Your gaming lifespan

Remove this Banner Ad

Aug 16, 2011
Melbourne
AFL Club
Hawthorn
Other Teams
Arsenal
Thought it would be interesting to see how long people had been playing games for.

Past 3-4 months, I have really got over games. I have been playing them since I was 4 and I'm 24 this week. I find they no longer really grab my attention and I just don't get excited about new games that are coming out.

I might buy GTA V when it comes out and maybe the new PES/FIFA for when I'm with mates, but apart from that, I'm pretty much over it.

Only really turn on the PS3 to watch TV shows and all that now.

So, how long have you guys been playing for, or did you play for and do you see yourselves getting over it anytime soon?

I've been playing for about 28 years now. Had a few brief spells when I would only play occasionally, mostly due to factors external to gaming (being poor, living in a yurt, breaking most of the fingers on both hands) but I would have considered myself to be a gamer the whole time.

I'm 30

Gamed since i was little starting with the Commodore 64 unsure what age exactly.... maybe 4 - 5ish. In my youth i played video games a lot after school (fitting in between my after hours football etc). It was a large part of my life, and part of how i unwound from everything.

In terms of gaming lulls, i had gone through periods over the years where i could go weeks, or sometimes months without playing a video game. This started around the time of the Playstation 2's arrival. I got it as a christmas present, played it for a bit.... but it ultimately sat in its box for months at a time throughout the first 12 months i had it.

After that point i sometimes would stop gaming for a week or a fortnight, before getting back into the swing of it. Most of the time it was because of being tired of the games i was currently playing, and being a while before i would buy a new game.