Autopsy Game Day Experience

There is about a $25,000 difference in royalty fee between playing the song and just having generic crowd live moving images and the song + player images because its deemed a production and higher royalties are charged. I wrote about it a couple of times last year, the second time after speaking to a mate of one of our executive team who works for Village Roadshow ( or maybe it was Hoyts) at the Game Day Village post match, and he explained how the APRA royalties all work.

Is that per game or per season REH?

Either way, that is a bloody lot of money for 1 minute 49 seconds of a piece of a song.

Seeing as how Kochie is mates with the Farris boys, why don't we have a legal agreement with them and bypass APRA? There is no legal requirement for INXS to use APRA and they are absolutely within their rights to have private licensing agreements. INXS own the rights, not APRA.

APRA make me a little :mad: at times, the way they go about things but that's a whole other story.

Footnote: Many people are not aware but even having your radio playing at work, APRA want a licence fee for that. Never mind that they collect a truckload of fees from the radio stations who play the songs.

Heard a rumor that scrapping the banner has been considered ...
No it hasn't.
The Cheer Squad is well aware of the options to the labour-intensive crepe paper banner but making it that way is a 'thing' for a lot of people. It's a whole little social scene on Friday nights out at Enfield*. Numbers turning up to help are great, would be amongst the highest in the league.
The club doesn't have to oversee it**, no club resources go into banner-making other than the fairly minor costs of crepe paper and sticky tape, plus (their idea) they send pizzas to a couple of banner-making sessions a year. They don't have to worry about our cheer squad like some clubs have to.

* Location and night vary slightly during the season for operational reasons
** The club does have a good informal liaison with the banner-building crew and various PAFC officials drop by at banner-making from time to time during the season

It doesn't make sense that they'd scrap it because it's too laborious, from what I can tell the cheersquad loves putting them together and they wouldn't cost that much.

I have no idea what I'm talking about though and PhoenixPower is always on the money with the things he 'hears'.

It doesn't make sense that they'd scrap it because it's too laborious, from what I can tell the cheersquad loves putting them together and they wouldn't cost that much.

I have no idea what I'm talking about though and PhoenixPower is always on the money with the things he 'hears'.
Weren't you present during the conversation where this was mentioned? Or were you cooking the BBQ ?

The feedback to the person who mentioned it from a roomful of port supporters was a resounding no and to keep it which I agree 100% with

Thanks to the guys for their work, I do take it for granted at times

Weren't you present during the conversation where this was mentioned? Or were you cooking the BBQ ?

The feedback to the person who mentioned it from a roomful of port supporters was a resounding no and to keep it which I agree 100% with

Thanks to the guys for their work, I do take it for granted at times
I was probably in the pool haha

No it hasn't.
The Cheer Squad is well aware of the options to the labour-intensive crepe paper banner but making it that way is a 'thing' for a lot of people. It's a whole little social scene on Friday nights out at Enfield*. Numbers turning up to help are great, would be amongst the highest in the league.
The club doesn't have to oversee it**, no club resources go into banner-making other than the fairly minor costs of crepe paper and sticky tape, plus (their idea) they send pizzas to a couple of banner-making sessions a year. They don't have to worry about our cheer squad like some clubs have to.

* Location and night vary slightly during the season for operational reasons
** The club does have a good informal liaison with the banner-building crew and various PAFC officials drop by at banner-making from time to time during the season

Even IF the banner is time-consuming/costly/awkward/etc the benefit of tapping into your supporter community in the way that it has been done for many decades, completely outweighs the negatives.

Until such a time as we don't have enough people willing to volunteer to prepare this, it's a no-brainer to keep it.

Sometimes being 'cutting edge' is the worst option.

.... The feedback to the person who mentioned it from a roomful of port supporters was a resounding no and to keep it which I agree 100% with ....
Was this a WA Supporters' Group function? Because there's few people in that group who remain well connected with the Cheer Squad. I'll be interested to hear if this gets back.

Even IF the banner is time-consuming/costly/awkward/etc the benefit of tapping into your supporter community in the way that it has been done for many decades, completely outweighs the negatives .....
Absolutely. There's a whole group of people who've made friends, socialise etc via the Cheer Squad. old, young, socially awkward, social butterflies, whatever. Somehow a banner gets made and taken out onto various grounds as a result.
Even IF the banner is .... costly .....
It's really not. I've never thought about it in depth but I reckon it could cost around $50 to make one.

Last night on 5CC (yeah yeah I know) they interviewed #godhatesfages and their match day experience was discussed

Highlights from 2015 were noted as the Colour Coordinated Caps, the We Flop as One logo on the big screen and a Kid's area o_O

Wonder what their marketing department did for the other 51 weeks - apart from sending out and retracting a number of pathetic tweets

Considering the Cow customers mocked and laughed at OUR Pirateer kid zone when it was announced... they now list their kid zone as one of their 3 major success stories for 2015!!!

