List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Discussion (cont in Pt 2)

I watched giantroos highlights video of H Clark again. FMD the campaigner is taking the absolute piss. The way he scoops the footy up off the deck, pirouettes around wannabes, busts through tackles & kicks on his non-preferred with ease is a pleasure to watch. Really want the bloke if we miss out on Cerra.

He's got superstar traits and proper swagger. I love the way he plays and he's an absolute fig jam flog with his kicking on his left when the opposition is shit, I'd love a bit of an ego at the club. We have too many nice guys. You gotta have at least one peacock.

We have a lot of back flankers but not a lot of leg speed. Webster probably the quickest of the bunch but he’s more suited to a lock down role & doesn’t venture too far outside of defensive 50. Coffield is definitely something we lack & need imo. Ran a 2.91 over 20 at the combine. campaigners lightning

Savage is deceptively quick.

I just think he is more than just inside.
Second half of the year proved more than just a hbf
In hunters own words:
“I enjoy playing across half back,” Clark says.

“You get to see the play unfold ahead of you. In the role I play, I try to set things up with my kicking or with my hands and then provide run.

“But I enjoy going through the midfield a bit more. You can get your hands dirty with all of that crash and bash stuff.”

His coach:
The Stingrays were the first to move Clark behind the ball to a role across half back, but he stayed there throughout the National Championships and impressed with his run and carry.

“We chucked him behind the ball because he reads it so well and his skills on both sides are so much more advanced on everyone else,” Wheeler says.

“That’s why we played him there. But when he came back and played midfield, he showed that’s where he needs to play at the next level.”

Like I said he started off on the half back flank at the champs but the attention he has gained has been from playing in the inside mid role. Where he's seen as a bash crash type player that also has the silky disposal, which tbh is overstated
We need an inside bull too.

We’ve also got 4 picks, are they all going to be outside mids?

We do? How many more do we need?

Armo
Ross
Dunstan
Steele
Stevens

Our side is very grunty lots of bash crash types

We need class

My issue with Clark is I don't think his game will translate well to AFL. He doesn't have the tank to play outside. We don't need another HBF and he's not as equipped as others to play inside. We have enough of the inside types anyways

In hunters own words:

“You get to see the play unfold ahead of you. In the role I play, I try to set things up with my kicking or with my hands and then provide run.

“But I enjoy going through the midfield a bit more. You can get your hands dirty with all of that crash and bash stuff.”

His coach:
The Stingrays were the first to move Clark behind the ball to a role across half back, but he stayed there throughout the National Championships and impressed with his run and carry.

“We chucked him behind the ball because he reads it so well and his skills on both sides are so much more advanced on everyone else,” Wheeler says.

“That’s why we played him there. But when he came back and played midfield, he showed that’s where he needs to play at the next level.”

Like I said he started off on the half back flank at the champs but the attention he has gained has been from playing in the inside mid role. Where he's seen as a bash crash type player that also has the silky disposal, which tbh is overstated

Armo
Ross
Dunstan
Steele
Stevens

We need class

My issue with Clark is I don't think his game will translate well to AFL. He doesn't have the tank to play outside. We don't need another HBF and he's not as equipped as others to play inside. We have enough of the inside types anyways

Go re watch the All stars game where he does a run from the backline and has about three touches in a passage of play where he brings the ball inside 50 to set up a goal. He runs at least 150 meters gut running with out any trouble. It wasn't even early in the game. His tank looks fine. Brayshaw was good in the first quarter then ran out of legs.

In hunters own words:

His coach:

Armo
Ross
Dunstan
Steele
Stevens

We need class

You write a compelling argument .I just love the bloke the way he goes about it .Having said this I keep coming back to aposters comment a couple of weeks ago.It just keeps sitting in my head .It went something along the lines that the best judge of who is the best in a team is the peers at the school .
On every Bonar highlights the crowd are all yelling Bonar Bonar when he is just about to get the ball .
So looked into it and asked around several sources .
Now Haileybury had pretty talented team this year. Six most likely willbe drafted along with Battle and next year will have some brothers that go well too.
Have a guess who they all talk about .Bonar.
However Bonar was not a prefect ,which says leadership and being up the front of the room is not his go .Which is fine .
Anyway just some digging I did some might find interesting reading .

In hunters own words:

His coach:

Armo
Ross
Dunstan
Steele
Stevens

We need class

Outside of Steele none of those guys can get the pill in close & break away.

Ross is more of a Dal like distributor.

Armo has a year or two left.

Koby is depth.

How many outsiders are we drafting?

Go re watch the All stars game where he does a run from the backline and has about three touches in a passage of play where he brings the ball inside 50 to set up a goal. He runs at least 150 meters gut running with out any trouble. It wasn't even early in the game. His tank looks fine. Brayshaw was good in the first quarter then ran out of legs.
Brayshaw know your daughter or something mate haha

No just don't want him or Coffield because I don't think they are what we want. He's a good young man and seems a Trout type of solid B inside mid. I'm pretty sure if Trout could have a team of 22 of that type he would.

I want some guys with X factor. We need game breakers not more solid citizenry.

Nope. We had 24

Savage & 18 (Dunstan) for McEvoy

Pick 19 (Acres) for pick 24 (Hartung) & Pick 59 (Ceglar)
Ceglar was a rookie upgrade, along with Langford he was 'taken' with the Hawks last picks in the draft whatever it was because that was the upgrade rule at the time. They (picks 24, 38 & 56) and we (picks 3, 18 and 19) didn't need or use a pick that late but it was included to get the AFL to tick off what was basically an extension of the Big Ben trade.

No just don't want him or Coffield because I don't think they are what we want. He's a good young man and seems a Trout type of solid B inside mid. I'm pretty sure if Trout could have a team of 22 of that type he would.

I want some guys with X factor. We need game breakers not more solid citizenry.
No more of this b grade solid citizen Richo yes men.

triggering bro

And the back half of season as a mid.

How many kids are played out of their best position in rep sides?

isnt that what i originally said? he played the champs as a HBF then transitioned into an inside mid?

just going off the reports that his tank is an issue, which you wont necessarily see exposed at U18 level. petracca you couldnt notice his lack of tank when he played against his peers, but it was there in testing. how did clark test?