Chris Mayne, a liability?

As Freodocker has said, 1 of those 6 is the resting ruckman.

Since the middle of last season we've added Crozier and Taberner to our forward line. Nobody has come out. Who will it be if not Mayne?

Crozier Taberner Walters
Clarke Pavlich Ballantyne

Is how our best 22 forward line would line up IMO. I don't see where you are fitting Mayne in. It has to be at the expense of either Taberner or Crozier.

I don't disagree with you really. I was more responding to your comment re: 7 defenders.

On topic, If you want to play a defensive forward, I'd pick Mayne ahead of Crozier. If not, Crozier and Mayne are in very close competition for the last forward spot. Unless you play them both and one starts on the bench. Mayne's output was down last year, but he has been good over a few years so he has some runs on the board. I don't think Crozier has completely overtaken him at this point.

You don't pick KPPs to start on the bench in modern footy. Your bench players are all part of the midfield rotation.

If Mayne was a KPP, he'd have Taberner's spot.

If you want to play all of Taberner, Mayne and Crozier, you could start Crozier on the bench and include him in midfield rotations.

The question for me is with Pav, taberner, Clarke, ballas and Walters all locked into the forward line. Are we better off having an extra mid or Mayne. Having crozier instead would allow Fyfe or Barlow to spend more time forward.

Mayne at his best is in the side, but he isn't near his best at the moment.

If Mayne was a KPP, he'd have Taberner's spot.

Well, that is kind of the point. He has had Taberner's spot for the last 2 years. Taberner only came into the team permanently with about 2 weeks left in the season last year. Mayne has been playing as a KPP for at least the last 2 seasons.

Recently I was perusing the big footy draft profile posts from Mayne's draft year and I did read that he had played a bit as a half back for Perth Demons colts.

Don't have to think hard to recall instances of Mayne going deep into defence to help out. The most recent memorable example when he ran down Westoff in the Round 23, 2014. Maybe if he starts down back, he'll be able to run into the forward line and kick a goal.

More realistically, I think its just related to team balance and flexibility. He may be playing the role they envisaged for Colin Sylvia when they drafted him. Half forward who can also play a bit off half back/midfield and also at times leading/marking out of the goalsquare. And how we set up when either Mundy and Fyfe are having a spell from stoppage work.

I'm with the recent poster who suggests that Mayne learning a newish role, makes him a more valued player than less valued.

That is true but it still doesn't answer the question of whose spot he would be taking if he moved to defense.

This is why best 22 threads are difficult to resolve because every player has arguments in favour, but very few people are willing to stick their neck out and say which 22 players are actually your best 22.

Personally I think there's lots of places where Mayne could play, but I can't see him pushing out any of the incumbents in those positions. I was obviously crucified for saying it last year, but Taberner becoming a permanent fixture in the team obviously threatens the spot of whoever was previously playing CHF, and that was Mayne.

Well, that is kind of the point. He has had Taberner's spot for the last 2 years. Taberner only came into the team permanently with about 2 weeks left in the season last year. Mayne has been playing as a KPP for at least the last 2 seasons.

See, I don't agree that Mayne has been playing a key position. Particularly in 2014, I saw him more as a defensive forward. Lyon was asked at a press conference early in the 2014 season why Mayne wasn't kicking more goals and he said something like - we haven't put him in the position to kick goals, if we wanted him to kick more goals we could do it.

That is true but it still doesn't answer the question of whose spot he would be taking if he moved to defense.

I'd quite happily play him in Lee Spurr's spot.

Mayne has been forced to play as a tall forward in the past because of a lack of other choices, but he is not a genuine tall.
Taberners emergence frees up Mayne to play as a defensive high forward that can swing back and take a defensive role whenever needed. The value of him being able to do either of those roles, and fill in for Tabs when he is off will be crucial for us this year. His size and speed, plus his attack on the football/player will give teams a lot of headaches - thus why Ross will want him in the side.

Why do none of these mock forward 6 posts have Sandi in them? RTB has stressed this countless times that that's where he'll be and Clarke will be in the centre square.

Mayne will be going the way of deBoer soon - on the fringe with the talented, hungry youngsters sparingly pinching games off them.

