Western Bulldogs and their partnership with Ballarat a success

The Adelaide Crowds don't mind driving to Melbourne for the footy. A 7-8 hours drive. To Ballarat it will be an hour shorter than Melbourne and a lot cheaper. Probably the bus service will take less than 7 hours.

I think that Ballarat City would prefer Adelaide to say Gold Coast as the visiting team because they would get more money-spending visitors and their exposure on TV would be to a greater audience.

i think its great for the doggies to expand their brand to other areas, but one minor thing that bugs me a little is that we are going to play one game in cairns and two in ballarat in 2018. This takes away three games from etihad were we play our best footy. I know that we make more money from these games and that we should be able to adapt to all grounds, but i just think its robbing us from putting the team in the best position come september
Has that been stated categorically? I think we are playing a game in Cairns in 2017 ... but 2018?
Not saying you are wrong, I would just like a link to something official on that.

On a side note, we need to get away from being just Etihad specialists. We need a game that stands up well at the MCG. My guess is that Beveridge is already moving us in that direction.

Has that been stated categorically? I think we are playing a game in Cairns in 2017 ... but 2018?
Not saying you are wrong, I would just like a link to something official on that.

On a side note, we need to get away from being just Etihad specialists. We need a game that stands up well at the MCG. My guess is that Beveridge is already moving us in that direction.
sorry i wasnt aware that the cairns games stopped after next year haha. But i absolutely agree with your second bit about not being etihad specialists

also i found this video, watch the "from the ceo" video
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/cairns
Nothing official or anything like that but it is just David Stevenson saying that they would like to extend the deal pretty much, so we might actually end up having both still going in 2018

Did you read my posts? Many Hawk supporters are anti Tassie. That is the whole point - some short term cash (like we needed in 2001) but you will not like that there two less home games for most supporters.
One match would be good but I was surprised to read it will increase in 2018.
Do you think it will increase membership?
If you sell 5k memberships there and they expect 3k fan to travel, there will only be 4k left for diehards.
I just reckon the Bulldogs can do better than a freezing Ballarat match in front of 12k.
Ballarat is a 60 minute drive further than etihad

also i found this video, watch the "from the ceo" video
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/cairns
Nothing official or anything like that but it is just David Stevenson saying that they would like to extend the deal pretty much, so we might actually end up having both still going in 2018
Thanks. I really don't know the official story either way. I agree it would be far from ideal if we played 2 home games at Eureka AND one at Cazaly in 2018 (when we are pushing up toward 50,000 members).

EDIT: Not that it is any worse for me - I have to travel hundreds of kilometres wherever it's played!

Thanks. I really don't know the official story either way. I agree it would be far from ideal if we played 2 home games at Eureka AND one at Cazaly in 2018 (when we are pushing up toward 50,000 members).

EDIT: Not that it is any worse for me - I have to travel hundreds of kilometres wherever it's played!
haha i can only usually get to one game per year as i live in adelaide!

i think its great for the doggies to expand their brand to other areas, but one minor thing that bugs me a little is that we are going to play one game in cairns and two in ballarat in 2018. This takes away three games from etihad were we play our best footy. I know that we make more money from these games and that we should be able to adapt to all grounds, but i just think its robbing us from putting the team in the best position come september

You could look at it as the more money the club has, the more it can spend on the footy department?

Probably the biggest benefit to the club recently in that area is our own VFL side which was always purely a monetary concern. A significant part of being able to pay for the VFL side would be selling home games over the past few years.

Okay your figures are a little off, Stage 1 capacity will be actually around 12,000 with approximately 5,600 seats. This includes the existing Noth Ballarat Sports Club and a new Eastern terrace that will consist of around eight rows of seating and about 800 seats (more on that shortly). There will initially be standing room on new temporary grass terraces for around 6,500.

Stage 2 (once green lit) will see 30% of that grass terracing disappear and another 4000 seats will be added bringing seating to around 9,600 and standing room remaining for around 4000. So by Stage 2 you are looking at around 13,500 capacity. All things being equal the government want to see the first stage delivered on time and budget as well as Ballarat demonstrate a capacity to deal with an event hosting 12,000 before committing extra funds to creating a potential planning disaster. It is likely that Stage 2 would be built quickly and likely to occur by mid-2018.

