Is it time that AFL clubs dropped beverage company sponsorships ?

It doesn't appear to have occurred to anyone here that soft drink companies have sought out sponsorship deals with sporting leagues because we're starting to realise how bloody awful they are for our health, and sales are plummeting.

So they attach themselves to something that's positive for the most part, like professional sport, and then everyone conveniently cries "nanny state" whenever there's a suggestion of going back to a time that actually did exist, where even though there was certainly sponsorship by makers of unhealthy products (I'm thinking particularly tobacco companies), it wasn't out of all proportion like it is now, to the degree that sporting leagues look more like life support systems for unhealthy products with an image problem.

Gee that second sentence was a long 'un.

Yep, definitely beats having the Winfield Cup like rugby league once had, not sure what tobacco sponsorship was in the AFL/VFL way back then.

Kool-Aid should definitely be out.Way too much in the AFL right now.

26c3.jpg

Bring back Hungry Jacks!!

...and John Player Special, Benson & Hedges and Johnny Walker.

They are just products. Just because clubs endorse them doesnt force people to use them, right?

Bring back Hungry Jacks!!

...and John Player Special, Benson & Hedges and Johnny Walker.

They are just products. Just because clubs endorse them doesnt force people to use them, right?

they should get sponsored by cyanide so all the dumb people of society eat it and get wiped out. then we can go back to people making choices and living with the consequences instead of having everybody living to cater for the lowest common denominator

everybody knows that. it's like someone who needs to be told not smoke at a petrol station. if you can't figure it out for yourself, theres not much hope for you really...

Replacing those lame ads with specific odds on how hard it is to win would be a better deterrent.

Could be worse, could be sponsored by iilegal drug cartels

"Life getting you down
No excitement in your life
Craving a buzz
Give your local neighborhood coke dealer a call on 555...."

Let's tear down all the buildings, destroy all the vehicles and possessions and go back to the days of sticks and stones. No more media, no more fast food, no more internet, no more war, no more people getting fat because they saw the logo of a drink at a football ground. Sounds good right?

To people who complain about PC, freedom, outrage etc. The point is not aimed at you. An intellegent person knows that putting their mouth in a gutter is more likely going to get a refreshment with more health benefits,...and better tasting than the brands mentioned.

It's the vulnerable they go after that don't necessary need protection, but at least knowledge on what they are consuming.

This is ridiculous. I am a massive motogp fan and they stopped cigarette sponsorship a while back and nearly crippled the sport. Now they have rebuilt and moved to energy drinks. I dont drink redbull and i dont smoke cigarettes but man i love racing. So if companies want to throw money at sports to advertise their product who cares. How bout parents stop feeding their kids crap and treat stuff like coke and fast food as luxury. So sick of people blaming companies for their own short falls a sign isnt holding a gun to your head and telling you to drink it.

Obesity is now the leading cause of death in Australia.

Around 9 million Australians are overweight and another 5million are obese this includes over 1million overweight and 250,000 obese children.

More than 5million Australian have fatty Liver disease and over 1million have type 2 diabetes.

Meanwhile every AFL club has an affiliation with Coca-Cola and or the Pepsi Owned Gatorade brand or similar.

Players do ads for Gatorade and PowerAde, supposed sports drinks that contain around 25 spoonfuls of sugar with high salt content and market them as healthy drinks that makes you an athlete.

Somehow this is overlooked while people are outraged about poker machines that adversely affect a tiny fraction of the population.

If we are going to run the morality meter over AFL and club revenue this is the first place to start.

My God, what a crap thread. Sooking it up because someone dared criticise his magnificent club. I hope he's pleased with the 5 pages of obesity discussion he has generated.

And then coming up with corkers like this:

You're really comparing losing money to a life long disease like diabetes ? Your kidding right ?

You are comparing the break-up of families and the destruction of lives to someone needing to get to a gym every now and then? Or are you sheeting home the entire obesity epidemic and diabetes to drinking soft drink? Either way, you are a &^*%ing moron.

Here's the difference between soft drinks and pokies. Soft drinks are merely a contributing factor to the obesity epidemic. By contrast, pokies are completely responsible for tens of thousands of people's gambling addictions. The Hawthorn football club is almost certainly directly responsible for the ruining of lives. Not that you give a sh!t.

If you want to practice sophistry, we could just as easily go the other way and ask why footy clubs shouldn't be allowed to accept sponsorship from cigarettes. You'd probably be delighted to see your precious baby hawks accepting ice sponsorship if they could. Just as long as you guys get your hands on more cash. Hey, drug addicts should practice more personal responsibility!

But to answer your supposed question: If it shuts up people like you I would happily stop footy clubs accepting sponsorship from fast food companies and soft drink manufacturers to stop them from running pokies. Pokies should simply be banned outright - or at least limited to casinos like they are in WA.

Surprised the OP copped so much flak. Walk around the supermarket. Sugar is added to almost everything and it's not just for taste. Some foods and drinks take this to an extreme and can be a serious problem for obesity, diabetes and dental health.

http://journals.plos.org/plosmedicine/article?id=10.1371/journal.pmed.1001798

http://www.cbc.ca/m/news/health/sugar-industry-s-secret-documents-echo-tobacco-tactics-1.1369231

If we can say no to tobacco ads and gambling ads, we can definitely say no to soft drinks and sports drinks ads. As well as proving a spectacle, profession sports promote sport participation and improved physical health. That is undermined if they advertise some of the leading causes of obesity to the viewers, e.g. high sugar drinks and fast food. It can also set kids who are interested in sport off on the wrong foot so they don't eat/drink healthy. I think it is an area where the AFL and the broadcasters could take some responsibility.

Had to sit next to a fat campaigner on the plane from Bangkok, he was huge, seat belts couldn't fit around him and the tray couldn't lay flat. I asked the hosts to swap him with someone else, so that I could have my space that I payed for, and that he could have an extra space that he didn't pay for so he could at least sit in comfort with out irritating someone for 9 hours.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk