Welcome Swans Fans - Introduce Yourselves Here!

Hi there, my name is Melissa Tang and I am from Singapore. I started watching AFL last year (first game: Swans v Lions 2013 at the SCG) and took particular notice of #37 (didn't know his name then) as he was a really strong player. Would say I got hooked after that game as I went home to read more about the Swans and who #37 was, and yeah that's how I got started. I'm now a really big fan and I watch most of the games at home - don't really have mates keen to watch AFL with me hence I rarely go to the games. Only been to 2 so far this year - Collingwood (Round 2?) and the recent Essendon game. Currently building up my knowledge regarding the Club's (and AFL in general) history and really proud to say that I chose the right Club!

I don't really have a favourite player as I change my preference very often. For now I'd say Benny McGlynn? He's a really tough cookie and impressed me a lot during the recent Hawks game.

Carn the bloods! Bring on the finals and we'll show everyone how footy is meant to be played!
Great stuff and welcome to the fold!

I make note that Number37 liked your post... Hrm..... :p

G'day, my name's Matt and I'm 43 currently living in Townsville but grew up in SE Victoria and have barracked for the Swans ever since I started noticing the VFL/AFL

My family and friends all barracked for the big clubs...but one day I came home from school when I was about 7 (1977) and said "I'm going to barrack for the Swans!!". Mum (Bombers) & Dad (Pies) were confused why I would chose a different & not so popular team and apparently I said "..because I feel sorry for them..they need more supporters!". :)

So that was it...red & white and nothing else since. Saw a few games at Lake Oval when my Dad could take me and naturally stuck with them during the relocation & through those many lows and few highs of that painful decade or so in quiet hope that one day the bloods time will come.
Have been to all 4 Swans GFs that have occurred in my lifetime .. will never forget the longest train ride in history after the 98 GF listening to happy Norf fans sing their song all the way home.

Aaanyway, none of that mattered after 05...the joy when that siren went and then next few minutes after realisation that it has finally happened would be up there with my fav life moments. I will keep my (a little worse for wear!) Swans flag I waved at the 05 GF forever. I hung it on my roof in Cairns where I lived then for 6 months in honour of this achievement and it even made it through a wet season there! Even Malcolm Blight noticed it when I mentioned it after meeting him at the local (Clifton Beach) Fish and chip shop a couple of weeks after the GF.

I believe we will win tomorrow for the following reason: We won the first GF after our #1 child was born in 2012 and we have had another since 2013 GF so it is almost a given - (named Josh after you know who, so expect JK to win Norm Smith too!).

I booked this ticket down from Townsville in July - presumptious? No!

Will see some of you tomorrow maybe before/after our big win! Cheer cheers,
Matt

Name: Daniel, Dan, Danz

Started following swans: As a kid, my first ever game was Freo at the SCG back in 1997 when the old man lived in Sydney then. Dad's side of the family grew up supporting South Melbourne and my club choice was made easy (as a 7 year old) when I realised my mother and her family were all Collingwood supporters so picked it well there. :p

Favourite past/present player(s): Brett Kirk, Adam Goodes, Lance Franklin

Best moment: 2012 Grand Final win as it was my first grand final attended and we won!
2005 GF win and how could I ever forget the Nick Davis semi special.

Worst: Hard to say because I move on quickly when we lose, 2006 GF loss was disappointing as was the Semi final against the Dogs a few years back where we were leading at half time by a reasonable margin only to have lost the game.

What brought you to BigFooty? I think I stumbled across the forum just by googling and then it all started from there, 10k posts and 5 years later still going strong :)

Name: Linton
Swans fan since: 1997 I think. Only have memories of being a Swans Fan
Favourite Swan: Adam Goodes / Barry Hall
Favourite Current Swan: Luke Parker
Second Favourite Team: Gold Coast or Western Bulldogs
Hated Team: Hawthorn, GWS, Collingwood and West Coast
Favourite: Moment: 05 or 12 Grand Finals, Jetta's 3 moments in the finals (Out running Dangerfield, Collingwood and Rioli)
Passions outside Swans: Cricket, Video Games, Theatre
If I wasn't watching Swans I'd be: Gaming or doing something in the theatre world

Was never really into footy when I was younger. I started watching a little bit in 04 and a lot more in 05 and 06. Fell out a bit but really came back in during 2011. Since then rarely miss a game. I know a lot more about the game now and can really enjoy it. I'm a Melbourne based supporter. My entire family goes for a different team. My brother goes for West Coast. We didn't speak to each other for 2 weeks after 05 and 06.
I know I'm bumping this (and quoting myself) but I couldn't think of a better thread to post this.

