EBs trade in prices.......LMFAO

Unsure on which of the following two to do.

1. Trade MW2, R&C Tools and LBP to JB Hifi to get Portal 2 for free

or

2. Trade MW2 and Bops to GAME to get Portal 2 cheap and LBP and R&C Tools to get a $1 game.

Depends what $1 game it is, how badly you want it and whether your just getting it for the sake of being $1. I'd personally go for option 1.

LMFAO @ "cost price".

Do yous guys really believe that head office and franchise owners give sales staff a true cost price list??? :eek:

They give you a list of the smallest margin they're prepared to work.

Like when I was buying a fridge and the Harvey Norman bloke could take off $100 from an $1800 appliance to get down to cost...

I looked around from far right to far left and asked, "so you're telling me, that in this building thats $600k a year, with $8 million worth of stock and more sales staff than customers that you only make 4% on $1800 and manage to keep the doors open? Mate you need to sell 8 fridges an hour just to cover wages."

No reply, the salesman was dumbfounded.

I have seen the numbers. i'm not just sale staff. i get a P"n"L every month with it all broken down for me, margins, costs, wages spent, Every possible cost to the business tracked monthly, Vs last year, Vs Budget

I'm very aware of how much we pay for games and accessories from vendors.

My staff are not though. they know that 3rd party accessories and Pre Own make much more money than new staff or 1st party accessories and thats all they need to know

Mingo is also spot on that official accessories make SFA when compared to a 3rd party offering of the same accessorie

I have seen the numbers. i'm not just sale staff. i get a P"n"L every month with it all broken down for me, margins, costs, wages spent, Every possible cost to the business tracked monthly, Vs last year, Vs Budget
And I deal directly with sales reps from distributors trying to get me to buy their stock. Give it up Gold Member, you're dealing with two people who clearly know what they're talking about ;)

Hey Glenno, what did you think when you saw the margin in the Kinect on release? I almost choked on whatever it was I was eating at the time :p

Problem with online is that you don't get it straight away.

I'd rather pay an extra $20 then have to wait 2 weeks for some games
a lot of Aus based companies sell games cheap too. I bought a UK PAL version of Crysis 2 for $68 delivered from Melbourne and it was here in 2 days

Accessories yes

New games no. Make a little money, but not enough to survive. And lose money on most price matches

This is where accessories and pre owned games play an important role in the "specialist"store's survival

Get the Pre Own program wrong, and you're in a bit of strife
Can I just ask then, what's the use of the price match system if you're LOSING money on that specifically price matched title?

Wouldn't you just be better off without that sale? Or is the mantra like those that have the original low prices and that sale will bring in maybe a sale of a pre-owned title or accessory or something that WILL make money?

It just seems like an overly counter-intuitive initiative and since personally I am someone that always price matches (apart from the limited editions or whatever) and am in no way an impulse buyer unless I've researched that item that maybe EB would be ruing my business?

Can I just ask then, what's the use of the price match system if you're LOSING money on that specifically price matched title?

Wouldn't you just be better off without that sale? Or is the mantra like those that have the original low prices and that sale will bring in maybe a sale of a pre-owned title or accessory or something that WILL make money?

It just seems like an overly counter-intuitive initiative and since personally I am someone that always price matches (apart from the limited editions or whatever) and am in no way an impulse buyer unless I've researched that item that maybe EB would be ruing my business?

They could always buy an extra Pre own title, you could get them to trade in after talking to them about it, you could get an accessory sale.

Whole bunch of reasons why we price match.

They could always buy an extra Pre own title, you could get them to trade in after talking to them about it, you could get an accessory sale.

Whole bunch of reasons why we price match.
Are you able to give a percentage of those that generally price match who do end up buying something that offsets the price match potential cost loss? Is it enough 'per month' say to make back the money lost on those price matchings?

Am I still doing the wrong thing for my EB by buying at price match price considering I'm not one to buy those other things?

Are you able to give a percentage of those that generally price match who do end up buying something that offsets the price match potential cost loss? Is it enough 'per month' say to make back the money lost on those price matchings?

Am I still doing the wrong thing for my EB by buying at price match price considering I'm not one to buy those other things?

You are probably hurting your EB very, very slightly. But I'd be disappointed in you if you care about the profit margin of a store like EB. A small business sure, but not a chain ffs.

Why should you, the consumer care?

Its up to the customer to get the best deal possible

If someone walks in and asks for a price match, i'll do it no worries

If the next customer wants the exact same game and is not aware of the cheaper price, i'm not going to tell them, its not my responsibilty

Do whats best for you. As the consumer, thats your right

I can't give away % of price match, as i don't have those numbers, and even if i did, i wouldn't be allowed to tell you

Why should you, the consumer care?

Its up to the customer to get the best deal possible

If someone walks in and asks for a price match, i'll do it no worries

If the next customer wants the exact same game and is not aware of the cheaper price, i'm not going to tell them, its not my responsibilty

Do whats best for you. As the consumer, thats your right

I can't give away % of price match, as i don't have those numbers, and even if i did, i wouldn't be allowed to tell you
For ease of use I'd like to see the place stick around, but if I'm not exactly helping them then I might as well go to the other places (which are of similar ease to get to).

^ Yep, losing 1 dollar selling a game at price match beats losing 60 because you don't sell it.

You didn't really direct this at me, but I'll reply anyway, take it with a grain of salt. You are supporting your EB and at the end of the day that's a good thing for them even if they may be behind in terms of profit. You're contributing to their revenue and growth and I'm sure you'll go there first if in the event you may need an item that is profitable for the store. So you're not hurting them

In my opinion, price matching below cost is all about keeping the customer happy, if they leave with a positive experience they're more likely to give positive word of mouth and more likely to come back.

With the 7 Day Return policy, I bought a PC game that didn't live up to my expectations and I would like to return it. Will I get a full refund?

The game doesn't have any CD Keys or anything like that...

As long as there was no online rego, you will be fine

The sales person will normally tell you if it doesn't fall under the 7 day return

eBay people. You'll get more on there than any game trading company.

Exactly. I do all my game selling through Ebay would never go to EB or joints like that

A friend of mine tried selling a PS3 he won at Cash converters, he wanted enough to buy his daughter a wii as the games were better suited............they offered him $80 bucks........brand new never opened :rolleyes:. So I went and brought him a wii with wii sports and clean swapped.....both of us were happy.:cool: