A-League R8: Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC Match Thread

Ray Nolan said:
Nice to see you silly people are getting your cracks in (I'm looking at you Sporty & Sainter ;) ). Seriously though, fair play on a cracking win. As much as I can't stand to see you lot win to see Sydney FC lose 5-0 is rather hilarious! The 3rd Victory goal by Archie Thompson was as good as you'll see anywhere in the world, amazing stuff. Great to see a full house, should mean a repeat when we come down to take the 3 points in a fortnight! :p

haha, yea right see u there mate.

u bringin the whole adelaide clan over here?

=KaNga= said:
haha, yea right see u there mate.

u bringin the whole adelaide clan over here?

At the moment our tentative numbers indicate at least 132 on the Get Mobile buses and somewhere around 75-100 travelling independently or Vic-based joining them. So there should be at least 200 Reds in attendence.

Excuse me if I sporadically interrupt this week's match review with a bit of cyber-chanting.

Can we play you,
can we play you every week?
Can we play you every week?

To quote Spiderbait, that was f**king awesome! An amazing performance by the Melbourne lads, what shaped as a very tight tussle in the first 45 minutes, developed into a rout (Were you watching Sydney? Oh damn, the game wasn't on! :mad:)

Four-nil, we're gonna win four-nil...

The first half was tight, Thompson had a good early chance which he blasted just over and just to the right, he also had another excvellent chance from a long ball (might have even been a Galekovic clearance). But Sydney had plenty of chances too, and from my vantage point might have even had a penalty for handball. Yorke wasted a golden chance from a long shot which fell perfectly for him six yards out, but he scuffed it, allowing Eugene to dive on the ball. But the breakthrough came when Archie won a contest on the left, dribbled in the area, found two defenders in his face, so he laid it back to Kitz who dribbled it in from 18 yards. 1-0 to the Melbourne lads!

Five-nil, we're gonna win five-nil...

The second half was a rout. We just burned them for speed - even Allsopp was beating defenders and making the Sydney defence look plain silly. The second came when Thompson found himself in space in the area and had his shirt pulled, going down. Muscat slotted it for 2-0. Then a great move down the right (You > Andy Packer), culminated in Archie receiving the ball, but having to reach behind him and turn his back to goal to get it. Yet somehow, after three or four Sydney defenders converged on him, he wriggled his way out to score - unbelievable goal! His celebration was priceless, as he feigned amazement at what he had done!

Six-nil, we're gonna win six-nil...well, not quite!

Straight after that, Talay was sent off for an off-the-ball incident which I didn't see (might have been a headbutt - tensions were threatening to boil over all game) and we just strolled to victory. More good play on the right, set up an easy header for Thompson, who converted at the second time of asking to make it four. Then after two players were denied from six yards, Vlahos would have bundled it in but was brought down for another penno. We wanted Archie to take it, but maybe Kev's got his eye on the golden boot! We actually had a few more chances too - Allsopp blasted one closer to the corner flag, sub Lia had two close shaves and Vlahos missed an easy one too.

Dwight Yorke? Who are yer, who are yer?

Archie Thompson is a gem who should be playing in the highest levels of Europe - we're so lucky to have him. Allsopp gave Timpano and Fyfe nightmares all game, Kitz terrorised Ceccoli, Leijer did an admirable job marking Yorke, but my MOTM was Kev Muscat. Just brilliant, and he really deserves a call-up to the Australian squad, in my admittedly biased opinion.

Sydney, Sydney, what's the score? Look at that, there's one more!

Sydney are an over-rated bunch of girls. No I take that back, that's an insult to females. Their defence is crap, their midfield was dominated and at one stage Yorke was playing as a defensive mid to try and get his team back in the game. They'll be lucky to make top four - Central Coast and Newcastle, and yes, maybe even Adelaide will finish above them.

You may sense my jubilation at this result. ;)

With Adelaide, you can at least know they will show. They showed up in the pre-season game in pretty good numbers.

Sydney were just ridiculous. Stuff all there.

Bring it on, Ray. ;)

mattyc2422 said:
With Adelaide, you can at least know they will show. They showed up in the pre-season game in pretty good numbers.

Sydney were just ridiculous. Stuff all there.

Bring it on, Ray. ;)

I heard there were around 40 or so Bling Boys there. Poor show really, I know a lot of our travel is subsidised by Mr. Pickard but for the "biggest club in Australia" to take so few down is disappointing. We should double that with our independent numbers all going to plan.

Heard there were a few shenanigans outside the ground and in town before the game. It's a shame, there's no need for that. The Reds fans that are coming are heading over for the craic & to get behind our lads. We will be taking sensible precautions though, just in case.

