Bluemour Discussion Thread XV - Facts Not Welcome

I mean, she has the vocal range of a duck.

Dave Stewart knew some stuff.

It’s good.
Mrs Jabba can’t stand her.

Thought they did some good stuff, plenty of album fillers too though

Mate it's not about getting drunk.

Who cares if he was drunk. It's about breaking his ******* arm.

I couldn't give a damn if the whole side was drunk Australia Day. If Cripps had a dozen beers, a good laugh and good time with friends that's great. These guys have to have a social life too.

But just don't do stupid stuff that can injure yourself.

Drunk just having a laugh - good
Drunk doing back flips into a pool off the roof - dumb
Drunk wrestling your friends- fun until you break your arm, then dumb.

Do you know how easy it is to break your wrist?

Many years ago my son fell off play equipment at school (where everything is padded) in grade 3 and broke his wrist simply from trying to stop his fall. A wrist break is someone falling, not someone fighting.

Sure my son was drunk and fighting several kids to get lunch money from them. But he learnt his lesson and I can now proudly say won the neatest cell award in division E for three months running.

But seriously, my little boy broke his wrist on play equipment. Accidents happen.

exactly how much slack? and how much do you think may have been cut already - at either club? that we know nothing about?

Who cares? We don't own them. Its on them.

If they don't want to drink and their only focus is to succeed playing AFL then great for the club. If they want to play AFL but would rather see their kid being born than play in a final, its on them. If they want to have a few beers in the off season and end up in an incident its on them. Hopefully they all can contribute.

The player that was so focused on playing and getting the best out of himself, may at the end of his career be happy, but he might also regret he didn't make life long friendships or have more fun.

The player who missed a final, cost his team a chance at a flag, might not care cause being at the birth of his child is worth more than anything to him.

The player who had beers might regret not getting the most out of himself, but he might also enjoy the time he had and is happy it happened but is happy to have other chapters in his life.

Players are human, all with different values and goals. They don't need to conform to supporters expectations of how they should live their life, its up to them.

taking the possibility of hurting yourself out of your entertainment shot-book hardly requires monkhood, mikeymoo............
if the issue is his partaking in an act that led to injury, and if, as has been suggested, his wrestling partner in the incident was CC, do your sentiments also extend to CC? Or are they limited to Fas; purely because of the outcome?

If those, including myself, that are critical of Fas for his irresponsible behaviour are sincere about professional standards, then the criticism should be equaly extended to CC; after all, he also entered the club having been afforded some slack.

Really?

I’m not going to blame SOS for Fasolo being a dickhead on the piss and breaking his arm.

But if we have another disastrous season like the last then it’s time for a serious look at who we bring into the club.

Yes they come cheap which helps us as we don’t have a lot to trade and we’re not a club elite players want to join at present. But they’re taking up list spots. If they’re just going to spend the season continually injured then they’re a waste of time and we will continue to have major depth issues.
Is CC a dickhead also?

I run a small business in the construction industry. My guys can do what they want in their off time. Id prefer they didn't play footy or go to rainbow serpent but I don't own them. To be honest they are more likely to be hurt playing footy and its shit that they do. They aren't paid as much as AFL players but I reckon their pay check each week means more to them than AFL players, they have kids mortgages, bills and they just struggle by. I just have to live in the reality of how things are.

AFL players are just lucky to be in the system. Its not really a choice. Nobody sits them down at draft camp and says "In 5 years you can make enough to set yourself up for life, via AFL payments, contacts you meet(investment opportunities) and then big money from lower leagues and you only have to make it to 60-70 games. But we own you for 5 years"

Once they are in the system past their 1st contract, nobody is saying "No" to the next one. The money is too big. "No, I don't want $280k for 2 years cause I want beers with my mates" isn't really going to happen.

The people in the media , or elsewhere, saying you chose this life and conform to our imposed standards are out of touch. The money is too big. Even if you don't really want the AFL life you would be stupid to not fake it until you don't make it. You might even get a trade and a run around for 2 years of bonus money.

