BOOO-ing Goodes

That's absolute bullshit. That was when a lot of the furore started this year.
Turn it up mate hawks are a protected species compared to us .
We will be dragged over the coals for exactly the same thing clubs have been doing all year !

Nowhere near as much as Goodes has this year.

The people who do it are just sheep. Yeah, you may think he's a flog. So why is no one booing Mitchell, who has spent this year injuring players with cowardly knees? Or Hodge, who has a record of doing the same?

If you boo Goodes, you're just outing yourself as an idiot.

Because Crowley hasn't been named AOTY

That is when the booing really started - people see a bloke who acts like a complete flog get an AOTY.

If Ballantyne got one - he'd be booed as well

Just imagine if Tony Abbott played football...

I'm not saying if you boo him you are a racist or are booing him for the colour of his skin. I'm simply saying there are certainly people who are boo-ing him in part for that reason and I wouldn't want to be associated with them.

By the way, Mother Teresa was a terrible human being who I would wholeheartedly support booing.

Freedom of Speech means that I defend the rights of the racist to say what he wants to say while disagreeing with what he says. This guilty by association crap you're pedalling doesn't fly. If 95% of the booers booed him because he's a bit of princess and gets unfair compenastion from the flog umps and 5% booed him because of the colour of his skin, how would you tell who was who?! Does that mean that the 95% are wrong to boo given the 5%'s motives?! The fact of the matter is there are several reasons firmly related to the way he conducts himself on the field that would lead to him being booed. Sure, it's not front page news, but it's a sexier story to paint all WCE fans as racist.

Obviously it is a complex issue without a clear set of guidelines but you can't seriously compare those two situations and expect it to be a strong argument. If Cold Chisel were playing a set at a racist rally would you rock up and listen or think to yourself that maybe you don't want to associate yourself with them?

You can't compare it with that either. People weren't rocking up at a racist rally yesterday, they went to a footy game.

I think a big issue here is what percentage of the boos have to be racially motivated before the people who are boo-ing for non-racially motivated reasons are willing to give up their right to boo Goodes for being a 'flog'. I would argue that threshold has already well and truly been passed however others will disagree. There is no clear cut answer. I would think that however we should err on the side of caution for an issue as significant as this.

The crowd booed goodes because he's a flog? Hope you'd expect opposition crowds to do the same to JD.

I was somewhate bewildered by the crowd's constant reaction. It's not like he stabbed the club in the back, called one of our players a drug cheat, punched Coxy/Staker in the face, committed several dog acts behind play, or openly admitted to using performance enhancing drugs.

Jordan Lewis is a bit of a twat. Is he going to get booed constantly next home game?

This x 1000.

This is where the whole "we just boo Goodes because he is a flog" argument falls down. The booing of Goodes yesterday seemed to be on par with the booing of Vickery whenever he went near the ball after that cheap shot on Coxy last year. So, you have a case of a guy who you have never met, was made AOTY, dedicates a lot of his free time to help advance the position of aborigines etc versus a guy who has deliberately king hit a living legend. That's why, to me, the level of venom directed towards Goodes seems disproportionate to the perceived "crime", relative to our treatment of other "flogs". Or, to look at it from another way, look at each of the Eagles home games in recent memory and look at the opposition team members. You could put together a "who's who" list of bonafide flogs more deserving of boos.

If people want to channel their baser instincts and boo an aboriginal player, boo the guy that has kept silent his entire career and never once had the fortitude to speak out.

That is when the booing really started - people see a bloke who acts like a complete flog get an AOTY.

You've been on this AOTY angle for a while now. Did Goodes beat your Uncle to the prize or something? Goodes didn't nominate himself, there have been sporting winners in the past, what is the issue here?

Cannot believe the club has thrown the supporters under the bus, that's pathetic

The club's statement said it's a competition wide issue and all clubs should act to stamp it out. Hardly throwing their supporters under the bus

Genuinely bewildered by why Goodes getting AOTY is a reason for being boo-ed. People realise he won the award for his tireless off-field efforts in aboriginal welfare right? Surely that would be a reason to not be booed?

You've been on this AOTY angle for a while now. Did Goodes beat your Uncle to the prize or something? Goodes didn't nominate himself, there have been sporting winners in the past, what is the issue here?

Because people ask what started the booing - it seems most logical it came after his AOTY

It didn't start in the games following the young girl calling him an ape.

It isn't an angle - it is an assumption based on timelines.

I didn't boo the guy - but I dislike him and as such couldn't give a rats toss bag that he is booed.

I like that people were both reported and ejected for racist taunts. Equally - labelling everyone a racist who boos him is just ridiculous.

The club's statement said it's a competition wide issue and all clubs should act to stamp it out. Hardly throwing their supporters under the bus

"We want our fans to support our team, but there are some boundaries that need to be observed. We cannot and will not condone racist behaviour."

less of a throw and more of a Sparta kick

Cannot believe the club has thrown the supporters under the bus, that's pathetic

Don't take it to heart mate. Our club did the same when we got into the flog. They have to look like they are doing the politically correct thing. He is a flog full stop. Has nothing to do with Race.

Can't wait for the game in 2 weeks. You blokes are travelling great under Simmo, this will be a cracker!

I cannot believe how far this has escalated. Unfortunately it had to become 'apparent' when we played them.
Our club has done the knee-jerk reaction to hold the fans accountable. Which is fair enough. It's the easiest and least controversial thing to do.
I really think that they should get Adam Goodes to read social media comments; that it's not because of what he stands for; or who he is; it's about the type of person/player he has become. He's human. We all are. Regardless of race or colour we're all the same.

Anyways, it'll be interesting what develops over the next couple of days.
Let's hope everyone gets over this nonsense and just stick to playing footy.

This is nonsense.

Good to see WestCoast get away with showing they are doing something without having to do anything or look in to it any further to see if it's race related anyway.

*wipeshandsclean

Fair enough. I thought you had an issue with him winning the award as I know quite a few people did at the time.

I have an issue with the divisiveness of his comments. I have a huge issue with the bigot that awarded it to him that perhaps chose Goodes out of some political reasoning rather than merit. If Goodes genuinely got the AOTY on merit - then that basically says he is the very elite people in indigenous healing/reconciliation/promotion/gap closing in the country. If not - then he got it for profile and political benefit.

As an example - Fiona Wood got one and I don't think it could be argued there was a more influential surgeon in the country. Rosie Batty got one and little could be argued there is a more engaging, inclusive spokeswoman on domestic violence

I fail to believe that Goodes was the most deserving AOTY - followed that up with his comments which divided Australians - personally I don't think much of the bloke.