Bad Beat/Vent/Brag thread

Starting to run a bit more normally at the moment, not getting bad beated as much at crucial times which certainly helps, had a stinker last Sunday where I kept getting sucked out on or cold decked, other than that I shook it off and found a way to win last night where I copped a bad beat early on but picked up hands at crucial times and I only needed to be involved in 4 all ins at the final table in order to win where I was behind at risk the first time but binked an ace on the flop to cripple one guy, then I took out 3rd with a better king high and only needed 2 all ins to knock off 2nd, the first one ahead at risk, the 2nd one a correct river call where I had top pair to eliminate him.

When I'm not busting out early then I'm final tabling alot last 3 or so weeks, played 12 games, 6FTs, final 2 tables twice, saved that good run for 1 particular venue where I finished 3rd overall for the season and qualifies me for a better state tournament.

Hand at Crown Casino yesterday. One limper, I raise to 25 with KK from the button, BB calls, limper calls. Flop AK6r. BB x, MP 100, I raise to 200, BB shoves 340!

What a weird hand. MP (drunk fish) folds, I call. BB has AA. I miss the 1-outer. FML.
BB a huge nit it sounds like not 3 betting you preflop, it's not a trap if 3 players are in the hand

Unlucky they had it

Yeah, it was a 50yo woman, never seen her in the poker room before. I just thought the hand was funny, I thought I was about to stack the drunk guy, I gave no consideration to her, even after she shoved, I thought she might have had A6 at best. Thankfully she didn’t have $1000+. Easiest table I’ve played at in a long time resulted in me also losing the most money I have in a long time.

Gotta hate it when you've got an unsuspecting 2 pair in the big blind on the flop and are milking the absolute s**t out of an ace before they get bailed out on the river for a better 2 pair and I lose nearly half my hard earned stack after I put them all in and get snapped...just absolutely gross

Some people's don't like folding bullets.
I got rid of kings postflop on a J94 board after I 3bet the initial raiser 5x the initial raise from the cutoff and all the donkeys still called

2 all ins on the flop, felt initial raiser hit a set of 9s, he had the 4s instead so a correct lay down by me, other donkey had QJ and donk lead out well over pot size bet, ****** stupid by him in the BB donking into 4 more players including the 2 preflop aggressors and rightfully got stacked

Ok

So I'm figuring out the weekly turbo game formats I play and why I do well at chip up format and some freezeouts, but deeper stack/rebuy games I don't do as well in.

Chip up (generally 25-50k, sometimes 50-50k or 15-30k), 25-50k is my best format that I feel my gameplan works for. Get max value early on, cripple my opponents to use their cards, then take them out one by one.

Freezeouts 50k, 100k and 125k are the 3 I seem to rotate in. Doing best at 50k at the moment, even though I hate the fact I could be done for the night very quickly. 100k is very hit or miss, I seem to not make any hands early on, lose half my stack in an hour or so and have to crush bingo in order to do well. With 125k there's generally more time/play to accumulate chips. Though the last time I cashed in a freezeout it was a 100k and I went hard early and took 2 players out before the first break, then took another 2 out and accumulated over 400k before the FT, then had a badly timed card quality slump which probably cost me getting into a winning position for the night, but the early work left me enough to work with come the FT.

Though there's 1 thing both chip up poker and freezeout poker have in common, that's the value of your stack once the blinds go up, most of these games are short-moderate size stacks, so alot of players are short stacked coming into the 2nd break of the night, so as long as I'm ahead of the curve chip wise then I'm well positioned to eliminate the short stacks if I consistently get the money in ahead, also players ranges and fold equity are more of a factor in these shorter stack games as players will be more snug though you'll get more credit for a strong starting hand sometimes.

With most deepstacks fold equity can be non-existent as there's more chips in play and more marginal hands around people will want to pay a price to see, I've found this out the hard way this year as I have not cashed in a standard 150k+/rebuy style game this year and am just realising it now. Kinda feel there's no point in playing them anymore as the only way to win it seems to me is running pure hot and just stay in that 50-125k range where I can adjust my play to suit depending what time of the night it is. I'll try and figure out a way in those deepstacks, but I think running better early on in 100k freezeouts would be better.

