Sep 10, 2003
Exile
Seeing as though i am losing weight/trying to get fit,
thought i may as well start a thread on it.

Essentially, have dropped 10kilos in 12 weeks, been bloody hard work, but worth it. Have taken 10cms off the guts, and put 6cm on the thighs, which is pretty good for an old dude like me.

Rule number 1 has been NO ALCOHOL, on the wagon for the last 12 goddam weeks, still stick with the herbal but keep away from the Tim-Tams/Cornettos.

Bought myself an exercise bike and found that a combination of bike/walking does the trick.
I try to walk for around 40-70 minutes a day, 6 days a week, i carry a couple of half kilo handweights and after 40 minutes, they feel like house bricks, and bike a minimum 40-100 minutes 7 days a week, i do the interval thingy - gun it for 15 seconds, reduce to 80rpm for the rest, can usually rack up 30-31ks in an hour, Boring as batshit, but if the TV is on, you can pass the time.

As for diet, all the usual suspects are given the flick, could never work out calories/carbos/ and all that crap, but found a site, www.calorieking.com.au , which is totally free and you can itemise your diet/exercise and get a daily record/weekly check-in.

Interested to hear of how others keep fit/lose weight.

that is a FANTASTIC effort, well done! :thumbsu::thumbsu: another great website is www.fitday.com where you can actually log everything you eat/exercise and see your progress and stats. it's really good.

i've been exercising lately trying to get my fitness up and going nuts on the bike but i've done my knee yet again and am finding it hard just to walk up stairs. very discouraging :( i try not to diet as i struggled with ed's for a few years and never wanna go back there again.

i can't seem to stay on the no alcohol bandwagon. kudos for that. my dad brought home 300 cans of beer from work and he doesn't drink it so thats been my burden :D 19 year olds dream hahaha

keep it up :thumbsu: let me know if you need any ideas/tips/support

I am technically not on a diet but have gone through a life changed and now live a healthy lifestyle
In the New Year I will tighten this up considerably as my training steps up. So no more drinking on saturdays means no more drinking full stop
I actually am eating a lot more but just eating better food
Lots of fruit and veg, good protein of fish (esp salmon and tuna) lean beef, lean chicken, lean pork. Carb loading before training. Lots of water.
Have run my first half martahon and have 3 in 2010 in prep for my first full marathon. Only started in May this year. Have dropped 16kg body fat from 24% to 15%
Muscle mass grown like mad, core strength exists. Plan to do full ironman asap.
Look great feel great changed my life.

I'm currently on a diet.... have been for about 4 months... i generally don't have time to exercise... but i try to play abit of tennis whenever i can...

I have gone from 91kg to 76 kg in the 4 months and this is majorly based on the diet...

I have changed many things... but the major thing is quantity of food... i didn't really set out and say... ok im gonna look it up and i want to lose this much... I based it on a thing my mate who lost alot of weight told me... eat until you are not hungry anymore, don't eat until you can't eat no more... and from that it all started to work for me... i realised how often i would go for second only for the sake that I can actually fit it in... so i stopped that...

I also made small alterations to what i call "can replace"... simple things like Wholemeal bread instead of white bread... coke zero instead of coke and etc.

In terms of cutting down on cheese and milk... i found that easy cause i'm not a big fan of dairy...

I still have fast food just not as much... and i don't need the extra cheese burger with my quarter pounder.....

i started ordering grilled flake instead of fried...

in regards to munchies.... chocolates, chips, nuts etc... i found it hardest to cut down on... but lucky that i'm a big fruit fan so i managed to cut down on that sort of stuff...

I've found out in the last two weeks that i haven't lost too much weight... probably 0.5kg... and i wouldnt mind advise on how to lose that little bit more so the belly is flat... i'm gonna have my chrissie break soon... and contrary to what "experts" say that it will be a time where foods and cake and shit will cause for some added kg... i will have abit of time to exercise and go to gym... so i'm hoping i can lose another 2-3kg after the new years break

Jesus BG, IronMan materai :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Changing foods hasn't been that hard, but i suppose it is more habit/laziness than anything with me.

