In: Liam Jones, Christian Howard​
Out: Daniel Pearce (Hip), Patrick Veszpremi​
Head to Head
Port Adelaide 11 wins, Bulldogs 9 wins, 0 draws​
Last 5 games v Bulldogs
LLLLL​
Last time
Bulldogs 24.13 (157) defeated Port Adelaide 15.7 (97), round 22, 2011 at AAMI​
A Song: Sunday twilight game, bye and away game at Geelong. Port, you're so far away​

And to wake you back up, here's some rolling thunder, pouring rain, coming on like a hurricane !​

Looking forward to this one. It may be raining, but good old etihad stadium will be dry just the same :D

I'll be there if anyone here is going :)

This is one of those games where it isn't going to be won in the midfield. Their midfield looks too strong

It will be our ability for our defenders to rebound. Hartlett and Pearce will need to have good games

This is one of those games where it isn't going to be won in the midfield. Their midfield looks too strong

It will be our ability for our defenders to rebound. Hartlett and Pearce will need to have good games

Tend to agree. On paper their midfield does look stronger. In general they seem to have classier and more prolific small-mid-sized players, ranging from Murphy in defence, to Griffen, Boyd, Cooney and Cross in the midfield to Dalhaus, Giansiricusa and Higgins up forward. Not sure that we have equivalent players really or that our ball carriage is as good as what they can provide.

They could also try to create a serious mismatch through their talls up forward, while at our end of the ground may try to get Hargrave or Murphy as the loose guy to intercept Schulz's marking efforts and rebound it away.

The keys for us are the typical ones:
Forwards
1. Schulz's ability to get shots on goal against Lake may be required to keep us in the contest.
2. Westhoff needs to take some serious heat off Schulz, assuming we can get the ball up forward. Just needs to have a presence in our forward line and not force the coaches to move him to defence or the wing because he's not touching it.
3. Thomas becomes crucial to our structure at present. Both as a decent medium marking target between wing and HF and as someone who can create goal opportunities by tackling chaos and pressure.
4. If he's not required to chase kicks up field, Wingard needs to have more of a crumbing influence close to goal. His lack of input on the scoreboard is a bit of a factor this year. His contested stuff is great, but he needs to make himself more dangerous. Not sure the Bulldogs have real tight shut-down small defenders, so Wingard needs to make himself a focus in our forward line. I expect a bit more from him today.
5. Ebert - just needs to take his chances, especially with those marks he typically drops.

Backs
1. I expect Chaplin and Trengove to both be more switched on than usual for this game, as they'll need to carry the can for Carlile's absence. While the Bulldogs don't have a high scoring tall forward, they can still create enough opportunities for their small guys by bringing the ball to ground. Trengove and Carlile need to be assured in the air and destroy contests rather than just carefully spoiling them.
2. Surjan would seem our most reliable match up for Giansiricusa. Can't fault Surj's form this year, so hopefully he does an effective job.
3. Creating rebound out of the likes of Cassisi and Logan will probably be like drawing water from a stone. So those fellas need to at least do a bloody good job of containing Dalhaus and Higgins. Not sure that the skipper is up to it given what we saw against Bruest last week.
4. Maligned as he is, Pfeiffer becomes an important link up player today. I like that he backs himself in the overhead marking contests but he needs to hold his marks, irrespective of pressure, more often. He'd be about 50-50 for successful marking attempts this year, so he does hold some. Today, he needs to use the centre corridor with his run and transitional play. Reckon he can do this quite well.

Mids
The Bulldogs have what looks to be an elite group of stoppage specialists, with Minson helping by his big presence also. Key will be for us not to get killed on the spread as we were last week.
In Bradbert, Broadbent and Moore, I think we have three honest and effective stoppage players. The guys who need to do better are Hartlett, Pearce, Jacobs, Paul Stewart and especially, McCarthy at getting free and being available for the outlet ball, while also covering their outlets. Lose those battles, against good opposition mids, and we will get cut up at Etihad. We need to run much more purposefully between HB and HF than we did last week and avoid the sort of stagnant efforts that were hallmarks of our early season losses.
Pearce will have his work cut out on Picken. He needs to take a leaf out of the way that Sloane ignored Jones' tag on Friday night and just focused on working hard to each and every contest.
Hartlett has to be switched on. If he is carried through this match the way he has been for at least 5-6 of our matches this year, then we will have little chance of winning. If he produces the way he did against Carlton, the odds will heavily turn in our favour.

