Bleed Black and White

They say our great club was born with a wooden spoon in our hand
In the slums and factories of Collingwood in a place they called ‘wasteland’
From the very beginning of football it was always us against the rest
The ‘beggar’ suburb from the slums and tips, we were looked upon with jest

Our people were honest, hard working, salt of the earth they say
They did it hard, they did tough and by god they earn’t their pay
They were the battlers, the strugglers, the minority of this great Australian land
They took the knocks, got off the canvas and by god they made a stand

The leafy suburbs of Melbourne despised this new working class club
They sneered and jeered and laughed in a classic classist snub
But it didn’t deter our people they held their heads high with pride
They stuck together and fought like hell and we did it side by side

The Carringbush Spirit it grew, as our team became loathed and feared
We became defiant, ruthless and arrogant and looked down on all who had jeered
And when we won 4 flags in a row with the team they called ‘The Machine’
We became the most famous in the land, the honest, battlers dream.

The hatred and despise it bred as our club it soon closed ranks
More then ever, we were loved and hated, like war on the gaza banks
Generation after generation took up this glorious magpie fight
You see it is a birthright, it is in the blood, you are born black and white

On Saturday it the same old story with our backs against the wall
They say it can’t be done, we are battered and ready to fall
You see that is the way we like it, again, it is us against the rest
We wouldn’t want it any other way, we are Collingwood, for that we are blessed

So remember the Carringbush spirit like the generations of the past
And to the players fight with all you’ve got, make every effort like your last
Take the ground with Magpie pride and never give up the fight
Stand together side by side ................ and bleed black and white

Great stuff SOY
I grew up in a different era - actually in Collingwood so here's my take

I come from the hard luck suburb
Where weeds grow up in the streets
I walk to the shops to buy dads old canned slops
While flash kids cycle past to buy sweets

You won't see me at cafes or restaurants
Swilling coffee or gobbling macaroons
I'll be a Maccas for the kids birthday party
Eating happy meals and busting balloons

I haven't invested in blue chips
And I own no investment property
I live for the weekly pay check
And lotto's the way out for me

Don't tell me the planet is warming
And the sky is falling in
I'm too busy fixing the spouting
And riding my spread quaddy in

No I won't sob, cringe or whimper
Even though you say that I should
Side by side, back to back I defy you
To sneer at my team COLLINGWOOD

We're Collingwood supporters,
and there's no shame in that,
but when we bring it up,
it's like we've said that we drown cats

No apologies has come to be
the order of the day,
we're one eyed Pies supporters,
and there is no other way

The richest, proudest club
in this great Australian land,
has welcomed all who share
the spirit of the common man

We're told we're all dole bludgers,
and that we all lack our teeth,
but lawyers, doctors and CEOs,
stand for that magpie on a wreath

To make a joke at the 'Pies expense
has become a national sport,
but the hatred comes from fear,
and from fear they sell us short

On Saturday the time will come,
to test our favoured boys,
and you can bet when that siren rings,
the Magpie Army brings the noise

And whether glory comes to pass,
or slips through their grasp again,
the Army will be there once more,
to cheer them in the rain

Collingwood is more than passion,
it's more than entertainment,
Collingwood is a way of life,
and Premierships are payment

We take delight in doing
what others say we can't,
and we take delight in proving that
we're what they say we aren't

If we play tough and we play brave,
if we play like Bobby Rose,
we'll be the finest team
that anybody ever knows

So as ours boys ready themselves
for another final push,
we'll know that they are carrying
the hearts of Carringbush

So fight until it hurts,
and let them know you've tried,
so everyone sees what it means
to battle side-by-side

We're Collingwood supporters,
and there's no shame in that,
but when we bring it up,
it's like we've said that we drown cats

No apologies has come to be
the order of the day,
we're one eyed Pies supporters,
and there is no other way

The richest, proudest club
in this great Australian land,
has welcomed all who share
the spirit of the common man

