smilingassassin

west coast
At the end of last year Paul Johnson was being hailed as an up and coming talent who would give a big boost to the WCE's.

Everyone was raving about what a steal he was at 18 in the previous year's draft.

WHAT HAPPENED?

Is he pis$ed off, home sick, useless or what. Is he still playing for the Swan Districts reserves. Does he train with the main squad?

Will he go back and be a star for Sheedy like McPhee or what?

The lack of critical analysis at the EAGLES is incredible.

Originally posted by smilingassassin
At the end of last year Paul Johnson was being hailed as an up and coming talent who would give a big boost to the WCE's.

Everyone was raving about what a steal he was at 18 in the previous year's draft.

WHAT HAPPENED?

Is he pis$ed off, home sick, useless or what. Is he still playing for the Swan Districts reserves. Does he train with the main squad?

He is injured. He was taken at 24, not 18. I don't think anyone was hailing Paul Johnson as the next best thing. He is homesick though so a trade could be in the works, but not to Essendon. Don't compare our trading to Fremantles bungles. What th f&&^ are you talking about a lack of critical analysis?

a bit worried about our investment in paul, i was a huge fan thought he would play chf after the wiz cup not sure anymore, hope iam proven to be wrong

Re: Re: Whats the story with paul johnson?

Originally posted by coasting
Don't compare our trading to Fremantles bungles.

Exactly......if you never try something you can't do it wrong. Mind you your efforts recently have been pretty good. Daniel Chick for a Top 10 pick, Schofield for Cummings......Pehaps a few of those WIN/WIN (LOSE/LOSE) deals like Williams for Adkins OR Harding for Metropolis (but you gave up a pick in that last deal for the Dockers to get Dion Woods). Better idea to go back to not trading at all.

If you guys do not rate Maguire at ST Kilda you have no idea. He has more talent as a future KPP than all your hacks combined. So has Rivers and Miller at Melbourne. Watch more footy and you will realise how poor McDougall is (and he was taken in the same draft as Riewoldt, Ko****zke, Didak, Kerr and Coughlan and has done jack all).

Originally posted by smilingassassin

WHAT HAPPENED?

WELL although it IS always fun to TYPE random words in CAPITALS, twenty seconds at the westcoasteagles.com.au site would have told you that it is rather tough for Paul Johnson to train with the main squad at the moment or play for the Swan districts reserves, what with him having broken his collarbone around six weeks ago. Injury list says he's still a couple of weeks away from getting back out on the park.

As for being hailed as an up and coming talent last year, iirc we were all too busy getting excited about Staker. PJ had a pretty impressive wizard cup, but screwed his ankle in the final practice match which kept him out of the round one game against the Bulldogs, and sent him back to the wafl. Between then and him smashing his collar bone, he simply hasn't playing well enough for swan districts to warrant a callup. I have no idea why that is, he looked comfortable at CHF when playing against AFL calibre opponents during the wizard cup, but struggled at WAFL level thereafter. Hard to explain, really, although there were rumours about a personality conflicts with the Swannies coach.

In terms of his future at the club, again its hard to say. I think we were kinda going to have to choose between hanging onto him or Hansen, and at this stage Hansen is ahead simply by virtue of having strung a few AFL games together.

Re: Re: Re: Whats the story with paul johnson?

Originally posted by Polly12
Exactly......if you never try something you can't do it wrong. Mind you your efforts recently have been pretty good. Daniel Chick for a Top 10 pick, Schofield for Cummings......Pehaps a few of those WIN/WIN (LOSE/LOSE) deals like Williams for Adkins OR Harding for Metropolis (but you gave up a pick in that last deal for the Dockers to get Dion Woods). Better idea to go back to not trading at all.

If you guys do not rate Maguire at ST Kilda you have no idea. He has more talent as a future KPP than all your hacks combined. So has Rivers and Miller at Melbourne. Watch more footy and you will realise how poor McDougall is (and he was taken in the same draft as Riewoldt, Ko****zke, Didak, Kerr and Coughlan and has done jack all).

