Watts, Fergus Watts

• Thread starter Thread starter Fall Out Boy

Had to get up on me after Rawlings, didn't you?

Give him a chance. The kid will be a gun :)

Nah mate, i quite like the kid, just wondered whether you were going to watch his debut.

Fergus will be a decent AFL footballer.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Nah mate, i quite like the kid, just wondered whether you were going to watch his debut.

Fergus will be a decent AFL footballer.

I didn't see all of it. (Missed the goal ironically)

Was it any good?

He was alright, nothing special, but solid.

His body has developed a bit since we last saw him, but still has a long way to go before he makes it.

Originally posted by Turbocat
Saw the goal on "On the Couch". Flatfooted,contested, chestmark in the sqaure, good solid kick. Whats he like over head?Has he got spring?These are the question that are key to his future.Early days I suppose but he certainly is big ol boy.

Yep.

He looks good. I wanted Geelong to pick him up in the draft, but alas, we picked Kane Tenace, whom i am equally (if not more) happy with.

With the lack of stability at the Crows, I wonder if it would be possible to snag young Fergus back during the trade-week? Obviously we'd have to give a first round pick for him, and i know Crows fans love the kid, but even so, maybe it could happen ;)

One possibility that I can see (and this is just an opinion) is if we can do a three way trade with Richmond and Adelaide. We get Watts, Richmond gets player/s and draft picks (not our first rounder) from us and Adelaide gets Ottens.

What do you think?

I'll start a thread on this on Cats Claw, but I've been thinking about who of our players will get targeted by other clubs at the end of the year. Spriggs comes to mind (as you'd expect) but I do think that Adelaide might be interested in Enright, given that he's a South Australian and can play a bit. He'd fit in well now that Smart has retired and with Carey and Burns also retiring at season's end, they'll be on the look out to get some quality back in the team.

If Adelaide do chase Enright then we could negotiate for Watts and a pick, perhaps. Or am I dreaming? :p

Even though Ferg impressed on debut, I dont think he is what we want. I can see him turning into a Mcarthey. He can take a decent grab, but as I watched most of his school games (went to same school and in same year as him) he is really really slow.

Having said that, it would be good if he was at the club because then I might be able to meet the players given that I'd be one of the few geelong supporters he knows. I am gonna follow his career closely, and wish all the best for him.

Originally posted by answerman
Spriggs comes to mind

i hope he doesnt play in the next 2 games because he has a high value on AFL Fantasy Footy, i want to trade him.

but in saying that, i dont want him to play again this season

Answerman
We get Watts, Richmond gets player/s and draft picks (not our first rounder) from us and Adelaide gets Ottens.

If Adelaide do chase Enright then we could negotiate for Watts and a pick, perhaps

Im all for trying to do something in this area , IF he the guy who will be the "answerman" to our problems (sorry).Is he a strong reliable kick, has got the aerobic capacity for the current setup. If so go for it pay the price.
Im so frustrated with Kingsley, no inspiration , no X factor , no solid conversion. One only has to look at Barry Hall yesterday to see the type of play I expect from a Key Forward

anyway

Its frustrating that players like Watt and now Schultz at Richmond both drafted deep first round, were players we could have drafted. We have gone past them for Mackie and Tenace , admittedly good players , potentially great players but not this type of player.I looking forward to seeing Murphy from the Dockers play this arfo as he is another we passed over.

So , what do we think it would cost us? Enright and Spriggs? And we get a first round pick. ?
In another thread I was discussing with Geecat trading to get a first round pick with similar players mentioned. This years talls are supposed to be better than average.A boy like Willets or even Meeson would be a good addition.What would be more economical , trading for a player already in the system or going for another 1st round pick. In a way , one would think a player who’s been in the system a couple of years should be worth more than an untried draft pick, a couple of years in the gym , pre seasons etc. but it doesn’t seem to be that way. If the talent pool in WA and SA is as good as forcast the teams from these states might be willing to trade for our first round pick + a player. for a couple of their players.
Eg Fremantle have 5 young kids from Vic Dunn, Campbell, Crowley,Murphy and Mundy (who I believe were interested in before the beat us to the punch) .They might be willing to do a deal with these guys for an extra pick to get a local plus a player which could go straight into their side like Spriggs.

Its frustrating that players like Watt and now Schultz at Richmond both drafted deep first round, were players we could have drafted. We have gone past them for Mackie and Tenace , admittedly good players , potentially great players but not this type of player.I looking forward to seeing Murphy from the Dockers play this arfo as he is another we passed over.

I feel your pain.

I love Kane Tenace, but i think we should have traded one of our established players for a pick around the 9 - 10 position in the draft, and snatched up both Tenace and Watts.

Still, it is far too early to draw such comparisons at this stage. Fergus might be a dud, and Archie might turn into Judd #2.

