Western Region FL - Divy 1 2018

Just a question. Has the newly formed Newport Power FC had an affect on surrounding clubs like Spotswood. I know Newport are in div3 but they appear to have good junior numbers and their new senior team appears to be going well in the first year. Surely it will have some affect in coming years.

Got Altona next week. Hopefully they have a 'beat Deer Park' hangover and W/Vale can get 2 wins in a row

Sent from my SM-G925I using Tapatalk

Got Altona next week. Hopefully they have a 'beat Deer Park' hangover and W/Vale can get 2 wins in a row

Sent from my SM-G925I using Tapatalk
Speaking of Altona V DP - anyone see the nasty incident in U19 game between these 2 sides yesterday. Ive heard a couple of peoples versions and not looking good for DP

What happened?

This is the version Ive heard but needs confirmation Bit of a melee started which got a bit out of hand near DP box. DP bench plus coach ran onto field and got involved. Apparently DP coach threw punches, seemed like game was to be called off but eventually continued. At end of game DP coach tried to verbally / physically attack umpires.

Which isn't surprising He thinks he is a law unto himself Hope the league does whats right and he gets his right whack

The guy is a knuckle dragger. The league needs to act and so do Deer Park if they are fair dinkum as a club. The guy carries on every week and something needs to be done.

Fev 4 goals in 2 weeks , whats the go there ?
Struggling with adjusting to comp , poor delivery ?
Strange to see his numbers down so low

Fev 4 goals in 2 weeks , whats the go there ?
Struggling with adjusting to comp , poor delivery ?
Strange to see his numbers down so low

smaller grounds perhaps for the big fellas and more conjested that the O&M comp; Probably hard to get up each week for some of these games even though the Deer Park have not clicked yet.
Perhaps not the open close season everyone thought it would be with many chances and Hoppers looking strong cause DP dont appear to have much depth and calling on some mature stars to get them back on track

smaller grounds perhaps for the big fellas and more conjested that the O&M comp; Probably hard to get up each week for some of these games even though the Deer Park have not clicked yet.
Perhaps not the open close season everyone thought it would be with many chances and Hoppers looking strong cause DP dont appear to have much depth and calling on some mature stars to get them back on track
Cant use the small ground excuse at Grant reserve. Biggest ground in the league

This is the version Ive heard but needs confirmation Bit of a melee started which got a bit out of hand near DP box. DP bench plus coach ran onto field and got involved. Apparently DP coach threw punches, seemed like game was to be called off but eventually continued. At end of game DP coach tried to verbally / physically attack umpires.

Your source is wrong...Was at the game on the 50 arch, probably closest to incident and no DP bench involved. Melee was in front of DP bench and no staff interfered. Only non player I saw in the middle was Altona runner though I don't believe he directly man handled any players...

Interesting StormRider as my source was also at the game..........I guess we'll have to see what plays out but in my experience where there's smoke there's fire
I can't help but think you were there as a DP supporter / member though. Just a hunch

Interesting reading on the WRFL media. Great they are trying to fix the division bye and competitiveness but they are looking to trial an entry fee to games. Are they seroius!!! What about grounds not fenced and this will see crowds get lower.

Complete joke. Its hard enough to get people to games and now that want to try and sting them a few $$? Money is the major problem in local footy and the WRFL's response is to charge supporters so the clubs have more to spend? If I wanted to pay money to watch a lower standard of football than the AFL I would go to the VFL which is clearly a semi professional comp. I think that the WRFL has forgotten what it actually is....COMMUNITY FOOTBALL!!

Ballarat and Riddell District charge admission/ parking.
The revenue should be going to the home clubs though and not the league

Ballarat and Riddell District charge admission/ parking.
The revenue should be going to the home clubs though and not the league

It does go to the clubs mate. The club mans the gate/entrance. I guess the country is different as clubs have a bigger area however why watch WRFL if you have to pay $10 when you can drive 15 mins up to the EDFL..

Charging at the gate would absolutely kill this comp. The WRFL is on the verge of a really healthy period. Get 10 teams in div 1, and then improve on the evenness across the comp, good attendance, good standard with exciting ex-AFL/VFL types and the league can look to matching it with the EDFL/NFL etc.

The league has so many issues they need to worry about, but they choose to look for an easy revenue stream? Yes, it will inject some cash into clubs. But if the money is not spent wisely we will still see the same issues seen at Parkside/WeFo.

Why doesn't the league invest there time and efforts into getting Div 1 10 teams, without a bye, creating more sponsorship opportunities, supporting struggling clubs juniors with more clinics in the area to draw interest, working with council and improving club facilities/lighting.

It does go to the clubs mate. The club mans the gate/entrance. I guess the country is different as clubs have a bigger area however why watch WRFL if you have to pay $10 when you can drive 15 mins up to the EDFL..

That's one factor. Not as much to do in many country towns either so most people catch up at the footy.