Western Jets VS Calder Cannons

shuveradda_41

Went to the Game today..

Jets got slaughtered all day long. They had nothing. Was in the huddle at 3 quarter time and the coach said to his players: "You know what?! I'm sick of people ringing me and telling me How Good all you's kids are. Your the best the western region has got to Offer and you can Only Shephard four times in a Quarter?"

He said to Ruckman Brendan Tyquin after an altercation in the third quarter: "Tykes you were supposed to be the loose man in defence. And you run over and throw a Punch? Yea we all know the western kids can throw punches but can you play football? then they went and kicked a goal on you coz you left your post!"

He wasn't livid Just dissapointed in his players. But we can forgive a little with all the injuries.

But i was Quite happy with an Under 16 kid from Hoppers Crossing named Chris Latella today he showed some good signs and is a manchild. He was no.23 in the backline.

What are your thoguhts about the game?

When you add 5 under 16's to the second bottom side in the TAC Cup - already missing quite a few of its best players through injury (Sutcliffe, Houli, Dickson, Morelli) and play against a disciplined (if not super talented) Calder line-up, what do you expect?

All that aside, 4 shots at goal to 20-odd after half time is just not even close to good enough.

That is true The side is very inexperienced but it will probably help them next year and the year after.

Jonathon Blake looks the goods also.

shuveradda_41 said:
I'll wait until tomorrow before I have my say on the players...gotta work out what to say.

How much do I wrap up the Calder players, given the weak opposition?

And for the Jets do I mention the 15 players with no heart that played today or the 6 or 8 who tried really hard?

While I'll have a think about that, I will say the Jets are miles off the track. It gets to embarrassment stage to have a team in this competition who are not competitive and generally have not been for some time and provide such few draftees. Finals appearances in 2003 and 2004 resulted in elimination during week one...that means nothing. I'd be interested to know who picks some of these kids that get on the list because some of them clearly aren't smart enough or talented enough for this competition. Do you point the finger at the coach, whose players seem to have no respect for him, the players, the Western suburbs culture or the regional manager who has been around a while and not achieved much on field success?

6-8? Generous.

If it is more than the players I guess we will know soon enough - apparently there is a talented group of 16's coming through...

Finals? What a joke - a top 8 in a 12-team comp. Playing one more game in such circumstances is not playing finals.

footyman said:
I'll wait until tomorrow before I have my say on the players...gotta work out what to say.

How much do I wrap up the Calder players, given the weak opposition?

And for the Jets do I mention the 15 players with no heart that played today or the 6 or 8 who tried really hard?

While I'll have a think about that, I will say the Jets are miles off the track. It gets to embarrassment stage to have a team in this competition who are not competitive and generally have not been for some time and provide such few draftees. Finals appearances in 2003 and 2004 resulted in elimination during week one...that means nothing. I'd be interested to know who picks some of these kids that get on the list because some of them clearly aren't smart enough or talented enough for this competition. Do you point the finger at the coach, whose players seem to have no respect for him, the players, the Western suburbs culture or the regional manager who has been around a while and not achieved much on field success?

Howdy Footyman,

I think you were watching the game near where I was sitting yesterday so I think we might have seen similar things.

I hope that you write your report as you saw it and leave the political niceties out.

The Cannons were not impressive and made lots of mistakes, especially early, but they kept doing the right things and throughout the game steadily pulled further and further ahead of the Jets. Having four or five players back in the side after several weeks off can upset team balance and it took a little while for the Cannons to work it out again. Some of the Cannons excessive handball would have got them into trouble against a better skilled side, but they kept plugging away in very difficult blustery conditions. A couple of Cannons were quiet but an overall team effort saw them gain the four points, a good percentage boost and some much needed confidence for the run up the finals. The Cannons have only beaten one team in the top six this year - Geelong - so they need to keep working hard on their skills and drills as well as playing for each other to get into the business end of the finals. With all their top age players back, and providing they stay fit, they have the ability to be respected team for the remainin part of 2005. I am sure Hydey and his assistants will be working hard at getting even more improvement from their footballers.

