Sydneyfan

S’roos, Brisbane Lions, N Syd Bears
What, in your own opinion, is our biggest problem or deficiency which we've got to address for the 2003 season?

Looking around peoples' ladder predictions for 2003 and you quickly discover that the Swans are not predicted to do much this season, we along with Carlton seem to be manys' favourite for the spoon. A lot are citing our lack of experience, restructuring, lack of talent, changing of the guard, etc. for this but I tend to disagree. Our list isn't all that bad, although not as flash as the Ports, Brisbanes and Adelaides, we've got plenty of talented players what we seem to fall down on is consistency.

The last three seasons we have been very hot and cold, we've showed glimpses we can match with any opposition yet the next week falling down to lowly opponents. The likes of Hall, Williams, Goodes and O'Loughlin on their day will give anyone a run for their money, the problem is that our guns aren't always firing.

In a way, Micky O'Loughlin epitomises the Swans - on his day, his skill and flashy brilliance runs rings around the opposition and displays enormous potential, yet come back next week and all is lost.

I'm under no illusions that we can contest for the flag this season though I do believe they we can mix it with the rest as long as we gain that invaluable commodity, consistency. Despite the loss of stalwards such as Kelly, Dunkley, Lockett and Schwass; there's plenty of quality of players to fill the void. Although we may be restructuring, provided we play consistent, competitive footy week in, week out, I can't see why we can't at least compete for a finals place this season.

What's your thoughts?

The Swans have a couple of big problems.

First one is consistancy, and the second the mentally.

Mentally we need to be able to finish matches. Had we finished matches last season, we would have featured highly in the finals, and Rodney Eade would probably still be our coach.

I believe we are on the way to fixing this though as I saw signs in the last 4 games that we were finishing matches.

Our kids are nowhere near as bad as many think.
We will surprise heaps of people next year and so will our kids.

Ryan O'Keefe is going to be a gun, as long as he can stay uninjured.
Expect him to start playing in the midfield next year, Centreman ...

I don't disagree with consistency / mental effort etc, but you have to wonder what causes it.

I reckon one big weakness has been turnovers when not under pressure. Whether this comes down to lack of confidence, concentration or just ordinary skills I don't know but it has been costly at times. ALthough they're are not renowned as such, I reckon the Swans have been one of the fitter teams in recent years - you have to be to play the kind of game Eade had them playing. I also reckon there is a good spread of speed throughout the team and enough really fast players. Tackling / general attack on the ball is also pretty good. All these things mean that the boys get their fair share of possession. BUt there have been too many times when they have given it up needlessly.

On the whole the delivery skills looked far better in the last 10 games of the season. Whether this was because they were enjoying themselves and the pressure was off, who knows, but Roos needs to focus on using the ball better more often and I reckon the consistency will follow.

Given a reasonable run with injuries I think the Swans will be very competitive. Didn't get a lot of football out of Kelly and Schwass last year any way, Lockett was a huge distraction, but Dunkley will be hard to replace.

The younger brigade need to continue to improve: Doyle, Fixter, O'Keefe, Fosdike, Kennelly; the middle range need to show a little more steel and leadership: Goodes, O'Loughlin, Saddington, Mathews, J>Bolton; and the new boys need to have an impact: Bolton, Davis.

Decision making and skill level under pressure seemed to be their major problem in my view. In some of the close losses they went too negative too early (Eade?). Was it the style of game causing them to run out of legs in some games?

Ball returning to 2001 form would be a huge bonus. Need to develop another key defender quickly (Roberts-Thomson) or create one (Stevens?).

Anyway I think they will be challenging for a bottom 8 spot. Better than most recognise.

Who's going to be the number 1 ruckman for the Swans next year?

From an outsiders point of view, that would seem your biggest deficiency.

I think we lack a real top quality midfielder and a K/P defender. Fill those positions and we become a much better team. I think under Eade the flooding tactics really held us back. We are a good running side - the only problem was Eade never let it be used to full advantage. Roos did so when he took over. I felt we were far more consistent late in the season, but we can get better in that area.

This had alot to do with the fact we always let teams back into games when we let though goals late in quarters. I feel this had to do with fitness. Roos has cover this so far this pre season and results are good. Things hopefully should fall into place.

Next year we should build up the team and blood the youngesters in a bid to have a much better team for 2004 and beyond.

Originally posted by Briedis
Who's going to be the number 1 ruckman for the Swans next year?

From an outsiders point of view, that would seem your biggest deficiency.

I Don't think this is our biggest deficiency. The main problem will be depth if we have injuries in the ruck like we did in 2002. Stephen Doyle should be our number 1 ruckman with Jason Ball his back up and Adam Goodes to play a small part in games.

Doyle had a pretty ordinary year last year from memory. Injured a fair nit and only playing a handfull of good games out of the 10 or so he did play.

If Doyle gets injured again, or doesn't step and you have to use Ball or Goodes it won't matter how good a midfielder you recruit, you won't get first use very often.

Do you have any rookie ruckmen? (Other than Doyle?)

Doyle can be very good, when he Gets It Right. Consistency is his problem, and I see him spending at least equal times in the ruck and up forward. Kicking a few goals last year seemed to increase his confidence, which carried over to his ruckwork. IMHO will be called upon to shoulder more responsibility this year.

Losing Mott has really thrown a spanner into the works. This means Jason Ball will have to stay fit, and find his 2001 form. Adam Goodes will be used a lot too - he is one player who seems to thrive on added responsibility on the ball.

After that, there's not much in the cupboard though. We have some tall youngsters in Roberts-Thompson, Hunt and Powell, but they are all skinny types being developed for KP spots, rather than ruckmen.

With the lack of depth, you can count upon seeing Barry Hall and/or Andrew Schauble taking the taps when the ball is in their respective zones.

We won't have a #1 ruckman per se this year - Will have to be handled by a rotation of about 3 guys (primarily Doyle/Ball/Goodes)

The main problem is the ruck and if Ball doesnt come back fit and play the season out, we are going to be in trouble - it will put pressure on Goodes and Doyle.

The vacillation over naming a captain is also worrying, surely they can make their minds up on this.