Review 2023 Hawthorn Mid-Season check in : Liked, disliked and hated?

Liked: Young players building a culture where they are looking to improve. Sammy is awesome. Midfield - oh yeah

Disliked: Not a lot to be honest. The first part of the year I was pretty disappointed in the defence who had been looking good up until this year. Forwards were not looking like they were improving either. This has steadily changed. And again back to liked - improvement is the key

Hated: Doubters. This is a journey. Enjoy it

Liked: The amount of players who improved after stints back at Box Hill. Meek, Kosi, MacDonald, all have had great last few games. We wait to see Ward, CJ etc come back in and I reckon we have some upside there on how we integrate them.

Disliked: Our lack of team pressure in first few rounds and pre-season, was of serious concern. It turned around dramatically since then and at times our pressure has been intense and relentless.

Hated: Lack of respect to Sam Mitchell for the brave moves he has made. Usually coaches are potted for not doing what he did, like a West Coast, but the tabloid style media went hysterical on tanking etc. Unbelievable the torch and heat that was put on him and the narrative after two rounds of football.

Liked: The ride - great seeing the team grow and improve before our very eyes. Loving the ups, the downs and the positive approach from Mitch and the team.

Disliked: The umpiring this year. Some diabolical calls (not just against us).

Hated: The lack of accountability in the footy media (think we all know who the main culprit is - won't name him on principle). Their influence on proceedings across the board is sickening.

Liked - Hawthorn reinventing itself (on & off field).

Disliked – The endless diatribe over tanking, racism ect.

Hated – The impasse between ex legends and the club (Cyril, Clarko etc).

Liked:
  • We finally have a big, strong midfield that can match it with the best
  • Development of Mitchell, Weddle, Mackenzie, Macdonald, Brockman
  • Brakeout year from Nash (I didn't think he had it in him TBH but goes to show)
  • Return to form of Worps and Impey
  • Lack of injuries (good job medical team)
-Sam Mitchell as a cool, calm presence as coach
- When we are on its great to watch the team in full flight

Disliked:
  • Once again we start the year slow only to come home with a wet sail. Need to make sure we are ready to go round 1 in 2024
  • Still have issues as a team beating those on a similiar level
  • Forward half pressure at times has been non existent
  • Still need a second Key Forward and quality Small Forward

Hated:
- AFLs constant persecution of James Sicily 😠

Liked: the improvement and development of young players, especially in the midfield

Dislike: the Essendon, Geelong, Freo and Swans games

Hate: absolutely everything to do with the historical racism issue: the sadness of and for those involved, the mixed emotions, the brand damage to the club, the toxic self interest of the AFL and the parasitic media coverage

Liked:
I can see where we are going now and am happy to be along for the ride.

Disliked:
The racism saga. What a car crash that has been.

Hated:
The constant umpire bashing in game day threads. They are not the reason we are 16th people.

Liked: Our wins this year, thoroughly deserved and well celebrated.
Disliked: Inconsistency in umpiring, MRO, tribunal, etc. basically all the muppets in charge of keeping "the game" running fairly.
Hated: Losing to Geelong, Sydney and the scum

Liked
The development of our youth. The last 2 drafts. The resurrection Lazarus style by Seamus. The fight backs against dees and port. The unexpected wins against saints and lions. Being part of the journey from overseas after missing last time and now with live streamed games.
Disliked
Gap between best and worst (although expected the size in a few games a little alarming). Dogs winning and worsening our draft hand. AFL rules and knee jerk reactions (again).
Hates
Purple. Nonsense suspensions. A lack of smiling at the musings and ramblings of Coach Killer which stopped a few month back. Posters who attack other hawk posters for differences of opinions on an opinion forum.

Liked - feels that we are at the beginning a truly exciting journey. Its a great feeling.

Disliked- the over reaction to our own people by some of our own supporters when we have a loss or a player stuffs up. They are, on the whole, young and inexperienced and mistakes are a natural part of their evolution. Remember - "riding the bumps with grin".

Hated - that we seem to be in the barrell for lot of things because....well because. It often feels targeted and irrational.

Liked- This season, like the last 2, is about finding new best 22 players that could one day take us to the promised land. Weddle, Mitchell, Brockman, McKenzie, Amon, on face value, so far look like another step closer.

Disliked- The fact none of the above names are KKPs. Our desperate need and the biggest ? about our list rebuilds ceiling. (Weddle could/ may have to be one)

Hated- off field dumpster fire. Thank God for Sammy. A beacon of hope for an empire in ruin.