I thought i read somewhere you weren't coming for the Barrel Boy game Ray - That would actually be a shame, but i guess you're used to a massacre in South Australia ;)

Seriously, are you heading across?

There was a little bit of a meeting of the minds after the game too, but no need to discuss that, it should be kept as a blip on a magnificant day for football in this state.

=KaNga= said:
yea same i was down at the southern end right next to the sydney supporters. wat about tht guy at the start? "can u sydney fans do us a favour and shutup!" lol tht started the little war of the words between the Melbounre and sydney fans.

There was a guy towards the end of the game trying to get past the security and police to get to some of the Victory supporters under the scoreboard is that the guy you are talking about?

did you see one of the Sydney supporters try and get onto the field after the game? did get far as security and police where 2 metres away from him and he only got 5 metres or so, then the Sydney goalie Clint Bolton went over to him and said something and he jumped back over the fence.

but how good is ARCHIE :D we had a brilliant view of his super goal.

Ray Nolan said:
I heard there were around 40 or so Bling Boys there. Poor show really, I know a lot of our travel is subsidised by Mr. Pickard but for the "biggest club in Australia" to take so few down is disappointing. We should double that with our independent numbers all going to plan.

Heard there were a few shenanigans outside the ground and in town before the game. It's a shame, there's no need for that. The Reds fans that are coming are heading over for the craic & to get behind our lads. We will be taking sensible precautions though, just in case.

From what I've read on the MV forums, said shenanigans were/will be started either by Plastic City inferiors or die-hard Bitter Brigade scum - the Victory lads assure me any incursions will be dealt with... It is a shame that this kind of thing occurs, but don't worry, it's desperation stuff from the monthly meeting of the Royal Victorian Failure To Adjust Association...

wez10000 said:
There was a guy towards the end of the game trying to get past the security and police to get to some of the Victory supporters under the scoreboard is that the guy you are talking about?

did you see one of the Sydney supporters try and get onto the field after the game? did get far as security and police where 2 metres away from him and he only got 5 metres or so, then the Sydney goalie Clint Bolton went over to him and said something and he jumped back over the fence.

but how good is ARCHIE :D we had a brilliant view of his super goal.

hehe yea, saw tht sydney guy try and get onto the field. i was on the right under the scoreboard while the sydney guys were on the left.

wat do u look like and wat were u wearing? i could have been standing very close to u at tht game.

Sporty Spice said:
I thought i read somewhere you weren't coming for the Barrel Boy game Ray - That would actually be a shame, but i guess you're used to a massacre in South Australia ;)

"You're going home in a barrel,
Going home in a barrel!"

"We all come from Snowtown!
We all come from Snowtown!
La-la-la-la-la, hey!"

Routinely sung at Hindmarsh at every home game, but I can be assured you Victorians will be using the Snowtown stuff every minute, right? :eek: Scary.

If that doesn't win the hearts and minds of the Melbourne sporting public, nothing will.

A great, great day at the office. I actually said to GOALden Hawk when we went 2-0 up: "Imagine if we won 5-0!" - I had no frickin' idea we could do that.

Archie put in a 10/10 performance. There is little else he could have done, he was just perfect. The B*tch was in top form, Allsopp was excellent (how about that barnstorming run down the right to set up Archie's first?) and our defence and Eugene were great.

Looking forward to the Reds' visit. Must have a few drinks before the game, Ray and Still Crowing - PM me.

Awesome day, MVFC admin must be lovin' it...

*Another Sold out fixture
*Record attendance at that Stadium
*A win... and a 5-0 win!!
*Defeat the Bling Bling
*Top of the ladder

and Merchanise sales are going through the roof...

The atmosphere was electric and an almost faultless performance from the boys! Woohoo!!!

Where have the ScmFC supporters gone by the way?

DB10 said:
"You're going home in a barrel,
Going home in a barrel!"

"We all come from Snowtown!
We all come from Snowtown!
La-la-la-la-la, hey!"

Routinely sung at Hindmarsh at every home game, but I can be assured you Victorians will be using the Snowtown stuff every minute, right? :eek: Scary.

You're having a go at our possible lack of creativity, yet you're the ones that call us "silly people"? That's strangely ironic ;)

Good to hear Ray - Would be a shame if you weren't there to watch a class side in action :)

=KaNga= said:
hehe yea, saw tht sydney guy try and get onto the field. i was on the right under the scoreboard while the sydney guys were on the left.

wat do u look like and wat were u wearing? i could have been standing very close to u at tht game.

I was standing next to the stairs in a Blue singlet and White shorts with a Victory Scarf on me and a Green Hat.

