Mega Thread Trading, drafting and all that Jazz - Part II

"HAWTHORN wants pick 17 in a trade if midfielder Clinton Young decides to join Collingwood. The Pies remain the front runner for Young, but it is believed Young may still stay at the Hawks if a deal can’t be reached. He is unlikely to be used as a free agent despite his status."

How does that work? why wouldn't he be used as a free agent?

With so many variables it is always an extremely difficult task evaluating a list. There are so many factors but it is a bit of fun so here is my effort.

I think we have two voids that need to be filled and they are a young developing key forward and more young midfield talent.

4 changes have been made so far and besides 1 or 2 delistings I can't see too much changing.
Hopefully Clinton Young resigns as he is a important player that offers great run and carry and a point of difference to our other regular mid fielders.

With Tom Murphy gone we must keep Steve Gilham in my opinion. Brian Lake is a great addition but only a short term fix. If any of Lake, Gibson, Stratton and Schoenmakers were to be injured then Gilham is next in line to replace them. If he was to leave along with Murphy i cant see any replacements ready for AFL footy. He is also a great leader to have at Box Hill teaching our young defenders which is an area we are well stocked in. Kelly, Bosley, Duryea, Cheney, Litherland, Langford all have potential and his guidance could be vital in their development. Our next crop of backman should come from this group. How ever with the delisting of Boumann I think a rookie spot should be given to a mature age key position defender from the state leagues, someone like a Joel Tippett or Jack Frost.

Ruck is an area I think we are too overstocked. Hale and Roughead have the no.1 and back up spots locked away. Bailey seems to be the best traditional ruckman but if his body will last will always be a question hanging over his head. Add to the mix McCauley who I was impressed with in his senior games and the develpoing man mountain Luke Lowden and I think our ruck stocks are impressive. This is why i also think regardless or contracts Grimley and Pattison need to be delisted. Grimley has shown less then nothing in his time at the club and Pattison was only ever a back up to the back ups and is just a list clogger at best.

While I think we need more young mid fielders I am still happy with the young talent at the club. The future stars are already in them team. Shiels and Whitecross look to be guns and captain material and Smith and Savage aren't regulars for no reason. Players like Hallahan, Hill, Woodward and Schnider should be pushing towards senior footy next year and with the ageing Mitchell, Sewell, Hodge and Burgoyne more young mid fielders need to be drafted. I don't think we should target any type of mid fielder just the best available. Pick 27 (at this stage) could get a good player in a draft that looks impressive.

Our forward line is plain and simply amazing and surely must have some claims to being one of the best the game has seen. Buddy,Rioli, Roughead, Bruest, Hale, Gunston, Lewis and Pupolo all kicked 24 or more goals last year which is close to a goal a game each and nearly enough to all win Gold Coast, GWS, Bulldogs and Melbourne goal kicking awards. Amos Frank and Wanganeen have shown great signs as small forwards at Box Hill and both deserve another year and even Michael Osborne will be returning from injury. The key position depth however is no where to be seen. A young key forward is needed. Even the thought of a young kid learning his trade from Buddy is exciting in itself.

So in a perfect world I would have Clinton Young resigned and the delisting of Grimley and Pattison. With the retirements of Bateman and Bruce, Murphy GC bound and Boumann already cut that would free up 5 spots on the primary list.
I would use 2 in the draft on the best available midfielder and forward and upgrade both Schnider and Wanganeen. This would leave one spot open for a pre season pick.

The upgrading of Schnider and Wangannen and delisting of Pattison would free up 3 rookie spot to join McCauley, Frank, Bosley and Lanford. Which I would use to target at least 1 mature aged key position defender and then young mid fielders.

Just a quick question? Will Sam Mitchell and Luke Hodge be eligible for the veterans list this year and that also allow more rookie spots?

Hope you all enjoy the read!

With so many variables it is always an extremely difficult task evaluating a list. There are so many factors but it is a bit of fun so here is my effort.

I think we have two voids that need to be filled and they are a young developing key forward and more young midfield talent.

4 changes have been made so far and besides 1 or 2 delistings I can't see too much changing.
Hopefully Clinton Young resigns as he is a important player that offers great run and carry and a point of difference to our other regular mid fielders.

