• Thread starter Thread starter 1981

Has this been Carlton's most 'nothing' pre-season ever? At least as long as I can recall. I am talking about media coverage.

Probably down to two reasons ...

1. The media and footy pundits expect us to finish low down the ladder, so why talk about us?
2. We have had few if any off field player indiscretions, which is a good thing.

Probably more hype over Darcy than anything else.

Do we think Bolton's babies will get the media talking at some point?

Only if we win 3 of the first 4 or so will they actually talk about us with any focus .

If we win some games early they'll only be talking about us as a side note .eg. If we beat the Tigers it will be 20% about how we played etc and 80% of how shit the Tigers are, will Dim survive etc.

The only other reason they'll talk about us is if we start getting pole axed by a 100 points.

I don't necessarily mind the "out of sight, out of mind" approach taken this preseason. In particular the large number of closed training sessions. All this does not help prevent the low media profile.

However, two concerns for mine,
1. It contradicts the inclusive message they keep preaching. You live this mantra, not just talk about it! Closed training sessions don't promote this
2. You'd expect all this secrecy would occur due to some revolutionary game plan or approach being worked on. What I've seen in the JLT games thus far is a fumbling, poorly skilled mess to be honest...

Anyways, onwards and upwards I suppose

Meh, don't agree with most of the crap spoken about by so-called experts anyway, if they aren't talking about us it means they aren't making shit up.

Has this been Carlton's most 'nothing' pre-season ever? At least as long as I can recall. I am talking about media coverage.

Probably down to two reasons ...

1. The media and footy pundits expect us to finish low down the ladder, so why talk about us?
2. We have had few if any off field player indiscretions, which is a good thing.

Probably more hype over Darcy than anything else.

Do we think Bolton's babies will get the media talking at some point?
Darcy?

I don't know if you're counting pre season as the draft and trade period? If so, then it was more eventful than the year under Malthouse where we traded for no one. There was a bit of a focus on Marchbank and SPS. But otherwise, I certainly agree.

The club seems to have learned from past mistakes. The pressure in the Malthouse period when we spent the summer building hype only to lose the first four games (every year, without fail :mad::mad::mad:) was suffocating and encouraged bad press and bad decisions. We're going to be shit, best to hold off on 'they know we're coming' until we can actually back it up.

I don't know if you're counting pre season as the draft and trade period? If so, then it was more eventful than the year under Malthouse where we traded for no one. There was a bit of a focus on Marchbank and SPS. But otherwise, I certainly agree.

Good pt. I suppose I was thinking more since the trade/draft period. That stuff sort of seems tied to the season that has past, sort of, if you know what I mean.

After that it is the summer slog and then pre-season games, and my point is in the lead up to the 2017 nobody seems to give a rats about us.

Kind of exposes the Aussie football media for what they are, that is LAZY.
No indiscretions or injuries or anything that gives them an easy excuse to write something, where the main story is already front and centre and all they have to do is write about the basic facts.
Forces them to actually have to be creative and think of something to write, which clearly they're incapable of doing.
They could write an article about our latent potential, about how we have a lot of first round picks aged under 24, or about the quality kids coming back off long term injuries like Pickett, Sumner (2016), Smedts etc, something like that, but NO, CFC are for the too hard basket.
Write a small article about captain Murphy who is coming back from injury, and about Cripps' injury.
LAZY LAZY LAZY

Last year was a big deal. New coach, new assistant coaches, new list manager, new culture etc and we outperformed expectations.

This year, there's less to talk about. A second year of a rebui......reset is not that exciting.

We will be out of the news until there is a narrative; surging up the ladder, competing for finals, nabbing big name FAs, sitting slumped at the bottom of the ladder, player indiscretions, whatever.

That's fine by me. I'd rather read about Carlton (and footy in general) on here than from most of the lazy, sensationalist and/or sycophantic footy media.

Why would they talk about us?

We are the epitome of irrelevant to neutrals this season. We are no threat to finals therefore no threat to upsetting anyone's season. If I was a neutral I couldn't think of a less interesting than Carlton/Brisbane. Almost every other team has a shot at making finals.

I think the Club is mindful, too, of managing the messaging.

There's no point selling membership slogans given our current form. There's no point beating the drums and promising this, that and the other when in all likelihood we'll have another lean year.

Don't promise the world then give your fans an atlas. Go about it softly and try to cash in, like we did last year, on any positive elements to season if and when they arise.

The Club has been wise in not going out and saturating the media landscape with grandiose statements we've little hope of delivering on. It's also revealed a staggering lack of imagination on the media's behalf, of we had any doubt they were capable of something better or more insightful than criticism.

It has been a quiet pre season. However, I'd take this approach everytime over the "good ole" days when the club would spruik about how many time trial records Callum Chambers was breaking and what an athlete Asaike Ohailpin was...

Terrible pre-season; thank God for the AFLW! I know everyone says it's only pre-season, but it must affect membership and sponsorship. If pre-season is reflected in the real season then I reckon that I might just consider hanging out in a cave somewhere in the far-flung reaches of Mongolia.

Maybe we are giving the AFLW team some room to shine while they have a limited time in the spotlight.

No need to feed/distract the media trolls when they should be celebrating the birth of a new era in football.

I think the Club is mindful, too, of managing the messaging.

There's no point selling membership slogans given our current form. There's no point beating the drums and promising this, that and the other when in all likelihood we'll have another lean year.

Don't promise the world then give your fans an atlas. Go about it softly and try to cash in, like we did last year, on any positive elements to season if and when they arise.

The Club has been wise in not going out and saturating the media landscape with grandiose statements we've little hope of delivering on. It's also revealed a staggering lack of imagination on the media's behalf, of we had any doubt they were capable of something better or more insightful than criticism.

Hey man I'd love an Atlas

Maybe we are giving the AFLW team some room to shine while they have a limited time in the spotlight.

No need to feed/distract the media trolls when they should be celebrating the birth of a new era in football.
no need to give room to something that already has it