Once your drafted the sheen of being a AFL player would rub of pretty quick, its a business and just cause you like kicking the ball around and are somewhat good at it doesn't mean you should be an AFL player. The money convinces everyone to give it a go though.

I don't think the dream of kids matches the life that is a reality. We should cut the players some slack.
I don't want to agree with the points your making, but there's something raw and realistic about what your saying.

It's about the lens you want to apply.

Fasolo's lens. Footy is just a job and he can do stuff he wants in his own time. Tick.

Supporters lens. He is a ****in twit. Tick.

In summary, two ticks dont make a right.

BL spinning some BS about Solo incident

not the best thing to happen right now with Pickett and Doc injuries and he will feel like a bit of a d.ck

had many big nights, never broke an arm.

kids these days...

If they don't want to drink and their only focus is to succeed playing AFL then great for the club. If they want to play AFL but would rather see their kid being born than play in a final, its on them. If they want to have a few beers in the off season and end up in an incident its on them. Hopefully they all can contribute.

The player that was so focused on playing and getting the best out of himself, may at the end of his career be happy, but he might also regret he didn't make life long friendships or have more fun.

The player who missed a final, cost his team a chance at a flag, might not care cause being at the birth of his child is worth more than anything to him.

The player who had beers might regret not getting the most out of himself, but he might also enjoy the time he had and is happy it happened but is happy to have other chapters in his life.

Players are human, all with different values and goals. They don't need to conform to supporters expectations of how they should live their life, its up to them.
sooooo.......this stuff keeps on happening you're fine so long as he is kicking goals - when he's fit again.........

so let me get this right. CC and Fas were trying to be professionals by getting an extra grappling session in for the week and resulted in an arm break. No problem here. Two guys trying to do 1% extra, and charlie is so strong he breaks arms. Watch out Rance come round 1.

I HAWTHORN captain Luke Hodge is free to lead his team into the finals next week after the Hawks' leadership group asked their skipper to make a $5000 donation to a charity of his choice after being caught drink-driving.

Now IMO drinking the week before their finals campaign AND then driving is a far greater offence than having a drink on Australia day during the off season . Breaking his arm was just bad luck .

To be fair, at .068 Hodge would’ve been legal to drive in some western countries.

Bad form yes, but not like he was out getting sloshed.

1. Your workplace analogy doesn't hold up. You move someone one, they can simply go and find themselves a job elsewhere. Fasolo gets moved on, he's put the waste the career he so much wanted. Fasolo has a lot more at stake and he would have well known that.

2. re. Bolded: Are you serious? It's that simple. It's on them. The fact he's put himself out of what was almost a certain start doesn't impact upon anyone else but himself? The fact we're having to redirect focus on Fasolo instead of the pre-season proper, doesn't affect anyone bar himself? The fact that the CFC are now having to talk up 'standards' doesn't stand for anything? The fact these incidents aren't particularly enticing to potential sponsors?

If Fasolo is penalised even after missing the next 8 weeks due to his 'accident', what does that tell you?
Let's see what happens but these excuses may have more to do with the standards of the story-tellers than they have to do with how the CFC feel right now.

Bolton, Cripps, Docherty and co would be livid right now and on top of that, we may be dealing with the question: Why did we take Fasolo in the first place?

Fasolo didn't keep up his end of the bargain. It really wasn't hard to do but I'm sure he's now sorry. Let's see how forgiving we are.

Fasolo should not drink at all, let alone this close to round one when he is on a 1 year K. He is one of many who can’t handle their piss. I am another of these. Addiction and mental health issues. I don’t want to be too hard on him but this is a massive setback. He will be hating himself. He should have either not gone or left early, easier said than done. It’s forgivable but could really set him back. He now has to put energy (mental) into getting EVERYONES faith back. It’s a very big set back, cause he was a lock for round one. The voices in his head will now be saying go for a cheeky line or a cheeky beer. I’m shattered for him.

To be fair, at .068 Hodge would’ve been legal to drive in some western countries.

Bad form yes, but not like he was out getting sloshed.
So many comparisons that are off the mark. This speaks for itself. It’s not about crucifying the bloke. But he has set himself back. He really needs to keep himself up and about to get through it. He was flying. Shattered.