Roast How did Hardwick get it so wrong?

• Thread starter Thread starter AlorraVex

Laugh.
Heart was in the right place but the incumbents were all over the issues.

Brian and his FoF mates were not required. Gave us some good pics though. That dude with the hairstyle!
I'm bald and I'd stay that way if that was the only other option.

Cry. Was one of my favourites. :(

I was out walking the dog at the time. And i just remember thinking please stop Brian. Please. Stop.

Sent from my iPad using righteous man power

It just seems to make sense to celebrate something once there is a something to celebrate.

No probs with that.
I'm not celebrating though, just jumping in when credit starts to get handed out by others to the wrong people.

And to be clear, if you haven't followed my posting, I'm a glass half full guy. It's about the journey for me and this year has been a wild ride. Loved it and thrilled the boys have given themselves a shot.

I'll get over excited, probably prematurely, but shit mate, some clown could fire a rocket somewhere in the world next week and we're all rooted. Enjoy it while you can.

I can still remember Brian Wood ringing up SEN and the train wreck that ensued. I didn't know whether to laugh or cry.

That killed me.
My absolute boyhood hero was made to look like a campaigner by those muppets.

15 wins in 2013, 15 wins in 2015 yet at no stage have we looked an accomplished top 4 team.We have not won a final and we have capitulated in too many big pressure games to count.
TOP 4 2017 IN A YEAR WHERE MOST SIDES COULD PROBABLY HAVE MADE FINALS.

To date under Hardwick this club has not achieved one thing on field.
What happens if we go out in straight sets and then misss finals the following year.
This scenario is just as likely as us winning a flag this yr.

What makes the yr so intriguing is not the fact that some clubs have forged ahead of the pack, that just has not happened but its the the furfer compacting of the competiton into more eveness where just one bad break one injury or one small drop off means the difference between top 4 and also ran.
Where one new way of doing things means an advantage.You ride that advantage until you are caught up then what.

Imo and i stated at the start of the yr we were somewhere around 7th thru 14th regardless of a possible top 4 finish i still think that is where we are at that that is the range that quite easily we could have missed the 8 altogether if things had gone poorly. We have had a dream run and who knows maybe the gods are smiling on us and we jag a flag somehow but i for one have no doubt that as far as list and structure goes there is nothing sustainable there.

You could probably say a similar thing about 14 16 other teams

In a lot of ways im praying like mad we manage to win one because i think we will be waiting awhile with the list we have.
It won't be of conern to you anyway you're pulling the pin aren't you?
I think I read that somewhere.
For me I'm just enjoying what's happening now and what happens later happens. It's out of my hands.

That killed me.
My absolute boyhood hero was made to look like a campaigner by those muppets.

Brian did it too himself. He was the dickhead who rang in.

Sent from my iPhone using Righteous Man Power.

Brian did it too himself. He was the dickhead who rang in.

Sent from my iPhone using Righteous Man Power.
He was out of his element. The whole thing was shit.
Most embarrassing thing I've seen at Richmond.

15 wins in 2013, 15 wins in 2015 yet at no stage have we looked an accomplished top 4 team.We have not won a final and we have capitulated in too many big pressure games to count.
Yeah like those 9 in a row at the end of 2014 to make finals, Hawthorn in 2015, port and GWS this year
I don't see how this is a bad thing
Didn't take us from a rabble in 2009 to being competition? Regardless of anything, you have to credit him for that
What happens if we go out in straight sets and then misss finals the following year.
Then DH will not be coach in 2019. Do you suggest sacking him now for that?
What makes the yr so intriguing is not the fact that some clubs have forged ahead of the pack, that just has not happened but its the the furfer compacting of the competiton into more eveness where just one bad break one injury or one small drop off means the difference between top 4 and also ran.
Where one new way of doing things means an advantage.You ride that advantage until you are caught up then what.
Good point, we've been very consistent this year to put ourselves in this position
Imo and i stated at the start of the yr we were somewhere around 7th thru 14th regardless of a possible top 4 finish i still think that is where we are at that that is the range that quite easily we could have missed the 8 altogether if things had gone poorly.
You have watched us play this year right? We're better than last year for a reason. We aren't just doing the same thing and getting carried by dumb luck.
We have had a dream run and who knows maybe the gods are smiling on us and we jag a flag somehow but i for one have no doubt that as far as list and structure goes there is nothing sustainable there.

