Worry

CaptainCustard

I didn't go to the footy on the weekend - couldn't be bothered to sit among happy Bombers supporters when I'm so miserable.

Instead, listened to Rex on the radio. It sounded like there were hardly any Richmond people at the game.

I know I'll be enthused about next season and buy my membership, but i wonder how many people are just sick and tired of being perpetual losers year in and year out. I think a lot of people have just given up and i really don't blame them.

Would hate to see this club die, but unless dramatic things happen soon we are doomed.

Clinton Casey's remarks last week about the game against St Kilda shows we are on the right track - well that left me gobsmacked - what a stupid statement.

And Danny said there was light at the end of the tunnel for us all - me thinks the only light is a train coming the other way.

I always laugh when I read articles/threads talking about how even though a team is down they will come good again soon - this seems to esp be the case when people talk about Carlton, yet we have been down for 20+ yrs......

All i want to see is accountability.

You know, i reckon the Richmond people have given Danny and Clinton a fair crack at turning this club around and it hasn't worked. They've had more chances than previous coaches/administrations.

When does Clinton stand up and say I've done my best but it isn't good enough - i should stand down.

Agree with the comments re casey and spud however.... we as melbourne based fans can only attend and support the guys who are putting in. It was worth going just to see cogs game. Unless a prior commintment exists (wedding etc) then those who are trying there hardest require our support - Cogs, AK, Ty, Fiora, Richo, Johnson, Rodan, Krak, Newman. (some of these guys may have limited ability but their efforts must be applauded - there are others)

Coaches, Presidents and players come and go but we as members and supporters are what keeps the club surviving - i will be there against the power and hawks for the last two games - it will be seven months until we will be able to see the Tigers again.

It's a long pre season.

CC, Casey can say some silly things occasionally (don't we all?) but I think this board has generally done a solid job — off the field. He has explained his remarks about "being on the right track" after an 80 point thrashing. The sensible interpretation of that remark was that they were on the right track in seriously reviewing the list at year's end, not the knee-jerk negative interpretation that he thought that we were looking good on the field.
At the very least, this board has shown that they understand that Richmond's problems have run much deeper than the coach and have set about fixing the off-field problems that have held us back for too long. For that I am grateful. Now I hope that they show enough strength to resisit the rantings of the angry hordes (unlike previous administrations) and stick to the plan. That will be the strongest indication yet that the RFC is growing up.

I am reassured Dean that they are going to do a revamp of the list - still, there's only so much they can do in a season. Any improvement in our position on the ladder will be 3 or more years away.

Onfield performance is just one indicator of how a club's performing. In the early rounds when we were 6-2 or something, our membership didn't reflect how we were going, and no doubt after the debacle of this year, membership will be worse next year.

Already, rumours of the club not being able to pay its bills.

When Leon left, we were in a healthy financial state. I don't believe we are going that well. Will be interesting to see the accounts at the end of the season and hope my fears (maybe paranoia) are assuaged.

yea there used to be 20 of us go every week
my mate and i are the only ones left of that 20
everyone has had a gut full.
mowing the lawns seems to be a better option
got to do something otherwise another long year next year.
geez its frustrating!!!!!!

Originally posted by Dean3

Now I hope that they show enough strength to resisit the rantings of the angry hordes (unlike previous administrations) and stick to the plan. That will be the strongest indication yet that the RFC is growing up.

I would like to see it spelt out clearly what this plan is. If it is a strong plan with a clear view on the future then it will give us much hope - something that we sorely need.

Originally posted by CaptainCustard

When Leon left, we were in a healthy financial state. I don't believe we are going that well. Will be interesting to see the accounts at the end of the season and hope my fears (maybe paranoia) are assuaged.

While we may not show a profit this year - although mid-season forecasts still showed us making a modest profit - what must not be forgotten is that our balance sheet is very strong with no long term debt and plenty of strong assets.

We are a long, long way away from being in a situation where we are unable to meet our debts when they fall due.

Originally posted by THE BOY BEAV

I agree. I didn't even think twice about not going yesterday. If we do not delist the following, I doubt I will join as a member:

Pettifer.
Houlihan
King
Rogers
Hilton
Bit of a scum

I am totally fed up. It's one thing to lose a match when you are having a red hot crack, but its totally different when you have the intention Richmond did yesterday. I'm glad I didn't go, but I did listen to it and watched the replay.

I don't want to put up with that anymore.

So frustrating that you have to bag the club on other teams boards.

I went yesterday:( a sea of red & black . I went to Vietnam after rnd 3 and got a weekly ladder position from mum. Got back rnd 7 the day of the Essendon game so didn't go that week. But since then I have taken my daughter to every game in Melbourne for 2 wins, we could of easily had 6. If all these fans drop off, the club might be able to sell cheaper and better memberships like Melbourne. Home based at the Docklands. A fickle fate.

yep peejay.....
called them rabble-at the moment they sure are,
unless im checking out a different team to you.
gee what were you doing on another team board!!!!!!
build a bridge!!!!

yep peejay.....
called them rabble-at the moment they sure are,
unless im checking out a different team to you.
gee what were you doing on another team board!!!!!!
build a bridge!!!!

Go to most other teams boards from time to time - and post on most of them too.

However usually about the issue.

Not great form to bag the club on other boards.

Originally posted by CaptainCustard

Already, rumours of the club not being able to pay its bills.

At the end of 2002 the accounts showed Richmond in the black to the tune of $2.5 million. So I would think that qualifies as being in a healthy financial state.

As to the rumours about not being able to pay bills - excuse me while I yawn :o .

The key word is rumour