Portfolio WAFL 2019 - Welcome to the West

hey sorry if this is a stupid question to ask on this thread but i wanna get into making footy jumpers as it is something I'm really keen on is microsoft paint the best program to start on
Paint is great at teaching the basics and there are a lot of templates you can use. Once you start grasping the basics Photoshop CS6 is a bit more advanced but it will make your designs look incredibly professional. I had some exp on photoshop before I got on BigFooty so I personally used CS6 but yeah just go with whatever you're comfortable with first.

thanks a heap dude

All good mate. Not sure if I've seen your face around here too much but either way just wanted to say welcome to the board. It's always good to see someone get into making designs, everyone here had to start at one point. Just take your time at developing your skills and you're designs will improve accordingly ;)

If only WAFL clubs had pokie-money.

...for the sake of narrative, let’s say a clause in Crowns takeover of the Burswood Entertainment Complex involves a certain percentage of earnings going into the WAFC and subsequently, the WAFL clubs.

;)

I still wanna know how that filthy cabal at the WAFC manage to exist in this timeline. The scurvy dogs!
emoticon__pirate_by_phrawr.gif

I must admit, looking at this from a historical perspective, I still can't see my Perth Demons existing in the league; unless relocation and name changes come to the fore. Really looking forward to how this turns out. If you need any info on the culture of the clubs as they once were, send us a PM if you like.

All good mate. Not sure if I've seen your face around here too much but either way just wanted to say welcome to the board. It's always good to see someone get into making designs, everyone here had to start at one point. Just take your time at developing your skills and you're designs will improve accordingly ;)
yeah I'm pretty new hahah i never had an account but i was loved looking at the threads but just recently i made an account

View attachment 501415

WAFL 2019

What if the VFL never became the national competition?
What if the Eagles and the Dockers never existed?
What if thousands of local fans week in, week out packed out their local suburban footy ovals?

The year is 2019. The WAFL is the hottest ticket in town, with twelve teams competing in the league. Following the finals, the best local-born players represent their state at the annual State of Origin competition, which will be held in WA in 2019 - at the brand new Optus Stadium in Burswood, which is also now the home of the WAFL Grand Final. The WAFC is the controlling body of the competition, and this is the year the club has decided to enter their image into the 21st century - new league logo, new club logos and new apparel supplier, Puma, for the upcoming season.

In this portfolio, I'll be presenting a logo and guernsey set for each of the twelve WAFL clubs, as well as looking into the recent backstory of each club.

Welcome to the West.

Your skills are ****en unbelievable. Any chance you could make me lot hot?

Don't butcher South Fremantle like everyone in these portfolios does, with some generic rebrand or move away. Why would one of the most economically strong clubs, with a good ground and cheap lease there, with probably the most supporters in the comp risk anything with a rebrand? Always irked me.

i'll do what I want.

He'll probably make them wear pink and call them the South Coast Eagles now. :D

But, seriously though, you'd lose the derby, a staple of this strong traditional WAFL, so I doubt that'd be the case; especially with so much room for other southern expansion clubs down there from Kwinana to Peel.

Besides, two clubs in Freo is hardly overdoing it, especially with the support-bases both clubs have. They could both have been a suburban VFL club in the 70s and 80s

Tempted to make them rebrand in my 1983 portfolio, them and Sydney are just far too similar as it is.

He'll probably make them wear pink and call them the South Coast Eagles now. :D

But, seriously though, you'd lose the derby, a staple of this strong traditional WAFL, so I doubt that'd be the case; especially with so much room for other southern expansion clubs down there from Kwinana to Peel.

Besides, two clubs in Freo is hardly overdoing it, especially with the support-bases both clubs have. They could both have been a suburban VFL club in the 70s and 80s

The pink eagles thing has already been done with my FIRA team. ;)

My point more so is that it's a fantasy portfolio. I'll take all the creative liberties I'd like to because it's my work. It would be absolutely f**king boring to go and just drop existing guernsey designs and call it a day.

Nothing is stopping anyone from doing their own portfolio and following their own creative vision. It's frustrating when people who have no inclination to go and design things themselves try and tell me how I need to design things.

