Traianidis doesn't sound very indigenous to meI reckon we should give him the number 32 in honour of our greatest indigenous bone cruncher of all time...

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 9
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Traianidis doesn't sound very indigenous to meI reckon we should give him the number 32 in honour of our greatest indigenous bone cruncher of all time...
I’m not sure white is a tough marking player. He is a long kicking back man who isn’t that versatile in the way he plays. I think Paton long term will be a good player. Wouldn’t be dropping him.Paton got in the best players its funny how we all see things different. I thought paton was avg hes another who plays with a live hand grenade. Surely the classy tough tall marking white comes in for him.
Yeah it was vintage Jake yesterday.
So laconic. Reads the ball like Stevie Wonder does braille.
I confess I have discussed him as a trade option but only if he wants out as rumoured.
I reckon savage is a back but not a great one. If people want white in they are very similar players. Unfortunately savage still has credits in the bank. JustFair call... I reckon Sav is played out of position. I'd like to see him as a high half forward/wing personally.
What Sav does very well as a defender is getting back to help. So often he's the one who pushes back to be the get out option for someone in trouble... it's an under estimated act but one that is exceptionally important to a team's defence.
I think people forget how skilful, quick and explosive Muir was. A genuine match winner, along the lines of a DeGoey.The great man!
Not after one win but over a number of seasons.After one win?
Eventually yes, but for now he provides another strong mature body which we lack.
Experience is the key ingredient here.
Has the tank required for consistent performance.
If anything id like to see him moved to the wing.
Yeah, I like watching Paton because I can see he's learning. He makes mistakes, but I get the feeling he won't make the same ones forever.I’m not sure white is a tough marking player. He is a long kicking back man who isn’t that versatile in the way he plays. I think Paton long term will be a good player. Wouldn’t be dropping him.
Today and when the other fill in coaches started shows that the state of the game is driven solely by coaches. Take the pressure off and sides can still score. I wish one coach would try that for the whole year. Unfortunately who is ever appointed in the 3 jobs will suddenly feel the pressure
I've seen this opinion a couple of times now lately, and i'm perplexed.
He's been our best player for the last 2 years, solidified a backline that used to have key forwards kicking 7 each week, and he's expendable?
That's like saying Richmond should trade away Tom Lynch just because someone else play forward but worse.
Madness
I was at the game yesterday and white was probably best but probably 10 of his kicks were from kicking out after a point. Certainly inflated his statsYeah, I like watching Paton because I can see he's learning. He makes mistakes, but I get the feeling he won't make the same ones forever.
Same goes for players like Hind, Parker, obviously C&C. I want to see improvement and scope for improvement. If I can see that, I really can handle losing games. I know he's not young and people will scoff at this, but I've got a sneaky feeling Sav could turn out to be better at 30-32 than in his 20s, so I don't even mind his mistakes so much (I know a lot of people on here have had enough of them, and he sure knows how to stuff up properly).
I think Seb has been pretty good the last couple of weeks, and I thought Newnes was good yesterday - but at times this year I felt like they've been as good as they're going to be and it wasn't good enough. DMac just seems like the small moments are just way too big for him. I'd hate to think how he'd handle a GF.
So yeah, anyway, I agree...I wouldn't be dropping Paton unless he really starts to plateau or flounder, or White needs to be given another look.
White will be interesting. I felt like if Ratten dropped too many players right away it would have a bit of a Scott Watters impact. He might lose the trust of the players who've been around for a bit. So I'm not reading (yet) into White not getting picked that Ratten won't pick him. Even next week, given our good win. If he has another big game for Sandy next week and still can't make the team the week after I'd say he's gone for sure.
Agreed.Interesting, Clark stepping up, Coffield becoming a good player, Paton developing, Lonie has developed into an invaluable small forward, Gres and Billings becoming A grade Rowan Marshall one of the top rucks in the game after 20 games...
.....but STKFC can't develop players?
Maybe that call was a tad premature by some?
Great post mate, thanks! He's obviously one of my favourites. I thought he was very under-rated and I was constantly arguing his skills and potential at the time. Copped heaps of abuse, often racial. I was really disappointed he couldn't ignore that crap & go on to be the elite footballer that he could be. A sad reflection of the times.I think people forget how skilful, quick and explosive Muir was. A genuine match winner, along the lines of a DeGoey.