Thanks for the lecture on trading. But I think you need to go back and do a bit of study on the history of trading at our club before you get on your high horse and jump up and down like the tough little man that you come across as. Look no further than Gardiner for Downsborough if you must push the issue. If I were you I wouldn't really be holding up your club as model for successful trading. Not exactly one winner after another is it?

I hope you get someone with the nickname Polly to replace Polak in number 12 for you next year so you can keep your username.

Re: Re: Re: Whats the story with paul johnson?

Chick for pick 10 (ended up 8, but that's Carlton's fault) would still have the jury out, Cummings for Schofield did get us a Coleman Medallist (who was on line for a second until he missed the entire second half of 2000 and got on the pie wagon). Adkins has a better chance of being on an AFL list next year than Williams, Harding played more games for the Eagles than Metro did for Freo, and who you picked up with the pick is irrelevant; was still a low pick - everyone gets lucky with them from time to time.

Watch more footy and you'll see that McDougall has the talent, but until recently he hasn't had the application. He's improved out of sight in recent weeks, but like so many Freo supporters you dismiss any Eagle player (except Kerr and Judd) with "he plays for the Eagles, must be crap". Whether he ever justifies pick 5 is still up in the air. However if your club hasn't wasted a hight pick in the past I'll eat my hat and yours for dessert.

As for Maguire, while he's a good talent, if St Kilda have a weakness its in defense; they rely on outscoring their opponents, and with their forward line that's not such a bad ploy. As such I think Maguire does the job he is required to do, but there are plenty of better CHBs in the league. Lynch probably isn't one right at the moment, but he'd not be far off. Since our "hacks" have very little experience, to make judgments at this stage of what they're capable of is quite premature.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Whats the story with paul johnson?

Originally posted by Mr Q
Watch more footy and you'll see that McDougall has the talent, but until recently he hasn't had the application. He's improved out of sight in recent weeks, but like so many Freo supporters you dismiss any Eagle player (except Kerr and Judd) with "he plays for the Eagles, must be crap". Whether he ever justifies pick 5 is still up in the air. However if your club hasn't wasted a hight pick in the past I'll eat my hat and yours for dessert.

Don't worry about the Freo supporters.... their whole club culture is made of bandwagon jumpers who jumped off other AFL clubs like the Eagles to join Freo so loyalty isn't one of their strengths.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Whats the story with paul johnson?

Originally posted by Mark Viduka
Don't worry about the Freo supporters.... their whole club culture is made of bandwagon jumpers who jumped off other AFL clubs like the Eagles to join Freo so loyalty isn't one of their strengths.

Not that I'm going into bat for Freo supporters, but it's a safe bet that most Eagles supporters in 1987 did the same thing.

i feel abit for paul.

he was training the house down in the preseason...desperate to do well in the wiz cup. he did play well to give him credit. round one selection night was possibly one of the most defining moments in paul short career so far. if he was kept in the side, like quinten lynch was (who i thought was dicey in all but the collingwood game) then i think he would have played at least 5 games so far this season. however, he was pushed back down to the slums of wafl and i dont think he has really recovered mentally from that. i think most of us felt that he deserved a go in the round one side.

from then on his wafl form hasnt been at the level woosh wants to get a return to the league side. and then he got injured, which probly wasnt entirely a bad thing i dont think. it allowed him to regroup and go home for a bit. he was close to getting dropped one week to the swans reserves but never was. i heard the swans coach on the radio at the time, and he basically said that the west australian built up the story way out of proportion.

I'm a lazy pri@k

Sorry Mead - I can't really be bothered with the WCE web site - prefer getting my info from nasty smart ar$es like you.

And you've given it to me THANK YOU. Sorry about the capitals.

By the way I still reckon Johnson will f@ck off back to Melbourne and become a star like McPhee. Kevin Cheaty is probably talking to his old man while we speak.

