Ellinbank FL

• Thread starter Thread starter Piezy

The rolling draw only came in 2 years ago. You might need to ask the executive board at the EDFL why Nyora didn't host NNG for 4 years prior. That my friend is one of the problems with the league has they couldn't even get the draw right and then 2 years ago they begrudgingly agreed to the rolling draw. (They might have thought that was too progressive):)

If you think about it I'd much prefer to have a home game against a club with a strong supporter base through all grades than play a rival that might only be competitive in the seniors and struggle for numbers in juniors. This is where a few clubs don't think properly.They just don't understand that a club like Bunyip or NNG or Garfield are a good thing in the fact that their supporters go to the away games. Pay money at the gate, buy food from the canteens and drink grog from the beer booths. All outside money going to the home club. That can't be that bad surely.

I relly don't give a stuff about the AFL football and it has absolutely nothing to do with EDFL footy. There is no advantage to the league to host rivalry games at the same places each year. It's a detraction from the rolling draw which is about as fair as it gets with the numbers of clubs in the league at the current time.

Of course everyone would like to play the clubs like NNG cos it draws a big crowd but it doesnt matter where goon play they will draw a crowd. Why not maximise earnings for clubs when the league has a chance too?
When we play LL or Poowong home and away we get good crowds and have good competition across all grades generally.

I dont think you understand whats its like to be at a small club that struggles to get teams on the field every year and struggles for sponsorship and support. Its not from lack of trying, if the people and money isnt there you cant do much about it.

I totally understand how hard it is and don't be fooled into believing it's easy for NNg, Bunyip, Garfield, KWR or anyone else because from an outsider looking in it seems like we have an advantage. In some ways they do have an advantage but by christ they have to work their ring off to maintain that base and it is equally as hard trying to find sponsors and to encourage supporters to attend events as well as come to the footy.

As far as playing clubs regularly have a think about the fact that NNG hadn't been to Nyora for 4 years. As far as an advantage goes i think you might have had the edge onfield because you only got to play them once which means you might have played another club twice which might not have been as competitive.

That's what the rolling draw is all about evening up the competition and giving everyone the same deal over a 2 or 3 year period.

Wins and loses all around unfortunately.

Just imagine if the 2 tier comp had of got off the ground. You could have had your 2 games against Lang Lang and Poowong every year. The opportunity was there but again, the league and the delegates from the clubs weren't progressive thinkers. :confused:

I totally understand how hard it is and don't be fooled into believing it's easy for NNg, Bunyip, Garfield, KWR or anyone else because from an outsider looking in it seems like we have an advantage. In some ways they do have an advantage but by christ they have to work their ring off to maintain that base and it is equally as hard trying to find sponsors and to encourage supporters to attend events as well as come to the footy.

As far as playing clubs regularly have a think about the fact that NNG hadn't been to Nyora for 4 years. As far as an advantage goes i think you might have had the edge onfield because you only got to play them once which means you might have played another club twice which might not have been as competitive.

That's what the rolling draw is all about evening up the competition and giving everyone the same deal over a 2 or 3 year period.

Wins and loses all around unfortunately.

Just imagine if the 2 tier comp had of got off the ground. You could have had your 2 games against Lang Lang and Poowong every year. The opportunity was there but again, the league and the delegates from the clubs weren't progressive thinkers. :confused:

I am all for the 2 tier competition, I dont care what standard of footy Nyora plays in as long as its competitive and we know we have a chance to make the finals most years. Currently each year half the clubs have no hope. The sooner it happens the better, I am sure NNG, CL and Garfield players and fans would rather play each other twice a year then watch a game against nyora and poowong where you win every game by 15 goals. Its fun for a while but gets boring quickly, when we were winning every home game bo 30 goals no one turned up after a while and it was hard to make a dollar.

PLaying NNG once might have been an advantage except it was always at the Goon (a ground we cannot play), you saw last year how much better we are at home across all grades with entertaining games in the top 3 grades, and the goon supporters travel.