Stage 3 would occur obviously later or maybe the government may go for broke and commit to doing Stage 3 on the back of the second stage (unlikely). If or when Stage 3 comes into fruition, then capacity will increase to around 15,000 (including around 13,600 seats). Consider that Aurora Stadium has 13,000 seats and the remaining 7000 stand.

Now, back to the subject of the new Eastern seating terrace. If perhaps at some point in the future Eureka Stadium was a run away success there is always the scope to rebuild the North Ballarat Sports Club into a two tier stand and to add a further 12 rows to the NE terrace which would easily bump the ground's capacity to 20,000 seats. There is also capacity built into the 4 new lighting towers to increase lighting output from 330 lux to 550 lux. By adding two additional towers and lighting across the roofs of the stands then the ground suddenly is in TV night game broadcast capability.

I am glad that you read the Masterplan for the Events Precinct. It doesn't really specify dates for construction phases of stages but lays out realistic time lines for development of the entire precinct over 25 years. It talks about raod developments, parking zones, a possible events day train platform, the long term development of the Showgrounds and the open areas surrounding each of the other three ovals and netball courts in the zone as well as the new Basketball/Netball complex. Also keep in mind that the Masterplan was written and circulated before the State Government had fully committed to the project, so it was written as a conservative document that offered a grand strategic vision for long term development that wouldn't break the city's budget.

ES29_zpsc5ctv7x0.png

ES32_zpsxmqbih0c.png

ES35_zpsfnbpbrf2.png
Love your work on this stadium/proposal. Great, informed posts. Much appreciated.

I think that we need to keep perspective. Yes capacity wil be an issue but to manage it, I imagine that tickets to these games will be by pre-booking but it guarantees a full house and maximum profit return for the Bulldogs which is exactly what they want. They have made their long term commitment to Ballarat conditional on ongoing stadium development, but for the sake of 2 competition games and 1 NAB Cup game per year then it wouldn't be feasible to build the ground much bigger than 15-16,000 unless there were to be a lot more games committed to. If you think of it from that perspective then the capacity sounds about right.

We need to consider that the whole venture is about building future domination of the Western Victorian region from Footscray to Horsham and down to Warrnambool. Potentially there is a market in that region for 400,000 people beyond the outer boundary of Melbourne and if the dogs can capture in the years ahead another 20,000-30,000 members from that market then Ballarat is justified.
Thank you so much for your posts. The potential is enormous, this is the start of something monumental.

I think that we need to keep perspective. Yes capacity wil be an issue but to manage it, I imagine that tickets to these games will be by pre-booking but it guarantees a full house and maximum profit return for the Bulldogs which is exactly what they want. They have made their long term commitment to Ballarat conditional on ongoing stadium development, but for the sake of 2 competition games and 1 NAB Cup game per year then it wouldn't be feasible to build the ground much bigger than 15-16,000 unless there were to be a lot more games committed to. If you think of it from that perspective then the capacity sounds about right.

We need to consider that the whole venture is about building future domination of the Western Victorian region from Footscray to Horsham and down to Warrnambool. Potentially there is a market in that region for 400,000 people beyond the outer boundary of Melbourne and if the dogs can capture in the years ahead another 20,000-30,000 members from that market then Ballarat is justified.
Thanks for your input rooblu. Do you know what sort of crowds you were getting when north was playing there?

I reckon we should play the Lions in the 'Rat. If we gotta play in their humid sweat bowl, then they gotta play on our ski field.

One of the problems with Etihad is that it creates a clinical playing environment. I know that Bulldogs supporters are concerned with playing in or on MCG like conditions, but the real issue is perhaps playing in outdoor conditions with the sun and dehydrating heat of Cairns, or perhaps Ballarat will certainly expose them to real winter conditions. Eureka Stadium is notriously windy and on a cold blustery Ballarat day with drizzle will certainly prepare the Doggies for any Finals playing conditions.