I'm not trying to bulk up, just generally trying to get the stomach under 100cms, from what i have read you really can't isolate fat off the guts with exercise anyway, so i go for a more aerobic type of routine.

The thing i have found, is that you really achieve nothing with just 20 minutes of any activity. Once your metabolism kicks in after 20, its kinda of like switching off the autopilot, and thats when you start burning fat.

These websites are beaut, can cancel out calories with exercise, so i aim for around 1300 calories a day. Eat a heap of fish, fruit/veg and nuts (bit confusing in regards to fat with that one).

I lost a huge amount about a year and a half to two years ago, something insane like 30kg, as I was a big kid (thankfully not anymore ;)). It was easier for me seeing as I'm relative young but I think that it's a pretty bloody good effort. All it takes is finding what you like to do and doing it. For me, it was simply going to a footy oval with the footy, taking shots and running to get the ball.

It's fricken great to be able to get into gear I haven't worn in years. People are starting to notice now which is good. But the best thing is it also gets you into the habit of eating a lot more healthy food without actually really thinking about it.
That's the best bit about it, the recognition that you get as well as being able to do what you've wanted to do.

Well as some of you know I recently had Lapband surgery and have dropped between 10 -15 kgs in just over 6 weeks. I have a shit load more to loose, but I am trying to do it slowly (not like Jon Daily who dropped 60kg in 10 months).

It's fricken great to be able to get into gear I haven't worn in years. People are starting to notice now which is good. But the best thing is it also gets you into the habit of eating a lot more healthy food without actually really thinking about it.

I think because of what I've gone through it doesn't really make sense to eat rubbish. I still have the occasional treat but they are few and far between.

I say no to crap now before I even know I've said it. Happy days ahead.

I also made small alterations to what i call "can replace"... simple things like Wholemeal bread instead of white bread... coke zero instead of coke and etc.

Thats great :thumbsu: Something i found that was worked wonders is only drinking water at meal times. Drinking heaps of water between bites slows you down eating which lets you digest better/enjoy your food more, but it fills you up a brilliant amount :)

That is so true KT, If you eat slowly, (have a bite, puy your cutlery down have a chat with someone, have a drink do anything to slow yourself down) do this through your meal and let your brain catch up to your stomach. This will also reduce the amount of food you eat. The dietictian I saw told me to time your meals. After 30min push your plate away - no matter if your still hungry - and it works, after 10 -15min I am no longer hungry. Try it it really does work.

Jesus BG, IronMan materai :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Changing foods hasn't been that hard, but i suppose it is more habit/laziness than anything with me.

I'm not trying to bulk up, just generally trying to get the stomach under 100cms, from what i have read you really can't isolate fat off the guts with exercise anway, so i go for a more aerobic type of routine.

The thing i have found, is that you really achieve nothing with just 20 minutes of any activty. Once your metabolism kicks in, its kinda of like switching off the autopilot.

These websites are beaut, can cancel out calories with exercise, so i aim for around 1300 calories a day. Eat a heap of fish, fruit/veg and nuts (bit confusing in regards to fat with that one).
Thanks IGT

Like I said... i didn't really do any research and mostly have gone on what others have recommended...

I have had advise left right and centre

I've heard the following:
-do not eat anything after 7pm... on drink water
-drink lots of water during the day
-eat sugary things if you plan to be active...
-once every fortnight to have junk food
-the eating smaller portions multi times is alot better than having one massive meal.

I have had some health issues with my diet... i have fainted a couple of times... and this is because i went from alot and alot of sugar to nothing... and hence now i have sugar every day right before i plan to be active

One other thing that alarmed me when i heard it from a health expert on tv is energy drinks like redbull and V... he said that they slow your bodies ability to break down fat... once i heard that... i havent had one since.. and i used to live on the stuff...

In regards to your OP about alcohol... i havent done what you done in terms of have none... but what i did realise is... the more i go out... the more i drink... the more active i am... so yeah i've kinda started to drink more lol... however i know it's stupid... but i have started to drink pure blonde...