Not saying its easy for clubs like the goon the playing field will never be equal in the league at the moment and with 15 clubs it cant continue for ever.

The league needs to be proactive and just split in 2 as soon as possible and then try to get some more clubs. Tooradin would be the first team to come in I reckon and a 2 tier comp would become more attractive to some Alberton clubs like Burra, Killy Bass and PI who lose a lot of young guys because of the extra travel to places like Yarram and Welshpool.

I am all for the 2 tier competition, I dont care what standard of footy Nyora plays in as long as its competitive and we know we have a chance to make the finals most years. Currently each year half the clubs have no hope. The sooner it happens the better, I am sure NNG, CL and Garfield players and fans would rather play each other twice a year then watch a game against nyora and poowong where you win every game by 15 goals. Its fun for a while but gets boring quickly, when we were winning every home game bo 30 goals no one turned up after a while and it was hard to make a dollar.

PLaying NNG once might have been an advantage except it was always at the Goon (a ground we cannot play), you saw last year how much better we are at home across all grades with entertaining games in the top 3 grades, and the goon supporters travel.

Not saying its easy for clubs like the goon the playing field will never be equal in the league at the moment and with 15 clubs it cant continue for ever.

The league needs to be proactive and just split in 2 as soon as possible and then try to get some more clubs. Tooradin would be the first team to come in I reckon and a 2 tier comp would become more attractive to some Alberton clubs like Burra, Killy Bass and PI who lose a lot of young guys because of the extra travel to places like Yarram and Welshpool.

Love your thinking St Leo.

I totally agree and yes Nyora are a lot different at home as are Poowong.
It's got me beat why the league didn't give you guysgames against the Goon a t least every second year if they only played once per year.

The 2 tiered comp has to come in as uickly as possible for all clubs to benefit for that exact reason. Competitive football and yes PI, K/Bass, K/burraand Tooradin should all be included in the discussions.

Unfortunately as long as Gwynne is there I don't think it will see the light of day.

has anyone got there Practise matches sorted yet?? We have one on a Friday night against Newborough this year and another 1 in the pipeline atm. Easter being the weekend before the start of the season makes it a bit hard for practise matches I would think most will just have an Intra-Club match on the thurs night instead?

do you guys believe the changing of the junior age groups is a positive or negative one? will it help the struggling clubs with numbers?

Well it would of helped us out no end, we would of had 6 or more kids coming back but now they are staying with the clubs they are at to get an extra year with there age group, BUT the league reversed the decision voted on by the Junior delegates at the Junior AGM and the age groups are going to stay the same as they have been. It means some clubs will be helped over the next 2 years but it also means other clubs will be hurt over the next 2 years. Why they wouldn't want to come into line with the rest of the league's around is beyond me. In the Warragul area we have 4 EDFL clubs Dusties, Darnum, Buln, Ellinbank trying to attract kids into their Juniors and 1 Gippsland team Warragul, also we have the local Junior comp which has another 3 clubs trying to attract Juniors being Colts, Blues and Warranor and maybe Hallora. The age Juniors league's age groups are under 10's, 12.5's and 14.5's and the EDFL is under 13, 15.5's and 18's then the Gippsland and Mid Gippy league's are under 16 and 18 (I dont think the Gippsland league have 5th's?). I would like to hear thought's on how this could be fixed and how club's are meant to get kid's to clubs that are struggling, we had to forfeit our Juniors last year and the 20 kids we cleared to other clubs we will be lucky to get 10 back.

Yes its good to hear it from your perspective, they should be doing whatever they can to attract kids from other leagues, and to help out and promote the struggling clubs junior wise. Seems like in your area theirs a few clubs fighting for few juniors.

Was it going to been changed to U14, 16 and 18s? If so would have been absolutely ridiculous. Kids want to start playing football when they are 9 or 10 years old however they can't because there is too many 12-13 year olds. They end up going to neighboring comps and staying there.