Three Cannons players wore grass cats yesterday. At least one other player didn't bring his required screw-in boots to the ground. The ground was slippery and it was obvious that screw-ins were required if you wanted to maintain your footing during the contests. One of the Cannons grass-cat wearers kicked one out of bounds on the full from a set shot 20 metres directly in front of goal. Just as well we were 12 goals in front. Its not just the souls of the grass cuts that I have a problem with, its the structure of the upper part of the shoe too. They are designed for dry weather and hard surface footy. If the surface is at all slippery and/or the footy is wet then grass-cats are useless.

Several of the Jets player's endeavour throughout the game could not be faulted. They put lots of pressure on during contests but had no options to kick to when they won the ball. I can't remember (I don't take notes) one passage of play that looked like proper trained and disciplined footy. I don't think that a Northerly wind blows at Williamtown very often - the Jets hugged the southern boundary all day with several of their kicks going out of bounds on the full. On a normal Willlie day the southerly wind would have kept the ball in play. It appears that they were used to Willie's usual southerly and did not make the adjustment to the opposite direction wind.

The first post of this thread mentioned a Jets player hitting a Cannons player. Doubts have already been raised due to this players previous transgressions and from what I saw yesterday there is no place in the development of young talented players for this sort of thuggery. I love the tough and physical aspects of the game, not the cowardly king hits in or away from a contest. The Jets obviously know about the incident yesterday and I hope they take some action to ensure it doesn't happen again. With three umpires within 50 metres of this incident it is beyond me how they missed reporting it. When a side is 10 goals down, surely one of the umpires must be watching for behind the play incidents from the loosing and frustrated side, or from a winning arogant side. The Jets are obviously aware that they have several punchy players - what are they doing about it?

The umpires were terrible - again - yesterday. I obviously follow the Cannons so it would be easy to dismiss the errors. Some of the free kicks that the Cannons received were amazing. I can remember saying to myself at least half a dozen times - 'How did we get that one?" and for about the same number of times - "How could he pay that against us?" While waiting around after the game, I overheard an umpires coach talking to one of the field umpires and there were not many positives being mentioned. I was impressed by the coach's realistic attitude though.

Where do these umpires come from? Are they the best from local leagues who are trained and being developed along the same lines as the players? Or are they drop outs from the VFL umpiring hopefuls. Footy Vic needs to look at the standard of umpires in the TAC CUP and pay some respect to the talented players by providing talented umpires.

It was a good, but bloody cold day for Chewy though - one chewy for one point. 100% for the day deserves a beer.

I saw Wayne Pataks name listed on the interchange. Did he get a run this week? If so how was his performance?

shuveradda_41 said:
Went to the Game today..

But i was Quite happy with an Under 16 kid from Hoppers Crossing named Chris Latella today he showed some good signs and is a manchild. He was no.23 in the backline.

Yea, play footy under 16's down at Hoppers with Chris, he is one of the most determined players u'll see. That was his first game with the Jets and from all reports he did a good job.

Manchild? lol, he goes to the gym nearly everyday, he's huge!

where did he play mate? usually at Hoppers he plays at hff just to nurse him through the season but his pozzie is probably a centremen.

Hey footyman, surely there were some good players for the jets??? or were they really that bad?

I am sure Footyman will answer, but in the meantime...

Latella - Half-back/back pocket. Did OK.
Patak went off injured in the first quarter and did not return.

For the rest of them:
Tyquin played in the ruck and was OK - dominated hitouts but the Cannons mids just feasted on them. Took a couple of marks around the ground - did well....better than OK actually. Probably the Jets best.

Jake Edwards and Cameron Lockwood both played well across Half-forward.
Young Latella contributed in his first game, Trajowski was reasonable at full-back...Gagula seemed OK in what was his first game...

I dont know - that was about it. The Jets simply do not get the ball through the midfield. In all honesty, they do 'have a go' for large parts of games in terms of tackles etc, but when they get it their disposal is often straight to the opposition...who cash in on the turn-over...goal.

Kegs44 said:
Hey footyman, surely there were some good players for the jets??? or were they really that bad?
There were some good players, but hey they got rolled by over 100 points and only kicked 3 goals for the day. Everything they mess up, kick ins were appauling, clearing it out of defence is woeful (see comment about Clifton), accountability is shocking, tackling is weak...not good enough.

