What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

Nick Daicos plays one season and gets the nod? Also how is Brayshaw VC with Cripps in the side? Who did this lol
Anything fan voted is a joke. Supporters just pick players from their own teams and put minimal thought into the rest, usually just going if reputations.
There are players in there who are good now but had slow starts to their careers.
The team should be based off what players achieved before turning 23.

Looking forward to the all time over 30s and especially the all time left footers team.

A dogs related clickbait headline.

"...fan-voted teams"

Making the whole thing as arbitrary and meaningless as Robbo's Top 50.

grandpa-abe-exit.gif

Naughton and Walsh should have been in that team given they made the side 4 times each.
Yeah it’s pretty silly, I mean surely it’s based off their careers as under 22s and not whose the best player right now (which is obviously going to lean towards older players with stellar careers)

Six AFL captains picked us to make finals. 11 picked Pies and 9 picked Blues.

Might as well play the kids Bevo, it looks like a development year! :laughing:

Was just about to post this. I know we all have been guilty of having red, white and blue tints on at times, but I just can’t see is struggling as much as so many people have predicted. This is a range from “experts”, former players, the common AFL fan, nuffies and all the way down to Bombers fans.

I read another piece yesterday where from the 3 pundits, only Montagna picked the Bulldogs as top 4 and a flag chance whilst the other 2 has us top 8 (I think), but not a genuine chance.

The first 3 rounds will be very telling, but we can be positive as long as we are very competitive at a bare minimum (v Dees & v Lions of course). Win both and I’m sure people would change their tune.

This is what they went with in 2022:

8E35A3A9-4C5E-4AEB-88F7-D80ED87885B1.jpeg

AFL CAPTAINS’ SURVEY: FULL PREDICTIONS FOR 2023 SEASON

Which seven other clubs do you think can make this year‘s top eight?

17 – Brisbane Lions

16 – Geelong Cats, Richmond

15 – Sydney Swans, Melbourne

12 – Fremantle

11 – Collingwood

9 – Carlton

6 – Western Bulldogs

5 – Port Adelaide

2 – Gold Coast Suns

1 – St Kilda, Adelaide Crows

Seriously, who predicted Saints and Crows !!

Captain/s who don't even watch footy.

AFL CAPTAINS’ SURVEY: FULL PREDICTIONS FOR 2023 SEASON

Which seven other clubs do you think can make this year‘s top eight?

17 – Brisbane Lions

16 – Geelong Cats, Richmond

15 – Sydney Swans, Melbourne

12 – Fremantle

11 – Collingwood

9 – Carlton

6 – Western Bulldogs

5 – Port Adelaide

2 – Gold Coast Suns

1 – St Kilda, Adelaide Crows

Seriously, who predicted Saints and Crows !!

Captain/s who don't even watch footy.
I don’t think the captains put any thought into a survey it all. It’s likely done rushed.

I mean one captain picked Fyfe for the coleman.

I don’t think the captains put any thought into a survey it all. It’s likely done rushed.

I mean one captain picked Fyfe for the coleman.
They did, but then again one of them picked Naughton :D

Meh ... today's captains = tomorrow's media experts that we'll no doubt be deriding (think the likes of J Brown, Hodge, J Lewis, King, etc etc).

Just bring on the feckin' season FFS.

The best way to silence the doubters is to put in a competitive opening few weeks of the season and walk away with some wins. I don't think our opening fixture is as tough as it looks. Demons, Lions, Cats and Swans (away) are the only games I'd consider hard. Still not sold on the Tigers bouncing back yet, but no reason why we shouldn't feel confident with the other fixtures.

Less than 10 days to find out.

I remember when Cats players would mention our midfield as being the hardest to play against, because we are always in your face. Give other teams the same thoughts this year, and I reckon we go deep.

You will find most of those who come in late, are those who are financially struggling and had no plans to get a membership initially. Not because they are not loyal. Not like they get extras, all the good seats and Grand Final tickets are pretty much the reward for those who get in early.

