• Corey Ellis

Votes: 7 4.0%

MISSION IMPOSSIBLE

I finally after exhaustive investigations have discovered why we can't win interstate. It would appear that due to us being impossible to defeat interstate clubs have pooled their resources and hired Ethan Hunt and his team. I know this because after a lucky discovery of a half burnt laptop which didnt self destruct in 5 seconds i managed to extract the following data:

1. A system of pulleys under the goalposts were installed at all interstate grounds so that their position could be changed via remote control making kicking for goal almost impossible.

2. The umpires were to be face cloned and imposters take their place and make decisions in favour of the opposition to alter the course of the game (since my original investigation I now have further evidence to suggest that most other clubs have now managed to source the team for this exact same mission).

3. Sticky finger paste was to be replaced with silicon paste so that the Richmond players couldn't hold , mark or pick up the ball. Their boots were to be polished with the same material to ensure the ball would slew off in various directions other than where it was intended to go.

4. Richmond players were to be drugged and newly developed colour switching contact lenses applied to their retinas so that the playing strip of the opposition appeared the same colour as their own so they would willingly provide opposition players with possession at seemingly critical stages of the game.

At least now all Tigers supporters can rest easy with the knowledge that these interstate results were an abomination and totally out of our players control.

Castagna has some credits I would say. The tail was too long tonight. You do need to give players like Bolton, Moore and CEllis game time to improve (or give trade currency) but clearly there were too many passengers against a decent side finding form. Replace one or two of those with one or two of Butler (when ready), KMac, Lloyd or Miles and we are instantly more consistent.

We buggered up a few stoppages last night and didn’t have anyone contesting but we won the centre clearances, which is a big improvement. Rioli and Prestia are firing and we played their narrow ground pretty well, I reckon Houli did a couple of good overlap runs and five tackles that’s a pretty good comeback game.
We only led by a few points for about ten min, so to lose by what we did on their ground without Broad, Butler, Conca or Graham it’s not a poor loss but was pretty disappointed with Caddy, I thought a better game from him and we win.
For all those who talk up CEllis’s foot skills he had three kicks and one fo em was pretty disappointing ...he laid equal high five tackles but you can only tackle when you haven’t got the ball, I haven’t seen any offensive playmaking from him that is a trade off for his lack of pace.
I thought Castagna was really good.

Has much been duscussed about our slow starts of late? Our goal kicking was bad last night but once again we let a team kick away early.

It feels like at a minimum we have been 2 goals down early. Last night was even worse as we pretty much gave them a 4 goal head start.

Reckon we are limping towards the Finals...
Have been every Team's GF this year...reckon they all think they are a chance against us because they all think we fluked a GF and are not really that good...
Every game this year has had GF intensity...
It's taken a physical toll on our players so far...
The last game against the crows was a grind...
Our mids have taken a physical pounding...
Cotch is playing sore...
Dusty playing with some sort of a mystery injury and lacks that super involvement...
Conca injured...Graham is injured...throw in Butts and Houli...
Our lauded depth is a piece of crock if all we can do is keep bringing in both CEllis/Bolton...who offer what...promise?!? when we need performance!
FD need a rocket for repeating the PA game fiasco...it's horses for courses now in a long grinding season...
The time to play the untested CEllis/Boltons was against the weaker sides...not against good sides when we needed to win!
Experienced hard bodies needed to be played to help lift the physical load off our main group/stars...
Nope instead we picked inexperienced kids that failed us the last time that they were both picked..
From here on in and with our injuries reckon this side will need gaffer tape...chewing gum and bailing wire to hold it all together to make it to GF day...

Totally agree everyweek were somebody's grand final.That was my concern if we get injuries how will we cope.We lost 3 players in one match and we need those players asap.Tend to agree and disagree with picking experienced players over kids.Kmac and Towner haven't shown enough in vfl can't reward poor form no matter what. Miles played one game and was injured yesterday.

I agree it's horses for courses.Soldo should have come in played a few games as he did last season and did well especially against the eagles,power etc taller teams.

In saying that I think there's been a overaction bigtime for a 2 pt loss playing crap how we did.Sooner or later we were going to have a stinker.Time to reset and move on.

Also im one of those who thought Graham needed some time in the 2s to get some leather poisoning but after last night I realised his 10 tackles a game is what we missed. Gee I hope his injury doesnt take longer than 4 weeks.

If we are to go back to back we need him in guts ASAP.

Totally agree everyweek were somebody's grand final.That was my concern if we get injuries how will we cope.We lost 3 players in one match and we need those players asap.Tend to agree and disagree with picking experienced players over kids.Kmac and Towner haven't shown enough in vfl can't reward poor form no matter what. Miles played one game and was injured yesterday.