When I first started in this league it was U/12, 14.5, 17's. Should have been kept this way IMO. There is no way small towns can attract 15-20 players between 16-18 to field a side. If the kids are any good by that age they are playing 1's. If they aren't they have usually ****ed off doing something else.

Was it going to been changed to U14, 16 and 18s? If so would have been absolutely ridiculous. Kids want to start playing football when they are 9 or 10 years old however they can't because there is too many 12-13 year olds. They end up going to neighboring comps and staying there.

When I first started in this league it was U/12, 14.5, 17's. Should have been kept this way IMO. There is no way small towns can attract 15-20 players between 16-18 to field a side. If the kids are any good by that age they are playing 1's. If they aren't they have usually screwed off doing something else.
Im not 100% sure but had heard it was, and i totally agree. In small towns most the half descent players are playing ones, and then the rest are made up of a few players and under 15 fill ins. Being from another league, we often get players from The ellinbank who are too young to play 13s, they say they will go back to their local club, i would say only half do.

It was voted on to change it Surkin, Lang Lang were not present at the AGM so didn't get to vote on it but it was changed in the Senior AGM anyway. The thought's from the local clubs was to try and get teams into our local Junior League but they make you field all 3 teams not just and under 10's team as a feeder team. I'm not sure on Langy's Junior position but for the teams close to Warragul with in 2 or 3 years it will be almost impossible to field all 3 teams. Dusties struggle and there in Warragul where as the Gulls who only have 16's and 18's have about 30 kids trying out and the one's that miss just don't play Drouin is in the same boat having about 36 under 16's trying out. I personally wouldn't mind our league just going to 16's and 18's and letting all the kids play in junior comps until 14's. The problem is trying to Align your club with a club in the Junior league's to feed the clubs. I'm the Darnum Junior President this season and the amount of hours people spend just trying to a couple of kids is amazing.

Yeah the Junior age group has been done to death on this forum, I think.

The best suggestion I can think of is the way Guss Peterson did it with Ellinbank.

From memory, they went to Hallora and sponsored trophies and helped out at training and donated socks and shorts, etc. This encouraged them across once they were of age.

Back when Darnum had juniors in the WDJFL there was no problems attracting players to the club and this reflected in the club's junior successes of the 90's and early noughties. However this was never able to transpire into senior success as a lot of the better juniors left Darnum at the end of their last U17 year to go to Warragul to get an extra year in junior footy. They always left with the best intentions of coming back, however i cant think of one decent player that actually came back after that year.

It was important back then, for the league to come into line with the Gippsland Latrobe FL with U18's for the smaller clubs based around Warragul, however the outer-lying clubs that didnt have those pressures voted against it and therfore was never passed. In my opinion, the League should have done, on that issue, what it was put in power to do, and that is govern the comp and make a decision in the best interests of a smaller group of clubs with this issue.

So Piezy, when I was president, I mentioned this as being something that the club might think of doing in the very near future, approaching the Blues or others in town and striking up a relationship with them to encourage the kids to come to the club when they are done there. It certainly worked for Ellinbank. I also suggested that the club could do worse than approach Guss and ask him what he did with Ellinbank to get them going again.

As with most things I suggested that year, they fell on deaf ears as all they wanted to do was get Brad Sinclair back and they thought that would work a treat. Might still be worth a try. It wont bare fruit in the short-term, but most probably will in the long term.

It was voted on to change it Surkin, Lang Lang were not present at the AGM so didn't get to vote on it but it was changed in the Senior AGM anyway. The thought's from the local clubs was to try and get teams into our local Junior League but they make you field all 3 teams not just and under 10's team as a feeder team. I'm not sure on Langy's Junior position but for the teams close to Warragul with in 2 or 3 years it will be almost impossible to field all 3 teams. Dusties struggle and there in Warragul where as the Gulls who only have 16's and 18's have about 30 kids trying out and the one's that miss just don't play Drouin is in the same boat having about 36 under 16's trying out. I personally wouldn't mind our league just going to 16's and 18's and letting all the kids play in junior comps until 14's. The problem is trying to Align your club with a club in the Junior league's to feed the clubs. I'm the Darnum Junior President this season and the amount of hours people spend just trying to a couple of kids is amazing.