I haven't had a membership in 3 years, despite being a member for 9 of 10 years before then starting when I was like 13. Want to get one this year badly as I miss being social. I have left the house a measly 7-8 times since Covid began, for any fun or social thing. That is like on average two movies, drink ups, footy games or live bands a year. But currently have no plans for a membership, as I am currently below the poverty line. Was a manager at my work, saved up a bit, riding high, until I broke my hand crushing it between two items. Which turned into a degenerative condition, work declared they are not at fault, and left me to fend for myself alone financially, before refusing a contract extension. And not offering any decent hours on my return after a year out, despite being highly rated. By many big names and positions in the company. HR is a different breed though.

It took a year and half to get medical clearance due to costs of scans and specialists being like $250 each, living off job seeker, and delays due to Covid back logs etc. And crazy debts mounted because I had two small loans as well, so when you go from salary to welfare, any savings dry up fast. I resigned in January when I realized the company just saw people as numbers and I no longer wanted to be part of that culture. I was getting no hours anyway. And since then, no one will hire me because they worry about the hand despite it being fine now. Whilst stress fully under pressure of being cut off by centrelink if you do not find work soon enough for their liking. I usually have $20-$50 left spare a fortnight from job seeker, after all bills and board costs go through, and repayments, as I live at home. Unlike some young men living at home, no board, or bills, or repayments getting the whole $680 to play around with and buy nice things, or go out and get pissed. Need dental badly, gone from a sporty body, to overweight, gotten anxiety and lack of self esteem due to body image issues. Yep, Covid kicked my ass hard, combined with work bending me over as well. The same way I go grocery shopping or get much needed new clothes or items, I mostly shop for sale priced items. So literally the only way I would attend a game this year, is if I find work, or they offer a membership deal whether yearly or match day.

YES! There are some band wagon fans who only jump on when we are winning, or those who are just lazy to get in early. But don't forget, that many do not, simply because they are not financially able to, something out their control. I'm in 20's, jobless due to no fault of my own, life keeps kicking me down each time things are well, and probably won't ever get my own house. But I am just as passionate and loyal as fan, as those who have a membership.

Now the deals are irrelevant to me. But for others, they could be the difference between seeing a couple of games or none at all.
Hi mate, I got a membership through the SEN offer of 9 games for price of three. I’m in east Gippsland and will be lucky to get down to one or two.
I would be happy for you to use my membership to go support the Doggies. PM me and we will sort something out if your happy to do that.

PREPARE to face every ace in the pack.

The Western Bulldogs are ready to unleash a super-sized four-prong tall forward line throughout the season, featuring each and every one of the club's multi-skilled and highly talented key-position players in attack.Experienced new recruit Rory Lobb, contested marking specialist Aaron Naughton and wonderkids Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and Sam Darcy proved in last Saturday's practice match win over North Melbourne they can work together. Prepare to see more of it.
Lobb and Darcy stand at well over 200cm, while Naughton and Ugle-Hagan aren't far beneath that. All four have quickly become renowned as some of the competition's most athletic and long-limbed key forwards going around.

Individually, they could just about be the primary key-position talents for many sides across the League. But, together, Western Bulldogs captain Marcus Bontempelli believes they're ready to form one of the most lethal attacking quartets in the AFL.
Against the Kangaroos, they combined for 10 goals and provided an intimidating taste of their collective ability to launch for high balls and find themselves in dangerous forward-half positions.

While many have privately and publicly pondered 'how tall is too tall?', the Bulldogs aren't willing to put a limit on size. Ahead of a blockbuster round one encounter against Melbourne, they instead appear destined to play all four.
"I think with the nature of being able to shift one of them, particularly Sam Darcy, into the backline at different points, then I think there's some flexibility in that," Bontempelli told AFL.com.au.

"His ability to meet the ball at its highest point, whether it's at the front-end of the ground or the back-end, I think that will be really valuable. I think that gives us a great deal of flexibility.

"Right now, we've only had a small sample size from pre-season to look at it. But there will be a bit of finding out as we get into the early parts of the season, in terms of how it looks and how it lasts."
Bontempelli starred in the club's 58-point practice match victory over North Melbourne, relishing the ability to spot-up his new-look forward line to finish with 27 disposals, 10 clearances and two goals.