Who would have thought!!!

Either way, that is a bloody lot of money for 1 minute 49 seconds of a piece of a song.

Seeing as how Kochie is mates with the Farris boys, why don't we have a legal agreement with them and bypass APRA? There is no legal requirement for INXS to use APRA and they are absolutely within their rights to have private licensing agreements. INXS own the rights, not APRA.

APRA make me a little :mad: at times, the way they go about things but that's a whole other story.

Footnote: Many people are not aware but even having your radio playing at work, APRA want a licence fee for that. Never mind that they collect a truckload of fees from the radio stations who play the songs.
Per season, its about $2k per game. Oh and the countdown is 60 seconds of the song. Michael Hutchence's estate is a part owner of the rights, as is Andrew Farriss and Im sure the record company is an owner of a part of the rights as well.

Cheers REH. I don't have to tell you that music copyright law can be a minefield and each artist would have varying rights between performance, reproduction, songwriting rights and the like so without knowing the specifics of their contracts we can only speculate. Still if you never ask...

I actually don't think $2000 is excessive, if it was a 'once off' situation, but being that we use it roughly every fortnight during the winter months you'd hope that some sort of discount could apply.

Oh well, seventy years after Andrew Farris turns toes up we can use it for free anyway. Just not confident I'll get a chance to see it.

I wonder what the fee would be if a cover band did it? Or we just get an intro and all sing it without the backing track.
And again, nothing against INXS getting there slice, it's just the gross annual fee seems a bit exorbitant to me, all things considered.

Thanks again.

Cheers REH. I don't have to tell you that music copyright law can be a minefield and each artist would have varying rights between performance, reproduction, songwriting rights and the like so without knowing the specifics of their contracts we can only speculate. Still if you never ask...

I actually don't think $2000 is excessive, if it was a 'once off' situation, but being that we use it roughly every fortnight during the winter months you'd hope that some sort of discount could apply.

Oh well, seventy years after Andrew Farris turns toes up we can use it for free anyway. Just not confident I'll get a chance to see it.

I wonder what the fee would be if a cover band did it? Or we just get an intro and all sing it without the backing track.
And again, nothing against INXS getting there slice, it's just the gross annual fee seems a bit exorbitant to me, all things considered.

Thanks again.
I think that will happen, ie the one offs. At ANZAC day, the Phil Walsh type game, maybe the first home game of the season, finals games etc. For those who dont understand how complex rights issues are, this Sydney Uni guide for student for Music and Copyright gives you an idea.

http://sydney.edu.au/copyright/students/music.shtml

$25k is a bit, but worth every cent when you consider what it has accomplished in galvanizing the fanbase, along with the significant interest it garnered from journalists, public, and attention it brought to the club. I am sure it also assisted in drawing in many more memberships. Honestly in the big scheme of things, it is a minor cost. The fact that the club took the risk of going down this path initially is a masterstroke!!

If the club is happy to pay it Tibbs, I have no issue at all and agree with what you say however the issue as REH pointed out is the cost of using the song along with the player montage being significantly higher (I assume) than just playing the song (with crowd shots). Picking and choosing specific games to do both the song and montage as REH posted seems like a financially responsible idea to me.

Everyone still gets to sing along every game, we save a few bucks and save the montage for the 'bigger' games.

Pregame I'll like to see a replay of an old game vs the same club. It's a bit more exciting than music ($) and Instagram posts.
Collingwood did this at the 'G when I went 2 years ago for pets Port's game.

Wouldn't cost that much would it?

Pregame I'll like to see a replay of an old game vs the same club. It's a bit more exciting than music ($) and Instagram posts.
Collingwood did this at the 'G when I went 2 years ago for pets Port's game.

Wouldn't cost that much would it?
Who knows how much it would cost as 7 and Fox Footy have the rights, but the AFL might have overriding rights which could keep the cost down if they wave those rights.

The IOC have overriding rights over Olympic footage, but official broadcasters can use and sell them. The IOC charged Matt Norman for rights to make his Salute doco about his uncle Peter Norman and the black Power salute, Tommy Smith and John Carlos made on the podium in the 1968 Olympics after the 200m race. Norman had to put down $150k as a deposit and it cost $840k all up for archival footage and the IOC had to approve the way the rights were used in the film.

If the club is happy to pay it Tibbs, I have no issue at all and agree with what you say however the issue as REH pointed out is the cost of using the song along with the player montage being significantly higher (I assume) than just playing the song (with crowd shots). Picking and choosing specific games to do both the song and montage as REH posted seems like a financially responsible idea to me.

Everyone still gets to sing along every game, we save a few bucks and save the montage for the 'bigger' games.
Sounds good to me ... they are kicking goals with their off-field decisions, I am sure it will continue.