Whats the verdict??

Aug 10, 2004
In a house
Man U, Storm, Victory
After last nights performance, what are the feelings on the Tigers 2005 season???

Personally, last nights loss was not that dissappointing. After watching 14 straight losses last year with the team not giving a rats a $ $, it was good to see us actually have a go. Our midfield was rough as guts all night, and we actually had some sense of organisation around the stoppages. Its so uncanny how TW has turned this team around in the space of 6 months.

Only really disappointing aspect from last nights game was the fact we let them back into the game after sustaining a respectable lead. Should have been a victory, however i think we showed enough to suggest we are on the way up.

Thoughts???

i thort there was a lot of stupid mistakes, a few terrible kicks and stuff... but its all good. It was a better game then any last year that we played. TW has done well and i cant wait to see more of the 'new' tigers.

Football beats cricket hands down. Although it was just a practise match and it's only Febuary I had a good night out with lots of beers and laughs. Can't wait for the real stuff. :D

i think it was a good effort by the boys, we can start to see the new plan to unfold, playing on at every opportunity, try and use the middle of the ground as much as possible and kicking the ball long to the likes of simmo, richo, knobel. one thing that must change, is richo should never be allowed to play on, he did play on once and centred the ball to newman and that was great, but all these handballs or running on messed a few things up, also if we wish to play on we must relise whats ahead before we do so, but we will improve on that. no major dissapointments of the game really, on player who did not suit his role was schultz imo, good at contest but never able to keep up on a lead situation, i think he panics with the ball in the backline.

as to the umps, pretty pathetic performance (for both sides) to many 50 metres for so lil things, and a few free kicks that wernt needed, didnt let the game flow as it should.

JohnF said:
Better game plan, but same old duds making the same old mistakes.
agreed chaffey and co ,they will have to pull their finger out or tw will show em the door at the end of the season.

loved the way we continually tried to attack thru the corridor, none of this going wide ********** at every opportunity, and also liked the way players were continually attempting to provide running options to the ball carrier, can definitely see the makings of a new faster more direct game plan.

skills were still for the most part deplorable, but i felt as the game went on and the players loosened up and got into the match groove the unforced pull ur hair out type unforced errors became less conspicuous.

Looking forward to the upcoming season and watching the replay today i must say Lids impressed me. started to look very cool the longer the match went on.

Roach made a dont forget me statement, and watching jackson again confirmed for mine that hes worth perservering at fullback

Part of this post I put up on another thread but thought I would recycle for this one:

Number of positives that came out of the game: Tambling (BIG positive), Rodan did some good things but still a little too flashy (word of advice: lose the white boots), some of the other young kids did a number of good things.

I thought Chaffey was good. He stuck to Woewodin all night and negated him right out of the game. Wallance's teams have all had a negater and looks like Chaffey has been given first crack. Good game in that role...keep it up.

Johnson showed enough for mine to be made captain. Give it to him now...he is a hard nut.

Campbo showed that he could be a real asset for us in the forward line. Incredibly smart footy brain...let's hope the move pays dividends.

Concerns: Knobel will be a liability if he stays as our first ruck. There is no doubt in my mind that he is our back up ruckman to Stafford and Simmonds. If Knobel stays as our first ruck, be prepared for a long season.

Back line was exposed. We're one tall down and heaven help us if we also lose Gasper. That will effectively leave us with no talls down back. And no, Ray Hall is not our answer down back. Jay Shulz is also not the answer at CHB. Seems to be an ok mark but shows nothing when the ball is on the ground. Also has very few footy smarts. Notice how all the gun CHB's (past and present) may not have had the greatest of skills (if they did they would have been CHF) but they were all smart footballers. Fingers and legs crossed our talls remain on the park through the season.

Richo's petulance (hope there's improvement when the real stuff starts). And this is coming from a huge Richo fan.

I'm sure there are heaps more Pros and Cons but that seems me out for now

Go Tiges

well what a game to start our season even tho it was only the cheap and nasty cup..

good to see wallets gameplan been exacuted even tho sometimes it was a bit sloppy which is to b expected after the xmas lay off but at least they gave it a shot, there can only b improvement in this area over the year (also will incurr losses and they will b big)....

good to c especially the youngens run and break the lines (god its gonna b gr8 in a couple of years time) lids and bling performed admirably i thought for 1st gamers much to look forward to in years to come and add young thomas into the equation as well (he has put some muscle on as well)...

backline looked not too dissimilar to last year really, haphazard and no confidence main offenders are the same as per usual, unfortunately not much can b done here except try to bring on the young kids as quickly as possible without destroying their confidence...