With a game-high 12 score involvements as well, Bontempelli was blessed with multiple options every time he looked into his attack. Naughton kicked four goals, Ugle-Hagan added three, Darcy kicked two, while Lobb chipped in with one.
Even he admits the biggest challenge whenever he steams from a stoppage will be selecting which of his key forward options he kicks to, saying their ability to work in tandem is still being ironed out.

"The challenge will be not doing it every time," Bontempelli laughed.

"You don't want to fall into a rhythm of just sending the ball long to our key talls. They want it in there, that's for sure. They are all good marking players on the lead or in the air in a pack.

"There's probably a little bit for them to work through, in terms of them working together nicely. We don't want them spoiling each other at different points, but the good thing is that one of them wants it. That's probably the key."
Bontempelli, himself standing at 194cm, is one of the tallest midfielders in the League and can add yet more height and firepower to the Western Bulldogs' intriguing and exciting attack this year.

But the talented 27-year-old instead spent noticeably more time in the midfield throughout the club's pre-season matches, suggesting the abundance of forward options will mean longer periods playing out of the centre this year.

"I probably will (spend more time as a midfielder)," Bontempelli said.

"I think the nature of the height there … at any one time, one of them will probably be off the ground, so there will really only be three together and not four at all times. Obviously, there's also Tim English in the ruck.
"It'll mostly be about where you feel you can get an advantage. If it means spending more time around the ball to support our stoppage and our structure up the field, then I think that's important.

"It's not a height thing, it's more about how we continue to make it difficult for the opposition to score against us but also for us to score. There will definitely be times where I'm down there and trying to float through and cause havoc, but it won't be through necessity. It'll be more through using the strengths that we've got."
Bontempelli's midfield time will also likely increase following the departure of reigning best and fairest and former premiership player Josh Dunkley, who was traded to Brisbane last October.

Although the club's captain believes there will be elements of the side's midfield that will need to improve to compensate for Dunkley's defection, he said the quality and depth in that area of the field remains strong.
"Growth out of Bailey Smith and a few others – we've seen Caleb Daniel spend a bit more time inside and Toby McLean and Anthony Scott as well – these types of players are very good footballers and we know we can cover with them," Bontempelli said.

"It's not a question of depth, I think we've got enough midfielders within the team. It's more about how we cover some of the really important defensive stuff that Josh did. He was a mainstay and a staple from a defensive aspect with his ability to get back and support our backline through his tackling and pressure.

"I think it's one place where we're pretty well prepared to cover for him. But he's a great player and he's going to be a tough one to instantly recoup from. We'll all probably have to spread the load a bit."

"His ability to meet the ball at its highest point, whether it's at the front-end of the ground or the back-end, I think that will be really valuable. I think that gives us a great deal of flexibility." - Bont

This is a really good guide to working out how tall Sam Darcy is these days. And it comes from a club insider who should know.

A typical WB "bomb" into the forward line will carry 40-45m and will reach a height of around 20-25m (as distinct from a Bontempelli bullet pass lace out onto the chest of a leading forward).

1678345151606.png

Now nearly all footballers will meet the ball as it descends to Earth, somewhere between 1 and 3 metres above the ground. But Bont clearly states that Darcy can meet the ball at its highest point which is somewhere upward of 20m. So assuming he has a leap of - let's be generous and say 1.5m - that means Sam Darcy is currently around twenty metres tall.

I'm surprised the journos haven't commented on this as you'd think such tallness would stand out a bit in practice games.

Anyway, there you go.

This is a really good guide to working out how tall Sam Darcy is these days. And it comes from a club insider who should know.

A typical WB "bomb" into the forward line will carry 40-45m and will reach a height of around 20-25m (as distinct from a Bontempelli bullet pass lace out onto the chest of a leading forward).

View attachment 1625021

Now nearly all footballers will meet the ball as it descends to Earth, somewhere between 1 and 3 metres above the ground. But Bont clearly states that Darcy can meet the ball at its highest point which is somewhere upward of 20m. So assuming he has a leap of - let's be generous and say 1.5m - that means Sam Darcy is currently around twenty metres tall.

