What do we like about Jason Cloke?

pieman1

Sep 10, 2004
collingwood
I have to admit it staggers me the amount of $hit the Clokes cop from the opposition and some of our own fans. Jason seems to cop the most, so I want to list the things we like about him. He has enourmous courage and will fill the hole infront of leading forwards. He is extremely unselfish and leave his man to help a teammate. He is excellent at spoiling and rarely outmarked when the ball comes in high. He is always prepared to do the 1 percenters and excellent at smothering. Is only 22 and still learning the caper. Yes he needs to tighten up a bit and show a bit more composure when under the pump, but I fell these things will get better with more experience. What do you guys think? Bitter Richmond supporters need not reply.

Good post mate, i agree he does cope it unfairly from all supporters and media, let's face it he is not a forward! as we found out in the 2003 grand final but his courage playing that loose man role in the back half is his major strength, his kicking does let him down and too often he seems to panic by gaining postion and just whacking it on his boot often without even looking where his kicking it even when his all alone, but he will learn by that his still a kid but we cannot keep using that as a excuse for him, interesting to see how Cameron goes this year hopefully injury free as he showed a bit last year.

I'm fairly agnostic at this stage.

We know his great work, and we know his sh|te work.

I can almost put up with his dodgey kicking, but it's his lack of pace that's really hurting him as a player.

In fact, I reckon he'd kick better if he could move quicker and find some space.

I'm led to believe that he was carying an injury last year (among with about 24 others) so I'll be interested to see how fit and fast he is if he's over it. He's got two years to do something.

There's a lot to like about Jason Cloke.

His main attribute is that he's tough and generally well disciplined, you know you'll always get 110% from him. He's good in the air, both marking and spoiling. He has a good football brain, he reads the ball well although he doesnt always read his oppponent perfectly.

His weaknesses (kicking, pace, one-on-one defence) are well documented, but he's definitely worth persevering with. Even if he never makes the grade as a key defender hew could have a long career as a back pocket/back flank, and occassional forward line pinch hitter.

2005 should be a make or break year for him.

I used to like plenty about him in 2002. Looked a good reader of the play and played with courage and confidence. Now the thing I like most about him is his brother and I hope in time I can say his brothers. Maybe if he can get some confidence back he will be able to play a role but he doesn't look to have the equipment at this stage to go one on one with a quality opponent.

Hope I don't say the same about Cam in a year or twos time.

I know he can't play at all, apart from being third man up, but I just love the way he goes about it, his courage, and that he's found himself a really good role, when it works, even though he has very, very limited ability.

This is a serious post. I reckon he's great, just can't play.

Clokie is a strong tough defender with a good footy brain. He is actually quite good one-on-one and has towelled up Jonathon Brown a couple of times to prove it. His smarts make him an excellent loose man in defense as well as he judges the flight well and spoils/bashes the opposition forwards.

He is slow and lacks a leap, so while he wins jostling contests he can be beaten on the lead and in the air. This is a problem in a key defensive post especially against the gun forwardes like Tredrea Lloyd Hall and Gehrig.

His kicking is dodgy, not very long and tends to wobble and float. His handball is passable, just. These disposal flaws mean he won't make a good forward, either as a goal kicker or as a distributing CHF.

As a spare parts defender he is a valuable contributor, but his lack of athleticism means he is no replacement for Presti or Wakes. He lacks versatility at this time, but there is definitely a spot for him on the list.

FIGJAM said:
I'm fairly agnostic at this stage.

We know his great work, and we know his sh|te work.

I can almost put up with his dodgey kicking, but it's his lack of pace that's really hurting him as a player.

In fact, I reckon he'd kick better if he could move quicker and find some space.

I'm led to believe that he was carying an injury last year (among with about 24 others) so I'll be interested to see how fit and fast he is if he's over it. He's got two years to do something.

too slow, cant kick....where have i heard this before? ;)
seriously though, i have to agree with this assesment,but will (at this stage anyway) always go into a game with a fit C1.
why, one of the few players that that shows real courage week in, week out for the team. 100% player who plays with severe limitations in his game but to use an old cliche, gives it a red hot go every week.
now if we can only convince MM never to let him wander forward of the centre circle.

Jason is POX, i dont know how he gets a game for a team like Collingwood, but his brothers seem to be alot better, ALOT.

In fairness, by saying that he doesn't know how he gets a game for a team like Collingwood, that may have been meant in a sort of veiled compliment, as in, he doesn't rate C1, so he doesn't see how he'd get a game on a decent side like Collingwood.

Not much at all.
He has courgeous but other than that he is nothing.

Can say that as I have coached him and he was a ******* in juniors and only got somewhere on the back of his dad.
Travis is a gun though

nothing. lucky to b getting a game IMO
you talk about courage but cloke doen't have much.
looks like a 2 year old compared to the likes of leigh clobert and glenn archer

What do we like about Jason Cloke?