Coaching Staff Coaching Staff Changes - 2018

• Thread starter Thread starter grimlock

When we roll out the exact same gameplan in 2018 it will show just how little influence the assistants have
I mean, given how much it changed during this season i think that comment says as much about a laymans view of footy mediated through the television as it does about the tactics and strategy of the team implements.

On CPH1607 using BigFooty.com mobile app

There might not be any senior assistants next season. The senior assistant role was originally created to accommodate Longmire, then re-created for Dew. Two very obvious reasons why. The obvious candidate is Kirk who's already coached in the JLT, but time will tell, Swans could be in for another coach.

Swans are going into 2018 with a talented, albeit inexperienced coaching team.

2018:
Johnson 1st year
Cox 5th year
Kirk 6th year
Shaw 3rd year
Taubert 154th year
Lockett 2nd year
Longmire 23rd century

There might not be any senior assistants next season. The senior assistant role was originally created to accommodate Longmire, then re-created for Dew. Two very obvious reasons why. The obvious candidate is Kirk who's already coached in the JLT, but time will tell, Swans could be in for another coach.

Swans are going into 2018 with a talented, albeit inexperienced coaching team.

2018:
Johnson 1st year
Cox 5th year
Kirk 6th year
Shaw 3rd year
Taubert 154th year
Lockett 2nd year
Longmire 23rd century
I really like the mix amongst or coaches now, both in experience and playing style.
Kirk definitely wasn't the most talented footballer to lace on a boot, but by sheer hard work and determination, managed to extract every ounce of talent from himself and earn the respect of everyone connected to the game. The big Cox came off the rookie list to become one of, if not the most respected ruckmen of the past twenty years. Shaw had to earn the respect of his team mates and by pulling his head in and putting in the hard yards certainly managed to and finally Johnson, fresh off the playing field after being one of the best small forwards in the game, a pain in the arse but with the ability to do things around goal that not a lot of others could do.
There isn't a player on our list (except maybe Buddy) that won't have some form of connection with the history of our coaching panel and I think that can only be a good thing and augurs well for the future.

Not the most experienced lineup. But I wonder now with the AFL accreditation courses whether that is slightly less important than in the past.

I wonder if these guys have done them. It was reported that Dew had.

Noooooo. Taubs is a gun. Why change it if it's working fine?

Look at what he got out of Pykey, Sinkers (a natural forward not a ruckman), Tippett (also a bloody FF when he arrived) and even Deano (A ruckman?! Ya what!?)... Taubs shouldn't be moved on unless he wants to go IMO.

Cox isn't coming as ruck Coach. He is coming as an Assistant. He hasn't been purely a Ruck Coach for 4 years.

I think you'll find I was responding to getting rid of Taubs as opposed to getting the big Cox.

Specifically BloodySwan who said: "Taubert has done fantastic work at the Swans but after 19 yrs it might be time for a change"

Wonder what sort of coach horse wants to be...does he have aspirations of becoming a sheedy/malthouse and coach as long as someone is willing to pay him or does he want to be a roos type where it is a relatively short career

I like the outside guys coming in.

Let's see how they interpret the kick it to Buddy plan and enunciate it differently.

Kick the ball slightly infront of buddy,

Kick the ball slightly behind buddy.

Kick the ball slightly above buddy.

Kick the ball slightly below buddy.

If none of those work.

Reid to Defence.

Steve Taubert have retired
You may remember him from coaching such ruckmen as Jason Ball, Darren Jolly, Mike Pyke and Shane Mumford.

(also James Meiklejohn, Ricky Mott, Earl Shaw, Andrew Ericksen, Jake Orreal and Patrick Mitchell)

Does Cox become ruck coach now? Or do we have to bring in someone else?

You may remember him from coaching such ruckmen as Jason Ball, Darren Jolly, Mike Pyke and Shane Mumford.

(also James Meiklejohn, Ricky Mott, Earl Shaw, Andrew Ericksen, Jake Orreal and Patrick Mitchell)

Does Cox become ruck coach now? Or do we have to bring in someone else?
I actually rated Mott. If only he had quit smoking

Steve Taubert has retired
What an outstanding person at the Swans he has been. I wish him nothing but the best in his retirement.
Have heard nothing but praise when his name is mentioned.
Not only a brilliant ruck coach, but an outstanding man.

Steve Taubert has retired
Shit. He gave the SA supporters a pregame speech a few years ago & reckon he's a ripper coach. Shame we'll be losing him but also thankful for his significant contribution to the club.

Thanks & good luck Taubs!!

Imagine if he got that gimmie goal against the injectors. Eade may still have been coach for a little longer delaying Roos.[/QUO
That was a massive night and next day at the Bellvue in Paddo and guess who walked in ,no other than Rocket. It was also the same day that Plugger made his comeback at Windy Hill.