With Tom Murphy gone we must keep Steve Gilham in my opinion. Brian Lake is a great addition but only a short term fix. If any of Lake, Gibson, Stratton and Schoenmakers were to be injured then Gilham is next in line to replace them. If he was to leave along with Murphy i cant see any replacements ready for AFL footy. He is also a great leader to have at Box Hill teaching our young defenders which is an area we are well stocked in. Kelly, Bosley, Duryea, Cheney, Litherland, Langford all have potential and his guidance could be vital in their development. Our next crop of backman should come from this group. How ever with the delisting of Boumann I think a rookie spot should be given to a mature age key position defender from the state leagues, someone like a Joel Tippett or Jack Frost.

Ruck is an area I think we are too overstocked. Hale and Roughead have the no.1 and back up spots locked away. Bailey seems to be the best traditional ruckman but if his body will last will always be a question hanging over his head. Add to the mix McCauley who I was impressed with in his senior games and the develpoing man mountain Luke Lowden and I think our ruck stocks are impressive. This is why i also think regardless or contracts Grimley and Pattison need to be delisted. Grimley has shown less then nothing in his time at the club and Pattison was only ever a back up to the back ups and is just a list clogger at best.

While I think we need more young mid fielders I am still happy with the young talent at the club. The future stars are already in them team. Shiels and Whitecross look to be guns and captain material and Smith and Savage aren't regulars for no reason. Players like Hallahan, Hill, Woodward and Schnider should be pushing towards senior footy next year and with the ageing Mitchell, Sewell, Hodge and Burgoyne more young mid fielders need to be drafted. I don't think we should target any type of mid fielder just the best available. Pick 27 (at this stage) could get a good player in a draft that looks impressive.

Our forward line is plain and simply amazing and surely must have some claims to being one of the best the game has seen. Buddy,Rioli, Roughead, Bruest, Hale, Gunston, Lewis and Pupolo all kicked 24 or more goals last year which is close to a goal a game each and nearly enough to all win Gold Coast, GWS, Bulldogs and Melbourne goal kicking awards. Amos Frank and Wanganeen have shown great signs as small forwards at Box Hill and both deserve another year and even Michael Osborne will be returning from injury. The key position depth however is no where to be seen. A young key forward is needed. Even the thought of a young kid learning his trade from Buddy is exciting in itself.

So in a perfect world I would have Clinton Young resigned and the delisting of Grimley and Pattison. With the retirements of Bateman and Bruce, Murphy GC bound and Boumann already cut that would free up 5 spots on the primary list.
I would use 2 in the draft on the best available midfielder and forward and upgrade both Schnider and Wanganeen. This would leave one spot open for a pre season pick.

The upgrading of Schnider and Wangannen and delisting of Pattison would free up 3 rookie spot to join McCauley, Frank, Bosley and Lanford. Which I would use to target at least 1 mature aged key position defender and then young mid fielders.

Just a quick question? Will Sam Mitchell and Luke Hodge be eligible for the veterans list this year and that also allow more rookie spots?

Hope you all enjoy the read!
Good post. Mitchell and Hodge are eligible for the veteran's list next year under the new rules, but I have never heard you get extra rookie spots.

I thought that Veterans took up Rookie spots.

But, from what I understand, we have both Kilkenny & Heatherley the International Rookie List & as such, in a round-about way, kinda don't lose out on rookies after all. Can't confirm this, just how I understand it, FWIW.

Port Adelaide's new coach Ken Hinkley flew to Melbourne on Friday to meet with the wingman.
Power has entered the play late, but spent time with Young in an effort to talk up a possible move to South Australia.
Two other clubs, Brisbane and Essendon, have also been in the mix for the unrestricted free agent.

You got to fill for Young, can you Imagine the pressure that he must be under in order to show his loyalty to the club, players and his family when offers that are properly 40% better and with 1to 2 years added to his contract better than what the Hawks have offererd !!

If he does sign he would set suit for the whole club as for:

Take the money and run, or take a pay cut and show your loyalty to your club and to your team mates if you want successes in playing in premier site for 2013 and beyond!!

For every tweet saying he's leaving there one saying he's staying. No one knows. Just decide already.

Smoke rising from above the Crows board. Sounds like the Tippett deal may be done.

Agree that Kelly looks like he may well be a perfect replacement for Gibson or Lake in a few years. Looked good for a 19 year old in the BH games I saw.

