Lodden Valley Football League Part 2

Nuetral grounds are the way to go for finals where possible, bendigo is a fair hike for some of us up this way, couldnt have them all there, sure the gates may be better and shared but travel is the issue. GRFL used to have Kerang as a neutral GF but they sooked up and now share it around again, come GF day invariably someone gets a home ground advantage. CMFL is always at Swan Hill, good for those north of Boga but not much chop for everyone else, plenty of better venues, and parking on the fence! Difficult to juggle as the facilities at some grounds in the LVFL are a bit underdone. YCW ground should get leveled and lazered, bloody undulating! Lots of other surfaces doing it tough this year, who has the best facilites, parking and rooms??

I'd have to say that Miti have by far the best playing surface in the league. They have to be congratulated on the carpet like surface. Fantastic to play on.

You'd have to think that Calivil would be due to hold a granny if they don't make it this year. They have a very poor playing surface though, and if they have rain leading up to the game it is like a boggy marsh in the middle and pretty hard with little grass around the edges.

too many people have so much to say...but do nothing themselves.......maybe the league takes in turns when allocating finals...maybe that's fair for country footy....YC has had a final in the past two years...YC's gound is one of the best surfaces in the region....I can't think of any other ground that doesn't have a cricket pitch in the centre.....but be fair to all clubs and all communities, share the privilege of finals....if it's not broken...don't fix it..

Um...i think they are saying it is broken, which is why they are suggesting reasons to fix it.

Surely to promote the league and to fill the coffers of all the clubs (not just YCW & Marong) having the finals held close to bendigo has to be the way to go. Host them at YCW, have all clubs involved in running the finals and all clubs split gate / takings each year. Ensures a constant source of revenue each year for each club rather than a spike to each club in the year they host a final.

Or do we want to continue down the path of, it's my turn to host the final so it should be here.

If YCW isn't suitable to the league as others have suggested go and use a bendigo ground golden square / eaglehawk.

If YCW isn't suitable to the league as others have suggested go and use a bendigo ground golden square / eaglehawk.[/quote]

Difference of opinion here Frankenfurter...YC's ground is well and truly up to the task...it is in better nick than any bgo ground, including G Square and E Hawk...

It's the Loddon Valley Football League...local communities should enjoy Finals in their backyard...the league is for the communities..let the communities enjoy their footy in their community....they pay the $$ for their club...the lvfl has been this way for over a 100 years...and ppl on a chat thread that aren't involved want to change it....my opinion is, share it to the local communities, don't fix what I believe is not broken...

If YCW isn't suitable to the league as others have suggested go and use a bendigo ground golden square / eaglehawk.

Difference of opinion here Frankenfurter...YC's ground is well and truly up to the task...it is in better nick than any bgo ground, including G Square and E Hawk...

It's the Loddon Valley Football League...local communities should enjoy Finals in their backyard...the league is for the communities..let the communities enjoy their footy in their community....they pay the $$ for their club...the lvfl has been this way for over a 100 years...and ppl on a chat thread that aren't involved want to change it....my opinion is, share it to the local communities, don't fix what I believe is not broken...[/QUOTE]

are local communities better off with a more financially secure football / netball club? I would think they are. Is a constant source of income each year due to a well supported final series better than say Pyramid copping the elimination final this year on a Sunday? Other than supporters of teams playing who is going to go watch? You run the luck of the draw with the current set up and it's not an even playing field, YCW smash crowd figures with any final they hold, why? location and convenience.

I would agree that we should support local communities but would be interested to know how many clubs support local business when they host a final (eg purchase beer at local pub or do they go to Dan Murphy's / First Choice).

I think it's a very relevant discussion as to the future of the entire league, just because it's been that way for years doesn't mean we should continue it, you need to adapt to survive.

Ok the grand final will be at calavil if they don't make it if they do it will be at y.c.w the prelim is at inglewood and marongs ground would break a mountain goat's leg it's that bad these grounds have to be passed as a safe place to play on.The finals are on a rotation base and WHO would clean up g squares or e hawks grounds after the grand final and it's more than the gate the host club only get half the rest is split amonst the other clubs.There is the catering which the host club keeps how would that work at the same place all the time. Y.C.W ground has a better slope than Mt hothan's best ski run and serps ground the grasshoppers ate the grass so don't know what they were suppost to do about that.SO JUST SUCK IT UP AND PUT ANOTHER $10 BUCKS IN YOUR CAR YOU TIGHT WADS.

all clubs would get an even share of gate and canteen takings from all finals. Would mean a constant source of revenue for every club, every year, meaning it's probably fairer for Mitiamo, Pyramid, Calivil (club furtherest from Bendigo) who rely on getting a grand final or many clubs being represented on a final day to draw a big crowd. Whereas YCW or Marong just have to host a final to make good money.

I don't think currently the host club gets any of the gate, only canteen / bar.

Don't think it's got anything to do with the price of petrol, more to do with time, 90 minute round trip from Bendigo to Pyramid when you have nothing to do is a bigger ask than getting in the car and going 5 minutes to the QEO or 10 minutes to Huntly.

Hey furter good to see you have volunteered to work in the bar and canteen or which people do this task and if it's not your club how would you no where any thing was or who orders the cateering. Gee let's just make it all to hard and stuff it up. Then let's see who has a big guts ache.PLEASE GIVE US A SPELL.

really not sure why i'm responding to this but here goes.

All clubs take a turn in manning bar / canteen throughout the entire finals series (eg like the bendigo football league finals). Because the league is responsible for the entire final series you allow yourself more buying power because you are buying beer, soft drink, chocolate for 6 finals instead of each club buying for one final, which should make it cheaper. You give responsibility for the final series organisation to a sub committee of the league (be it a club or be it members of multiple clubs) who purchase goods, set roster of clubs to work gate / bar / bbq, the cleaning, the hire of marquees, etc.