Sporty Spice said:
You're having a go at our possible lack of creativity, yet you're the ones that call us "silly people"? That's strangely ironic ;)

The Bling were the originators of that one; everyone calls you silly people. :)

That was awesome, I really got into it and am rapt about the scheduling of the season by the A-league bigwigs.

Was sitting on the southern side of the western terrace and copped a sweet view of Archie's second goal.

Who needs footy?

Go Melbourne!

Well lads, what a day. Swan St was abuzz in the morning with all the lads out with colours on, a great site to see. A few passers by wished us good luck as we made our way down to the ground. Some 'ordinairy' Melburnians are really starting to feel that this team represents them, great stuff.

A few Sydney dogs stationed themselves outside the entrance near the Union/BWB end and tried to start something with little success - Melbourne people have no interest in bashing up NTTAWWTters. They were telling us they were bringing 200 down, more like 40 tops. Never seen a bigger bunch of ********ers in my life to be honest. I know Adelaide will bring more and look forward to a heated match with amical relations between the two sets of fans.

As for the game, what I had to say has already been mentioned, Perth away will be tough though.

realfootball said:
Tardistan, get ready for the city of Sydney where football is now no1
Da Da DaDa Da Da DaDaDa Da....................................I cant be bothered getting into another scuffle so i'll say is 5 - 0 to the Melbourne boys..............

That was my first Victory home game, and this is going to hurt.

[gracious]
You guys rocked the joint. Well done! Olympic Park can be a graveyard, swallowing up fans and atmosphere like a big purple kids dinosaur, but the 18,206 people there yesterday had the place jumping. Imagine if you had a stadium like Hindmarsh.

Twas one of those days where everything MV touched turned to gold and the Bling were a rabble after the half. It could have been raining Elle MacPhersons and they would have got washed down the drain with a truckie. On SEN, Trimmers actually said mid broadcast "Bling?, where's yer Bling now?" Purely for the sight of seeing those w@nkers cop it 5-0, worth twice the price of admission. What a way to spend a Sunday arvo.

If the Melbourne (AFL) media/people dont get your team now, then there is no hope for you. When are you guys getting a shirt sponsor? We can lend you one if you like!
[/gracious]

The Bling....where were ya? There were only 30-40 Cove lads, and as you'd expect from Sydney, were pretty sore losers. Got what they deserved.

I've already got my tickets for MV v AU. Wouldn't miss it for bullion. I'd imagine there will be at least 150 Reds. Hoping for more though.

Shirt sponsor coming - Notice the new TAC advertising? Word is 3 year deal.

DB10 said:
The Bling were the originators of that one; everyone calls you silly people. :)

Because they're clearly the ones that should be left to fire up their creative juices ;)

Top of the League, having a laugh...

This may sound like a ridiculous statement, but I've been to Anfield, and the atmosphere yesterday was every bit as good. The place was just going OFF for 90 minutes, and it was absolute pandamonium in the 2nd half.

I hope they sell copies of that game - will make a fortune. Mind you, it will have to be X-rated, because it was bordering on pornographic at times.

Archie was beyond awesome - it was a performance you will be talking about in 10 years time. How was it when he flicked the ball up 5 times near the corner flag? Or his attempted Berkamp goal? Unbelievable skill.

Allsop's run to set up the 4th goal was sensational, he has won me over after a terrible start. Muscat was brilliant, in fact everyone was brilliant.

Great to see Bling Bling spend $800,000 on a right back!! :D

Fantastic day, unless Melbourne win the A-league or Australia qualify next month I doubt I will be enjoying a match as much as that for a long long time.

Still Crowing said:
That was my first Victory home game, and this is going to hurt.

[gracious]
You guys rocked the joint. Well done! Olympic Park can be a graveyard, swallowing up fans and atmosphere like a big purple kids dinosaur, but the 18,206 people there yesterday had the place jumping. Imagine if you had a stadium like Hindmarsh.

Twas one of those days where everything MV touched turned to gold and the Bling were a rabble after the half. It could have been raining Elle MacPhersons and they would have got washed down the drain with a truckie. On SEN, Trimmers actually said mid broadcast "Bling?, where's yer Bling now?" Purely for the sight of seeing those w@nkers cop it 5-0, worth twice the price of admission. What a way to spend a Sunday arvo.

If the Melbourne (AFL) media/people dont get your team now, then there is no hope for you. When are you guys getting a shirt sponsor? We can lend you one if you like!
[/gracious]

The Bling....where were ya? There were only 30-40 Cove lads, and as you'd expect from Sydney, were pretty sore losers. Got what they deserved.

I've already got my tickets for MV v AU. Wouldn't miss it for bullion. I'd imagine there will be at least 150 Reds. Hoping for more though.
Do I sense a possible conversion to the good side?