Cashes 2023

Freezeouts
3 in season 1
7 in season 2 (2 wins)
3 in season 3
1 in season 4

Chip up
1 in season 1
2 in season 2 (1 win)
2 in season 3 (1 win)
4 in season 4 (1 win)

Admittedly I play these formats the most, but yeah, rebuys are just really bad when I do play them.

Having a short year - 6 months off I think I did ok

I find I do better if I don't rebuy I make an effort to have chips at rebuy time. Not having rebuy money seems to change my play.

Monday night games are rebuys

I stopped in Feb and don't recall anything but maybe 1 cash for $200.

Coming back in August on Monday night only I FT the last 2 games of the season for 1 cash $300

Played the jetty bar tournament but missed, then missed some Monday night games in the last season and can't recall any cashes.

The Nov-Dec tournament was better with 2 FT cashes and $1300

2 FT in the new season with $200 in the pocket.

A lot of home games on the other days also saw me break even.

I'm ahead on pub games and tournaments but break even on home games.

Let it continue in 2024

I was bringing a car back from Melbourne on the Spirit of Tasmania so had to overnight in Geelong. Tassie has had no poker for a while and I was itching to play and headed down to the local. I played a few hands for not much early on until I get two red queens. BB is $400, UTG has limped and I raise to $1500. Cutoff calls and everyone else folds. Flop is Ten high, all diamonds. I bet $3K, cutoff raises to $6K, I ship for about $22K and he shows KT with the King of diamonds. I fade the remaining diamonds in the deck, but unfortunately not the rivered Ten. Time to redeem the chip up card.

A few hands later I get into a hand with the same guy with AcKc. There is a raise before me, I re-raise, he calls and the original raiser folds. Flop is AA3, I check, villain bets $1K, I call. Turn is a Jack, I check, villain bets again, I call. River is another 3. I decide it's time to harvest this pot and make a sizeable bet, villain moves all in and I call, stacking off to AJ and my night is over before the first break.

giphy.gif

I was bringing a car back from Melbourne on the Spirit of Tasmania so had to overnight in Geelong. Tassie has had no poker for a while and I was itching to play and headed down to the local. I played a few hands for not much early on until I get two red queens. BB is $400, UTG has limped and I raise to $1500. Cutoff calls and everyone else folds. Flop is Ten high, all diamonds. I bet $3K, cutoff raises to $6K, I ship for about $22K and he shows KT with the King of diamonds. I fade the remaining diamonds in the deck, but unfortunately not the rivered Ten. Time to redeem the chip up card.

A few hands later I get into a hand with the same guy with AcKc. There is a raise before me, I re-raise, he calls and the original raiser folds. Flop is AA3, I check, villain bets $1K, I call. Turn is a Jack, I check, villain bets again, I call. River is another 3. I decide it's time to harvest this pot and make a sizeable bet, villain moves all in and I call, stacking off to AJ and my night is over before the first break.

giphy.gif
Can't do anything about that unfortunately

This was me on Friday night

I either had top top or an overpair to the board mowed down on the turn every big hand I played (worst was getting it in with queens vs AQ on a safe flop, then they bink the ace on the turn and I'm using my rebuy card there), though that has been a regular occurrence at that particular venue, so my tolerance is very low with that joint, just no normal variance in results at all.

Cashes 2023

Freezeouts
3 in season 1
7 in season 2 (2 wins)
3 in season 3
1 in season 4

Chip up
1 in season 1
2 in season 2 (1 win)
2 in season 3 (1 win)
4 in season 4 (1 win)

Admittedly I play these formats the most, but yeah, rebuys are just really bad when I do play them.
Ok

Went through the 4 areas/block of venues I've regularly played this year

I seem to cash around 20% of my games, even at 1 venue that does bigger field/more expensive buy ins I cashed there 20.83% of the time and generally felt like I had a decent poker experience playing there. Even with a bad Thursday run for the first 6 months of the year I somewhat broke even. 2 other areas were 22.6% and 19.15% (the 19% could've been way better if I ran better earlier in the year, as May-July and the last 3 weeks to finish the year I ran well there)

The 1 outlier was 1 particular area where I played 43 games (I'd play secondaries some nights, so would've played 25-30 main games) and only cashed twice for the year, reckon it has to be permanently binned in general seeing how badly I ran out there, seemed to get aces and queens cracked all the time the last 6 months, including tonight, rip 15BBs with black queens, BB snaps me off with KT, she makes a flush on the turn, seriously just over it out there.

