collingwood vfl
Howdy :)
My first post here, i dont know how busy this joint gets, or if you have done this before, but anyhoo, here goes.
What is your first memory of watching Collingwood?
Mine is from a Collingwood-Richmond game at Victoria Park around 1975. Rene Kink took a huge mark in front of me at the Yarra Falls end, and landed on the back of his head, unable to take the kick.

Mine is about a year earlier, Collingwood vs Richmond at the MCG, John Greening's comeback game (I think) after mongrel O'Dea destroyed his life.

An all in brawl broke out - Balme, Sheedy, Tuddenham, you name it - everybody in - except for John Greening who sat crossed legged on the ground and waited for the fuss to die down. You could see then and there that his career was over - his heart was no longer in it, O'Dea had killed his passion.

Mine is standing in my front yard in September of 1970 as a 5 year old.

My father, at half time, assuring me that Carlton couldn't possibly beat Collingwood in the Grand Final.

I have never ever believed my father since in anything he said.

My first memory is black and white TV watching McKenna in a game against North in the early 70's - not sure the year. My first live memory was a Vic Park game against North in 1974. There was a huge banner on the fence on the members flank/wing. It said something along the lines of John Greening Our Saviour. We won the game.

My fourth birthday.

I woke up and was given a large wrapped present containing a Collingwood jumper, Collingwood shorts, Collingwood socks, Collingwood jocks (I'm not kidding), footy boots and a footy.

I'll remember that day forever. Not just because I was introduced to the Club, but because it was done in such a typically Collingwood way.

"Here you go son, you go for this Club and you give every fibre of your being to it!". And I have!!

Living in Tasmania, I only really ever got to watch the summation show with Drew Morphett on the ABC (The Winners), so I can't remember the first game I saw.

HAHA my first Collingwood memory was watchin the dogs upset yer apple cart at the MCG back in 1990.

Originally posted by Palace03
HAHA my first Collingwood memory was watchin the dogs upset yer apple cart at the MCG back in 1990.
Was that the game where Kolynuk (sp?) ran around Wright on the mark and kicked a goal?
Anyway, I think we got over that one by October.

my first memory is a typical cold dark day at waverley back in '91, seeing the pies for the first time, beating the saints. nothin spectacular bout the game, just remember daicos runnin round and thinking how awesome it was

Originally posted by hotpie
Mine is about a year earlier, Collingwood vs Richmond at the MCG, John Greening's comeback game (I think) after mongrel O'Dea destroyed his life.

An all in brawl broke out - Balme, Sheedy, Tuddenham, you name it - everybody in - except for John Greening who sat crossed legged on the ground and waited for the fuss to die down. You could see then and there that his career was over - his heart was no longer in it, O'Dea had killed his passion.

Alright! Greening works as a bookmaker here on the gold coast. I have talked to him a couple of times and he seems like a very nice fellow. A mate of mine went to school with him in Tassie and he introduced me to him one night at the boozer. Its pretty hard to know what to say when you meet someone like that, so i just mumbled some stuff about having seen black and white film of him playing and it was nice to meet him, etc.

Originally posted by trippedonaBindi
Mine is standing in my front yard in September of 1970 as a 5 year old.

My father, at half time, assuring me that Carlton couldn't possibly beat Collingwood in the Grand Final.

I have never ever believed my father since in anything he said.

heh heh. thank god i'm not quite old enough to have gone through that. that must have been a horror game to have been at.

Originally posted by MarkT
My first memory is black and white TV watching McKenna in a game against North in the early 70's - not sure the year. My first live memory was a Vic Park game against North in 1974. There was a huge banner on the fence on the members flank/wing. It said something along the lines of John Greening Our Saviour. We won the game.

Beautiful. My first collingwood jumper had peter mckennas number 6 on the back. it was one of those plastic numbers, and when i sat near the heater in winter, it would just about melt off my back.

Originally posted by FIGJAM
My fourth birthday.

I woke up and was given a large wrapped present containing a Collingwood jumper, Collingwood shorts, Collingwood socks, Collingwood jocks (I'm not kidding), footy boots and a footy.

I'll remember that day forever. Not just because I was introduced to the Club, but because it was done in such a typically Collingwood way.