That post was my first post here on BigFooty. I never knew there was a football forum online. I thought it was awesome. When I made that post, I did not think in 6 months time I'd be posting my 1,000th post on here. I'll try not to be too sappy but I wanna say thank you to everyone on here for being so welcoming and fantastic. I don't know many Swans supporters so this is a great place to have good Swans related discussions. Not only online are you guys great to talk to online, but I got the great pleasure to spend sometime with some of you in person. Despite the pain of the Grand Final, I still consider that day as awesome thanks to the company. Makes me want to make the trip up to Sydney a few times next year and I cannot wait to go.

So thank you all for being welcoming to the new guy and looking forward to next year.

I suppose I should introduce myself here...

Whilst yes, I am a die-hard lifelong Demons supporter having grown up in Melbourne, I moved to live in Sydney in 2001. The lack of Demons games (live and on tv), combined with Swans following mates meant that I started to go to see more Swans games than Demons. The come from behind preliminary final win over the Cats in 2005 really drove the Swans into my heart and I've been to many games since. My wife is a pure Swans fan and we both have ultimate memberships now.

I love the Xavier connection as that's my school (Hanners, Richards x2, AJ, Joey Kennedy and formerly Spanger). I love the culture. I love the SCG.

Looking forward to season 2015!

Welcome Ponsdale, and I dare say you'll be a fully fledged Swans supporter before the year is out. ;)

We have gained a number of supporters though expat Victorians who moved to Sydney and developed a comnection with the local side. Just ask LukeParkerno1 who started his BigFooty life as a Bomber before seeing the light last year!

Hi there, my name is Melissa Tang and I am from Singapore. I started watching AFL last year (first game: Swans v Lions 2013 at the SCG) and took particular notice of #37 (didn't know his name then) as he was a really strong player. Would say I got hooked after that game as I went home to read more about the Swans and who #37 was, and yeah that's how I got started. I'm now a really big fan and I watch most of the games at home - don't really have mates keen to watch AFL with me hence I rarely go to the games. Only been to 2 so far this year - Collingwood (Round 2?) and the recent Essendon game. Currently building up my knowledge regarding the Club's (and AFL in general) history and really proud to say that I chose the right Club!

I don't really have a favourite player as I change my preference very often. For now I'd say Benny McGlynn? He's a really tough cookie and impressed me a lot during the recent Hawks game.

Carn the bloods! Bring on the finals and we'll show everyone how footy is meant to be played!

Hi Melissa. If you don't have mates to go to the footy with you are most welcome to join us. I go with several people every time we play at home. I have a Red Zone Membership. you could either get a Red Zone or I could order a ticket for you on my membership. Whatever you desire. Membership is good though as you get to go to 11 games and it is cheaper. Keep that in mind. Like to encourage people to go to the footy & socialise with other members.

Are you hitting on her ?

No. But if a person has nobody to go to the footy with that is sad. I found it difficult to go to the footy on my own, so I know how it feels. My friends and footy mates are all very friendly and welcome anyone who wishes to join us in being there for the Bloods. I doubt Melissa would be hit on by our mob LOL. don't just doubt I think it might be most improbable HA ha!

Well said. I know exactly how Melissa feels. Single, female and at the time no known AFL supporting friends. If I had known about Bigfooty all those years ago and a way to connect to other Swans fans I'd have attended many more games.

Just a wind up. One of the perks of this board is folks like to have a bit of fun.

Well said. I know exactly how Melissa feels. Single, female and at the time no known AFL supporting friends. If I had known about Bigfooty all those years ago and a way to connect to other Swans fans I'd have attended many more games.

Are you hitting on Wolfie ?

Nothing more romantic than smashing down a chicko roll & beers while joining the hoards of passionate (usually sweaty) supporters yelling, swearing at the umpiring & enjoying the atmosphere of the mighty bloods tearing apart the opposition...

And that's just our female fans !

Nothing more romantic than smashing down a chicko roll & beers while joining the hoards of passionate (usually sweaty) supporters yelling, swearing at the umpiring & enjoying the atmosphere of the mighty bloods tearing apart the opposition...

At what ground do you get a Chicko Roll?

If you're thrifty enough, any ground you want! All you need to do is either smuggle in a deep fryer &/or utilise those facilities (probably not voluntarily) provided by the various food establishments located around the ground.

Alternately you could go to Adelaide Oval and grab one before you sit on the hill... It's like going back to a now almost forgotten era where tinnies were the go over fancy pants stubbies, the pub was the best eating spot around and your mates all had longer hair than your missus.*

* Please note I was in no way shape or form part of said era, merely an observation.