Consider that the North Ballarat Football Club played at the old Northern Oval (as it was called) when it was a virtual mud bowl with a cyclone happing above them. It made them one of the most resiliant and toughest clubs to play against in the Ballarat League and stood them in good stead when they joined the VFL.
Hey RooBlu, I'm assuming you're a Ballarat local. Do you know if the dogs are putting anything on down there for the finals?

I would've thought it was a good opportunity to build a little excitement for next year and engage with the community in advance.

The Ballarat Town Hall this week. Also this morning from 8.45am at Eureka Stadium all local Bulldogs fans are invited along to a local media Western Bulldogs promotion as well as providing fans with a tour of construction progress.

Cta3WJEW8AAtCVF.jpg
When are you jumping on our band wagon??

Awwww ... No time soon North are always my first team.

In answer to the question is Ballarat doing anything? It was reported on local country news last night that Ballarat would host a victory parade featuring players and the cup if the Dogs win.
Good that you show character and stick with your team through thick and thin...we know about that too. And thanks for coming on here regularly to share your news and thoughts with us. :thumbsu:

Was I just nice to a Norf supporter???

From last Thursday's Cairns Post: Keeping in mind that nothing is confirmed until the AFL release next years draw later this month. Of note is that the AFL is reported to be considering playing another team in Cairns ...

Far North to lose out if Dogs win big in AFL

September 29, 2016 12:00am
JORDAN GERRANS
c23d8c6249cd31495aba707a9b31ac5e

GONE TO DOGS: Cazalys could become host to a new AFL club in 2017 if the AFL decides to keep the Dogs caged.

AS THE Western Bulldogs prepare for their first grand final in 55-years, the AFL’s cinderella story may have played their last game in the Far North. The Dogs have been Cairns’ adopted club for the past three seasons, but growing popularity and a looming deal to play in Ballarat may scupper plans of a 2017 return.

The AFL presented their proposal for future games in Cairns to Tourism and Events Queensland last week, also outlining other concepts and events across the state. As deals to move “home” games of teams is between the AFL and TEQ, not individual clubs, the AFL is considering fixturing another Melbourne club to play in the Far North.

This would allow the league to cash in on the Dogs’ popularity with more games in Victoria and on Friday nights. The Dogs’ game against the Suns at Cazalys in July was the last of a three-year deal. The AFL draw for 2017 is set to be released late next month.

“The AFL and the competing clubs have enjoyed playing matches in Cairns, delivering significant benefits for the local economy over a number of years,” AFL general manager clubs and AFL operations Travis Auld said. “We are hopeful of continuing the relationship and to that end, we have submitted a proposal to the Queensland Government, through Tourism and Events Queensland, in relation to continuing to hold … matches at Cazalys Stadium along with a variety of other events within the state.”

AFL Cairns president Gary Young would like the Dogs to return but said AFL games in the region was the overall focus. “We want to keep elite teams coming,” Young said. “The Bulldogs have shown interest and with them being successful like they have, why wouldn’t you want them to keep coming? “People like to see the best and the Dogs are playing in the grand final. “As long as we continue to get elite teams coming to Cairns then it is a plus for us.”

TEQ group executive of corporate affairs Megan Saunders said sporting events were a great drawcard for visitors. “Our aim is to get the most effective outcomes for taxpayers’ investment,” she said. Bulldogs president Peter Gordon has previously stated the club made more money from the game in Cairns than their deal with Etihad Stadium. The Dogs plan to play at least one, if not two, games at Ballarat’s redeveloped Eureka Stadium next year.
I'm torn. The last thing i want is to lose Cairns due to the financial benefits it brings (read somewhere we make 700k ish from that game alone). If we lose that and play more in Melb, i hope the crowds turn up! Otherwise we'll end up losing money.

Well they better get some funding up quickly for stage 2, 3 and 4. Ground will be sold out now with the Bulldog diehards (icl Ballart based). Ballarat "theatre goers" who we will be looking to convert to members wont be able to get in unless capacity increases.

It hasn't happened yet as far as I can tell.

Edit: hey dipshits, I hope your kids now have a great view now that they're perched upon your shoulders. You should also hand them your umbrellas so that the the little princes don't get wet!