About Paul Johnson. That is a pretty strong comment to say he'll be the next big thing. He has huge talent and a very strong potentional, but hey whats potentional when he has 1 AFL game under his belt. I Think he will be a very useful strong marking Forward. With him, Staker and Lynch(If he gose back in the forward line) the Eagles have quite the strong marking Forwards. But having said that were is the position for Travis Gaspar when he returns. The eagles have the following tall marking forwards:
Lynch,
Staker,
Johnson and
Gaspar.

These are possibly going to be very good Forwards for the eagles. So therefore I strongly suggest that McDougall moves after this year because their is no room for him on the team. I would doubt that an other AFL club would pick him up, as he has had his chances with the Eagles and not delievered.
Luke Logan

Originally posted by Luke Logan
About Paul Johnson. That is a pretty strong comment to say he'll be the next big thing. He has huge talent and a very strong potentional, but hey whats potentional when he has 1 AFL game under his belt. I Think he will be a very useful strong marking Forward. With him, Staker and Lynch(If he gose back in the forward line) the Eagles have quite the strong marking Forwards. But having said that were is the position for Travis Gaspar when he returns. The eagles have the following tall marking forwards:
Lynch,
Staker,
Johnson and
Gaspar.

These are possibly going to be very good Forwards for the eagles. So therefore I strongly suggest that McDougall moves after this year because their is no room for him on the team. I would doubt that an other AFL club would pick him up, as he has had his chances with the Eagles and not delievered.
Luke Logan

Idiot. That would have to be one of the silliest posts I have seen for many a long day. You have no idea. Go away.

that was rude..

Sorry.

(My Royals have just been beaten by Subi so Iam not happy).

However, I still think you are completely wrong about Doogs.He will deliver.

Originally posted by Mark Viduka

Is that right VIDUKA?????

Eagles foundation membership 1987 - 2,800
Eagles membership 1992 - 23,902 (BIG Bandwagon)
Eagles membership 1995 - 26,821
Dockers foundation membership 1995 - 18,456
Eagles membership 2004 - 40,000+
Dockers membership 2004 - 32,000+

Seems to me WCE membership has gone up since the Dockers and the only Bandwagon jumped on was the Eagles in the early 90s. Or so the fact say but juding from your posts that is never too important.

I remember going to games at the WACA in the early 90s and it was half empty. A couple of years later the place was sold out and I was getting told to quiten down and stop cheering so loud. Could not get out of there quick enough!!!

What were you doing prior to 1992 VIDUKA???? Playing soccer I guess by your nickname?

Originally posted by llosis
Thanks for the lecture on trading. But I think you need to go back and do a bit of study on the history of trading at our club before you get on your high horse and jump up and down like the tough little man that you come across as. Look no further than Gardiner for Downsborough if you must push the issue. If I were you I wouldn't really be holding up your club as model for successful trading. Not exactly one winner after another is it?

I hope you get someone with the nickname Polly to replace Polak in number 12 for you next year so you can keep your username.

SORRY my mistake. I forgot to add you have a great record with number 1 picks and priority choices - now that takes skill. I do not know you IIosis but I reckon you could have made those picks.

By the way the history of trading at your club is terrible and your drafting history has only improved since Woosha came back. Prior to that you barely had a decent pick under Malthouse and Judd that wasn't a first round selection.

Originally posted by Mr Q
[/B]

Sorry all - on a roll. Credit where credit is due. Watched the game last night and thought it was one of your most even performances for the year. Thought Glass, Lynch and Hansen were terrific although the match up was good for Lynch. I think he struggles on a mobile forward. McDougall did stuff all unless it was delivered lace out and his sooking when two marks were not paid when they clearly bounced is ludicrous at AFL level. For me I think Staker is a better talent and can't believe he does not get a game. Well done on a good win though and hopefully you can win next week (and lose the priority pick). On another note you should be excited because Morton tore them up at the U18 champs today and will be a bargain 3rd round F/S pick for you.

SORRY my mistake. I forgot to add you have a great record with number 1 picks and priority choices - now that takes skill. I do not know you IIosis but I reckon you could have made those picks.

