raboyle

CDFC (SANFL), Port Melb (VFL)
Like the other thread about your first SANFL game, but about your first time at an interstate match and other memorable experiences at other games too.

It can be State of Origin or the State League games from 1991.

My first State League experience was in 1998 when I went to the SA vs. WA double header at Footy Park. During the league contest, I went for a ball that was kicked into the crowd at the northern end and went crashing down to the pavement off the aluminum seats. P*ssed myself laughing, but promptly went to get bandages when I calmed down.

First State of Origin match was the 1994 SA vs. Victoria boilover, but I don't remember that much because I wasn't a full-on fan until 1996 when I caught that year's game against Western Australia.

Mine would be SA v WA at Footy Park in 1980, i think SA won by over 10 goals. Peter Jonas had a memorable and quite comical moment, i was only 8, but from memory i think he ran between a group of players and just kept on running, cant remember exactly what happened, but remember at the time it was funny. I think the curtain raiser was a game between the SA under 23's and the ACT or perhaps it was Qld.

Also went in 85 and 86 against Victoria, and then 1994, which was quite memorable for the non-Ablett goal with only seconds remaining, which if the free wasn't paid and it was allowed, the Vics would have won.

Also went to the 1990 state game between SA and WA which was the last state game before South Australia had a club in the AFL.

The first game I saw on TV was 1965: SA 12-11, Vic 3-1.

We thrashed the Vics that day, and had I known we wouldn't win again for 18 years I would have enjoyed it more.

The first games I saw live were the three days of the 1969 AFC Carnival here in Adelaide. Graham Molloy marking in the clouds .... ah, memories :)

I'm not sure what year (late 80's or early 90's), but the game I first remember going to was at Footy Park against Victoria. I was a kid and I think it was a night game during the week? I think Tony Francis got best for us and I think Victoria won, although the memory is very sketchy.

The game I remember most fondly was the 1993 State game at the MCG when we beat the Vics with Darren Jarman starring. I was watching on tv.

I'm not sure what year (late 80's or early 90's), but the game I first remember going to was at Footy Park against Victoria. I was a kid and I think it was a night game during the week? I think Tony Francis got best for us and I think Victoria won, although the memory is very sketchy.

The game you are thinking of was played 7 July 1992 at Football Park.

SA 19-19, d. Vic 18-12.

Francis was rated best player for SA and Kernahan booted 6 goals. For the Vics, Robert Harvey was best and Salmon booted 5.

Best part of the game from a South Australian point of view was SA booting 10-3 to 2-2 to turn a 4 goal 1st quarter deficit into a 4 goal lead at 1/2 time.

My first state game was in 1994 at Footy Park against the Vics and we won by 2 points I think. I remember my old man telling me weeks and weeks before that we were going to the game and that it was going to be the best night of footy ill see. I vividly remember the final siren, the atmosphere was as intense as ive ever felt in my life. I learnt to hate Victorian's and the Big V that night, and ive never stopped since :D

Im yet to go to a State League game but I reckon ill head down this year, should be a cracker game.

SA 19-19, d. Vic 18-12.

Francis was rated best player for SA and Kernahan booted 6 goals. For the Vics, Robert Harvey was best and Salmon booted 5.

Best part of the game from a South Australian point of view was SA booting 10-3 to 2-2 to turn a 4 goal 1st quarter deficit into a 4 goal lead at 1/2 time.

I think that was the game when Wayne Carey played for SA, and Hall kicked the miracle goal from the "Campbell" pocket.

SA 19-19, d. Vic 18-12.

Thanks AH. My memory obviously very sketchy, we won! Robert Harvey, there's a blast from the past, oh, wait a minute...

The first games I saw live were the three days of the 1969 AFC Carnival here in Adelaide. Graham Molloy marking in the clouds .... ah, memories :)

First State games for yours truly also.....just a youngster in '69.....
Brought back some fond memories there Adelaide Hawk!! Was also at the '69 Adelaide Carnival games, Graham Molloy shared the Tassie Medal with Peter Eakins from W.A. methinks. Both players eventually went to the VFL, Molloy to Melbourne and Eakins to Collingwood. But didn't set the world on fire in the VFL particularly Eakins...

The thing that always perplexed me from that carnival was how didn't Craig McKellar make the All-Australian side??? You may think I am showing my Woodville bias here..but I recall him beating John Nicholls in the SA vs Vic. clash and having ( I thought!?!) a better carnival than Peter " The original jumbo prince" Darley. Nicholls and Darley both got All-Australian blazers but not Craig McKellar!!

It was/is a DISGRACE....

I remember going to Footy Park in 1984 for the state game mid week. Kernahan kicked 10, including his first from a dribble along the ground from the northern pocket.

Saw SA v WA at F.P. in either 1983 or 1985 i think, when WA won after kicking a goal after the siren had sounded. Umpire didn't hear the siren so they won.

Went to all the SA games at the 1987 State Carnival, including SA's win over VIC when Martin Leslie did a job on Dermie.

Didn't go to the MCG for 1989, but strangly watched a depleted Port take on North at F.P. with half the players missing for state duty. Memorable for 7 Rohan Smith goals.

Went to 1992 at F.P.

Would have been to all the other proper SOO games until they became mickey mouse.