I'm surprised the journos haven't commented on this as you'd think such tallness would stand out a bit in practice games.

Anyway, there you go.
The maths checks out but I think you must be using 2022 data? Need to adjust for the Josh Dunkley kick factor when assessing our average inside 50 kicking arc. Assuming Bont's quote is recent I think you can shave a good 5m off the average WB kick height for 2023.

Premiership player Liam Picken has launched civil action against the AFL, Western Bulldogs and club doctors after he says he was returned to the field despite suffering on-field concussions.

Lawyers for Picken claim throughout his time with the Bulldogs, the 36-year-old repeatedly returned irregular cognitive test results, but was never made aware of these or sent for specialist management.

[PLAYERCARD]Liam Picken[/PLAYERCARD] marks the ball in front of [PLAYERCARD]Shane Kersten[/PLAYERCARD].

Liam Picken marks the ball in front of Shane Kersten.CREDIT:DARRIAN TRAYNOR

This was despite both he and his partner allegedly raising concerns with the club about his ongoing symptoms.
Picken’s legal team allege the AFL, Western Bulldogs, and club doctors Gary Zimmerman and Jacob Landsberger were negligent and breached their duty of care for Picken, who now lives with ongoing impacts including photophobia — an aversion to bright light.

Picken — who hails from Hamilton in the state’s southwest — retired from professional football in 2019 after 198 games and a decade with the club. At the time, he said he decided to walk away due to ongoing concussion issues.
Principal lawyer at National Compensation Lawyers, Michael Tanner told The Age their 36-year-old client was still grappling with dramatic and ongoing effects of concussion which continued to impact his cognitive and psychological health.

Second Qualifying Final at the MCG - Geelong v Western Bulldogs - in 2009. Bulldogs tagger [PLAYERCARD]Liam Picken[/PLAYERCARD].

Second Qualifying Final at the MCG - Geelong v Western Bulldogs - in 2009. Bulldogs tagger Liam Picken. CREDIT:pAUL ROVERE

“From Liam’s perspective, he was never made aware of his failings of any cognitive assessment he ever underwent. Further to that, he did not necessarily understand the full extent of his injuries or his symptoms,” Tanner said.

“What he did was voice his concerns about his symptoms. The medical advice given to him at the time was (he was) still fit to play.”

Court documents lodged with the Supreme Court this week state under the current regulations, no AFL club shall allow a player to train or play in any match where they are suspected to be not in a fit state to play.

Picken’s legal team allege during his time with the Bulldogs, he repeatedly recorded irregular and below-average baseline tests during his time at the club. Despite these results, Picken said he was never made aware of them, referred to an expert in concussion management or sent for further testing such as brain scans.

[PLAYERCARD]Liam Picken[/PLAYERCARD] is assisted from the field during the round three AFL match between the Fremantle Dockers and the Western Bulldogs in 2017.

Liam Picken is assisted from the field during the round three AFL match between the Fremantle Dockers and the Western Bulldogs in 2017.CREDIT:GETTY

Throughout this time, he said he also continued to train with the club and compete in AFL competitions.
Court documents filed reference two specific head knocks of particular concern, one during a round three clash at Perth against Fremantle in April 2017, and a preseason match against Hawthorn in Ballarat in March 2018.

During the incident against Fremantle, Picken clashed with an opposition player during a marking contest and as a result, the opposition player pressed his opponent’s head into the ground.
At Ballarat in 2018, Picken was knocked out during a marking contest. In both instances, his legal team allege, he was assessed for and diagnosed with concussion before returning to training almost immediately.
As a result, his lawyers allege those including the AFL were negligent and allowed Picken to be exposed to unnecessary risk or harm.

[PLAYERCARD]Liam Picken[/PLAYERCARD]  lies on the field injured during the AFL JLT Community Series match between the Western Bulldogs and the Hawks on March 3, 2018 in Ballarat.

Liam Picken lies on the field injured during the AFL JLT Community Series match between the Western Bulldogs and the Hawks on March 3, 2018 in Ballarat.CREDIT:SCOTT BARBOUR

As for the Bulldogs, court documents allege the club also failed to ensure Picken’s safety and allowed him to return to full training and competition matches when it was unsafe to do so.

