL Grandfinal.

Originally posted by RiverinAFL
Maybe the VFL should look towards where the power bases of football in Victoria and include a team from Albury Region. You can see what the success of the Tassie venture has done. The Semi Final against Port at Bellrieve out drew the VFL Grandfinal.
Wouldn't that be the end of the successful Albury league, if they did that?

Originally posted by U-DOG
And to think we get upset if we get less than 35,000 to the SANFL GF.

But up until the Crows came into the AFL you had over one hundred years of the market to yourself unlike the VFA/VFL that has always had to compete with the VFL/AFL.Big differfence.

Also I think Football Victoria has made a big mistake in rebranding the VFA as the VFL I now think the VFL is looked upon by most footy fans in Victoria as just the AFL reserves/seconds under another name.

I personally know many EX VFA team supporters and formers club workers who now refuse to go to the VFL games as they think the competition has lost its way and soul.
It would have been better to have filtered the AFL players throughuot the competition like in SA and WA thay way the local clubs get to keep some identity and dignity.

Originally posted by RiverinAFL

Maybe the VFL should look towards where the power bases of football in Victoria and include a team from Albury Region.

They did (sort of). Have you already forgotten the Murray Kangaroos?

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
17,775 (from memory after a big night) in the WAFL GF to see the mighty West Perth beat Subiaco - in terrible weather too, so there wouldn't be an fairweather supporters.
Yes, let's not forget; it was a warm, sunny day, in Melbourne, yesterday.

Originally posted by billy big ears

And a media saturated with the AFL and the most read newspaper flogging its own RL team the Storm with massive coverage to the detriment of the VFL thatgets avery minimal amount of space

I was joking, hence the winking smiley. Sheesh.