Liked, the kids starting to gel and show they belong.
Disliked, the fade-outs in game.
Hated, the media. Barrett the flog

Liked: Were winning due to the improvement of our youth. (The opposite to seniors of the past standing up) 💗IT. Kudos to Coach Sam and Players age 25 and under. We should be aiming for top 8 in 2024.

Dislike: The lack of consistacy via the AFL and supensions.

Liked- got to be the development of the young midfield. Newcombe and Day are stars in the making.

Sicily when he's playing is All Australian

Awesome return to form of Jarman Impey reminds me of the need for more impeys.

Sam Mitchell can coach

Disliked - shitty fan behaviour on here when we lose even though every man and his dog knows where we are at and that we are going to have down days people carry on here like turnips

Hated - the BS tanking talk. Led by Damian Barrett -he is a complete *******

Liked:
  • Seamus Mitchell's arrival on the AFL scene. Has brought new energy to our defense and given us a new dimension and weapon out of defense.
  • Nash taking his game to another level. Many had him on the fringe but he's proven to be almost first picked each week
  • Our new midfield. Dynamic, flexible and giving us a lot of drive. Seeing the young guys in Newk, Day, Mackenzie as well as Worpel getting us first use has been a welcome change
  • Sicily as a captain. Started off with some poor games and drew criticism but has been absolutely massive for us. Leading by example and showing he is one of the best defenders in the game.
  • Brocky. Go home factor was heavily discussed in the preseason and questions over his commitment but he has proven just how good he'll be and how much better we look with him in the side.
  • Mitch, especially in the media. Doesn't shy away and give generic answers. Brutally honest with his assessment and his direction for our team
  • Watching the team improve and enjoying the ride. The list is really starting to take shape!
Disliked:
  • Some massive fade outs, hard to watch early in the season. WAs disappointing to not see much fight in the early games but seeing the rapid improvement and resilience in recent games is a great indicator of progress and maturity
  • Media commentary on tanking. One game in they were calling it tanking and talking Harley Reid. Harsh on the club, unfair on a 17 year old to be dragged into it also I thought.
  • Close losses to GWS and Crows. Hurt more than a blowout even though I walked away happy with how we were improving
  • Fixture slots, lots of sunday games at awful times and a lack of Melbourne games
Hated:
  • Lynch copping a concussion again. His VFL form was outstanding and he forced himself into the side and to suffer another concussion was heartbreaking. Wish him all the best.
  • The racism report. The handling, the leaking and the attempts to put all blame on the club for being proactive in fact finding. The situation has been poorly handled and the AFL doesn't want to find answers, they just seem to want to scapegoat the club and wash their hands of any responsibility.

Liked……..big footy
disliked…..big footy
learnt ……..big footy
hated all the preseason SEN talk about how we’re stuffed, cut too deep, tanking and headed for the spoon ……stopped listening and went back to …….big footy!

Liked - clear direction from the club on the rebuild
  • Sam as coach . Media work and pressers after wins and losses are first class
  • Emergence of lesser known youngsters like Mitchell in the side
  • Young draftees looking at home at AFL level
  • winning games out of our weight division
  • Will Day on a trajectory to a top 10 player in the comp IMO

Disliked
  • up and down performances in and from game to game ( but expected this)
  • lack of patience and understanding of the above
  • game day criticism of young players
  • losses to Cats, Swans and Bombers . Our time will come quickly against these guys

Hated
  • Sicily tackle copping 3 weeks😡
  • Saga in general but the club copping a battering in the media
  • tanking talk . Totally disrespecful to the club and players.

Liked
obvious buy in of Sam’s plans from the young group regardless of results

Disliked
personally witnessing our demolition by Port among the local bogans

Hated
MRO with hawthorn and Sicily taxes

Round 15: Gold Coast (A)
Round 16: Carlton (H)
Round 17: GWS (A)

I’m quietly confident if Hawthorn can put in the same effort they’ve shown over last month, that a win against Carlton and GWS is not out of the question. A 2-1 record over the next three games is achievable.

Having Ward & Jiath both fit after the BYE will help. We still haven’t even seen the best of Mitchell, Brockman, Butler, MacKenzie and Weddle just yet.

Round 15: Gold Coast (A)
Round 16: Carlton (H)
Round 17: GWS (A)

I’m quietly confident if Hawthorn can put in the same effort they’ve shown over last month, that a win against Carlton and GWS is not out of the question. A 2-1 record over the next three games is achievable.

Having Ward & Jiath both fit after the BYE will help. We still haven’t even seen the best of Mitchell, Brockman, Butler, MacKenzie and Weddle just yet.
If we can pull off the appeal and Sicily plays, I think we're a good chance to win all 3. Though, I'm least confident against Suns up there. If it were in Melbourne or Tassie, I'd tip us.