"Here you go son, you go for this Club and you give every fibre of your being to it!". And I have!!

Living in Tasmania, I only really ever got to watch the summation show with Drew Morphett on the ABC (The Winners), so I can't remember the first game I saw.

You hear a lot of those stories about being inducted by your family. My father is a lifelong Richmond supporter, so i didnt have that. I have, however, named my only son after peter daicos.

Originally posted by Palace03

I was in the top deck of the western stand that day and was not impressed by the standard of umpiring. now, 1990, something else happened in 1990....:D

Originally posted by MarkT
Was that the game where Kolynuk (sp?) ran around Wright on the mark and kicked a goal?
Anyway, I think we got over that one by October.

Thats the day alright. from memory, wright had injured his ankle minutes earlier, and kolyniuk knew he could run around him.

Originally posted by grayza
my first memory is a typical cold dark day at waverley back in '91, seeing the pies for the first time, beating the saints. nothin spectacular bout the game, just remember daicos runnin round and thinking how awesome it was

I was in queensland on that day, and cant remember the game at all. Seeing daicos run around was always awesome.

Originally posted by raymond35
Beautiful. My first collingwood jumper had peter mckennas number 6 on the back. it was one of those plastic numbers, and when i sat near the heater in winter, it would just about melt off my back.
I had the same half melted plastic No. 6. got mine from the 1970 GF umpire Don Jolly who was a family friend.

If Don Jolly was a Collingwood supporter couldnt he have paid Jerka Jenkins a free for push in the back?

Couldn't he have done SOMETHING???????

:(

Originally posted by raymond35
Thats the day alright. from memory, wright had injured his ankle minutes earlier, and kolyniuk knew he could run around him.

The one and only thing that bloke ever did. I met him one NY Eve at Ocean Grove a few years later. All he kept saying when he found out l was Collingwood was that he made Wright look like a fool.

It turned a little nasty when I asked him what else he remembered from his woeful carrer?

PIES

At Vic Park, v the eagles, 87 i think, standing behind the goals, when i felt the back of my legs being a bit wet. Turned around and some dirty lil prick was taking a ****, right there behind me. Dirty sod. No wonder why i hate them

I'm sure there has been earlier meomeries with the Pies but I just can't remember them.

The first vived meomery was at Carrara in 1991. The year I moved up here to the Gold Coast with the family from Melbourne.

Brisbane vs Collingwood.
I was only a young tacker at six years old decked out in my long-sleeved Collingwood guernsey with the '35' on the back.
Fittingly enough, the great man kicked 13 that night and ran absolutely riot.

Remember that great goal when he runs across the face of goal with Gastev on his tail and he gets the ball and kicks a great goal? The commentry was "Across the face of goal, Daicos and Gastev. He gets a kick, don't tell me he has kicked that! I will not believe it!" You can actually see a young Nick The Pie Man standing around 7 rows back clapping with my Pie jumper on. :D
Ah the good old days when we used to pulvarise the bad news bears and the Pie fans would out-number the Brissy fans.

Re: PIES

Originally posted by SMOO
At Vic Park, v the eagles, 87 i think, standing behind the goals, when i felt the back of my legs being a bit wet. Turned around and some dirty lil prick was taking a ****, right there behind me. Dirty sod. No wonder why i hate them

You must have known you were a bloody Carlton fan. ;)

I went to Waverly Park many times before this moment, but it's the memory that sticks.

Collingwood is up at hanging in their at quarter-time on the 1990 grand final after Salmon look set for a 20-goal performance.

The quarter-time brawl erupted and when it fizzled we realised Gavin Brown had been knocked out. That was Mum's cue to leave the room and she spent the next hour and a half doing the washing until Dad raced out and dragged her in, sure we were going to win this one. Tears followed.

It's not until a few years later when I realised how much we had sucked in grand finals previously that I understood where Mum was coming from.

It would have to be the 1990 Grand Final, I had turned six about 2 weeks before the game. I really don't remember much before then though.

My first specific memory of a Collingwood game was Tony Francis kicking Murray Rance in round 1 of 1990. I got taken to a couple of games in 1989 but can't remember any particular moments from these games.