Are you really that insular that you think one group arranging for six finals at a single location is actually harder than one final at six locations? Do you think each club runs a final as well as each other?

Anyway i'm done on the subject.

thats all she wrote for the '10 season, N & Clew
how did u go in the KP c h back slot ?? :confused: Bit of running and carrying down the field from the defence lines.

& how far will the calivil Dees go in this seasons race 4 the flag ??

thats all she wrote for the '10 season, N & Clew
how did u go in the KP c h back slot ?? :confused: Bit of running and carrying down the field from the defence lines.

& how far will the calivil Dees go in this seasons race 4 the flag ??

Lasted a quarter and a half mate, knee is shot! should be right for the next game though!
Calivil were very impressive, going to be a very interesting finals series, i'd like to see either Calivil or Miti get up. However the other two would be favourites...
Disappointing end to what looked to be a very promising year for us at inglewood, however we have improved and both teams are now competitive against almost all teams. The Under 17's fielded a team all year and with most of the players able to play again next year they should hopefully improve in performance too. Despite not making the finals in the seniors which was our goal at the start of the year, things are looking up for the club.
I'll be reacquainting myself with the pubs of Richmond and will be looking to bigfooty for updates of the finals action!

That's yet another home and away season all done and dusted. Some clubs will be satisfied and some perplexed by how things just went from bad to worse from march onwards and one club will win the flag. Just another season really. Some things to come out of season 2010 that grabbed my attention were

• Calivil responding to a poor coaching appointment with class.
  • Pyramid Hill a step closer to that flag
  • Bridgewater recruiting well to show everyone the gap between LVFL seniors and BFL reserves is still there
  • Mitiamo not performing to well after supplying half the interleague squad. Maybe we need to revisit how many from each club are selected to play, but that is for another discussion.
  • Inglewood have made great strides this year and seem to be building a club from the ground up with much purpose and vigor
  • Newbridge and Marong both being extremely poor, after building themselves up for a tilt at the flag. They maybe need to revisit Bridgwater's recruiting plan.
  • Y.C.W. showing that there is still life at Bacchaus Oval.

• Serpentine actually winning a game and being more than competitive in a handful of others. That's more than most of us thought.
Anyway, that's some of my thoughts. Good luck to all sides in the finals.

just though id mention haythorpe kicking his 100th goal on sat, fantastic effort, been a few years since anyone in lv has kicked a ton. in saying that, i think mitiamo rely on him to much. the man can be shut down, it just takes about 3 blokes, wich means there should be a couple of loose miti forwards, but they still keep kicking it to him?

I think calavil getting the double chance has a couple of clubs a bit nervous but watching them against the inglewood boys they have a bit to go to catch the top two sides although the hill boy's don't mind going out in straight sets.The new bridgy boys are from sth bgo and there past has not always been solid been seen to have airway problems at times.Y.C.W are still in the mix but they would need to have there full deck on board to have any chance.Miti to much trouble in the camp hard to iron out this late in the season.So it's still a chook raffle at this stage.

will be interesting to see which sides adapts to the conditions this weekend, based purely on this season it appears Miti struggle in the wet conditions, getting beat by Calivil, Bridgey in wet and windy conditions,

Calivil v Pyramid should be a beauty, maybe the year for the Dogs to bury the ghosts of seasons past

I think calavil getting the double chance has a couple of clubs a bit nervous but watching them against the inglewood boys they have a bit to go to catch the top two sides although the hill boy's don't mind going out in straight sets.The new bridgy boys are from sth bgo and there past has not always been solid been seen to have airway problems at times.Y.C.W are still in the mix but they would need to have there full deck on board to have any chance.Miti to much trouble in the camp hard to iron out this late in the season.So it's still a chook raffle at this stage.

Hey Pig Skin, how come you didnt coach again this year?

Don't worry about the Richmond pubs, Clew.
What about the bro.
Can he get back in the Square Ones or has he missed too much footy. And the finals start the Sat. after this one, altho GS will prolly have the 1st week off for finishing Top.

What was the injury concern he had, anyway ?? :confused:

Don't worry about the Richmond pubs, Clew.
What about the bro.
Can he get back in the Square Ones or has he missed too much footy. And the finals start the Sat. after this one, altho GS will prolly have the 1st week off for finishing Top.

What was the injury concern he had, anyway ?? :confused:

Yeah I really don't know if he'll make the ones mate, going from what he has told me he hasn't been doing a lot in the twos, having 2 weeks away in Thailand midseason wouldn't have helped. Hopefully he gets his fitness up and can push for a spot. He had an ankle op at the start of the season.

That's enough about junior Norfolk for this thread though! Who is everyones tips for this weekend in the lvfl? I'm hoping calivil roll pyramid and will be rooting for miti against ycw!

its quite possible, miti missing a lot of players this week, such as Grant, Chapman, Ginnivan, Dobbin, Orton, plus a few others. Will be playing the 2's with a few juniors on the bench today.

Well we are set for some brilliant games this week. Bridgy vs Pyramid Hill for a spot in the big one. Pyramid should regain Davis and honestly i think they can beat the Mean Machine. Should be a close game only downside is its at serp. Calivil vs Miti another great game out at Riverside. If Miti can produce a 4 quarter performance similar to the way they played in the last quarter against YCW throughout the game they should be able to smash Calivil. But ya never Calivil were in this postion last year and managed to bounce back.

I'm very confident in Pyamid Hill this year.
good to see BL Serpentine winning some games in the unders. Seen them
Saturday and they had two players who really caught my eye
Is there finally some real talent in the lvfl under 17 comp?