I agree it's horses for courses.Soldo should have come in played a few games as he did last season and did well especially against the eagles,power etc taller teams.

In saying that I think there's been a overaction bigtime for a 2 pt loss playing crap how we did.Sooner or later we were going to have a stinker.Time to reset and move on.
Soldo needs to play 2 games before the end of the year. Give Nank a break.
Next week is a good a game as the Saints ruck stocks arent World Beaters.
Rest Nank against Saint then again against Gold Coast.

Soldo needs to play 2 games before the end of the year. Give Nank a break.
Next week is a good a game as the Saints ruck stocks arent World Beaters.
Rest Nank against Saint then again against Gold Coast.

Exactly mate.If Moore is not helping in the ruck it's pointless playing him need someone to pinch hit there not a midfielder.

I wouldnt play Nank at all for those 2 games let him sit at home with his feet up. Especially the flight to Gold Coast.
Play both Soldo and Moore. Let Soldo ruck 100% and let Moore develop a little bit more. If anything in one of those games play Soldo with either Balta or CCJ.
If top2 is sown up with 2 rounds to go I would 100% play one of Balta or CCJ for the last 2 games. You just never know what we may uncover.

Reckon we are limping towards the Finals...
Have been every Team's GF this year...reckon they all think they are a chance against us because they all think we fluked a GF and are not really that good...
Every game this year has had GF intensity...
It's taken a physical toll on our players so far...
The last game against the crows was a grind...
Our mids have taken a physical pounding...
Cotch is playing sore...
Dusty playing with some sort of a mystery injury and lacks that super involvement...
Conca injured...Graham is injured...throw in Butts and Houli...
Our lauded depth is a piece of crock if all we can do is keep bringing in both CEllis/Bolton...who offer what...promise?!? when we need performance!
FD need a rocket for repeating the PA game fiasco...it's horses for courses now in a long grinding season...
The time to play the untested CEllis/Boltons was against the weaker sides...not against good sides when we needed to win!
Experienced hard bodies needed to be played to help lift the physical load off our main group/stars...
Nope instead we picked inexperienced kids that failed us the last time that they were both picked..
From here on in and with our injuries reckon this side will need gaffer tape...chewing gum and bailing wire to hold it all together to make it to GF day...
I don’t agree with everything you say I do think you’re right about when we pick the kids. It does always seem to be before a big game interstate against good oppo’s.
Makes it hard for them to get in rythym. Maybe the thinking is to expose them to the best level they will face so they know what they need to work on?
But you need to relax, we lost by 2 points with the terrible conversion we had plus a couple on the full and we’re still top. It ain’t the end of the world.
Get Broad, Butler and Graham back after a few weeks rest, tighten up the screws and rip into finals again. I think the season has gone as good as possible really.
It always amazes me how people can jump off after one loss, especially such a close on WE let slip.
Good teams have beaten us at their homes so they will be a bit over confident like the Crows last year. Let’s see how they go at the home of footy when it really matters.

a champion but cant stand him commentating our games

its painful
I love it. Beats having to listen to him sucking our **** all game which would be cringeworthy.

Also im one of those who thought Graham needed some time in the 2s to get some leather poisoning but after last night I realised his 10 tackles a game is what we missed. Gee I hope his injury doesnt take longer than 4 weeks.

If we are to go back to back we need him in guts ASAP.
This is what frustrates me, not every player needs to or should get 30 touches a game. As much as good players find the ball there is still a lot of luck involved with the bounce of the ball and what not.
If everyone in the team plays their roll then ‘stats’ don’t really matter. A player’s worth should be defined by his blocks, smothers, bumps, tackles, chases and general pressure just as much as how many times he touches the footy because it allows others in better positions to affect the game. Some people don’t realise how much one player affects those around him, more so to this team than any other I believe

Very irritating game to watch. Apart from disappointing performances from our VFL promoted players who, you'd think, would be flat out trying to cement their place in the side, we had uncharacteristic displays of poor execution and decision making by some of our stars. With the greatest respect to them, some of the pieces of play by Jack Riewoldt, Dusty and even Floss, who looked a bit rusty, were truly odd. While I can also understand that George deserves credit for being where the ball is and manically harassing every opponent in sight, he's not helping the cause by continually giving the ball back to the opposition with every point he kicks. Ironically, as this game was played on Bastille Day, I'm nominating C Ellis, S Bolton and C Moore for a trip to the guillotine.

Bolton is just a deer in the headlights everytime he gets his chance

He went through a stage last season where he looked dynamite, the Swans game for one, but he seems all at sea trying to play our style.