We're told we're all dole bludgers,
and that we all lack our teeth,
but lawyers, doctors and CEOs,
stand for that magpie on a wreath

To make a joke at the 'Pies expense
has become a national sport,
but the hatred comes from fear,
and from fear they sell us short

On Saturday the time will come,
to test our favoured boys,
and you can bet when that siren rings,
the Magpie Army brings the noise

And whether glory comes to pass,
or slips through their grasp again,
the Army will be there once more,
to cheer them in the rain

Collingwood is more than passion,
it's more than entertainment,
Collingwood is a way of life,
and Premierships are payment

We take delight in doing
what others say we can't,
and we take delight in proving that
we're what they say we aren't

If we play tough and we play brave,
if we play like Bobby Rose,
we'll be the finest team
that anybody ever knows

So as ours boys ready themselves
for another final push,
we'll know that they are carrying
the hearts of Carringbush

So fight until it hurts,
and let them know you've tried,
so everyone sees what it means
to battle side-by-side
Well played Vinnie - let 'em have it with both barrels m8 :thumbsu:

I have quite traditional protective parents. But from the age of 10 I was allowed to walk around Victoria park during gameday by myself where ever I wanted (Back in the 80's mind you!)

The roughest and toughest outer in the land. 90% of opposition supporters never lasted past quarter time for fear in the Vic Park cauldron. Yet when there was a sellout... not a spare standing room position (and forget about getting a seat), people sitting on top of the Hard Yakka sign and scoreboard, and my 10 year old best mate and I would turn up 5 minutes before the bounce to stand in our favorite position (The Daicos pocket) It would only be a matter of seconds before a grown up at the back near us would spot us and instantly scream out at the top of their voice "Kids coming through".

Instantly, 15 - 20 other people would join in "Kids coming through" and the crowd would part like it was called by Moses himself. Grown ups would literally push us through the parted crowd all the way down to the fence... so we could see our heroes. The pride, protection and honor given to another man, woman or child wearing black and white was that of which most family's never grasp the concept of.

Collingwood to me... and you... is not a Football club. It's our family.

This Saturday I am returning to my roots. I have been to every Grand Final the Pies have played in - but for the first time, I will share the experience sitting next to my old man (50 year member)...

If Collingwood were a country and we went to war against every other team we would win... not because of numbers... but because of true passion and belief in our way of life.

To my 80,000 odd brothers and sisters I constantly dream of standing side by side with you all and bleeding black and white with you.

The rains are coming my brothers and sisters.

THIS SATURDAY OUR FAMILY GOES TO WAR...

"Floreat Pica" for us all

Outstanding Smoke I started following the Pies in the mid 60's and it was the same then. All these huge boilermakers and brickies labourers roaring abuse at the umps and oppo supporters, yet god help any mongrel that even looked the wrong way at a kid.

The battle lines are drawn brothers and sisters

Our battle plan is simple

Every mothers son or daughter gives everything thing they have both sides of the fence

Porro et sursum

Ad astra

These have by far been some of the most enjoyable posts I have read on this forum.

I hope you dont mind but I have forwarded some of these pieces around work to share with the other Collingwood people here. Fantastic.

Makes me realise that the club is more than just the team I support - it is a part of me, and me it!

Good old Collingwood forever.

These have by far been some of the most enjoyable posts I have read on this forum.

I hope you dont mind but I have forwarded some of these pieces around work to share with the other Collingwood people here. Fantastic.

Makes me realise that the club is more than just the team I support - it is a part of me, and me it!

Good old Collingwood forever.
Yep Collingwood have always been about the people right back as far as I can remember - and that's to the early '60's and dad who recruited me into the army said the same.

I was lucky enough to have reserved seats at Vic Park with mum and dad and sisters, right next to the player race and the past and injured players sitting behind us in the terrace.

Those were the great days - "we are the black and white army and we say - GO PIES"

Go the Maggies

Bleed Black and White