richmond
I just refuse to accept that Terry Wallace cant coach.

Maybe I'm living in the past, but I was so relieved when he was appointed RFC coach and that we didnt end up with another "first job as a senior coach" loser like Frawley was.

WTF has happened?

I cant believe for a second we have improved as a club going on 4 years under Wallace.

Was Wallace really a lucky coach at the Dogs?

Or are we the club that attracts talent and then destroys it.

How does Wallace go from being one of the AFL's top coaches to being outcoached every week?

He was a fantastic motivator at the Dogs and they played dirty football. Why are our players so soft and weak?

He was a ruthless b as **** at the Dogs. Picking on players, terrorising them. Why is he so soft with Johnson and Bowden? Why does he perservere with Pettifer. Why cant he get the best out of Deledio and Tambling?

Maybe Wallace is just a good PR guy that sounds better than he is. Or maybe we took a decent coach and turned him into a Frawley. Because I know which of those 2 scenarios scares me the most.

It scares the hell out of me that wallace isnt up to it. Because then who the fk is???

TW is a good coach, but you can't make jam out of pig shit. He will get there, but we need to be patient...its as simple as that.

At the moment i see it as our players having no heart, simple as that. We need players with balls, not soft ***** that won't put their head over the pill coz it might ruin their hair styles.:mad:

Maybe I'm living in the past, but I was so relieved when he was appointed RFC coach and that we didnt end up with another "first job as a senior coach" loser like Frawley was.

WTF has happened?

I cant believe for a second we have improved as a club going on 4 years under Wallace.

How does Wallace go from being one of the AFL's top coaches to being outcoached every week?

He was a fantastic motivator at the Dogs and they played dirty football. Why are our players so soft and weak?

He was a ruthless b as **** at the Dogs. Picking on players, terrorising them. Why is he so soft with Johnson and Bowden? Why does he perservere with Pettifer. Why cant he get the best out of Deledio and Tambling?

Maybe Wallace is just a good PR guy that sounds better than he is. Or maybe we took a decent coach and turned him into a Frawley. Because I know which of those 2 scenarios scares me the most.

It scares the hell out of me that wallace isnt up to it. Because then who the fk is???

I used to think it was about the players 1980, the club has the ability to sink anyones career, perhaps its much deeper than that and we actually do it our coaches aswell?

Is it us the supporters that are the problem? The massive expectation we all have, the success starved fan who is no longer used to seeing their team win so when they actually do get up we all get carried away at how good we could be?

A new coach gets the gig at punt road and tries too hard to impress the masses and end up ____ing the whole thing up !!!!

Frawley did it, Richmond over achieved too early under him and perhaps he listen to the majority of our supporters thinking a flag wasnt that far away hence topping up the list which ended up putting us back years. Yeah Nah .....

Now it looks like happening again with Wallace, saw the fans crying out for some youth, so he cleaned out the decks, but realising we were an angry mob down Punt Road decided to retain some experienced players which enabled us to get a few wins on the board.

Unfortunately we still mangaged to over achieve in his first few seasons. So now it looks like the young guys just havent come on as hoped, while we see other clubs recruits excel past our own and now we are starting to get restless again.

I happily admit I was on the Wallace bandwagon beating my drum loud and clear, was delirious we booted Frawley to the curb, now I just wonder if I was partly to blame for this club continually failing.

Are our expectations forcing our coaches to make the wrong decisions? Do we as a club need a coach who couldnt give a crap about Richmond supporters.

No wait we already tried that in Robert Walls ........................

Fkd if I know who is going to turn this club around. Its really depressing.

(1)I just refuse to accept that Terry Wallace cant coach.

WTF has happened?

(2)Was Wallace really a lucky coach at the Dogs?

(3)He was a fantastic motivator at the Dogs and they played dirty football. Why are our players so soft and weak?

1/ Accept it mate it is the first step to recovery from following Richmond:(

2/How many premierships did he win with the dogs?:cool:

3/I must admit I am not sure why he is so reticent to let loose with the good old fashioned bake. He is probably supporting the players do their role...;)

He is a knob gobbler... The end

The first mistake we made was not doing a full cleanout like the Hawks.

Why oh why do we settle on these 1/2 cleanouts or 75% cleanouts. We need to bite the bullet and really chop away alot of the club.

1/ Accept it mate it is the first step to recovery from following Richmond:(

2/How many premierships did he win with the dogs?:cool:

3/I must admit I am not sure why he is so reticent to let loose with the good old fashioned bake. He is probably supporting the players do their role...;)

He is a knob gobbler... The end
A jive turkey he may be , a knob gobbler he ain't. Aren't you the guy that loves Petifer. He wouldn't be playing league footy if it wasn't for Wallace. What's Gary O'donnell doing these days is he looking for a job what about Terry Daniher

WTF has happened?