By the way the history of trading at your club is terrible and your drafting history has only improved since Woosha came back. Prior to that you barely had a decent pick under Malthouse and Judd that wasn't a first round selection.

Yes you are right... We cannont draft talent to save ourselves...

Thats why we have picked up

Judd at 3
Sampi at 6
Kerr at 18
Embley at 50+
Staker at 50+
Fletcher, Lynch, Jones, Nicoski and Cox as rookies

We really do not have any idea how to draft... unlike the Dockers after all you picked Longmuir at 2 that was an inspirational pick, as was Waterhouse at 1.

Ohh and for the record

Butler > Dunn and picked some 14 spots later.

Well done No1Wan%er.....read my post before responding you goose. All those picks were taken when Woosha was back at the club with the exception of Embley and the jury was well and truly out there for a while. He has only improved under Woosha. Your stats back my arguement.

As for your intelligent post in regards to Butler > Dunn that would be pretty accurate as Dunn has been injured for the last 5 weeks BUT made his debut well before Butler. But then your arguement would hold up that Butler > Waters and was taken 13 spots later so your recruiting guys must have no idea based on this reasoning.

While you are weighing up picks...
Sikora @ 12
Fewster @ 3
Trew @ 14
Crabb @ 12
Chambers @ 13
Hill @ 10
Glass @ 11
Gaspar @ 14
Haynes @ 16
McDougall @ 5

All 1st round draft picks since 94 and prior to Woosha returning!!!

Well done No1Wan%er.....read my post before responding you goose. All those picks were taken when Woosha was back at the club with the exception of Embley and the jury was well and truly out there for a while. He has only improved under Woosha. Your stats back my arguement.

Wrong, Cox, Kerr and Fletcher were also drafted prior to Woosha coming on board.

As for your intelligent post in regards to Butler > Dunn that would be pretty accurate as Dunn has been injured for the last 5 weeks BUT made his debut well before Butler. But then your arguement would hold up that Butler > Waters and was taken 13 spots later so your recruiting guys must have no idea based on this reasoning. [/B]

Actually I was stirring but having said that Butler is probably better then Waters and yet Waters is better then Dunn. Well as far as our recruiting guys having no idea I actually think it shows how devious and intelligent, a word that you may find foreign, they are. They managed to pick up tow exceptional young players and were smart enough to recognise that Butler would still be on the board later, due to only having played footy for say last three years, so they chose Waters first as he was the one more likely to be drafted by another club if we did not. Therfore we managed to get our hands on two very exciting talents, rather then one (Butler) as Waters would have been picked up before our second pick came along.

While you are weighing up picks...
Sikora @ 12
Fewster @ 3
Trew @ 14
Crabb @ 12
Chambers @ 13
Hill @ 10
Glass @ 11
Gaspar @ 14
Haynes @ 16
McDougall @ 5

All 1st round draft picks since 94 and prior to Woosha returning!!! [/B]

Fewster...did you not end up trading your first round 1 pick for him...

I agree these are crap picks, but do you really want me to go through the list of your stuff ups (Mcleod? Lloyd etc)
Sikora @ 12
Fewster @ 3
Trew @ 14
Crabb @ 12
Hill @ 10

These are now coming into their own with exception of Chambers who is borederline:

Chambers @ 13
Glass @ 11
Gaspar @ 14
Haynes @ 16
McDougall @ 5

As far as calling me No1Wan%er I must say that you are original. Now please go off and troll another board you smell...:D

Polly.......

Pick 01 Clive Waterhouse
Pick 13 Brad Rowe
Pick 23 Jay Burton

Pick 18 Daniel Hargraves

Pick 02 Justin Longmuir
Pick 18 Daniel Schell

Every club has their far share of duds....explain to me why Fremantle should be set apart?

shh it's freo..... got good value out of Farmer and Headland? what about giving away Bell for next to nothing them seeing him star in 2 premierships winning best and fairest in 99 (i think) then getting him back for a vastly inflated price.... NICE ONE

also harding for metropolis.... yeah lose/lose but you guys were paying metropolis a kings ransom LoL