Wallabies vs British Lions Test....WOW!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Ms.Storm

Ms.Storm

Melb. Storm
What an event.!!!..sensational atmosphere and wonderful game particularly by the British Lions. The Wallabies couldn't get their act together and were found wanting all night long, I thought.l

However, I am sure the Wallabies will bounce back next week in
Melbourne....surely we are not as bad as tonight showed.

I just wanted to get a thread on this game started for anyone interested and wanted to know if any other afl people saw the game and what they thought...(hope not too much negative stuff guys, hey?)

In a hurry to comment too much on the game, but hope to have some follow up to this thread...Dipper? ...... Elt? anyone, pls??

Cheers.;)

Only saw the first half before I headed off for cricket. Wallabies looked underdone, although the Lions took all their half sniffs at a try, which is usually an Oz trait. The green and gold will need a big lift next up. Result didnt suprise moi, although the ease of it did! Saw the last half of the frogs v all blacks too, which was a bit of an easy win for the Kiwis.

I couldnt believe it! Yo would have sworn the match was in the UK.

There was more red than yellow, and the cheers for the lions at stages was more than the wallabies. Unbelievable.

You could even hear booing towards Australia. Amazing

Joshhem,
Rugby and League people love to wear their jerseys..its the done thing...I have a Wallabies Jersey which I will be wearing on Sat. night with my Storm Socks and Demons T-Shirt...(no bagging here pls!!)

The codes fantastic...the more you watch it, the more it grows on you, the same as league.;) Before you know it, you are hooked.

Bomber Boy,
Yeah I was really surprised about the crowd at the crowd and how the Lions people outnumbered the Aussie supporters, but if you watched the pre-match, I am sure "Budha" said that the majority of tickets were sold in the UK..and the remainder to the Aussies....
Its was a grave misjustice done here by the ARU (as in Melb. where the Test should have gone to the MCG). The Brissie game should have been held at the ANZ Stadium, like the SOO game tonight....the ground was in better nick and surely would have given more Aussies a chances to see the game.

The ARU, believe me, have copped absolutely heaps over these 2 decisions.

Anyway, I am hoping for a reversal of form at Colonial on Sat. In this case though, only about 10,000 tickets were sold in the UK, so we should see a stronger contingency of Aussies.

This game should be a cracker (I hope!!)

Cheers.
GO THE WALLABIES

What a match. The atmosphere was great. I am going next week and I can't wait. With the roof shut it will be electric!

Wow indeed

I haven't seen a European Rugby Team play with quite so much skill, aggression and determination for a very long time.

Two sparkiling tries to start the game off from the outside backs, then a huge bust through the midfield for a third try and finally to complete their utter domination of the hapless Wallabies, a classic forward pack pushover with the No.8 crashing over under the posts.

That 4th try would have shattered the Wallabies who I haven't seen such woeful tackling and lack oif aggression from in a long, long time. In fact you would probably have to go back more than 10 years to find a Wallaby side that tackled so poorly.

Full credit to the Lions, they came to play and were really pumped up for it too. They way their forward were able to wear down the Wallaby pack and control possession in the midfield was a sight for sore eyes really.

A strong Great Britain is good for rugby and its fantastic to see the Lions helping to restore what was once a formidable reputation.

Given how good the Lions are, I'm even more dissappoited they are not playing the All Blacks on this tour.

cheers

Yep full credit to the Lions they thrashed us all night and deserved the win. The skill and run they showed was the biggest eye-opener for me. Their forward pack was always going to be a worry but when on the burst they made the Wallabies defence look very poor.

They were obviously very fired up for it and I hope the loss can sting the Wallabies into action next weekend. Hopefully we can see that sort of determination from our boys.

The crowd noise wasn't surprising considering how many tickets weer available to the tourists and you can expect similar proportions this weekend. What a shocking weekend for me! First my Hawks and then the Wallabies!

Hooray!

Well I don't want to say that I told you so........

Seriously one of the points that I made before was that our pack would run the Wallaby pack ragged & dominate in the set pieces-scrum,line out etc.In the scrums the Lions were totally dominant which was a major factor & in the line outs where everyone is used to seeing Eales soaring up & taking the ball every time we got in amongst them & disrupted the service to him.The sight of the game from our point of view was seeing Eales trudging off disconsalatly in the 2nd half.

The tackling of the whole Lions team was pretty awesome with big hit after big hit going in on the Aussie ball carriers & stopping them making much ground.

The one area where I thought that the Wallaby's would have the beating of the Lions was on the wings & at fullback but the strange thing was Joe Roff did hardly anything Latham was poor whilst Walker was pretty game but had a shocker with his kicking.

I have to admit though that the Aussie team looked really under done it was surely a mistake to only play 1 game in the last few weeks as it definitely left them rusty (maybe they underestimated us!).There's no doubt that they'll come back twice as hard in Melbourne & we're certainly taking nothing for granted.Maqueen is one of the best coaches around & now he's had a chance to see how the Lions played in an actual international rather than warm up games I reckon he'll come up with a few ideas on how to stop them.

Me & a few mates were watching the game live over here (10am kick off) & we couldn't beleive how many Lions supporters were in the Gabba, whole areas of the crowd were just a sea of red.We were reading that people were flying out there without tickets & being quoted $1500 by scalpers for one ticket!

Can't wait for the next game

Ps WCE2000 did you watch the game? I would be interested to see your views on Johnny Wilkinson now, I didn't see Owen Finnegan running through him too many times-LOL.He may only be a featherweight but he tackles like a heavyweight.

Dees01

I didn't know you were going to the game.!
Where abouts are you sitting?

I can't wait either and the day should be electric around Melbourne......the pubs will be full everywhere around Colonial and the best thing Ch.7 did was show the game live...I would have been really disappointed if they overlooked this international in favour of a local game. Congrats to them.

Might see you at the ground...come and say hello ..I think you might remember me!!