Tanner said they will allege the “greater good of the game” was put ahead of their client’s health.
“Liam is greatly affected by it all and we say with proper medical care, his injuries could’ve been avoided,” Tanner said.
“The AFL’s rules and regulations, they had created, were not followed.
“Liam was also never made aware of him failing any of his cognitive assessments. He [also] did not understand the full extent of his injuries or his symptoms.”
Picken retired from football in 2019 and court documents filed on his behalf allege this was as a consequence of his injury with club doctor Zimmerman later providing him with an end of career medical that specifically cited post concussion syndrome.

His legal team said Picken’s brain injury has left him with ongoing headaches, lethargy, irritability, poor concentration, severe levels of depression, anxiety and stress.
In documents filed, they are claiming a loss of earnings and ongoing medical costs.
Picken isn’t the first former player to launch civil action citing concussion.
Last week, former AFLW Collingwood vice captain Emma Grant launched a civil lawsuit against the Pies after suffering prolonged concussion which resulted in her early retirement. The 33-year-old utility suffered a debilitating head injury during a preseason practice match in 2020.

Interesting. I'm a 50 year member this year - and the club generously gave me a badge! I've paid social club for nearly 25 years, too.

Due to various reasons - health of partner and myself, distance to travel, cost, I'm not confident I'll become a 51 year member.
Hope things we our for you are partner good health is every.

I wonder what Pickens earning potential would have been without the club/AFL? I’m sure he could have gone into finance/business on his own two feet and didn’t need the club for those opportunities to arise. Of course that would have meant giving up the ~500k a year pay packet he enjoyed, whilst being allowed to complete those studies at the same time… I mean who could have known he was putting himself at risk of injury playing a contact sport

What a load of shit tbh

“Liam was also never made aware of him failing any of his cognitive assessments. He [also] did not understand the full extent of his injuries or his symptoms.”
Picken retired from football in 2019 and court documents filed on his behalf allege this was as a consequence of his injury with club doctor Zimmerman later providing him with an end of career medical that specifically cited post concussion syndrome.
I find it astonishing that we would keep him unaware of failing multiple cognitive assessments. It will be interesting as to whether we did strategically keep him in the dark, or whether we didn't perhaps communicate the information effectively, so that he could make informed descisions - taking into account his tenacious desire to play, and the way in which he played the game as a whole. Or perhaps we did communicate the information, and we gamed the system for a mutual benefit (at the time).

It will be interesting to see what comes of this. Very grateful to have David Smorgon in the starting lineup to tackle this.

I wonder what Pickens earning potential would have been without the club/AFL? I’m sure he could have gone into finance/business on his own two feet and didn’t need the club for those opportunities to arise. Of course that would have meant giving up the ~500k a year pay packet he enjoyed, whilst being allowed to complete those studies at the same time… I mean who could have known he was putting himself at risk of injury playing a contact sport

What a load of s**t tbh

Things are changing, but this is shit timing on the eve of the season to have this hit the headlines. Could easily be mediated behind closed doors.

I was fairly certain I seen Picken at Highpoint about 3yrs ago, but he had sunnies on on his way out the door. I thought it was a “didn’t want to be recognised” thing, in hindsight it was probably due to his vision issues :(

Things are changing, but this is s**t timing on the eve of the season to have this hit the headlines. Could easily be mediated behind closed doors.

I was fairly certain I seen Picken at Highpoint about 3yrs ago, but he had sunnies on on his way out the door. I thought it was a “didn’t want to be recognised” thing, in hindsight it was probably due to his vision issues :(
Yeah don’t get me wrong I feel bad for the bloke, you wouldn’t wish this stuff on your worst enemy. But I hope for his sake there’s merit to what he’s claiming - I dunno I can’t see most of it being true, we’re extremely cautious with this shit and I can’t really remember any different - this has been a league wide issue his whole career it’s not like he played during the 90s when there was zero awareness at some stage you have to take a little bit of responsibility for yourself.

I’ll be pretty disappointed in such a respected player and bloke, if its just a case of digging for a handout