I had the good fortune of knowing him personally as a kid through my cricket coach who was a friend from Ballarat. Kick to kick in Exeley Road Moorabbin with Robbie was a childhood highlight for me and my friends.
A thorough gentleman except when he crossed the white line and copped racially based abuse, which was rife in those days. The other teams knew it and negated his skills, not by playing better, but by riling him up.
In 1992, we made the road trip to Adelaide late in the season. Robbie was accompanied by Ron Andrews, who I knew through his father, also a copper. What could possibly go wrong?
We lost, neither made it back to the motel that night and concern was high when Bobbie casually sauntered in for breakfast the next morning, a huge scratch scar on his neck and a shiner.
He casually informed us he and Ronnie got in a "scrap" in one of the bars with some crows supporters. Won the fights decisively, but the coppers didn't agree and as was the way, the winners of the fight got the standard and complimentary overnight stay in the cells as their reward.
We dropped them at Bordertown on the way back, as they were meeting others for a beer.
One of the most talented players I've ever seen. Sadly, an unfulfilled talent. I wonder how he would have gone in a more supportive and tolerant system.
Congrats on turning 22You know that feeling, waking up on a monday, revisiting the weekend, your team has won, and its your birthday, IT FEELS SO ******* GOOD, ITS BEEN A LONG TIME SINCE WE WON A GAME AROUND MY BIRTHDAY. IM SO HAPPY.
Bring back Trout!Interesting, Clark stepping up, Coffield becoming a good player, Paton developing, Lonie has developed into an invaluable small forward, Gres and Billings becoming A grade Rowan Marshall one of the top rucks in the game after 20 games...
.....but STKFC can't develop players?
Maybe that call was a tad premature by some?
The one win reference was about climbing up the ladder...Not after one win but over a number of seasons.
For me he doesn't do enough, getting cheapies of a HBF, but isn't damaging enough.
We used to want to get it into his hands, now it is Billings and when back Webster, both more accurate and penetrating than Savages bombs and helicopter disposals.
Poor mans Adem Yze
Excellent post but I think you need to add to your last sentence "and during Prohibition". I knew Mad Dog...great skills, nice bloke and loved a frothy.I think people forget how skilful, quick and explosive Muir was. A genuine match winner, along the lines of a DeGoey.
I had the good fortune of knowing him personally as a kid through my cricket coach who was a friend from Ballarat. Kick to kick in Exeley Road Moorabbin with Robbie was a childhood highlight for me and my friends.
A thorough gentleman except when he crossed the white line and copped racially based abuse, which was rife in those days. The other teams knew it and negated his skills, not by playing better, but by riling him up.
In 1992, we made the road trip to Adelaide late in the season. Robbie was accompanied by Ron Andrews, who I knew through his father, also a copper. What could possibly go wrong?
We lost, neither made it back to the motel that night and concern was high when Bobbie casually sauntered in for breakfast the next morning, a huge scratch scar on his neck and a shiner.
He casually informed us he and Ronnie got in a "scrap" in one of the bars with some crows supporters. Won the fights decisively, but the coppers didn't agree and as was the way, the winners of the fight got the standard and complimentary overnight stay in the cells as their reward.
We dropped them at Bordertown on the way back, as they were meeting others for a beer.
One of the most talented players I've ever seen. Sadly, an unfulfilled talent. I wonder how he would have gone in a more supportive and tolerant system.
Just remembered the clear mark to Matty Parker that wasn’t paid by an ump directly in front of it. Umpiring was poor today, just less noticeable when we actually play well for once.
If corse they were told to keep it close. Makes so much sense. Moon landing was fake and 9 11 was done by the Americans.Yeah I went out at half time and watched the replay of the second half knowing the result so wasn't emotionally watching, but the umpiring was all their way in the second half and completely inconsistent. Looks like they were told to keep it close. First half they were quite even handed.
Yeah Coff was on Dixon and had a few kicked on him , a few of them were pretty unlucky on Coffs behalf but he is going to be a far better player than DMac will ever be , I dont have anything personal against DMac but i sure as hell dont want a team of 22 nice guys who have a crack but have no skill , I want us to win a flag not a friendship contest