News Lindsay Thomas - Eastern Park Senior Coach

• Thread starter Thread starter RossFC

Few concerns about Lindsay. Apparently has struggled through pre-season. Working through soreness with hamstring and lower back. Has been on a modified training program since being rookie listed. I am not expecting much from Lindsay.

Must be the water as the soreness usually starts around the 5 minute mark of the second quarter.

I feel like ducking is a legitimate technique for evading a tackle. The rule just has to be clear and policed properly, if you are ducking to evade a tackle and there is head high contact it’s play on.
The forward line ducking presents another level of calamity. Players often stop when someone drives their head into arms etc and the crowd reaction puts unnecessary pressure on the umpires. Brad Scott isn't solely to blame for a decade of close losses.

I feel like ducking is a legitimate technique for evading a tackle. The rule just has to be clear and policed properly, if you are ducking to evade a tackle and there is head high contact it’s play on.

That's already the official interpretation of the high contact rule, it's just nigh on impossible for umpires to actually adjudicate in real time.

Mate, I have been hit harder by fairy dust thrown by a baby from a pram. It is just a 'South American' thing I guess. Doesn't fly in this country.
Watch the 2004 Grand Final again and in particular the moment Akkermanis turned Brisbane’s momentum by putting his hands in Hardwick face. Hardwick exhausting every ounce of force out of that...

You see... There is no debate around the facts, but we definitely see the play differently. I always found this kind of disagreement fascinating!

Fact 1: The guy kicked the ball at Rivaldo.
That's "violent conduct," which is punished with straight red card.

Fact 2: Rivaldo pretended the hit was harder and in a different place than it actually was.
That's "simulation," which is punished with a yellow card.

It is all in the book: http://www.fifa.com/mm/Document/Foo...0/11/67/Lawsofthegame2017-2018-EN_Neutral.pdf

"simulation:" p.101
"violent conduct:" p.103
In AFL if you kick a ball into someone after a free kick is given it's a 50m penalty because you are supposed to hand the ball back properly.

I hate bad dives being rewarded as much as any other guy. Good dives are those that make a play that could be called either way to look like is definitely a foul. A skilled player can do that, and it is really important to have those guys in the squad. They can be the difference between winning and losing a close game.

Not being judgemental but this statement reflects a big difference in our sporting cultures.

Not really. Find me a Geelong supporter that is critical of Selwood or a West Coast supporter that was disgusted at Shuey having the last kick against us.

o_O

No sorry that is completely different. When you are being tackled in a grapple situation it is instinctual to lower your centre of gravity to the ground to give yourself the best chance to break it by putting the tackler in an awkward position (with his centre of gravity being above yours). This gets played out every game at every level and has done for years. Obviously this also has the additional benefit of making it more difficult for your tackling opponent to achieve a tackle within the bounds of the rules. So whilst Selwood and Shuey certainly push the boundaries, I see their traits as at least being "organic" or reasonably natural part of footy in the heat of the contest.

That is no comparison to outright theatre and cheating as in those soccer gifs.

In the past it's been very easy to dislike Thomas as his antics were on the theatrical side and on field persona was one to raise the hackles of opposition fans. You'd frequently see the starfish come out in marking contests, accentuating fairly standard incidental contact off the ball, downrtight selfish acts in front of goal etc. Plus it didn't help he was involved in some pretty unsavoury efforts like taking out Rohan's legs from under him and the odd late swinging arm high on a disposing opponent.

In any case that is in the past and rather than the antics it's now his form that I am very sceptical of. He's been downright awful for the past two seasons with him looking far from AFL standard when getting a game for North and playing undisciplined and ineffectual footy in the VFL. He's a natural and quick thinking crumber - which is a current skillset deficiency in our squad, but currently I am very unconvinced that he can still perform at the level required. Anyhow he's a Port man now so will be hoping for the best and supporting him through the SANFL, but I do think the game has passed him by. In the past he has fed off being the guy who plays with a chip on his shoulder out to ruffle feathers on the park, so maybe I am underestimating his drive to succeed...