It goes without saying that if one percenters and pressure acts are high, and if we run frantically both offensively to create and defensively to close down and impede, then we'll have a good outing. If the early signs show us lagging 5-10m off every uncontested pass, then you'll know we are not switched on and will probably be in for a long day of playing catch up.

Erm, you forgot to change the title header above the logos :p

Hoping for a good win. I want us to come out and show some body pressure and hit them like Hawthorn hit us last week. Got to try and keep momentum going for the rest of the year. The are very beatable, we just have to make sure we get it done!

All about our run here. Need big games from our match winners in Hartlett, Pearce, Schulz, The Cobra and for our whole backline to stifle them.

My optimism has drained by the day though. Looking forward to seeing how we perform, and think we can win, but ultimately think we may blow it when we have the chance to win it

Erm, you forgot to change the title header above the logos :p

Hoping for a good win. I want us to come out and show some body pressure and hit them like Hawthorn hit us last week. Got to try and keep momentum going for the rest of the year. The are very beatable, we just have to make sure we get it done!
oops :oops: I always miss one.

is anyone else worried that with carlile out we will move moore back to stand cordy/ roughhead?

when they push one of minson/ roughead down there to join jones/ cordy who is the 3rd tall??

ild hope that trengove moves across onto the bigger player and paul stewert takes stickman cordy.

they may push westhoff down there for a patch if its looking dangerous maybe??

no matter what we do we are robbing peter, thats what you get when you have zero proven depth in such a key position. this upcoming draft has heaps of key defender prospects in it, please port look at guys like matt wallis, aiden corr, jakcsh, luccon, obrien,nick rodda, howsen and close with late picks rookie picks!!!!

is anyone else worried that with carlile out we will move moore back to stand cordy/ roughhead?

when they push one of minson/ roughead down there to join jones/ cordy who is the 3rd tall??

ild hope that trengove moves across onto the bigger player and paul stewert takes stickman cordy.

they may push westhoff down there for a patch if its looking dangerous maybe??

no matter what we do we are robbing peter, thats what you get when you have zero proven depth in such a key position. this upcoming draft has heaps of key defender prospects in it, please port look at guys like matt wallis, aiden corr, jakcsh, luccon, obrien,nick rodda, howsen and close with late picks rookie picks!!!!

Considering that the openly said that they are grooming Moore to be a Josh Kennedy inside midfielder, I highly doubt they will play him as a key defender on their resting ruckman

Time for Chappy to finally stand up today. So pissed off with his monumental stuff ups every game. Now that he is 2nd tall defender today he has to take some responsibility and be switched on for 100% of the game. None of this poor decision making by him and attack the ball and the man with some mongrel instead of the soft half hearted efforts.

I just hope we don't put Dom on Gia. If that happens it is game over. Either Surj or P Stew have to take him.

Not confident given their on ball brigade. Hoping our backline stands up in the absence of Bob. Westhoff due a big one.

Thomas to shut down Murphy and pstew to lock down on Gia.

Hoping for big games from the young lads in the middle!

Am I the only one that thinks that Chappy has stepped up this year? He's had a few * ups but generally his attack on the ball has been alright. He's also done some good contested stuff and hasn't wimped out of it as he did last year.

That Brad bet is great odds

expecting a scrappy game, but very confident of a win. I think we will see some players this arvo who will progress from* just going* over the last month, to having good games today. Even match ups today so there will be no where to hide. Realistic game to turn the spotlight on those today that dont perform. Will win, 23point margin i think.

We will win today, but only if the ball bounces right for us.......nothing in it.....I am tipping Bulldogs by 15pts...why, cause we are away.