WESTERN

I thought Michael Knight was good as a small defender, I know Caruso got away from him a little bit early on, but he took a couple of marks himself that were gutsy and throughout the game he showed that he was trying hard.

Brendan Tyquin put in one of his better shows for a while, aside from the incident referred to above, he did his job dropping back as well as compete in the ruck for a large chunk of the day against both Neaves, J Allen and Hopkins.

Callum Richards started down back but worked into the midfield and I reckon really blossomed in the second half on a wing and in the centre with some terrific in and under work and strong attack on the footy. Looks suited for that role in 2006. A few times he was on hands and knees working the ball out. From memory he came off late in the game with a bit of a limp up.

Jake Edwards was the other one who impressed, his marking continues to amaze me, so good overhead. Had a few shots for goal including a poster the umpire thought :confused:

Sam Young I guess wasn't too bad, it looked to me like he was having a dip but needs acting lessons after a disgraceful attempt to get a 50m penalty and also a rule book wouldn't go astray so he can learn about the advantage rule.

Jonathan Blake it stuns me that he isn't considered in the best 25 Vic Metro U16s...he should be going to Brisbane. Great experience him getting a good run on ball yesterday anyway.

Cameron Lockwood around the stoppages has some ability and doesn't mind bullocking his way through, good for a bottom ager.

Robert Trajkovski played a terrific game last week and was alright on Shane Neaves and Jarryd Allen when they rotated forward, but please don't let him kick in again. I've never seen someone do such a bad job at it as yesterday.

Nathan Lyons had a good go in the midfield, but can play better than he did yesterday.

Brad Clifton, well I don't give him a wrap. Yeah he did a nice job on Wall and then I think Jarryd Allen in defence, but the usual business of worrying so much about his man and not getting much of the ball. And when he does get it, there aint a lot of poise there, tends to be a rushed, 40m, high kick as far as he can get it out of defence. He might keep his man quiet, but in the big picture the Jets concede such high scores every week and half the problem is poor use of it from defence that sees the opposition just gain possession and pump it back in there time and time again. Clifton I reckon is major culprit and it is normally the running off defenders who are the big losers because of it.

Chris Latella yeah only young but this "manchild" business a few of you are going on with - he dropped a sitter of an uncontested mark in the last qtr then bent down to pick it up and was completely pushed off the ball by Joe Gazzo I think it was...like a feather. Surely he'd would want to be a little stronger over the ball than that. Especially for a "manchild who goes to the gym everyday".

CALDER

Michael Farrelly was my best on ground yesterday, his ball handling, his positioning, his evasiveness and his goalsense were outstanding. Two really good games in row from him now. Four goals yesterday.

Matt White how dominant does one player want to be at stoppages in a game? Honestly, he broke away from stoppages with the footy so many times, only problem was his kicks were a bit scrubby. Would love to know a clearance stat from yesterday. Only going to get better on his way back from injury.

Brad Allen is another who has come back from injury and put in a second really good game in a row. Still doing a job as a defender but is getting up the ground more than he did before injury, and is far more damaging as a result.

Gareth Bowes would have had plenty of it as usual.

Joe Gazzo kicked three of his four goals in the last quarter, they're better judges than me to the best player but not best on in my view. I do like how he uses his body to take a mark though, give his height he does it well.

Richard Douglas it's amazing how different he plays to his older brother, doesn't even look the same really. But love the way he runs and carries the ball and strong overhead for his height.

Fort Caruso looked on fire early with a couple of goals from sharp roving.

Big Teaukura Paiti did his job again in defence, didn't go down there much but he's doing well that bloke.

Sam Robertson was my disappointment from the game, I don't want to be harsh on here but for an AIS kid what has gone wrong? Playing in defence and Jake Edwards has the better of him.

That'll do if I remember anyone else I will add it later.

chewy-on-your-boot said:
Howdy Footyman,

I think you were watching the game near where I was sitting yesterday so I think we might have seen similar things.

It was a good, but bloody cold day for Chewy though - one chewy for one point. 100% for the day deserves a beer.
Yeah, I did hear a chewy now you mention it.