Spindoc , you cant be serious.
You mean no matter how good the deal you would not trade a player with no real ties to the club at this time , a player from another state who when he comes out of contract will have far more bargining power , espec. if the teams at the bottom of the ladder are Vic teams?
You mean even if a 3 way deal that enabled you to get an extra kid from your own state in a year when the SA side is a good chance to win the U18's.?
You mean you would not entertain a deal which put Ottens in a Tri Colour Strip?
Never say never , well almost never say never. Roo ,Ablett, Hart,Scarlett are players that become part the fabric.They are not tradeable but this kid, come on.We like Mackie,Enright but if the deal was right one must be smart not emotional

You're not going to give up anything that will compensate for the exact player we need - which Fergus is. He has all the attributes to be our long-term CHF and I would definitley keep him ahead of getting Ottens.

He has said he intends to be a one-club player only, so looks like the 'home state' bargainign power might not be that great anyway...

It is a rare player indeed that says that he intends to be multiple club player. My point is that there are very few players on a list that one would totally rule out from the trade table. If you are happy with Watts and he is happy to stay, fine. Although passing on Ottens for him is amazing. I would also suggest that you might need more than just one player. There is also always fresh meat so to speak. Having read some write ups on the board on the U18’s today SA match there might be a couple of FF types in the SA U18 side read the review .Have a read

By GOALden Hawk
For SA there were stars aplenty, and plenty to like. Captain Ryan Griffen must have had 10 touches in the first 15 minutes, he was simply burning. He is a real footballer this kid, very smart, does everything well, good size. Definitely in the top half dozen players I reckon.
Nick Batchelor showed some real pace off a wing and looks a bit like a skinny version of Adam Cooney. Needs a lot of weight (only 68kg) but definitely had a big day. Other midfielders such as Angus Monfries, Ben Eckerman and Toby Stribling also had big days.
SA also had two dominant forwards in James McLeay and Heath Grundy, both of whom kicked 3 goals. McLeay is a solid kid who is a good prospect as a full forwrad. Grundy dominated the first half, taking 2 screamers and plenty of other grabs. Both maybe a little slow, but given our dearth of tall forwards should be looked at.
Benet Copping did a good job in defence on Frankin, and Scott McMahon was also excellent down back - his reading of the play was superb, really worked well as the 2nd or 3rd tall.
Cameron Wood was also impressive in the ruck, although only used for limited spells. He dominated the tapouts, although he had no real opposition. Tap work was very good and he has a huge leap. Didn't do a lot around the ground, but definitely a great prospect.

It seems that SA has quite a bit of talent this year. Now I would presume on current form and position you would have a good chance to get Griffen. To get to the best of the others, one might need an extra couple of picks, preferably first round. The temptation of youth, the allure of potential can be a powerful force

Why would Adeliadie trade a first round picked good quality prospect for an average defender/midfielder who isnt getting a game at his home club.

Do you mean ave. AFL players in that they are seasoned and can step and play when required.
Do you mean good quality prospect as a young player who has not performed yet at at this level and wont be ready to be a mainstay reliable for another two years

Look there are players every year who are under and over rated.You seem to rate him like a very early pick like a Riewoldt.Only time will tell if you are right and all the other draft experts were wrong. I would be just as happy to have a look in the draft or somebody like Paul Johnson at Wc if the cost of the trade would be too high

BLuEMoOse

Have you checked out the Matt Burgin's preliminary top10 from the first round of the U18's, 4 out 10 from SA.

Burgatron's Top 10
10:44:15 AM Tue 6 July, 2004
Matt Burgan
Sportal/exclusive to afl.com.au
Round Two of the National Under 18 Championships are on at Optus Oval on Tuesday with the second day of the division two matches. Some great footy was played on the opening weekend, however, and after casting his eye over the action, our Matt Burgan lists his best 10 players from the first two days.

Please note this is not a prediction of how the first 10 picks of the National AFL Draft may pan out in November.

1. Heath Grundy - South Australia
Back for his second championship, Grundy was terrific up forward in his first game for South Australia against Western Australia, booting three goals and raking in 11 grabs - including seven contested marks. He also finished with 15 disposals. He stands at 190cm.

2. Ryan Griffen - South Australia
Another Croweater returning for the second successive year, Griffen was outstanding with 25 touches - the most for the match against Western Australia, which included 18 kicks. A midfielder at 186cm, he also chipped in with a goal. He is a standout prospect.

5. Toby Stribling - South Australia
Stribling put in an outstanding performance for South Australian against Western Australia. The dashing blonde-haired midfielder notched up 24 disposals - 12 kicks and 12 handballs - and pumped the ball inside 50 on eight occasions.

10. Nick Batchelor - South Australia
Another fine performer in South Australia's first-up victory over Western Australia, Batchelor was a strong performer in the midfield, gaining 16 disposals, four inside 50s, while he also chipped in with a goal. Stands at 182cm and hails from Norwood.