Why do none of these mock forward 6 posts have Sandi in them? RTB has stressed this countless times that that's where he'll be and Clarke will be in the centre square.

Mayne will be going the way of deBoer soon - on the fringe with the talented, hungry youngsters sparingly pinching games off them.

I think that is the team progressing. When you get better there are casualties.

Sandi as a forward? Can't see it myself. Coaches will tell you all sorts of rubbish, especially in the preseason. Mayne to take De Boer's spot.

De Boer wasn't in the team for most of the latter half of last year so I'm not sure he has a spot for Mayne to take.

He's not a liability, but he's not an asset either. Chopper is in no mans land at the moment.

With Walters back, Taberner claiming the second tall position and Crozier showing more versatility and offensive value he'll really have to turn back the clock to 2013.

No mate, you're wrong. Apeness wouldn't come in an replace him. Our forward line would look something like:
Crozier Taberner Walters
Ballantyne Pavlich Clarke

Where are you going to fit mayne in that? we always play the resting ruckman up forward so he cant take clarke's spot. Ross won't leave out the Tab. And crozier is offers so much more on attack to Mayne and his defensive side wouldnt be that far off (think of the way he tackled and pressured in Hawks RD21 last year).

I also think it's stupid when people say Mayne shows promise in defence. He got well beaten by Darling when he played on him in that derby and we don't need another player down back who turns it over on the rebound (like mcpharlin and dawson).
Maybe the same spot in the team that hes had for the past few years? Seriously what?

So for all those that are leaning towards the 'yes' vote, which of the other clubs do you reckon would pass on playing him for the same reasons? At which other AFL clubs wouldn't Chris Mayne get a game?

Not at all.

He is probably the single hardest working footballer I've seen in my time as a mature enough (yeah yeah) footy follower at Freo. He and Ballas are integral in their ability to try out the 1% percenters, to run, and to lock the footy into the 50. And the difference between a mediocre 2014 and good 2013 was that pressure. He really has a lot to do it with, and with guys like Pav and Tabs too big to really chase and pressure, Mayney is worth a lot. Not to mention his beautiful kick when he's actually played as a genuine forward.

He's not vanilla. He works his guts out and the issue he has is his height: too tall and slow for a forward pocket but not tall enough for a key forward. I liked him on half back too and thought his entire season was very underrated. People give the benefit of the doubt to others, espouse "roles" about guys to blindly defend lowered performance, but old Mayney never copped that. People didn't talk about him or said he was s**t and should be dropped.

His best season was only a year ago. And that was very good. I'm confident he'll be a worthy player for us until he retires. He works his guts out, and guys like that are never going to be displaced in a Ross Lyon system. He's not a liability – a few others are, though.

Gee's silent , that's the most positive post I have read of yours .
Well done and the perfect answer to a to anyone who wants to have a go at Mayne .
He is the heart and sole of the RTB game plan , its that simple.

I saw Maynes ankle when it was in a moon boot and the internal bleeding was up near his knee . Then next week he played .
He couldn't kick the ball 30 metres , he couldn't run flat out and he had the turning circle of the Queen Mary .
I saw Bondy at the Peel vs Claremont game and said to him what about injury don't you understand ,his reply was that the medicos said he was fit to play . This says more to me about the player giving it everything for the team and the coach .
Give me 22 Mayn'ees and we would have a couple of flags hanging from the mast .

He would be on the bench.

Do you really think Lyon will have a forward line without a defensive forward because I don't. Mayne is one of the best defensive forwards around.

From last years form he wasn't best at anything, bar Rnd23 against Port i can't think of a game where he dominated. If he gets back to his old form he's in our best 10.

To me Ballas, Walters and Crozier offer enough forward pressure to negate the need for Mayne. Plus they are dangerous in front of goal.

Now Croz is still young and might not perform, if that's the case then drop him for Mayne. But for me he gets first crack if its a decision between the two.

He would be on the bench.

Do you really think Lyon will have a forward line without a defensive forward because I don't. Mayne is one of the best defensive forwards around.
You don't need a specialist defensive forward when you have Ballas, Crozier and Walters in the forward line. They are the new breed of small forwards to attack and defend. The Jeff Garletts and Robin Nahas's of this world get traded.