liked the midfield rotation and fingers crossed add a fitter and bigger cogs and i reckon raines has to b in with a shot sooner rather than later (he is a special in my book), even sugar seemed a bit under done considering he has had an interupted pre season... still much to like here i reckon coming into the season proper...

rucks dont inspire certainly need old elbows and knees back (stafford) as this will add another demension, knobel to me looks out of his depth sometimes more so around the ground, his taps and hitouts not bad considering what Royal stated about him really never been coached properly in the art of ruck work, so there is more work to b done here and time is hopefully on our side....

forward structure still needs some work for us to get the 16 goals per game and this is where we will struggle this year, is it me or when are these guys gonna learn how to crumb from our forward thrusts it hasnt happened and from last night still wasnt happening (shame that the master of that situation in KB is still not willing to let bygones be bygones and return to tigerland to help out), opportunities go begging more often than not....simmonds will b a handful, richo well what can 1 say pull your head in son and play the ball and stop bitching... need more avenues and this will cause us heartache this year...

i thought we gleaned more positives than negatives from last night, against a more experienced opposition, that really new how to win where we didnt, i feel that we have got much more room for improvement where as the pies dont...

highlights for me were the performances of the youngens as well as endevour as wallet has stated there will b mistakes made in a game but we will just have to cop that so long as we keep persisting at trying to play to his game plan, he will also bring these kids along nicely mark my words....

I wouldn't get too excited over the game. Richmond was only playing last years 13th placed team and they were playing without Buckley, Didak and Lockyer.

Collingwood had many more scoring shots and generally played better. I thought that the final scoreline was really quite flattering.

At least the Tigers were more competitive and direct than last year

Infamy said:
Please get over the Jackson at full back thing you've got, its not going to happen, he's too short

these days its abt matchups, for mine hes best equiped to go against the leading forward types, obviously against the gorillas he will be too small and we'll need someone else but with all due respect i'l get over it wen its confirmed by the coaching hierarchy that hes not the man, not wen someone on bigfooty tells me it aint gonna happen ..

Tigers will show promise this season yet still wont make the finals, expect them to finish around 10th or so this season. if tigers fans are banking on september action then I am affraid they better book something else for the better half of September cos they wont be going to the footy :D

More likely in 2006 they will though

Aaron said:
Tigers will show promise this season yet still wont make the finals, expect them to finish around 10th or so this season. if tigers fans are banking on september action then I am affraid they better book something else for the better half of September cos they wont be going to the footy :D

More likely in 2006 they will though

Thanks for that, if you actually cared to read the posts on this forum you'd find that the majority of Richmond supportes actually expect nothing better than 10th-12th this year. For a post that was intended to rub our faces in the lack of September action, you ended up being quite generous.

I'd go and worry about your own teams September action if I were you.

A midfield of Johnson, Brown, Hyde, Krakouer, Rodan, Chaffey, Tambling and Deledio just can't compete in this league. Coughlan would make us better if he can return to his best but there is just not enough ball-winning ability.

8 wins would be a great return this season. More likely 14th place and 6 wins.

bottom 2 this in my opinion, but will allow us to fast track some of these youngsters we have playing with the burgers, also have first bite at the cherry for this years draft...

lets face it if we want success lets well damn do it properly so we can really start giving crap back for all the crap we have had to cop from the oppostion flogs over the years...

i dont want 1 flag i want a sustained success so we can fill our cabinet with big shiny cups...lets leave those wooden things for the likes of stkilda and co....

My thoughts on the new players based on Friday nights game:

Knobel Did well in the ruck against a team without a dominant ruckman, but was a liability at full forward. Not much better dropping back, at one stage dropping a sitter letting Collingwood in for a goal. With a fit Stafford, I think Knobel will be changing between ruck and the pine.

Simmonds Didn't dominate but did enough to show he will be a good investment. 5 years was a risk but I think it will work out well for us, and in 5 years we will still be paying him a 2004 salary.

Graham Looked a bit lost up forward, but more comfortable up back and generally provided a contest. Kicking hasn't improved since Hawthorn days.

Deledio Will take while to adjust to the pace and intencity, but showed enough to suggest he will be the best thing around Tigerland for quite a few years. Plenty of skill and polish and looks to be a good thinker.

Tambling While Deledio could develop into the Rolls Royce we're desparate for, Tambling is the Ferrari! Plenty of players with the magic touch drift in and out of games. Not many develop into Gary Ablett or Malcolm Blight type consistent matchwinners. Let's hope over the next 2 or 3 years he develops into a player who puts it together for 4 quarters. Excellent first up effort for the two young guns.

Whats the verdict??