The umpires were terrible - again - yesterday. I obviously follow the Cannons so it would be easy to dismiss the errors. Some of the free kicks that the Cannons received were amazing. I can remember saying to myself at least half a dozen times - 'How did we get that one?" and for about the same number of times - "How could he pay that against us?" While waiting around after the game, I overheard an umpires coach talking to one of the field umpires and there were not many positives being mentioned. I was impressed by the coach's realistic attitude though.

Where do these umpires come from? Are they the best from local leagues who are trained and being developed along the same lines as the players? Or are they drop outs from the VFL umpiring hopefuls. Footy Vic needs to look at the standard of umpires in the TAC CUP and pay some respect to the talented players by providing talented umpires.
Agree, but the standard always has been bad.

Nice wrap up of the players Footy. 10/10 for watching the full 4 quarters as I thought you were turning purple/blue at 1/2 time. ;)

Sezzac1 said:
Nice wrap up of the players Footy. 10/10 for watching the full 4 quarters as I thought you were turning purple/blue at 1/2 time. ;)
Cheers Sezzac. I was bloody freezing, I wore about three extra layers of clothes to the footy today!

But yeah I did stay til the end unlike you who turned to your car, put the heater on and drove elsewhere :D

Did the jets have many players out from the eastern game? If yes how many and who where they? Who wasn't playing that are usually in the jets best side?

Kanga who are you I play u/16's too.lol thats funny

But kanga you are wrong mate, he doesnt go to the gym everyday infact he doesnt go anymore he only went for about six months..

Footyman.. Good assesment of the players there and i agree with what you said about jon blake. But i have no doubts in my mind that chris latella will become a very good player for the jets and maybe even an afl club. he may have been psuhed off the ball but he is playing against people 1- 2 years older than him.

freak29 said:
Did the jets have many players out from the eastern game? If yes how many and who where they? Who wasn't playing that are usually in the jets best side?

For the game vs Calder (compared to the week before):
In: Finlay Adamson, Michael Gagula, Chris Latella, Shannon Franklin, Denis O'Loughlan, Joel Magnabosco, Jackson Litchfield.
Out: Brant Dickson, Matthew Morelli, Michael Spooner, Ben Fletcher, Jamie Lane, Socratees Kalas, Michael Rowe

Also missing Bachar Houli and Jake De Sousa(?)...that's all I can be bothered figuring out.

But you are right freak they did have a lot of changes from the previous week and the first three outs are handy enough players I think.

with the likes of these senior age players:
mathew morelli,brendan tyquin,brad sutcliff,jake de souza,david isbister,
david sablitch and wayne patak.
who were at some stage on the western list does anyone agree with me when i say the jets should at least be very competative with these likes on thier list.

chooknafied said:
with the likes of these senior age players:
mathew morelli,brendan tyquin,brad sutcliff,jake de souza,david isbister,
david sablitch and wayne patak.
who were at some stage on the western list does anyone agree with me when i say the jets should at least be very competative with these likes on thier list.
Yeah agree, one game earlier this year they had a spine of:

Clifton
Dickson
Houli
Edwards
Spooner

Not the best I've ever seen but not that bad I don't think, throw in Tyquin to ruck, Lyons on a wing, De Sousa down back, Morelli up forward, Sutcliffe on ball...probably a few other good bottom age players and U16 yr old kids...but were still losing games with that.

On the weekend they had three of that spine I mentioned above not playing, plus no De Sousa, Morelli and Sutcliffe. Guess they were undermanned when you look at it. But at the same time other clubs are able to find blokes to come in and step up to the plate and not play such poor footy.

footyman said:
For the game vs Calder (compared to the week before):
In: Finlay Adamson, Michael Gagula, Chris Latella, Shannon Franklin, Denis O'Loughlan, Joel Magnabosco, Jackson Litchfield.
Out: Brant Dickson, Matthew Morelli, Michael Spooner, Ben Fletcher, Jamie Lane, Socratees Kalas, Michael Rowe

Also missing Bachar Houli and Jake De Sousa(?)...that's all I can be bothered figuring out.

But you are right freak they did have a lot of changes from the previous week and the first three outs are handy enough players I think.

Joel Magnabosco played against Eastern.