Well my friend the League had the chance to solve the problem but as usual the lack of committment from the top brass to push it through has stopped the u10's and 12's happening. this means kids will go elsewhere to learn to play and then once they out live the junior comp a large majority will be lost to football.

To think that the kids are going to resurface to a club where there is no connection is just plain dumb. This will now mean that more clubs will not have U13's and possibly U15's which makes it hard for other clubs to encoursage parents to bring their kids down and pay rego fees when they know that there will be 2, 3, or 4 forfeits plus one or two byes during the season.
In the end this will flow onto the senior age groups because no juniors are coming through. This will then mean that clubs need to find more money to buy in recruits.
I can't believe the clubs have let this happen.

What the hell is going on at these meetings.

Oh and now we have Bunyip not fielding an under 13 side but are fielding sides in WDJFL.

What happened to the league ruling that all clubs must field a side in all grades? (unless extreme circumstances prevail)

The rule is yout must field 2 of the 3. Plugger Ellinbank alligned themselves with Warranor Football Club but that has now turned to nothing for them. They use there ground and facilitys but might only get 15% of kids leaving top age because Warrgul have now got in there, Warragul also have Colts going there. We will be talking to Blues about what you had suggested as I suggested the same thing last year. We will laso be talking to Warragul and Drouin about the kids they have left over after they have selected there groups. Kneelo it's a shame that clubs are only willing to vote with the short term in mind for there own clubs but that will always happen. Gerard Bongiorno is now the Junior Exec and will be great I think on moving the Junior grades forward.

15% is better than Darnum are getting with no alignment at the moment.

So is Gerard doing a Junior Liason-type role? A position that would see him attend primary schools and conduct clinics, speak at assemblies and hand out club hats and other contra?

That particular role was the last thing we put in place in 2010 and the target would be a Steve Carey or someone like him and was a paid position. I think the money offered up was $20K for a 10-15hr effort each week from memory but after I left there was very little done to recruit someone of that ilk and Carol Hughes ended up doing it, if Im not mistaken.

If this is the type of role he will be performing then it should produce fruit eventually. If the club abandons it because it seems that it isnt working, then it would be a waste of time starting it.

It's very important to engage the community and I reckon Gerard would be a good one for that type of role.

It would be a good initiative, in my opinion. Also talking to Blues and arranging something would also be of huge benefit.

Kneelo, I agree with your sentiments.

Gerard is the LEAGUE Junior Executive. At Darnum he is the chairman of selectors with a assistant midfield coaching role. What ever was left in place when you left Plug has all turned to shit because after 2009/2010 the club had about 20 Junior kids leave mostly to Yarragon. The Junior club has no money to pay anyone anything we are all doing it for free and volunteering also paying out of our owns pockets for some of it. The Senior club also has stuff all money because we had no Juniors to prop up the club last year all the money they have has been pumped into doing the rest of the ground and trying to get competitive senior teams. If it wasn't for one bloke and i'm pretty sure you know who we wouldn't have a club at all. I've taken on this year the Junior Presidency and also 2's coach and I won't get paid or expect to get paid anything. I do it because I want the club to succeed like most people at every club do. Some people are just in it for the money but every club has them aswell.

Good work mate, hats off to you. I hope it all comes together.

Cheer's mate, how the cobra's looking this year? Haven't heard much from down that way this year.

Yes, well done on your committment to the club along with others who have as well.

Do I read right that normally the club pays people to coach Reserves. Do they also normally pay for helpers in the Juniors as well?