In a lot of ways im praying like mad we manage to win one because i think we will be waiting awhile with the list we have.
Our structure is based on pressure and hard running. It's worked for the entire history of footy, so I think it's pretty sustainable. Most of our best 22 are not even in their prime yet. Our one main list deficiency is the lack of a second tall forward, but we are managing without it and we are positioned very well in this draft with some good currency to make a play at a tall who fits our age demographic. The most you can do is give yourselves a chance, and we've given ourselves a bloody good one. Enjoy it, don't seek the negatives

The assistants were dimwits and the playing list had too many who felt they were entitled , none more so than Vickery who had plenty of supporters in here over the journey including late last year.
Removing the shit was always going to see a massive improvement and some suggested the same , including within the challengers threads that were on here.

possible as they mentioned him,but my point being Balme changed the club the minute he walked into the place.Do you think Caracella would be there if Balme wasn't appointed?
caracella was already committed to come on board before Balme joined. Balme was very happy with this when he arrived. You seem to have nfi

Really ? Get your facts right and provide evidence big mouth with all the bs. Considering Balme joined on around the 12/09/16 and they were into him weeks earlier( according to legend) . Caracella was announced two weeks later .
Unless you have other facts then I suggest you tuck your abusive behaviour up your arse bc you appear to have nfi.
Also if you had any wit about you or even read on, it was obvious I was having a play with people. Nobody on here has the real facts to these events and the reality is like you they basically have nfi .

http://m.richmondfc.com.au/news/2016-09-26/caracella-joins-tigers

Most embarrassing things I've seen at Richmond are Walls Patterson Casino and O'Neill.

I'm not a real big fan of O'Neill, however, you can't question where the club is right now. I would rather this (no debt, finals) than 2008. She must of done something right with Benny.

Really ? Get your facts right and provide evidence big mouth with all the bs. Considering Balme joined on around the 12/09/16 and they were into him weeks earlier( according to legend) . Caracella was announced two weeks later .
Unless you have other facts then I suggest you tuck your abusive behaviour up your arse bc you appear to have nfi.
Also if you had any wit about you or even read on, it was obvious I was having a play with people. Nobody on here has the real facts to these events and the reality is like you they basically have nfi .

http://m.richmondfc.com.au/news/2016-09-26/caracella-joins-tigers

Don't know what you're after TI. I heard it directly from Neil re Blake. Also reinforced today by Caroline's article in The Age.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...chmond-got-back-on-track-20170811-gxuo0m.html

Haere Ra

Don't know what you're after TI. I heard it directly from Neil re Blake. Also reinforced today by Caroline's article in The Age.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...chmond-got-back-on-track-20170811-gxuo0m.html

Haere Ra
Thanks Kiwi. As the article suggests it was in motion which means incomplete as he was still waiting for the cats. Considering Balme was signed on two weeks earlier I reckon this would have been an influential moment. Not doubting that we were not , but amazing that we need to go to an article today that is hazily stating this.
There's been a lot of articles been typed out of late that contradict
things and an example was Rucci's article on FOF triggering the coming of Balme. I think you picked me up on this so really the article you popped up is another dose of this . Unless dates and hard facts are mentioned it's considered hearsay and speculation.
Again I think we're all happier and better for these events to have taken place.

I'm not a real big fan of O'Neill, however, you can't question where the club is right now. I would rather this (no debt, finals) than 2008. She must of done something right with Benny.
Kept her mouth shut was the best thing and left it up to the specialists. What evidence do you have that she's done good?
I have 15 years or so of evidence that suggests otherwise.

Thanks Kiwi. As the article suggests it was in motion which means incomplete as he was still waiting for the cats. Considering Balme was signed on two weeks earlier I reckon this would have been an influential moment. Not doubting that we were not , but amazing that we need to go to an article today that is hazily stating this.
There's been a lot of articles been typed out of late that contradict
things and an example was Rucci's article on FOF triggering the coming of Balme. I think you picked me up on this so really the article you popped up is another dose of this . Unless dates and hard facts are mentioned it's considered hearsay and speculation.
Again I think we're all happier and better for these events to have taken place.

Rucci's article said nothing contradictory. He said FoF had a good idea.
Was just that the Club had said idea before them.

Neil has said himself that FoF had nothing to do with him coming to Punt Rd. And he also said that Blake's appointment was in train when he arrived.

Just trying to work out what you're aggrieved about?

Haere Ra

Rucci's article said nothing contradictory. He said FoF had a good idea.
Was just that the Club had said idea before them.

Neil has said himself that FoF had nothing to do with him coming to Punt Rd. And he also said that Blake's appointment was in train when he arrived.

Just trying to work out what you're aggrieved about?

