Mike Sheahan picks his best teams of the 1960's, 1970's, 1980's, 1990's & 2000's

I'd kick Brad Johnson out. Fev kicked over 600 goals in a crap team. Pretty much the equivalent of Jeremy Cameron at GWS

There all great players. Brad Johnson champion player and most people might not agree. Coin flip as both great players for their clubs

I don't want to be so boring as to instinctively defend the guy from my club, but Brad Johnson was a 6-time All-Australian, and AA Captain. He also carried an entire forward line as a small forward. No way Fev matches his output.

I reckon Carlton fans have a much stronger case with Kernahan. But I reckon West Coast fans have the strongest grievance with Cousins. That is a glaring omission.

How can you not have a team of the 1990s without Cousy?

Easily. 2000s not so much.

Sheahan is a SCRUB. This is exactly the point I was making in the other thread about Ben.

Cousins-Judd-Ablett is a MUST have for the 2000's team.

Ablett actually isn't as much of a lock as you'd think. He'd be the first picked in a 2010s team, though.

The team of 2000s is 2000-2009, and Ablett was only at the top of his game for 3 of those 10 seasons. Ablett 2002-2006 was nothing special.

Brad Johnson was a 6-time All-Australian, and AA Captain. He also carried an entire forward line as a small forward. No way Fev matches his output..

Fev carried the entire Carlton forward line as their only forward

Easily. 2000s not so much.

Ablett actually isn't as much of a lock as you'd think. He'd be the first picked in a 2010s team, though.

The team of 2000s is 2000-2009, and Ablett was only at the top of his game for 3 of those 10 seasons. Ablett 2002-2006 was nothing special.
Yeah good point I forgot that

Is the 2000s team 2000-09, if so GAJ is a fairybread pick. Who the **** was he pre 07, a 1 time Geelong leading goalkicker thats who!!!

Cousins was robbed.
Franklin had as many outstanding years as Ablett in the 2000's, also pretty much said on AFL360 he left out Mitchell due to him having not done enough pre 2009 despite being an A grade mid since 2005 bit of consistency would be handy.

I think all rational people can admit that J Brown shouldn't be starting CHF in the 00's team.
You're right of course. But hey, Mikey sits beside him on the tv and has always craved acceptance.
I've watched CHF's come and go and never once seen a CHF of the class of the guy he picked on a flank. Almost unique but at the same time classically CHF as the perfect mobile marking target. For 2/3rds of his career Brown virtually played FF nearer the posts as his mob required. If i could spot one bloke who would absolutely murder any team 25yrs ago it would be Riewoldt...walks into any 00's team as the specialist CHF... take away a modern team defence, take away the rapid interchange and ability to switch out defenders at will, put one on one defence back on the books, and what the hell can you do about him ? Nothing, cant stop him. Easily the greatest CHF since Carey and with Tredrea available for selection or Pavlich that is saying a LOT. Simply a specialist slot..the most specialist slot. Pav must make the 00's team easily and his versatility is perfect for the bench...but i can also easily pick Tredrea ahead of Brown at CHF as well. Brown simply had a good hoof on him....which for a CHF just aint as important in my book. Is for a FF. CHF's classically kick from tougher positions and will always kick less with a lot of difficult shots when doing their job properly. Your immediate marking target that straightens any team and the toughest slot on the ground by a mile. Pav ended up with more utility duties over his career but to me he has also had a far better career than Brown as well. Another worthy CHF if need be. Sheehan is just the type of guy that suddenly uses crap like "premierships won" to justify whether a bloke is better than another...thats when you know people are reaching.

How Enright gets pipped for a HBF slot though is beyond me. For most of the 00's even hawthorn fans tried to claim Hodge was a midfielder and definitely not a HBF....but our Mikey glosses over possibly the best HBF since McLeod to jam in another one of his favorites.

70's backline still looks so strong on paper.

I agree that Brown is very lucky. 2000-2006 he didn't kick 40 goals in a season once. Had 3 great seasons 2007-2009 which

Fevola, Riewoldt, Pavlich, Lloyd and probably Tredrea all more deserving of a spot in the 22, IMO.

Not sure about Enright. If it was 2005-2014 then he'd be one of the first defenders picked, but like a lot of Geelong guys pre 2007 he didn't do a whole lot.

In before how can he pick player X from opposition team over player Y from my team?

It's Sheahan....I'm shocked he managed to select 6 Richmond players given his hatred of the club. I dare say he only managed that because 2 played much of their careers at other clubs.

Bit of a vfl thing in the 70's and 80's - no stephen michael pffffft

Yes, a guy who before the VFL went national exclusively followed Victorian footy for a Victorian paper only selected people who played in Victoria to be remembered at a Victorian ground.

I think Mike still exclusively follows Victorian footy.

Yeah, the team of the 2000s having 14 players who played for clubs outside Vic shows that pretty clearly :rolleyes:

I probably would of gone with Jim Stynes as ruck of the 90's
Yep, even with our club bias, Stynes and Wynd very stiff considering they both won Brownlow's in the 90s

It's like he's fit some players in different eras just to pick them though, surely Salmon was more of a 80s player even with his late 90s revival at Hawthorn but Hawthorn were a mediocre side in the late 90s, can't recall him doing much in 94-95 as a kid, must've been injured or something.

As the only decade I can comment on, J Brown at CHF while Tredders sits on the pine is a laugh.

Agree.

A very strong argument can be made to put Richo (one of the best marks in his time spanning decades) ahead of Brown.

Not selecting Cousins by taking the moral high ground because of drug use is ludicrous. Gary Ablett Snr was selected. Can anyone tell me he didn't shoot himself up with heroin or any other drug through the season? What about Wayne Carey. We all know Carey was on the gear after he finished. Does anyone believe Carey didn't dabble through the season? I can name at least 10 other players off the top of my head that he is listed that I can associate to illicit drugs or steroid use.

Sheehan in this instance needs to pull his head out of his arse.

In before how can he pick player X from opposition team over player Y from my team?

Brereton (325 goals, 1982-89) over Kernahan (538 goals, 1981-89) is classic Sheahan.
kernahan played mostly as a full forward where Brereton was a true centre half forward. Plus you are counting SANFL games. Much much lower standard.

I know its your typical "what about my team" thing to say, and I dont even know who they'd replace, but genuinely surprised to not see more Tigers in the 60s and 70s sides.

We won two flags in each decade, and had the Bourke-Barrot-Clay line which is considered one of the better lines in the games history, yet Barrot and Clay dont make the side. Perhaps splitting their careers over the decades, and a change of postion for Barrot doesn't help, but still surprised me not to see more Tiges

Fair dinkum. Who would you throw out for Beasley?
If the point of the teams is to pick the best players from each decade, and the point of being a full forward is to kick goals - then it's hard to argue why the player who kicked the most goals in the 1980s doesn't make an appearance. Footscray didn't play many finals during the 1980s and only had one good year (1985), making his overall achievement across 10 years arguably better than Dunstall who got much better service from a dominant midfield year after year.

Jason Dunstall kicked 777 goals during the 1990s and 477 goals during the 1980s. I don't think he should be full forward during the 1980s, he was much more prolific during the 1990s.

Gary Ablett Snr kicked 411 goals during the 1980s and 619 goals during the 1990s yet he made both teams. He was arguably at his best during 1989 but only kicked 87 goals that year. Three times during the 1990s he kicked 120+ goals in a season.