WHat i started doing as off yesterday is sit ups... just before i go to bed im doing 100 sit ups... it not to get a 6 packs... it purely based on what you said regarding aerobics... if i can flatten the belly... i'll be happy...

that sounds like a top tip... especially with the festive season...

I was amazed at how much sense it made GB. The problem a lot of people have is they eat so fast their Brain and stomach are not on the same page. So when you get that "god I'm stuffed" feeling after a big meal is when they have caught up with each other.

I train with a group of ironman who band together
No ego's just support and drive
Makes a huge difference to be able to trust the advice you get
The other incentive I have is my wife will get back into it after baby 3 arrives in Feb
I will never match her swim as she was an Aust representative so I must be heaps better in the ride and run. And she runs like a gazelle whereas I am a Clydesdale
2 things that push me along
the comments that people make daily saying how great I look
and my determination not to allow my wife to be fitter faster stronger than me
A good combo - will be interesting to see how I do!

gano_cafe_classic.jpg

ganocupr2.gif

tea has as much caffeine as coffee
try to stick to white tea which is highest in antioxidants (not black tea with milk but white tea as in Fijian)
To start day use a hit of olive leaf extract and a Swisse Mens Ulvite
Olive leaf is super anti ox and boosts your immunity up
Beakfast is the most important meal of day
CSIRO approved Protein cereal Healthworld I think) available at Woolworths plus all bran plus protein powder plus skim milk plus banana followed by 2 wholemeal toasts no crusts (hard to digest) with organic honey
Slowly releases energy over the morning

tea has as much caffeine as coffee
try to stick to white tea which is highest in antioxidants (not black tea with milk but white tea as in Fijian)
To start day use a hit of olive leaf extract and a Swisse Mens Ulvite
Olive leaf is super anti ox and boosts your immunity up
Beakfast is the most important meal of day
CSIRO approved Protein cereal Healthworld I think) available at Woolworths plus all bran plus protein powder plus skim milk plus banana followed by 2 wholemeal toasts no crusts (hard to digest) with organic honey
Slowly releases energy over the morning

Will give it a go.

Guns, are you taking any multivitamins apart from Swisse?

With a more balanced diet I think anything on top of the Swisse and the Olive Leaf would just make expensive urine.
You have basically all your base vit and min icluding chromium to decrease sugar cravings
then it is discipline and routinue ie eating small frequent meals and not skipping
fill the fridge/cupboard full of good stuff with NO temptation in it
Of course if you have specific nutritional requ a nase multi may not have enough of something eg iron/calcium for the ladies
But I have no special needs
The main thing is not to cut things out that you require esp if you are training
You need protein to rebuild damaged muscle fibres
You need carbs but the correct ones otherwiser yo have no energy to train
You need fluids even if you retain fluid
You need fibre

I train with a group of ironman who band together
No ego's just support and drive
Makes a huge difference to be able to trust the advice you get
The other incentive I have is my wife will get back into it after baby 3 arrives in Feb
I will never match her swim as she was an Aust representative so I must be heaps better in the ride and run. And she runs like a gazelle whereas I am a Clydesdale
2 things that push me along
the comments that people make daily saying how great I look
and my determination not to allow my wife to be fitter faster stronger than me
A good combo - will be interesting to see how I do!

I know who you are......your fricken Grant Kenny. :D

I ws a slob but have changed my ways
I have always been a team sports guy
Never been good at swimming cycling or running so I have found it a BIG challenge but that is half the point
Amazing what a sense of acheivement it was to compete and run for 2 hours when I could only run 20m 6 months before.
With weight loss and fitness you get out of it what you are willing to put into it
It is easy to do but easier not to do
The main hurdle to people with weight and fitness is the muscle between their ears.Get your head right and you can get the rest of you right
hats off to those we know who have gone to lengths like lap bands but preventing it getting that far is a better health option so the sooner you take the steps the easier the fix will be

So who's on a diet?