That seems to be a unique situation. I understand that there probably isn't a lot of folk at hand to ask and that's probably the reason for payments if any but seems pretty extreme and would surely put the club under even more financial pressure.

So is Gerard doing a Junior Liason-type role? A position that would see him attend primary schools and conduct clinics, speak at assemblies and hand out club hats and other contra?

That particular role was the last thing we put in place in 2010 and the target would be a Steve Carey or someone like him and was a paid position. I think the money offered up was $20K for a 10-15hr effort each week from memory but after I left there was very little done to recruit someone of that ilk and Carol Hughes ended up doing it, if Im not mistaken.

If this is the type of role he will be performing then it should produce fruit eventually. If the club abandons it because it seems that it isnt working, then it would be a waste of time starting it.

It's very important to engage the community and I reckon Gerard would be a good one for that type of role.

It would be a good initiative, in my opinion. Also talking to Blues and arranging something would also be of huge benefit.

Are you saying GB would get paid by the club or the league?

As capable as he might seem I wouldn't be paying anyone money unless there were KPI's in place. Maybe pay a small base payment and then bonuses occur depending on his performance or success rate. I.E. 15 kids come and stay he gets so much extra. 30 kids come and stay hegets paid even more extra.

Otherwise you would risk spending a hell of a lot for very little return.

Please don't take this the wrong way but just trying to share an idea that might help the club.
I did buy 2 tickets for the car a couple of years ago. so even tho I might be aligned to another club I don't mind helping out and others are the same as long as they see you guys are seen as trying to do the right thing as well.

Are you saying GB would get paid by the club or the league?

As capable as he might seem I wouldn't be paying anyone money unless there were KPI's in place. Maybe pay a small base payment and then bonuses occur depending on his performance or success rate. I.E. 15 kids come and stay he gets so much extra. 30 kids come and stay hegets paid even more extra.

Otherwise you would risk spending a hell of a lot for very little return.

Please don't take this the wrong way but just trying to share an idea that might help the club.
I did buy 2 tickets for the car a couple of years ago. so even tho I might be aligned to another club I don't mind helping out and others are the same as long as they see you guys are seen as trying to do the right thing as well.

I looked into in Kneelo and I think it was a typo by Plugger it was actually 2k which is reasonable. The people within the club have taken it upon themselves not to get paid except for the Senior coach and I think and am hoping the Secretaries. GB is not paid in anyway at our Footy club and i'm not sure if he is at League level.
We have an incentive this year again for our Juniors. We are buying a car that a 3rds player will win in a raffle at the end of the season to try and get some numbers back out there. Also all Junior players will have there shorts and socks provided for them at the start of the year thanks to a sponsor. No membership fee just the Insurance fee aswell.

I looked into in Kneelo and I think it was a typo by Plugger it was actually 2k which is reasonable. The people within the club have taken it upon themselves not to get paid except for the Senior coach and I think and am hoping the Secretaries. GB is not paid in anyway at our Footy club and i'm not sure if he is at League level.
We have an incentive this year again for our Juniors. We are buying a car that a 3rds player will win in a raffle at the end of the season to try and get some numbers back out there. Also all Junior players will have there shorts and socks provided for them at the start of the year thanks to a sponsor. No membership fee just the Insurance fee aswell.

Agree super effort to devout your time, junior football certainly is a big issue especially attracting juniors to a club which may have had little success The current gen all want to be winners without working for it
Has the new AFLVIC established a commission for Gippsland if so does anyone know who is on said commission

Another major concern is the money being offered to local senior players I’ve heard figs of $2,000 per game whilst attracting players like Neagle to local footy is great for supporters money offered to good ordinary players of $4-500 per game isn’t viable for any country club without a benefactor doesn’t matter how good you are at fund raising

From a distance the only way to survive is to have the EDFL become 2 divisions on strength not geography with a regulation/promotion system perhaps we could name the leagues the haves and the havenots