Let's get creative with trades

Club would be stupid not to go after Giles from GWS. Young ruckman out of favor due to Mummy. Get him and we can stick Hampson in the VFL for next year before ******* him off

Where would Giles play? He'd be back up to Maric and wouldn't play in front of a fit TV/Griff.... That's the situation and Giles would quickly assess it.... He won't come to us unless TV isn't here....

Dea rarely panics these days. Very composed player.

In his last game at AFL level he panicked several times.... then he was dropped. I think it was against someone pretty average too, like Saints or Bris... Just blind snaps out of D50 because of the perceived rather than actual pressure he was under.... simply not good enough at this level. Might cut it in the VFL though. Dea doesn't yet feel like he is good enough.... when he does, the panic will go....

for me, there are a lot of players that are overpriced at the moment, and players that should be worth a second round pick are being overpriced - i call it the real estate issue. idiots who have money, over pay for a house, which drives up the 'value' of the property around them, even though they are worth half of that.
perfect example is Shaun hampson

in saying that, i am happy to trade out our 1st round and second rnd picks for the next 2 years to draft in QUALITY young players. certain clubs at the top end of the ladder have done this to complement other parts of their team - we have superb older players, but are still lacking in that 23-26 yo range.
if Hawthorn were willing to trade shiels for our first rounder, that would be amazing

Where would Giles play? He'd be back up to Maric and wouldn't play in front of a fit TV/Griff.... That's the situation and Giles would quickly assess it.... He won't come to us unless TV isn't here....
Knowing that Maric is only going to play half a season might convince him. He'd be at least seeing 10 starting games with us, plus if he can work on his forward ability, who knows, he might just take TV's spot...

Club would be stupid not to go after Giles from GWS. Young ruckman out of favor due to Mummy. Get him and we can stick Hampson in the VFL for next year before ******* him off

DOB 8/1/88
He's 26.
Ivan's 28.

He's a decent ruck I reckon but not suitable for us with Ivan.

I know we got Shane Edwards plus we rotate our mids as small forwards, but what do ppl reckon about trying to get a Eddie betts type small forward? I reckon tigers have lacked that creative quick small forward for a fair few years now. Just a thought....

Haven't read the entire thread but I would be floored if I wasn't sitting down re the following:

- McBean being mentioned in the same breath as Carlisle. McBean to date has done nothing, nudda, diddly squat, SFA at senior level. He is still very much a development player and nothing I have seen or heard tells me he will be anything but a development player in 2015. Carlisle is a gun KPB and now looks like he may even be a gun KPF thanks to Bomber's coaching. Please let's get some perspective around here. I think I read McBean and a 2nd rounder for Carlisle at one stage....c'mon guys love your enthusiasm but are you still pissed from the GF.
- Lennon is a spud. The kid is a first year player. I am amazed at some of you posters and your views on footy. I repeat...Lennon is a first year player. The first three years on a list are development years. Anything a club gets in those first three years is a bonus. Leave the kid be...can play and could be a ripper for us around HF. Think Tony Hall from the Hawks back in their glory years. He's the type of player he reminds me of.

in saying that, i am happy to trade out our 1st round and second rnd picks for the next 2 years to draft in QUALITY young players. certain clubs at the top end of the ladder have done this to complement other parts of their team - we have superb older players, but are still lacking in that 23-26 yo range.
if Hawthorn were willing to trade shiels for our first rounder, that would be amazing

Agree with that strategy 100%. They don't necessarily need to be 23-26yo though. There are a lot of kids in the system right now at clubs like GWS that we should be all over and we should without a moments hesitation look to give away our top picks to get them. Picking them up with 2-3 years of development for a high pick is worth it as long as it's the right kid.

There are two kids we should be all over and I am hoping we land the first one (even though I know the media are saying he is off the market. My mail is watch this space...go get him Choco / Tiges)

- Dylan Shiel
- Jono O'Rourke

I know we got Shane Edwards plus we rotate our mids as small forwards, but what do ppl reckon about trying to get a Eddie betts type small forward? I reckon tigers have lacked that creative quick small forward for a fair few years now. Just a thought....

Chris Knights will hopefully be back to full fitness in 2015. I rate him highly (very)...he can play. Problem is his body has let him down. Hoping his body finally gives him a break.

Probably were in his ear before Ryder came out and said he wants out. They need a ruckman/forward, which Vickery is. Now they have Ryder, they don't need Vickery.

Surely Vickery is better than Ryder, though.

