grayham

swans
Its been nearly a week. FFS, How long can it take to reboot a server and load a database ?

Maybe one of those wonderful sys admins could give us an update.

"It'll be updated tomorrow night," Des, Saturday night, 25th June, 2005.

Aww, c'mon, bring it back I am dying.

grayham said:
Its been nearly a week. FFS, How long can it take to reboot a server and load a database ?

Things are happening

BonBon said:
"It'll be updated tomorrow night," Des, Saturday night, 25th June, 2005.

Aww, c'mon, bring it back I am dying.
I think Des is waiting for you to graduate and get an IT degree, and fix everything up!!!

Maybe its time to get WWM up and running again!!!!! :eek:

ScottH said:
I think Des is waiting for you to graduate and get an IT degree, and fix everything up!!!

Maybe its time to get WWM up and running again!!!!! :eek:
LOL.

Bring it on. can the first rule be "There are no rules"?

grayham said:

When you're relying on web-hosters to respond to you, it can take a while.

Not sure why it is necessary to get antsy with people (ie Des) who provide you with a free service out of the kindness of their souls, especially when things are out of their complete control.

grayham said:
I'd like to know myself!

Here's a rough timeline so far -

Friday - RWO gets hacked
Monday - Database is restored, but there is a permission or path error meaning it is inaccessible.
Wed - Problem is fixed, we discover that the backup is not as recent as we'd like - August 2004. I figure people won't be happy with losing 11 months of posts and articles, so I shut the board down again.

So now we are waiting on either a more recent backup, or the hacked database to be restored, then I can (slowly) reinstall all the templates etc that were damaged.

It won't take me long to get it fixed once I have a database I can work with, but I haven't had the time to chase the webhosts up about it.

There, now you're all in the loop!

Legs Akimbo is suffering from the morons who inhabit this 'mass market' footy board. I think the average age of the Big Footy subscriber is 14. I've had enough of posts like Who is the biggest player, Which player runs the fastest, Nick Reiwolt is the best!

It's don't mean to be an ingrate - appreciate the free nature of this servive. But RWO it ain't.

Maybe I'll head over to the general AFL board and throw some trolls at the kids. Here's an idea, I'll start a post about which player has the thickest arms.

Well u know what this means, Des, Quit ur job and live off the "Mega" proceeds from RWO, just to keep us riff raff happy!!!!!! ;)

Don't worry about the last 10 months, we can rebuild it!!!!!! I 'm sure we all have a copy of our posts handy!!!!

legs akimbo said:
Legs Akimbo is suffering from the morons who inhabit this 'mass market' footy board. I think the average age of the Big Footy subscriber is 14. I've had enough of posts like Who is the biggest player, Which player runs the fastest, Nick Reiwolt is the best!

It's don't mean to be an ingrate - appreciate the free nature of this servive. But RWO it ain't.

Maybe I'll head over to the general AFL board and throw some trolls at the kids. Here's an idea, I'll start a post about which player has the thickest arms.
LOL,

By the look of your post count, u have been going hammer and tongs on BF!!

grayham said:

Maybe you need a plumber to fix the leaks!!!!

legs akimbo said:

Yeah, it's like fricken kindergarten out there.

I pretty much gave up on the general AFL board after the hundredth "Who is better Hird or Buckley or a Lamp post" thread or "Who has the roundest ears" thread or "Don't comment on my team as its better than your team" thread.

NMWBloods said:
Yeah, it's like fricken kindergarten out there.

I pretty much gave up on the general AFL board after the hundredth "Who is better Hird or Buckley or a Lamp post" thread or "Who has the roundest ears" thread or "Don't comment on my team as its better than your team" thread.
The Swans are better than the Swans mate, no matter how much you try to ridicule the thread.

Why do they care who has the biggest arms anyway? It's not like they're going to award that player a trohpy.

Des I now realise you are the most important person in my life. Help me please my life is now without purpose. RWO rocks compared to this other stuff.

Desredandwhite said:
I'd like to know myself!

Here's a rough timeline so far -

Friday - RWO gets hacked
Monday - Database is restored, but there is a permission or path error meaning it is inaccessible.
Wed - Problem is fixed, we discover that the backup is not as recent as we'd like - August 2004. I figure people won't be happy with losing 11 months of posts and articles, so I shut the board down again.

So now we are waiting on either a more recent backup, or the hacked database to be restored, then I can (slowly) reinstall all the templates etc that were damaged.

It won't take me long to get it fixed once I have a database I can work with, but I haven't had the time to chase the webhosts up about it.

There, now you're all in the loop!

Thanks.

Here's a tip (and I run my own website so speaking from experience).

- Do you own backups. Especially the file based non-forum parts should be easy.
- Backup the database. You dont need to back up its entirety. Just the last couple of months would be heaps. No one really needs to read what they wrote a while ago. They just need to post new stuff.

Backing up to your PC every week should be a minimum. You're pretty safe from hacking as they wont get to the site AND your PC, and as soon as the database/server comes back up, you can reload your stuff and have minimal downtime. Less than a day anyway.

- Back up

legs akimbo said:
Go stir up some Richmond supporters re this weekend. And those Pie supporters still havent recovered from last weekends loss to us so they're an easy stir target.

But yes, sigh, I'm also missing RWO.

cruiser said:
I can think of something better to talk about than who has the biggest arms, but I might get censored or banned. :eek:

Arms? Legs? Extra appendages? :p

It would appear the mods cannot make you into some sort of dish (a la lobster chowder), so perhaps you'll only set sail with the blue rinse set for a 10 night South Pacific cruise, perhaps, if you were to try their powers of censorship? :rolleyes: