MRP / Trib. McPharlin Incident

• Thread starter Thread starter tofushark

Big loss - Luke will get 2 weeks for that. He has been pretty lucky in recent years - was lucky not to go for his hit on Brown in rd 1 so I giess you could say this is karma.

or you could say that you have no freekin idea,contact made to top of shoulder and may have slipped up slightly with glancing blow to melon......would be very stiff to get a week

^ Was just glad Pavy wasn't injured mate haha. Also Jack Darling could be dropped, unlikely but he has been really quiet recently and been subbed off on occassion

Well this is the chance for Ibbo to play him into some form if McPharlin cops it.

or you could say that you have no freekin idea,contact made to top of shoulder and may have slipped up slightly with glancing blow to melon......would be very stiff to get a week

It is hard to tell on the replay - but that is the way I saw it. Should be available this week or of to the tribunal we go!

Did Mcfarlane even collect him in the head? It looks like he could have got him high on the shoulder and the Sydney player threw his head back trying to draw a free. Dunno it's just really hard to tell where he made contact with him exactly from that angle?

I don't think their is much to worry about there. Natanui made similar contact to Taylor Hunt and got 93.75 points. Can see a similar outcome to this incident admittedly the MRP is a lottery. They could assess it like they did with Lynch's hit on Murphy. Bird played on Murphy played on Hunt played on one player got a week another got a reprimand who knows what McPharlin will get?

It would be crazy if he got anything - from the snippet i saw - the commentators are normally all over these things and normally only what they crap on about makes it to the MRP - I would be surprised if they'd be concerned about the vision i saw - commentators didn't mention anything at all and we had some sharp ones today...

Best thing about freo is we are playing a hard brand off footy but no longer normally getting dragged up before MRP - which is good

How's his record? Any chance of a 25% off bumping it down to a 93.75 & a reprimand?

Hasn't ever been suspended I don't think - so he has a good record.

What will be clear is that it is high - and pretty sure it will be low contact as the guy got up and kept going without too much fuss

So it comes down to whether it is negligent or reckless - don't reckon it will be intentional - his eyes aren't in the right spot for that

If it's negligent - he'll get 125 down to 93.75 due to record and down to 70 if he pleads

If it's reckless - he'll get 225 down to 168.75 due to record and down to 126 if he pleads - which is stil la week

What works in Luke's favour is if he does get a reckless finding by the MRP - then even with challenging he isn't risking any weeks. He'll only get 1 either way. What also works is that Guerra had a very similar incident against Leon Davis last week (or the week before) and got let off completely.

What doesn't look good is the elbow away from the body. When i first saw it today I thought it might have been tucked in and come away after the hit - but that didn't happen.

Personally reckon he'll get away with a reprimand.

99% doubt it as his fitness is still an issue. If he somehow did get a gig the opposition player would be told to run him into the ground.

Is it just me or is weird that if you unintentionally knock someone's head with a shoulder / elbow you're in trouble but if you unintentionally launch into the back of someone's head with a knee at full tilt (Mayne) or accidently kick someone skwar in the nuts, it's not even looked at?

It would be crazy if he got anything - from the snippet i saw - the commentators are normally all over these things and normally only what they crap on about makes it to the MRP - I would be surprised if they'd be concerned about the vision i saw - commentators didn't mention anything at all and we had some sharp ones today...

Best thing about freo is we are playing a hard brand off footy but no longer normally getting dragged up before MRP - which is good

actually BT did mention that he thought it would be looked at by the MRP.

i reckon he will end up with a reprimand. not looking at him is no longer a defence, it just makes it negligent rather than intentional

Is it just me or is weird that if you unintentionally knock someone's head with a shoulder / elbow you're in trouble but if you unintentionally launch into the back of someone's head with a knee at full tilt (Mayne) or accidently kick someone skwar in the nuts, it's not even looked at?
Marty Mattner must have a head carved from jarrah. I thought he'd be gone for all money after that. Tough bloke.
It is an anomaly but cracking down on it would essentially remove the high mark from the game and no-one wants that.

Marty Mattner must have a head carved from jarrah. I thought he'd be gone for all money after that. Tough bloke.
It is an anomaly but cracking down on it would essentially remove the high mark from the game and no-one wants that.[/quote]

exactly right. any rules that stopped players from going for screamers would be ridiculous and take from one of the great specticles of our game

It is an anomaly but cracking down on it would essentially remove the high mark from the game and no-one wants that.

Nothing like a neck whipping blow to the back of the head to knock someone the **** out. But yeah really impressed how Mattner came back from it.

And don't get me wrong I'm not advocating incidents like that should be looked at, I just find it weird that different rules apply depending on what you hit someone with. I reckon if it's clearly unintentional, it should be a free kick or play on (depending on the sitiuation), but not looked at by the tribunal.

There's a video here with McPharlap mentioned as a Level 1 Rough Conduct, except I see a stupid 1/4 of the playback in the upper right for some reason. Probably because Bigpond Sucks. :thumbsd:

(Firefox, Internet Explorer, makes no difference).

Early plea, and free to play. :thumbsu:

relax

he was offered a reprimand due to his good 5 year record.

just heard the news on sen online radio (stuck in Paris)

:)

relax

he was offered a reprimand due to his good 5 year record.

just heard the news on sen online radio (stuck in Paris)

:)

Brilliant!

I'm happy to be corrected, but I believe that is 2.5 seasons of suspension free play from the Dockers.

McPhee off scott free as well

flipping suck it everyone :P

Four Swans and Fremantle players - Shane Mumford, Ben McGlynn, Nick Lower and Adam McPhee - have been offered fines for their involvement in a melee during the third quarter of Sunday's game at the SCG.