What level is AFLW at compared to men.

At what level of boys/men do you think women would find on par competition ?

StuieG

Aug 26, 2019
The Matilda's often play U/16 boys team because of the lack of local competition.

Suggest your poll options need some work.

An Under 16 TAC Cup side would smoke and AFLW side by about 30 goals.

An under 16 SMJFL Div 1 side would beat an AFLW side by about 10 goals (and that is because they will have lost many of their better players from previous seasons to TAC Cup or APS).

On skill level, I reckon a VAFA E Grade Reserves team would be comparable, but the mens team would be victorious in a match due to greater physical strength.

Physical
The strength and running and jumping (and so on) capacity of women is around 80%* to that of men. Women also face other biological obstacles, such as being five-times more likely to suffer serious knee injuries, infinite-times more likely to become pregnant and give birth, etc.

Hence why AFLW is its own level.
*It varies from about 70% to 90% depending on the specific details of the activity.

Skill and smarts
Accounting for the aforementioned physical differences, the technical proficiency of the best female footballers is equal to that of the best male footballers.

Professionalism
Most AFLW players have full-time jobs beyond football, like most local male players and unlike most AFL and junior players.

Tactical
The preparation and application of tactics in AFLW are more sophisticated than any level of footy/pathway that doesn't directly feed into/complement the AFL.

Cultural Impact
At this point in time, AFLW is having a transformative effect on the Australian sporting landscape. Men's/boys' football will always be a huge part of our national identity, though its biggest strides forward have probably already been made.

None of the options, it is improving and it is a good thing in general for football - but they are a long long long way behind. Not sure they could beat any organised male team because the skill level is not there yet to overcome the physical disadvantage.

You don’t actually believe this do you?
No, I believe the whole statement, rather than your bastardised version of it.

And there's plenty of respected football people who say the same thing, be it John Cahill 20 years ago or Matthew Lappin two weeks ago.

The Matilda's often play U/16 boys team because of the lack of local competition.
And lost 7-0 to newcastle jets 15s...

Aflw expanded far too quick. Just when the talent pool was filling the league, they water it down a shitload and ruin it. Itll be years before its good yet

None of the options, it is improving and it is a good thing in general for football - but they are a long long long way behind. Not sure they could beat any organised male team because the skill level is not there yet to overcome the physical disadvantage.
I can say pretty confidently that Fremantle/North AFLW sides would beat my local's ressies side. I'd say they're a step below the metro local league, country league or U18 comps, but would flog the vast majority of ressies and U16s

No, I believe the whole statement, rather than your bastardised version of it.
Huh? Ok, if not including the formentioned is a bastardisation of it then I’ll pose the exact same question with it included.

You don’t actually believe the skill level of the best AFLW players is at 80% (or 70-90%*) of the level of the best in the AFL do you?

Huh? Ok, if not including the formentioned is a bastardisation of it then I’ll pose the exact same question with it included.

You don’t actually believe the skill level of the best AFLW players is 80% (or 70-90%*) of the best in the AFL do you?
I believe everything I have said in this thread. And everything I've said is very clear, therefore I don't feel the need to repeat or clarify anything at this stage.

That’s fine. Regardless, I’ll still put the delusion into perspective.

Ablett Jr, Pendlebury and Sam Mitchell are widely regarded as some of the most skilled players of the modern era.

The best AFLW players are not at 70-90% of their level. Anyone with a pair of eyes can confirm that.

Pointless comparing any field based male sport to its female equivalent in my view.

I think AFLW has been improving in skill / footy nous and speed every year its been in existence and has improved again this season.

The Bulldogs' 2 games have both been interesting, relatively high scoring and have kept my interest.

Just hope they don't go past 14 teams any time soon.

Pointless comparing any field based male sport to its female equivalent in my view.

I think AFLW has been improving in skill / footy nous and speed every year its been in existence and has improved again this season.

The Bulldogs' 2 games have both been interesting, relatively high scoring and have kept my interest.

Just hope they don't go past 14 teams any time soon.
One thing that really appears clear to me is that while skills are improving out of sight, there still exists a huge gulf between the very best and everyone else.

Take the Carlton v Bulldogs game from the weekend. One of the best AFLW games we've seen yet, and some of the players (Blackburn, Prespakis, Harris, McLeod, Fitzgerald) were playing to a standard easily at what you'd see in many local leagues or U18s. Take Blackburn for example - she's quick, strong, and she can kick 50 on the run. Most local players couldn't say the same about themselves. At the same time, the bottom 5-10 players on each side would look absolutely lost in a country ressies game and struggle to get a kick. The teams overall, particularly better ones like North/Freo, could get a win over local ressies and U16s, but until the quality in the bottom end improves, I can't see them coming near a local league side, no matter if it's metro or country.

In answer to the poll, to say u16’s may be a little harsh but definitely somewhere just below the u18’s. The improvement has been noticeable and I’m all for the opstimism, but obviously not to the point of trying to pass lies as fact as we saw above. The competition is where it is right now and that’s fine.

Few points of perspective if we’re actually drawing comparisons between male comps. This isn’t to denegrade the women’s, but since the comparative discussion has been opened:

- As mentioned The Matilda’s who are far more skilful in their respective sport lost 7-0 when pitted against a male u15 side.

- If we were to place the best of the best AFLW players on the same team and have them play a match against the bottom AFL team, well I highly doubt they would score a goal. After the match there certainly would not be takeaways such as “gee, athleticism aside I thought their skill level was almost on par”

- Now imagine matching up the same AFLW team against a team of the most skilled AFL players and trying to say with a straight face their skill level would be at 80% of the AFL team’s level.

That’s fine. Regardless, I’ll still put the delusion into perspective.

Ablett Jr, Pendlebury and Sam Mitchell are widely regarded as some of the most skilled players of the modern era.

The best AFLW players are not at 70-90% of their level. Anyone with a pair of eyes can confirm that.
Wow, Gary Ablett Jr = good player? Some rich football knowledge there.

Please keep showing off your wisdom and tell us who the five best AFLW players were last year, what foot they prefer to kick with, and what their key strengths and weaknesses are.

Wow, Gary Ablett Jr = good player? Some rich football knowledge there.
For a start let’s be clear here, all you did was copy + paste some arbitrary and blatantly incorrect article which displays no football knowledge on your part.

Please keep showing off your wisdom and tell us who the five best AFLW players were last year, what foot they prefer to kick with, and what their key strengths and weaknesses are.
No need for that sort of tone and frankly you’re not in any position to try act condescending here. That aside have no issue there if you can actually explain how any further onus falls on me when it was your point (albeit a copied one) that was called out, and it’s your point that you can’t justify.