What would you do with the Jets for the rest of the year??? Get rid of any top age players that have no chance of being recruited and try some other youngsters??? Just put as good a team on the park that is possible??? I dont know what can be done to get something outta year now?

Sorry forgot to ask this. Footyman have you seen enough games to suggest a line up you reckon the Jets should use for the rest of the year.

Kegs44 said:
Joel Magnabosco played against Eastern.

What would you do with the Jets for the rest of the year??? Get rid of any top age players that have no chance of being recruited and try some other youngsters??? Just put as good a team on the park that is possible??? I dont know what can be done to get something outta year now?
Oh ok, got Magnabosco wrong, not sure who the other "in" was then?

What do they do? I'm used to seeing a successful side and mates in that side so thats way different to the Jets. But you say play kids and have them get slaughtered every week? I don't think thats a good option.

Surely what they did the other day by giving young guys like Richards, Lyons, Peters and Blake a good run in the midfield was the right option. I'd get rid of Clifton from defence and move him around to the other end, he's not going to get drafted playing back, and the Jets cough up an average of 20 goals a game anyway so it couldnt get any worse than that. Putting O'Loughlin at full forward was a bad idea the other day I thought, god it hardly invites a side to play straight footy with him down there.

I don't know a stack about Sexton or Neeld, but personally they probably need a coach or regional manager down there in 2006 who is fresh from AFL footy in the last year or two, I reckon the guys like Bewick, Rock and Hocking would have brought through the door an automatic level of respect when they took up TAC coaching gigs, and possibly Paul Hudson taking on things at Gippsland is similar with his old man a legend of AFL going down helping out as well...what value that must bring to their club and those kids. The Jets are a laughing stock at the moment and need some credibility and if someone with a reputation now is game enough to put it on the line they should have a crack.

If you can't tell I have a just a little passion for this footy thing, so you'd like to think that those blokes down in the West have some idea of what sort of competition they are playing in, some sort of idea how a little bit of commitment and a little bit of dedication to their footy could end up with them reaching the ultimate prize. Even if they don't, right now they have the chance to play against and play on guys who will actually play AFL next year. You reckon the kids who are running around in local footy now, but who played on and beat a guy back in their U18 days like a Luke Hodge or a Brock McLean don't remember it??? It's not worth remembering it as a year or two where you got flogged every week and the games were a chore. But hey thats only what I think.

Anyway my soft spot is for the Cannons so well done to them, it's been overshadowed just how bloody good they were with all this talk about the Jets :D

Kegs44 said:
Sorry forgot to ask this. Footyman have you seen enough games to suggest a line up you reckon the Jets should use for the rest of the year.
Yeah I have. Jets, Cannons and Dragons are the teams I have seen most this year...not the best options really but I gotta take what fits in.

I'll get back to ya later, but does anyone know who is expected back this year? Don't want to put people in who wont play any games (eg. does Sutcliffe, Morelli, De Sousa go in or not?)

Not that it matters that Lubke was the other in.

My fault as well - should have given Richards his due (was good against Eastern as well - seems to be returning to a bit of early season form??) and Knight was OK for someone playing his first game in the backline. I wrapped up Latella and Gagula for first games, but no doubt the other two were ahead of them...

O'Loughlin might have been a bad idea, but who else was there? Story is Spooner has quit, as has De Sousa, and Isbister (not that they are full-forwards, but you know what I mean)...and a heap of other players mentioned in this thread...Tyquin had to ruck...I mean, you can only play who you have got.

Fair enough to have a go at coach and admin, but I suspect that chooknafied and kegs are Jets players and have their own thoughts on this???

Clifton? Fine. Play him forward I guess, but I think there were already 14 bottom ages in the team on the weekend...who else do you bring in to play back?

You are right - Calder were fantastic. I dont think they are super talented this year, but they work for each other and stick to the plan. Watching them run in numbers and leave their men to help was good to see. But back to Western (again), they just cant get the ball. Look at the stats from the weekend - only 2 players got 20 touches, and 12 got 10 or less...you cant win games without the ball, and unfortunately without Sutcliffe or Houli, Lyons is left to play a lone hand, and the last two weeks...well, the results have shown.