Going to definitely have a 2 week break, then only play at the 22.6% and 20.83% joints for season 1.

I don't play many games... No games out "local" to me... 😔 + Mrs and 3 kids keeps me busy.

But looking at my season

11 games

Did not place x1
11th x1
10th x4
8th x3
3rd x1
1st x1
(2x cash)
(5th end of season standings)

I'm consistent lol

But loving it... I enjoy the challenge.. my local like most places has some very good players mixed with ya drunk dickheads who don't care.

I don't play many games... No games out "local" to me... 😔 + Mrs and 3 kids keeps me busy.

But looking at my season

11 games

Did not place x1
11th x1
10th x4
8th x3
3rd x1
1st x1
(2x cash)
(5th end of season standings)

I'm consistent lol

But loving it... I enjoy the challenge.. my local like most places has some very good players mixed with ya drunk dickheads who don't care.
I played a home game on Saturday, had about 20 there, full of people I played against a few times before covid but that screwed our local area games over so I've only played against the handful of people who travel for games like myself since covid (I travel 25-35 minutes for most of my games now)

Definitely miss the community aspect as well as a sub 20-25 minute drive to a game

But yeah onto next year, I was able to bin a handful of venues I didn't like earlier in the year, will be a challenge binning an entire area, but as I'm a results driven player I feel it's necessary in order to continue to try and learn and improve my game but also enjoy it when the tide is against me.

Ive binned my 10 minute away local in favour of a 45 minute drive - and my game has already improved ( from a very low base :D ) - but it is a better level -

Sure still some donking but as its Monday there isnt that Friday Night * It mood where decisions are based on how much alcohol one can drink

Hoping for even better results in 2024

I played a home game on Saturday, had about 20 there, full of people I played against a few times before covid but that screwed our local area games over so I've only played against the handful of people who travel for games like myself since covid (I travel 25-35 minutes for most of my games now)

Definitely miss the community aspect as well as a sub 20-25 minute drive to a game

But yeah onto next year, I was able to bin a handful of venues I didn't like earlier in the year, will be a challenge binning an entire area, but as I'm a results driven player I feel it's necessary in order to continue to try and learn and improve my game but also enjoy it when the tide is against me.
Closest game to me is 50k away... Good meals there so that's a bonus.

20 people's to a home game is pretty good.. sometimes have family over for games but that's more just spending time together then $ (my whole family basically played poker at one stage now it's just me and my brother)

Closest game to me is 50k away... Good meals there so that's a bonus.

20 people's to a home game is pretty good.. sometimes have family over for games but that's more just spending time together then $ (my whole family basically played poker at one stage now it's just me and my brother)
Nice mate, no one really plays in my family, I taught my brothers, but they'll only feel like playing once a year or so.

Yeah it's about 25km for my closest games.

It's fairly convenient having venues close to the freeway that I run somewhat normally at that has me returning regularly.

That bogey region the closest venue is 25km from me too, their Sunday night game is my historical best performer in that area, so I might only make an allowance for that game and scrap basically everything else out that way. This year I played it 16 times for 3 final tables and 2 cashes, but I bubbled for the FT or just missed it like 5-6 times on top of that (I was blinded out like 4 times and 2 others copped bad beats) and it averages about 70 players a week so it's not easy but I find a way to be competitive every 2nd week it seems, every other game I played out there 27 times for zilch return though. Actually just did the math, 16 buy ins is $400, I made $530, $130 up, lol, it felt like a loss tbf seeing how bad every other game was out there.

I hate this game.

I've just spent 3 hours in the top 3-5 of an online tournament, most of which was leading.

Inside the final 20 left, my game is wrecked when my ******* Aces are cracked on the river. It's ridiculous how often Aces get cracked online, it makes me enormously suss.