Mate, I have been hit harder by fairy dust thrown by a baby from a pram. It is just a 'South American' thing I guess. Doesn't fly in this country.

If it was a hard or a soft hit, that is irrelevant. Spitting is a red card offense, for instance. But, yes, I think we are weighting the facts differently due cultural differences - which fascinate me.

o_O

No sorry that is completely different. When you are being tackled in a grapple situation it is instinctual to lower your centre of gravity to the ground to give yourself the best chance to break it by putting the tackler in an awkward position (with his centre of gravity being above yours). This gets played out every game at every level and has done for years. Obviously this also has the additional benefit of making it more difficult for your tackling opponent to achieve a tackle within the bounds of the rules. So whilst Selwood and Shuey certainly push the boundaries, I see their traits as at least being "organic" or reasonably natural part of footy in the heat of the contest.

In the past it's been very easy to dislike Thomas as his antics were on the theatrical side and on field persona was one to raise the hackles of opposition fans. You'd frequently see the starfish come out in marking contests, accentuating fairly standard incidental contact off the ball, downrtight selfish acts in front of goal etc. Plus it didn't help he was involved in some pretty unsavoury efforts like taking out Rohan's legs from under him and the odd late swinging arm high on a disposing opponent.

In any case that is in the past and rather than the antics it's now his form that I am very sceptical of. He's been downright awful for the past two seasons with him looking far from AFL standard when getting a game for North and playing undisciplined and ineffectual footy in the VFL. He's a natural and quick thinking crumber - which is a current skillset deficiency in our squad, but currently I am very unconvinced that he can still perform at the level required. Anyhow he's a Port man now so will be hoping for the best and supporting him through the SANFL, but I do think the game has passed him by. In the past he has fed off being the guy who plays with a chip on his shoulder out to ruffle feathers on the park, so maybe I am underestimating his drive to succeed...

"That is no comparison to outright theatre and cheating as in those soccer gifs."

Just to be clear, I have said those were bad examples.

I'm mindblown that anyone could think there's a significant difference between ducking and diving.
I found this amusing ... You are easily mind-blown!

Ducking and diving are not the same actions but are the same result. It's really quite irrelevant distinguishing them.
??? That's like saying cheese and bread are the same because both get eaten.

Funny how we all see things differently.

o_O

I completely disagree. There is nothing natural or organic about deliberately trying to draw a head high tackle. It is not in the spirit of the game at all and everybody that isnt a Geelong supporter hates it when Selwood is constantly rewarded for it. If it was instinctual, as you put it, then we'd see players across the competition doing the same thing, but we dont. You also have to differentiate between a player trying to shrug off a tackle and a player dropping their knees and drawing the tackler's arm over their shoulder at the first sign of being caught.

I wasn't comparing the dropping of the knees ala Selwood to the antics of soccer players abroad, however theyre both trying to achieve the same result. The reason Selwood is rewarded constantly is because hes mastered the art of making the action of being taken high look genuine.

For such an embellishment? He exaggerated it, but the aggression actually happened. He should have gotten an yellow card, and that would be all.

Totally. His actions got an innocent player sent off at a critical juncture in the game.
Thanks all for the extensive chat about ducking Vs diving:thumbsu:

Has anyone got any updates about how Lindsay's pre season is tracking etc

I believe it's Red Bull.

How’s he going? Haven’t really seen any reports of how he is tracking for you guys? Obviously a fair way down the pecking order

Played JLT1, was very quiet. Dropped for JLT2.

Apparently played very well for the Magpies in a trial match against the Crows reserves last night.

Will get games at some point but needs to play his way into the team.

Too smart for the SANFL. Was very good yesterday arvo in the trial. I reckon if he gets into the A grade side after mid season he will stay in there for the rest of the season IMO.

How’s he going? Haven’t really seen any reports of how he is tracking for you guys? Obviously a fair way down the pecking order
Kicked a few vs Woodville and kicked 4 vs Crows reserves. I'd say he was in the best 1 or 2 in both games. He's knocking on the door.