Player Watch #26 Riley Collier-Dawkins

• Thread starter Thread starter Michaels

Vlas - yep. He was supposed to be that inside monster. Not too good at that. But in the backline what a star!!! Sometimes close to Rance level.

Corey was always to me that skilled kids with a good footy brain, but no toughness and athleticism. He performed above VFL, but didn't take his chances at AFL level.

I would not be shocked if he does well at GC. If he can play in the guts regularly. It's just when the penny drops for him to be a quality player. But he's not that rounded player we use in our team. And he was competing against Cotch and Dusty to get game time here. He's not in that class to break in. Higgins came here and stepped right in. Shows the difference between having AFL talent, but insufficient mental aptitude (hope you get what I mean) and having a great footy brain and the right attitude. I reckon Higgins put the nail in Ellis' coffin.

I think after 4 years you know roughly what you are going to end up with when it comes to inside mids, Add to that the lack of speed and athletic ability or more like not being elite in this area. Best he will become is a conca level player which is not really going to take us to another level

waaaaaiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit a minute here......with his 2 mums are you postulating/pontificating he...RCD.... is of the Immaculate Conception ?

Did he ride to Draft night on the back of a donkey ?
Just call me one of the three wise men

I sobered up, physically. Mentally I was still floating on a cloud.

This year. happy enough, but not floating on any clouds.

I see RCD as much like Higgo. talents that dropped because they don't quite fit. Higgo was too small and had showed A grade at all levels so people didn't see any development (vs he's A grade, pick him). RCD is tall and growing, elite amazing talent, but patchy performance and not quite sure where he'll end up, so he's a bit risky (vs he's A grade talent and a huge athletic mid so why not pick him)

If it works out we'll have a very talented midfield for a decade+ even whilst contending.

Still, right now, I would take Higgins over RCD every day and twice on Sundays. He's a proven top line talent and is something different that adds to the team beyond playing. RCD might as well. But off the bat I reckon we've struck it lucky two years in a row.
For the first time in 3 decades we were able "Take a risk" with our 1st rnd picks the last 2 drafts instead of going safer conservative picks, Which i didn't mind at all.

Vlas - yep. He was supposed to be that inside monster. Not too good at that. But in the backline what a star!!! Sometimes close to Rance level.

When Vlastuin has been played in the midfield and forward line he has been very good, recently.

If he were played midfield 2019 he would do well. imho

He cant play midfield because Houli is suspect, Short is a squid, Broad is unskilled, Mcintosh similar, Grimes, Garthy and Astbury dont offer much rebound etc.

Amazing what a same sex couple can produce a damm good kid good character can play the game

RCD is a good prospect :thumbsu:

Who is he gonna knock out of the midfield?

A premiership midfield with 2 brownlow medallists running through it,
plus Caddy,
Edwards,
Rioli,
Higgins,
Graham and whoever else.

After those players you have said, the midfield drops off a bit. Rioli will still play a lot forward and Higgins too im guessing

Like others have said;

RCD can replace Grigg. Or a number of spots potentially

He is psychically up to it and if you are good enough you are old enough. Dusty played mins from day one. We won a flag with Graham, Rioli being injected straight in. Higgins is quality etc

Kid will play every VFL and AFL game this season and take out Liston, Coleman and Brownlow. Will also find a cure for cancer and be the first Australian to walk on the moon in a rocket he designed and built himself during the bye

just because one can walk on water doesn't mean one can walk on moon...

Not that amazing. Have a look around at some 'family units', units being the operative word.
Look mate I agree as long as there is love and support a child will thrive let’s get behind the kid and embrace it

This kid deserves the hype. One can just about guarantee his success.

Tall, quick, x factor, takes the game on, kicks on both sides, stands up in tackles, links up, footy brain, great vision....

He could be ANYTHING
the only thing missing is he does not get a lot of it

When Vlastuin has been played in the midfield and forward line he has been very good, recently.

Compared to the impact he has down back, I can't remember one game in which I would say he 'was good' in the midfield. Serviceable at best. Just imo!

I think we can safely say he will be better than Liam Stocker.I think we were going to draft Stoker before Carlton sold the farm for him but it has worked out for the best.In 2 years we should have a Bontompelli/Cripps type in the midfield .

just because one can walk on water doesn't mean one can walk on moon...
Word is he has turned water into wine and can heal the sick.

For ****s sake get him working on Lynchs knee
There's one thing that brings him back to being a mere mortal.
Lift Carlton off the bottom.
1548551614070.png