Ms.Storm

Melb. Storm
Was wondering if anyone managed to get any tickets for the tests to be held Aust. wide.?

I was one of the lucky ones to get some tickets for the Melb. test, as the game was sold out in 18 minutes on Thurs. morning. The Melbourne game should have been held at the MCG where another 45,000 people would have attended.

This is a real tragedy, because many thousands of tourists also may miss out on this great test. Shame Shame ARU and Colonial Stadium!!

I am so grateful I get the chance to see the Wallabies and Lions play....can't wait.

will be one of the great series.

It will be good to see how Johnny Wilkinson handles a real opposition.

Sitting, high and mighty up in the Northern Hemisphere as the next big thing because he is scoring 30 points against Italy, and other sub-standard sides.

He'll be wondering what hit him when Owen Finegan comes hurtling at him at a million miles an hour.

g'day miss storm

I heard from someone u might know that some pommies want tickets for a very high price.

My advice is get your big bucks while ya can!

I wouldn't sell my tickets for any price....

Maybe for $1m. NO LESS.

Tickets to see the Lions will be as scarce as hen's teeth.
Its a real tragedy the game was not held at the "G" where many more thousands would get to see it.
Cheers.

Originally posted by WCE2000
will be one of the great series.

Sitting, high and mighty up in the Northern Hemisphere as the next big thing because he is scoring 30 points against Italy, and other sub-standard sides.

He'll be wondering what hit him when Owen Finegan comes hurtling at him at a million miles an hour.

Oh mate Johnny 'The General' can handle it NO WORRIES-the guy is the best all round five-eight in world rugby & for a liitle guy you should see how he tackles, he regularly dumps back rowers twice his size back on their arses.He didn't do too badly when England beat Australia & South Africa before Xmas.I'd be much more worried about how Larkham copes with our back row running at him when we've got the ball & roughing him up when he's in possession-I see that the NZ Maoris gave him a hard time on Saturday & that he spent half the game lying on the floor being dealt with by the Physio.
You've obviously got little regard for our rugby like most southern hemisphere fans but I think you could be in for a rude shock when the series starts-the England side who provide most of the players is definitely superior to SA & NZ & is hot on the heels of the Wallabies but when you add in the best players from the rest of Britain then you'll find it's a very special team.
Here's a few players to watch out for on the Lions side-

Ian Balshaw-at full back this guy is just like Chriastain Cullen he runs it from anywhere & can burn anyone away with pace.

Brian O'Driscoll-this dude is outside centre for Ireland & while the Wallabies like to play a big monster like Herbert there O'Driscoll is a very talentd fast runner with some of the best handling skills you'd hope to see.

Jason Robinson-ex GB rugby league winger Robinson is part of the squad even though he has yet to start an international for england but as an impact player from the bench he has been awesome.

The Wallaby pack is gonna be under so much pressue in the set pieces especially the scrums that they will find it hard to provide their backs with good qulaity ball & if you think this means outr pack is a big slow lumbering thing then think again cos it's every bit as mobile as yours.

The Lions will win the series of that I have no doubt.

Yes I got ticktes

Ms Storm,

Yes I got tickets. A mate of mine from Brissie got one for me, we are going down to Melbourne that weekend, I'm going to show him the delights of a civilised city, and an AFL game (Hawks vs Tiges at MCG, or maybe Dogs vs Bombers at Colonial) and I'm going to the rugby. What I know about rugby can be written on the head of a pin with a nine inch nail... why is this series so important, if you excuse my ignorance?

Originally posted by WCE2000

Didnt Johnny Wilkinson kick our arse last year against England?

Anyway I think the Wallabies will sweep the series.

sbagman

Rugby fans in Australia are really looking foward to this tour for two reasons :

1) The British Lions only tour very rarely these days. A composite team made up of the best from England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland used to be formed for a tour of places like South Africa, New Zealnd and Argentina every 3 or 4 years or so. Nowadays with fulltime professionalism and a very busy international calender, the Lions don't get together much these days. The last time a British Lions side toured Australia was in 1989 (I think)

2) British Rugby is competitive these days. England actually beat Australia in a test last year and this Lions tour will be a terrific opportunity to assess just wjere British rugby is in relation to the benchmark Wallabies. It half way between World Cups at the moment and most Poms would have you belive that the balance of power in world rugby is shifting back from Australia-New Zealand-South Africa to the United Kingdom. The Lions tour will either prove or disprove this toi be the case.

As to who I think will win - no contest, the Pommies might think they can match us but, like the cricket will be, this is just wishful thinking on their part.

Wallabies in clean sweep I say.

cheers

BSA,

The Lions still tour every 4 years we beat the Wallabies 2-1 in 89 (when the Aussie press whinged about the rough house tactics of the Lions pack),we lost to the All Blacks 2-1 in 93 & we beat SA 2-1 in 97 despite being pushed back in the scrums in every test.

It tickles me the lack of respect the Southern Hemisphere holds for European Rugby that's why it will be even sweeter when we win (which we will).The real stuff starts on Saturday when we take on the Queensland Reds & the big guns should make their first appearances of the tour-Johnson, Wilkinson etc but today's performance (2nd half anyway) was pretty impressive we destroyed the Queensland's President's XV & for those of you that follow Rugby League you will have seen that Jason Robinson (former GB Rugby League player) scored 5 tries on his Lions debut.

PS just to show the depth of English Rugby,England has provided 19 players for the Lions squad which is basically the whole team plus 4 reserves & yet England fielding a whole reserve team beat Canada 59-20 in Canada at the weekend.Canada may not be in the top echelon of rugby nations but they're capable of giving anyone a hard game especially at home.