Podcast Cat Attack Podcast 2021 - Kingy and Benny are back for KROCK Football.

Quick turnaround this week.

Planning to record Wednesday.

Questions and criticisms here
Roti is Indian (although it also found throughout SEA), so Benny should extract a grovelling apology from Kingy

Hey Boys, Benny just a small disagreement I think of your views on Esava...

I personally would like to give Stanley and Fort both play a few games with each other, as one of them can easily play the position Esava did on the weekend at CHF.

I get that with Ratugolea a lot of the excitement is around the possibilities of what he might be, but how about looking at what he is at the moment. He's not exactly young - turns 23 next month & has 48 games under his belt; not suggesting that he's a finished product, but surely he needs a run in the VFL to see if there is the potential for further development because he's just so out of his depth in the seniors..

Cheers FoxDog50

Firstly, I was educated at catholic schools, both primary and secondary, and I’m not sure which part of the bible benny is getting his info from. The only part I can think of is when Jesus turned water into wine at a wacky Wednesday.

Got the job done v the blues, considering we got 1 goal from Rohan and 0 from the big tomahawk, a good effort to win.
What’s the ‘tank’ on esava like? Are we talking Honda ct 110 postie bike style? For a bloke in his 5th year as a professional footballer, he seems to blow up like me after running a 3 in cricket season. An example would be he put on token chase then when the ball was intercepted by Tom Stewart, he kicked it to esava advantage but he had nothing left and the ball trickled out of bounce.

Also McKay looked ineffective when the blitz stood next to him. Which leads me to say our best bet is Stanley in ruck and blitz on the big boys down back.

Gents - great stuff both last week on the Pod and the call.

Glad you appreciated my KROCK Monopoly stuff.

As for the list of Catattack podcast guests ive gone for a few from the less requested path -

Max Rooke - for the stories about how he got to be where he ended up and how he go to be such a great team player
Mark Yates - for the GAS, 1989 GF and Blighty stories from that era.
Mark Bairstow - see Yates

GAS (deserves its own space) just to hear Benny's voice crack in the presence of the great man and of course all the great stories he has.

Mick Turner - for the Falcon connection and whom he saw early on as the best.
Bluey - just to see how he's doing now
Rex Hunt - for the good stories about him calling the Cats back in the day and blatant change to get a few more " YYYABLLELTS" on the airwaves.

Question -

With the soft cap being cut this year and last year, and the loss of 2020 as a development year, are we expecting the group that was caught in it the most (IMO the 2017 - 2020 kids) to have come along more than they realistically should have?

With Sav, Brownless, Chook, for example not being a footy kid from an early age and now now having less training time ( AFLPA and CBA) and less specialist coaches in that time (Soft cap decreases) are we naturally thinking they should have developed more than they have -and thus need to give them more time to get there?

GO Catters

G'day fellas,
There has been a big enough sample size on Sav as a forward, cant kick and can't mark the ball is enough to say he wont make it as a forward. I like his tenacity in the ruck but if he cant play more minutes in the middle he is no more than a back up player if another tall emerges from the two's.
Thanks.

Hey guys, love your work. Finally got myself a bigfooty account to ask you guys a question.

Wanted to get your thoughts on Cam Guthrie. Absolutely love his development over the past two seasons, but am growing concerned about how he seems to be demanding the footy in terrible positions on the ground. Often running past for a handball when under pressure or calling for a kick that won't travel 15m. From my perspective it seems like players have been encouraged to get the ball in his hands and this has led to turnovers or ineffective disposals. Keen to get your thoughts as I feel this seems to happen 5-10 a week.

Hi all,

Due to the five-day turnaround, we've had to manage the podcast this week.

See you all ahead of Round 19.

Kingy

K rock Football Hey Kingy, do you or anyone else in the K Rock team have a copy of K Rock's call of the 2011 Grand Final? Would be amazing if you could post it if possible. I want to hear your call of Varcoe's legendary final term goal.