We need to do what happened after we lost the 1985 Grand Final - restructure the set up slightly. Also need to decide who is or is not going to make it as a defender or ruck in the new set up as that is where the excess has built up as the club drafted to fill weaknesses.

Roughead is our best CHB but gets played forward and ruck as he is useful everywhere. We had the same issue with Langford in 1985 as a ruck/wing/forward but moved him to FB in 1986 and it tied up the back end. Lake to FB, Roughead CHB and Gibson as 3rd man up/spoiler - no gorillas are going to do too well against that. Schoenmakers to CHF which is what he was when we recruited him and he looked more comfortable when he was played there this year in small patches.

The list changes will come down to the fringe players, who at the moment are basically:

Gilham - 29 and going to be behind too many other mid sized defenders
Osborne - 30 and coming off knee reco needs to have impact when he comes back
Ellis - has another year on contract so needs to cement spot next year
Cheney - has been very good when given a chance and should retain spot
Young - a valuable outside runner but they may look at getting Hill more time there next year
Bailey - needs to get into ruck duo with Hale. Handy back-up but can't afford to be that at 26
Lowden - has completed 4 years on list and was starting to show signs at Box Hill - now or never
Grimley - has completed 3 years and finds himself in the Box Hill reserves behind Pattison
Duryea - has completed 3 years, a good honest battler but not to AFL standard

To me Gilham, Grimley and Duryea would probably have the most sleepless nights. Would like to keep Young but as a fringe player he won't get offered a big contract and may leave.

The 2nd year kids should get at least another year before being judged:
Litherland - had lots of injuries so far but has pace and talent
Hallahan - also had injuries and is starting to find his feet

Last years' draftees Hill, Kelly and Woodward appeared to be good selections and there should be no problems with those.

Would imagine that Hodge and Mitchell should be the nominated veterans as they would free up a bit of salary cap to replace this years' veterans Bateman and Osborne.

Of the rookies we should promote Schneider, finds enough of it but he needs cleaner disposal although that did improve as the year progressed. McCauley can be kept on as a rookie and either be the nominated rookie or fill in for Whitecross on the main list.
Not sure how they are going to work the rookie list for 2013. As I understand it international rookies are outside the list so Kilkenny doesn't affect anything. Frank would definitely get another year unless he didn't want it, Boseley will more than likely as well. Depends what they do with 2nd year rookies Wanganeen and Langford while I can't see the need for a 6th ruckman in Pattison being on the list. Does anyone know if they plan to put NSW scholarship player Jackson Dwyer on the rookie list as they need to decide that this year?

Really good post mate, agree with pretty much everything you've mentioned. I reckon roughhead has the ingredients to be the best CHB in the game, if played there. Despite getting Lake I still believe that's where roughy should play and more Shoey forward, where he looks a hell of a lot more comfortable.

With Bateman, Bruce retired, Murphy gone, Gilham likely going and maybe Young too, I wouldn't mind the hawks have a crack at Greg Broughton from Freo, always thought he was a really good back pocket/ back flanker. Out of favor for some reason, but highly talented. Maybe worth using a compo pick to get him, if possible, wouldn't pay overs for him. Just turned 26, so still has a good 4 or 5 years.

Duryea - has completed 3 years, a good honest battler but not to AFL standard

To me Gilham, Grimley and Duryea would probably have the most sleepless nights. Would like to keep Young but as a fringe player he won't get offered a big contract and may leave.

Why would Duryea be having a sleepless night? he was an emergency 3 times this year which suggests Hawthorn obviously rates him

I like your reference to Langford moving to full back after 1985 and the thought that Roughead to CHB. John Kennedy senior has been trying to convince Clarkson to do that for years. Agree that Shoey looks better at CHF.

It all depends on Bailey coming good in his around the ground efforts. If he can do that he can hold down ruck with Hale in support.
If Bailey doesn't improve then the plan can't be implemented

Smoke rising from above the Crows board. Sounds like the Tippett deal may be done.
so we should see some dominos fall before lunch tomorrow.

Would be entertaining. Just wish the swans weren't picking up a friggin 800k player after winning a flag without losing any players of note. There had better be a Jetta or Rohan as part of the deal. Hmmm, but that would make Adelaide a force.

Send em all to Port! All of em!

Wasn't there talk a while back that we were into Broughton? He's now officially on the trade table.........

Hoping this rumor was just bs
Dont you want him?

I would take him at the right price