Whoops, wrong universe........................................

Chris Knights will hopefully be back to full fitness in 2015. I rate him highly (very)...he can play. Problem is his body has let him down. Hoping his body finally gives him a break.

Yeah, he will probably break a leg in 2015. He's one more injury from retirement.... Putting faith in him is pointless. Plan for the future without him and if by some miracle he gets fit, then it's a bonus....

I just fail to see how hes going to offer us a lot. Infact I wasn't all that keen to recruit him the year we did. Was a great player early doors at Adelaide but injuries have killed him here and kids have gone past him :( Hope im wrong but I just cant see him being relevant for us

Chris Knights was showing a lot before he got injured. Had he not been injured last year, he would have played close to 45 games for the club now. He would have allowed Lids to miss game time this year, instead of playing injured, and with the injury to King, we wouldnt have been so exposed at the beginning of the year in the forward line
To say that Knights brought nothing is harsh.
Yes he is unlikely to get back to his best, but if he can get a good preseason under his belt, will be a very important player in the forward half next year, and i wouldnt be surprised to see him kick 20-25 goals next year.
He would give more time to Lennon, McDonough etc, to develop further in the VFL and really hone their craft without the pressure of senior football

Never going to happen, Knights is cooked
Tony Free , Mark Coughlan , Nathan Brown , Chris Knights

Never going to happen, Knights is cooked
Tony Free , Mark Coughlan , Nathan Brown , Chris Knights

Jesus Christ Gun listing these players out has just led to me shedding a tear at work. What a cracking list of players that have been cruelled by injury.

I just fail to see how hes going to offer us a lot. Infact I wasn't all that keen to recruit him the year we did. Was a great player early doors at Adelaide but injuries have killed him here and kids have gone past him :( Hope im wrong but I just cant see him being relevant for us

Yep. People relying or hoping on Chris Knights to come good are kidding themselves.

He's been on our list for 2 years and managed 5 games. Story of his career.

Chris Knights could have really been a good pick up and its a reminder how cruel the game can be to some blokes. To have that bloke that could just convert a goal when you have the momentum is something that we have been screaming for alot this year. Remember early game against Collingwood when we grabbed the momentum from them but had no crumbers and no composure to put a score on that could bring us into the game. Those type of forwards are invaluable and Chris could have been that for us.

Looks like we wont be doing anything in trade week does it? Available players all seem tied to a club already and ones who arent dont hold any interest.

Chris Knights could have really been a good pick up and its a reminder how cruel the game can be to some blokes. To have that bloke that could just convert a goal when you have the momentum is something that we have been screaming for alot this year. Remember early game against Collingwood when we grabbed the momentum from them but had no crumbers and no composure to put a score on that could bring us into the game. Those type of forwards are invaluable and Chris could have been that for us.

Looks like we wont be doing anything in trade week does it? Available players all seem tied to a club already and ones who arent dont hold any interest.

Not the worst thing in the world. This is supposed to be a pretty strong draft (at least, compared the the past few years), so I don't mind going at it, and if we do lose a player or two, then I wouldn't mind upgrading a few of our picks.

100% - we are desperately crying out for a small crumbing pressure forward - Betts, Ballantyne Wingard type specialist whereby the opposition crap themselves when the ball is in the F50
Jake was great at that role, but we haven't had a replacement for some time - our best preiously were both Chris Naish & Nick Daffy

small crumbing pressure forwards don't have to cost the earth - 2-3rd rounder (eg Lewis Taylor or even Poppy are both good recent examplse)

Jesus Christ Gun listing these players out has just led to me shedding a tear at work. What a cracking list of players that have been cruelled by injury.
Coughlan still hurts me the most. God damn he could play.

Said this earlier but Dylan Shiel is still very much a watch this space. Not over yet regardless of what is running in the media that he is staying at GWS. I prefer that we stay under the radar and just go about quietly getting him. There is a very strong link back into the Tiges with Dylan and that is being played. I don't care which pick we give away for him but we need to go hard to get him.

I like this news

I know ill prob get shot down for this but I reckon going after a jeff garlett wouldn't b such a bad idea.
Would have to b on the cheap if it were to eventuate. Sadley I think Knights is done, hope I'm wrong but wouldn't be shocked if he wasn't there come 2016.

didn't knights come back about round 18 in the reserves , i thought he got through the game okay , does anyone have any feedback on how he went for the few matches after that in the reserves, ( just hoping he can make it back)