Moved Thread #1: Majak Daw -

Fortune favours the brave. I think a lot of clubs were put off because of the time and resource investment required. Seen a lot of clubs give kids the shiv after 1 or 2 years despite being development picks and having injury issues. What a waste of time and effort all around. A lot of clubs wont touch a 5 year prospect player.

We were brave with Daw, we are brave with Wallace. It is not just about giving these guys a go, the more people we try and develop, the more we learn and the more we perfect the ability to turn raw prospects into footballers. There was always a lot to gain even if neither player made it because looking forwards it is going to be non-irish foreign markets which will be a gold mine and if you can't develop raw talent you have no hope.
This.

The earlier Age article I posted clearly show Daw was not only known and a very real prospect. No one was prepared to pull the trigger in the main draft ( and there were a few clubs who did not even use their full complement of draft picks).

Even in 2010 rookie draft 8 blokes were chosen before him, of which only Barlow has achieved).

Once again the NM football department kicks a winner.

For those more serious about the issue of 'race' here is a letter i sent to The Age (not published) regarding an editorial they did on police racial profiling young men of african ethnicity in the western suburbs:

Dear editor

Your editorial regarding racial profiling (Wed 20th Feb) was on the money except for one crucial aspect, the use of the term 'race'. By using the term's 'racial minorities', 'race relations', 'men of other races' and 'regardless of our race' The Age is (albeit inadvertently) legitimising the myth that there is more than one race in the human species. The Age is a credible publication and by using these terms you lend weight to the idea that humanity can be split into different 'racial groups', thus racists seeking credence need look no further than you editorial. Language is a powerful force in shaping social norm's and defining culture, in future The Age could perhaps be a leader and drop the term 'race' altogether and use instead the terms 'ethnicity' and 'culture' both of which are far more accurate descriptors for defining differences amongst humanity. If The Age must use the term 'race' at all in future please use it in the following context there is only one 'race' that is the 'human race' and we are all members of it regardless of our ethnicity, culture, gender or politics.

Why did you post that? Were you looking for a pat on the back? Sorry mate but there's a pretty good reason why that poorly-written rant went unpublished.

Fair enough, I was genuinely interested in the reaction of others given the whole racism thing seems to have a bit of heat in it. You're not on The Age letters committee are you :(

Great article, I cast my mind back to when we first drafted Maj and some wise heads around here thought it would bring much to our great club. The Susdanse etc wouldn't give a shit.

I reckon this man is our greatest recruit since WC for oh so many reasons. We're getting sexy again!

Fair enough, I was genuinely interested in the reaction of others given the whole racism thing seems to have a bit of heat in it. You're not on The Age letters committee are you :(

Wasn't intending to insult you, it's just that your entire argument is predicated on the notion that 'race' is a derogatory word. I don't think I've ever seen it used in such a way.

The guy behind us kept yelling out "DAFFY" the other night when Majak went near it.

As in Daffy duck and Daffy being black. He explained that he saw him as "The Black Wayne Carey" for us.

Interested to hear where people sit on that, l knew where he was coming from but was unsure how others would take it.

(Personally not offended)

The guy behind us kept yelling out "DAFFY" the other night when Majak went near it.

As in Daffy duck and Daffy being black. He explained that he saw him as "The Black Wayne Carey" for us.

Interested to hear where people sit on that, l knew where he was coming from but was unsure how others would take it.

It doesn't bother me at all but it depends on how he says it i guess, if he says it to bag him then no, if he says it in a light hearted way then ok.

Agreement from me, who believes that the sooner we consider ourselves as part of 1 race(human) with many cultures the better off we will be.

However it opens a raft of other arguments about a heap of other topics.

For those more serious about the issue of 'race' here is a letter i sent to The Age (not published) regarding an editorial they did on police racial profiling young men of african ethnicity in the western suburbs:

Dear editor

Your editorial regarding racial profiling (Wed 20th Feb) was on the money except for one crucial aspect, the use of the term 'race'. By using the term's 'racial minorities', 'race relations', 'men of other races' and 'regardless of our race' The Age is (albeit inadvertently) legitimising the myth that there is more than one race in the human species. The Age is a credible publication and by using these terms you lend weight to the idea that humanity can be split into different 'racial groups', thus racists seeking credence need look no further than you editorial. Language is a powerful force in shaping social norm's and defining culture, in future The Age could perhaps be a leader and drop the term 'race' altogether and use instead the terms 'ethnicity' and 'culture' both of which are far more accurate descriptors for defining differences amongst humanity. If The Age must use the term 'race' at all in future please use it in the following context there is only one 'race' that is the 'human race' and we are all members of it regardless of our ethnicity, culture, gender or politics.

AFAIK, in this country, there is only one race, the Melbourne Cup :thumbsu:

I reckon that guy was stupid and should be wearing a white hood.

Personally I feel okay about this and think its fairly witty. However given the subjective nature of racism it's probably only okay if the person it's directed at is aware of it and is okay with it. Obviously it's difficult to personally ask for Majak's opinion on the matter and unfortunately, publicly announcing the name lends itself to criticism from the eternally offended. If I was Majak and was essentially being called the black Wayne Carey, I'd love it. But I'm not, and we live in an era where using an adjective can be deemed as derogatory, intentionally or not.

Non issue.

People that get bent out of shape by stuff like that have mental issues.

The racism thing is a bit redundant these days, just like the homophobic thing.

If someone wants to point out the fact that they are backwards then it's their issue.

We did to a slight extent, Daw trained with the Bulldogs for a period of time before the draft. But to a fuller extent, Daw was fair game and our pick came up first.

He trained with us aswell. We took the punt, they didn't. We didn't steal anyone.

Not redundant if you are a target. Zero tolerance on this, like the AFLPA's ##footy4idaho campaign, is about stopping the thoughtless and disrespectful talk that damages people and contributes to an environment where worse abuse still happens.

We can't ask Majak, but he retweeted this yesterday, so assume he agrees with it. Celebrate his background but talk to and about him as a player.

http://theconversation.com/afl-maja...sm-but-the-journey-is-far-from-complete-14169

Its not about you.

Wasn't intending to insult you, it's just that your entire argument is predicated on the notion that 'race' is a derogatory word. I don't think I've ever seen it used in such a way.

The other thing is it's not correct. Humanity is not a race. Humanity is a species. Just as there is no race of camels, there is no race of chimpanzees, there's no cat race, there's no horse race. Oh wait, there is a horse race.

Any person including race, colour or creed into a description of another person is a simpleton whose vocabulary is obviously limited.

I could think of dozens of descriptions for Maj without having to resort to any of the above.

To me he is an excitement machine that has worked his arse off to play for our team. The fact he has come from Sudan is something I acknowledge but really I couldn't give a damn as the only colour I see is the blue and white he wears and the fact he is OUR player.