(Not a shot at you tho.)

My point more so is that it's a fantasy portfolio. I'll take all the creative liberties I'd like to because it's my work. It would be absolutely f**king boring to go and just drop existing guernsey designs and call it a day.
Me and my 1983 portfolio:
tenor.gif

Tbf though I'm gonna flesh out some serious changes once 1983 is done.

28578211138_128e368ef6_o.png

CLAREMONT TIGERS

The Tigers, playing out of an upgraded Claremont Showgrounds, boast a line-up featuring players such as Jesse Hogan, Tom Mitchell and the McGovern brothers (Jeremy and Mitch). In the last decade, the club has ditched their navy blue base and moved to using a royal blue base instead, as well as straightening the sash and removing it from the reverse of the guernsey. There was talk of the club merging with the Subiaco Lions in the past few seasons to build a "super club", however with enough empassioned members from both clubs against the move - Claremont remain a standalone club, with their last premiership having been won in 2012.

You wouldn't get the Lions and Tigers to merge, they would argue over which church to go to on Sundays!

May I ask, why there's no hoop socks on the heritage? Is that to fit with the others?

It honestly wasn't a detail I considered... I might quickly change that.

Navy is so much better for Claremont. Wack how they use a Carlton monogram and then a Richmond membership tagline and both on each jumper as a mix... despite their own monogram being really unique and decent. Also why are they at the Showgrounds despite being at Claremont Oval most of the time and the new redeveloped ground?

Because it's a fantasy portfolio with my own twist on the current state of the WAFL and none of this matters anyway because it's simply a design portfolio and doesn't reflect the reality of the actual competition.

Because I personally prefer the royal blue, which the club uses in their logo anyway so it's simply a step forward on that, and for those who wanted to still see the club in it's "true" form, that's why I've added the heritage guernseys. As for why are their at the Showgrounds? In this alternate timeline (don't forget, this is set in an alternate timeline), the club decided to redevelop the Showgrounds main arena with extra stands, and use the Claremont Oval as a training facility and administrative centre. But why did I go with the Showgrounds? Because personally, I'm a sucker for the idea of a club using the Showgrounds as a WAFL venue again.

As I said earlier in this thread, I don't really give a shit if people want to see their club's image "preserved" or "left alone" (this was mostly directed at you Silent Alarm) - this is a portfolio where I want to reimagine the clubs and how they would be today. If you wanna see WAFL guernseys left alone, go look at Mero's wonderful WAFL jumper collection of Footyjumpers.com, or better yet, just go watch the WAFL.

Because it's a fantasy portfolio with my own twist on the current state of the WAFL and none of this matters anyway because it's simply a design portfolio and doesn't reflect the reality of the actual competition.

Because I personally prefer the royal blue, which the club uses in their logo anyway so it's simply a step forward on that, and for those who wanted to still see the club in it's "true" form, that's why I've added the heritage guernseys. As for why are their at the Showgrounds? In this alternate timeline (don't forget, this is set in an alternate timeline), the club decided to redevelop the Showgrounds main arena with extra stands, and use the Claremont Oval as a training facility and administrative centre. But why did I go with the Showgrounds? Because personally, I'm a sucker for the idea of a club using the Showgrounds as a WAFL venue again.

As I said earlier in this thread, I don't really give a shit if people want to see their club's image "preserved" or "left alone" (this was mostly directed at you Silent Alarm) - this is a portfolio where I want to reimagine the clubs and how they would be today. If you wanna see WAFL guernseys left alone, go look at Mero's wonderful WAFL jumper collection of Footyjumpers.com, or better yet, just go watch the WAFL.
Wasn't having a go, was asking a question as a person who cares for the WAFLs history and wishes it was still a prominent comp.

Yeah nah tho. You're almost always taking some sort of dig at how I'm treating this WAFL folio, that it's not being done how you would do it, or that I need to do it someway that you see fit. Third or fourth time now on this folio alone. If you wanna go see a WAFL folio done from the perspective of someone "who cares for the WAFLs history", go make your own folio - no one is stopping you.

Portfolio WAFL 2019 - Welcome to the West