IMO, Wallace was, and still is, a very good coach. If Modra hadn't of been injured causing Jarman to be moved to the forward line, Wallace would have been a premiership coach.

It is none of my business to be commenting in a Richmond forum, but I can't help thinking that blame is being heaped upon the wrong person.

A coach relies on his recruiting staff. If a recruiting manager makes mistakes in a draft, it can have dire consequences for many years. Unfortunately Richmond made mistakes with first round picks. Which kills you because your first round picks are your future A grader players with talent and skill.

If you look at the analysis of Richmonds recruiting, they have underachieved with their early picks but done fantastically well with their late picks and rookie drafts. What that means though is that many of your main players selected low down in the draft will have flaws with their disposal and skill, which was why they were overlooked initially.Ideally you want your main players or best players to be your early draft picks because they are the one with the greatest amount of talent.The biggest mistake was the draft where you had 5 picks in the top 20 and didn't capitalise on it as much as you could. IMO that is a recruiting error not a coaching one.

Many richmond supporters complain about passion and structure and coaching etc, but as a neutral observer, the one thing I always notice is your poor kicking. It is hard for a coach to create winning game plans when many of the players can't hit teammates with passes under or not under pressure.

The good news from your point of view is that Cotchin is an excellent A grade kick which you really need.

Personally, I am not as pessimistic about Richmond's medium term future as you are. Cotchin will be a star, Deledio and Tambling will get better, and you will keep turning over non performing players until you get it right. Worst thing you can do is jump off now.Richmond will be a force again for sure.

Just my two cents.

Now it looks like happening again with Wallace, saw the fans crying out for some youth, so he cleaned out the decks, but realising we were an angry mob down Punt Road decided to retain some experienced players which enabled us to get a few wins on the board.

He kept the best of a bad lot, and yes, both he and Miller were keenly aware that they had to turn out a competitive side straight away.

However, it's important to realise they couldn't actually attempt what some people are defining as a full rebuild.

We had senior 'untradeable' players - Richo and Brown (franchise players); Bowden (difficult to trade at his age on just his late '04 form after a couple of very ordinary years and on the money we were paying him); Johnson (we already had virtually no midfield so we needed him, plus nobody would pay him what we were); Campbell (very close to retirement); Stafford (close to retirement); Kellaway (close to retirement); Gaspar (post-knee reco and playing like a dog - would have had to pay 5/6ths of a massive wage even on the off chance someone did want him); and Hall, who spent all of 2004 as the closest thing we had to a genuinely tall key defender.

The best we could possibly get was the deal we did for Ottens.

We were also in the situation where we couldn't ever afford a full list of rookies - we were heavily in debt.

In short, Wallace and Miller 'rebuilt' as fully as was humanly possible.

Unfortunately we still mangaged to over achieve in his first few seasons. So now it looks like the young guys just havent come on as hoped, while we see other clubs recruits excel past our own and now we are starting to get restless again.

It's a testament to Wallace's coaching ability that we did so reasonably in '05-'06. Unfortunately, we're now in a gap phase where we don't have enough 'new era' juniors quite ready to play 22 good enough games of senior football a year, and for one reason or another, our senior players are typically more hindrance than help.

The only difference between the realistic pre-season talk and the round three reality, is that several senior players haven't played near reasonable expectations so far, we don't have Coughlan back, and we're missing several 'next step' juniors who are currently underdone.

Lots of positives so far from past marginal players like Schulz and Moore to offset the not so good.

WTF has happened?

the reason this is is the same reason pagan failed at carlton - the kids and the times have changed. they don't reactt to being called a soft c**t with the same motivation as those days.

at the doggies, he had a solid core on senior players who were very solid players - but more so, natural leaders. grant, croft, Ellis, wynd, libba, cameron, romero,west, johnson, Dimattina, kreutiuk (spelling i know), Darcy to name a few. he also had a handful of very good young players who added that great balance of experience and excitement - such as harris, montgomery brown, murphy, etc.

his final years at the dogs he was milking what was left of those seniors, and had lost the younger players coming through. they WERE NOT reacting to the same "motivational tactics" that his previous lot had - and that was namely why Peter Rhode was given the job - as he had a great relationship with the "next generation" - namely because they were all neglected to werribee and terry hadn't given them the time of day

players like libba, romero, croft, dimattina were being given games before hahn, mcmahon, gia & gilbee - as he did not trust them to do the job for him - he was definitely halting there development. it wasn't until he left that the likes of gilbee, McMahon, Gia, Murphy, cross became the stars they are today

I agree 100%.

No matter how credentialed a coach, something down at Richmond will be in thier way.

Is it the natural drive of the players? Maybe coaches can only impact on that in a small way and the Bulldogs had blokes who were more serious about success. He had an impressive leadership group at the time.