Hot Topic Will Elijah Hollands get another gig at Carlton?

Will Elijah Hollands get another gig at the Carlton Blues?

No speculating on alleged 'rumours'

Thanks all!

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

I believe it was mentioned that Walley could be part of our VFL program..bypassing that requirement
Ah ok missed that. Then it would be possible but players like Phillips should be listed if it was accurate. Should get confirmed soon hopefully

Not sure this is accurate. Carlton only have the two train on spots available unless they are on the VFL list.
Yeah. All three may well be training with us, but "train-on" means players that are neither AFL nor VFL listed players who have been given the opportunity to train for an open SSP spot. These formally listed train-on players are able to receive payment over the train-on period. It's limited to 2 players per open spot, with a maximum of 6.

So perhaps all three are training, but one has signed on for VFL? Or maybe Lij doesn't count as we're already paying him for next year anyway? Don't know, but as far as I am aware we haven't yet announced who the two train-on players are, though CD did say post-draft that we would be doing so.

Elijah will win the last spot should be do everything right between now and the SSP cut off.
Walley will be considered as a mid year SSP if he does well with the VFL program and if we cop an injury to a non-tall.
Unfortunately for White I think he's going to struggle to win that last spot which is a shame for him.

Elijah will win the last spot should be do everything right between now and the SSP cut off.
Walley will be considered as a mid year SSP if he does well with the VFL program and if we cop an injury to a non-tall.
Unfortunately for White I think he's going to struggle to win that last spot which is a shame for him.

Walley and White - 2 more small forwards.

Certainly interesting that we are loading up more and more in that area. We have far less cover for tall defenders / attackers yet we're going for more smalls via the SSP.

Are we doing a bit of follow-the-leader with the Hawthorn small forwards?

EH also a half-forward though probably more adaptable.

I am purely speculating so could be totally wrong but maybe the club has said that the train ons won’t be part of the preseason pre-Christmas camp and will resume training with the club back at Ikon when the preseason camp has finished.

Certainly interesting that we are loading up more and more in that area. We have far less cover for tall defenders / attackers yet we're going for more smalls via the SSP.

We always tend to be light on depth for KPP. Every year and particularly now. Starting to think our list management team doesnt see it as the same gap as we do.

Lij can play wing, half forward, onball and even 3rd tall, so actually covers quite a few spots

Would be interesting to know if rule changes are influencing these decisions.

Game will be much quicker next year with getting rid of "nominating rucks" and no boundary throw in's (between the arcs).

Don't need so many talls for the slow "down the line kicks" - the ball will be moving very quickly - suspect games will become more chaotic & we'll need more runners.

Would be interesting to know if rule changes are influencing these decisions.

Game will be much quicker next year with getting rid of "nominating rucks" and no boundary throw in's (between the arcs).

Don't need so many talls for the slow "down the line kicks" - the ball will be moving very quickly - suspect games will become more chaotic & we'll need more runners.
There will still be plenty of boundary throw ins between the arcs.

I suggest we concentrate on 1. Can a player play fotball? 2. Does he fit into the team envuronment? Everything else is for the morality police or the handwringers.
Big John Nicholls anyone?
You can't really be bringing Nicholls into the discussion, he hasn't played for over 50 years, and if he played today, he may not have played as many games as he did. Different times.

My point is can they play football well? Do they fit into the team well? If yes, everything else is for the hand wringers to worry about. All the social and political points should not matter. We are a .... football club .. first and foremost we should aim at being a successful football club.
There is heaps of other places to go to worry about social issues and everone can go there if they wish but a football club is about a sucessful football team. 🙂

My point is can they play football well? Do they fit into the team well? If yes, everything else is for the hand wringers to worry about. All the social and political points should not matter. We are a .... football club .. first and foremost we should aim at being a successful football club.
There is heaps of other places to go to worry about social issues and everone can go there if they wish but a football club is about a sucessful football team. 🙂
Nothing to do with social/political issues, if he's not disciplined enough to keep himself focused on his footy and is reportedly a somewhat disruptive influence, then to a club which is obviously attempting to reset culture, he isn't really good for us.

We gave him his second chance; unfortunately, it seems that he wasted it. No judgment, but it's a delicate balance within teams at times. Plenty of players with talent don't last long at clubs. Talent isn't the only consideration.

We are a football club, pick the best footballers. If a kid has some issues, sort it out with him. We are in the business of winning flags not popularity contests.

Great clubs turn this stuff around with troubled young players. Hollands is too good a footballer to not be on our AFL list. We need him next year.

We are a football club, pick the best footballers. If a kid has some issues, sort it out with him. We are in the business of winning flags not popularity contests.

Great clubs turn this stuff around with troubled young players. Hollands is too good a footballer to not be on our AFL list. We need him next year.
It’s a team game. If he’s a peanut that can’t be disciplined and focused then he can go wait in the Centrelink line.

Hot Topic Will Elijah Hollands get another gig at Carlton?