Haere Ra
Aggrieved about nothing. lol Kiwi playing the psychologist. Rucci's article sent out the wrong message and was suggesting by its title they were catylsts behind it .sorry to disappoint you clubs chase poeople all the time, but lots of moves don't come off as there is normally a deal clincher at the last hour that swings the pendulum. Remember the Treloar deal?
Again unless all the facts are placed on the table we know nothing about Caracella's signing except that he signed up around two weeks after Balme. I was pissed off mainly with the attitude of the poster that was abusive towards me with no facts to his argument.

No probs with that.
I'm not celebrating though, just jumping in when credit starts to get handed out by others to the wrong people.

And to be clear, if you haven't followed my posting, I'm a glass half full guy. It's about the journey for me and this year has been a wild ride. Loved it and thrilled the boys have given themselves a shot.

I'll get over excited, probably prematurely, but shit mate, some clown could fire a rocket somewhere in the world next week and we're all rooted. Enjoy it while you can.
I'm not saying that as of now Richmond's position on the ladder is not more appealing than this time last year. Clearly it is. But let's not start warming our hands up and forming an orderly circle until the something (not Dan Richardson levels of something but by a normal level of assesment) has actually happened.

lets start

Imo and i stated at the start of the yr we were somewhere around 7th thru 14th regardless of a possible top 4 finish i still think that is where we are at that that is the range that quite easily we could have missed the 8 altogether if things had gone poorly. We have had a dream run and who knows maybe the gods are smiling on us and we jag a flag somehow but i for one have no doubt that as far as list and structure goes there is nothing sustainable there.

Seriously mate, who pissed on your weet-bix? Cheer up mate we're in the top 4 FFS

Kept her mouth shut was the best thing and left it up to the specialists. What evidence do you have that she's done good?
I have 15 years or so of evidence that suggests otherwise.

I think it's the overall package of the club. Strong player retention, 0 debt, record membership, stand alone ressies team, finals campaigns. The club is unrecognisable from 8 years ago.
There's an old adage in management. You should always leave the place better than when you recieved it. If Peggy left tomorrow, i think you would have to acknowledge that fact.

I think it's the overall package of the club. Strong player retention, 0 debt, record membership, stand alone ressies team, finals campaigns. The club is unrecognisable from 8 years ago.
There's an old adage in management. You should always leave the place better than when you recieved it. If Peggy left tomorrow, i think you would have to acknowledge that fact.

Agree with the philosophy, but not Peggy as she wouldn't be there imo if she went up for election last year.
Didn't Gold and Black win the 77 Cup?

Agree with the philosophy, but not Peggy as she wouldn't be there imo if she went up for election last year.
Didn't Gold and Black win the 77 Cup?

I think she's been around the club long enough to get some credit with Benny G.
But that's ok you and I disagree on this as we agree on other matters.

I think she's been around the club long enough to get some credit with Benny G.
But that's ok you and I disagree on this as we agree on other matters.

Agree, but until this year on field has never resembled like winning a final let alone a flag. The article raised by Kiwi only show the amount of incompetence that was running amok under Peggy and Benny, but at least Benny as stated by Caro did something about it.The real names behind our success are in this article:

IMPORTANT FACTS FROM ARTICLE

the football review commissioned by Gale to find that the data-driven Hardwick:eek: had moved too far from his players.

helm of a leadership group pared back and revitalised at the behest of Neil Balme and the club's new leadership consultant Shane McCurry

Balme's loyalty to Nathan Buckley:p was proving a stumbling block. Either way, when Balme arrived at Richmond having been pushed aside at Collingwood for the second time

Balme replaced Richardson as head of football, with the latter overseeing football talent

Ultimately the view that Riewoldt was going to be a leader whether he existed inside or outside the inner sanctum prevailed.

the return to the club of recently sacked Brisbane Lions coach Justin Leppitsch

The fact that Hardwick:$ had made no real changes to his team the previous year despite a two-year contract extension was identified by a number of recent past and present players as misguided loyalty

Richmond's transformed ball movement through the centre, which has been overseen by Caracella not to mention the competition-leading form of Dustin Martin along with Cotchin

Richardson:$ and recruiting boss Blair Hartley:$ were chastised for a sleepy trade period and there was even internal pressure. It was probably a response to missing Adam Treloar:( at the end of 2015 which led to Richmond recruiting Chris Yarran, a decision that haunted the Tigers last season.

Gale responded swiftly and aggressively to the board challenges — ironically the embarrassing short-lived "Focus on Footy" pushed for Neil Balme's recruitment, which eventuated shortly afterwards — and held meetings with insurgents while refusing to entertain their tactics

That pragmatic style has been Balme's gift to Richmond