Hey Boys
Just wondering how you view our list ( especially our midfield group ) beyond the end of this year...
What ever happens at the end of the season, eg Loose the preliminary or loose the Semi or Play of in a Grand Final?
With the likely hood of loosing Narkle, Constable and Clark. And our core midfield all in our 30s? Is next year the time we will slowly have to rebuild? Or could we pick up a couple RFA like Matt Crouch and another and be back up there again.
Cheers FoxDog50

Gents
Thanks for getting this done in the ncertain climate we face right now.

Was the Freo game the best execution of our game plan this year or did everything just go our way and Freo allowed it to happen.
I feel we executed about as perfectly as possible given the conditions and everyone just got it right.
If we can back iy up this week V Tigers then it will be awesome - and thats a big ask.

With the soft cap being cut this year and last year, and the loss of 2020 as a development year, are we expecting the group that was caught in it the most (IMO the 2017 - 2020 kids) to have come along more than they realistically should have?

With Sav, for example, not being a footy kid from an early age and now now having less training time ( AFLPA and CBA) and less specialist coaches in that time (Soft cap decreases) are we naturally thinking they should have developed more than they have -and thus need to give them more time to get there?

I thought Sav was really good V Freo and prob his best game this year but he can still get so much better.

Go Catters

Hi guys,
With Mitch Duncan likely to be fit by September at the earliest, do you think the match committee should consider playing him as the sub, at least in the first final for instance? Clearly in our best 22 when fit, but surely will be way out of condition and a huge ask to perform in a hot final.

Hi guys,
With Mitch Duncan likely to be fit by September at the earliest, do you think the match committee should consider playing him as the sub, at least in the first final for instance? Clearly in our best 22 when fit, but surely will be way out of condition and a huge ask to perform in a hot final.

Planning to record Wednesday afternoon.

Feel free to shoot a question or criticism here.

Gents

Did we see the emergence of the Mighty Sav the last 2 weeks? Much like Kiwi in the 83 cup, has he turned the corner and now has the confidence to run them all down from behind?

His stats were low in totals but who gives a flying fruitloop about that - he competed every time.. kicked 4 himself and directly created contests that the crumbers picked up for another 2 goals.

And perhaps best of all, now defenders HAVE to pay him attention and can't just zone off him to double Hawkins or Rohan.

Watershed moment for mine. Would you agree?!?!

Go Catters

Hey Kingy and Cas,

Looking at Sav and his superb effort on Sunday! He appears to be the player that can support Stanley and also release Blicavs to float behind the ball. With the way Jezza plays do you think having Sav in the team with him is or best set up?

Thanks

We all love the work of Tommy Stewart down back but just wanted to get your thoughts on his partner in crime Jack Henry. Added another scalp on the weekend and looks to be brimming with confidence.

Planning to record Wednesday afternoon.

Feel free to shoot a question or criticism here.

Happy to put my hand up, was critical of the big saveloy but boy oh boy did he provide arguably the best 6 possession game ever. Making a contest led to at least 2 other goals. Amazing what some confidence can do.
Having said that, I’m not sure there’s a spot when Cameron comes in as we are clearly a better side when blitz takes the biggest forward, which leaves the Stanley knife to ruck. Thought his job on nank the tank was superb and didn’t get the plaudits it deserved.

Feel we have to find a spot for Quinton narkle. He can provide something a bit different. With Selwood injury and now Kobe gryan missing a few, he should get full games in now, even if he goes back to the sub role when Cameron, Duncan come in.

Other than missing from directly in front, the big tomahawks goal kicking was superb. Go cats

Hi Gents,

Is there any concern around the lack of info about Cam Guthrie and a new contract? Clearly has backed up his AA year in 2020 but no news on a new deal at Rd21 is a bit concerning. Being an UFA is even more concerning. Thoughts?

Hi Gents,

Is there any concern around the lack of info about Cam Guthrie and a new contract? Clearly has backed up his AA year in 2020 but no news on a new deal at Rd21 is a bit concerning. Being an UFA is even more concerning. Thoughts?

The cynic in me says it will be announced ahead of his 200th this week.

Hi all,

1:00pm Thursday for recording.

Questions, criticisms and other here.

Kingy